Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

W Atlanta - Downtown

4 stars
45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, 45 Ivan Allen Jr. Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
44 reviews
Great weekend getaway

Great stay! Went for a concert at Phillips arena. Walking distance. We enjoyed out Cool corner... See full review

  • Gapeach17
  • Mar 24, 2014
Fantastic stay

I was more than happy here from the layout of the room and the design. I would stay here the next... See full review

  • Special K 2013
  • Dec 31, 2013
An oasis in downtown Atlanta
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel bills itself as an urban oasis in the heart of downtown Atlanta. The hotel is stylishly designed with a mix of light and colors that seems to take just a little of the heat out of Hot-Lanta. With vibrant restaurants serving anything from snacks to American and French cuisine to the outdoor pool with the spectacular view of downtown, this hotel has anything guests need to get stimulated and productive, and easily help them chill out. The convenient downtown location puts the entire city right outside the doorstep.
Highlights
  • BLT Steak restaurant, specializes in enticing steak and other recipes
  • Whatever/Wherever service is ready meet requests (as long as they’re legal)
  • Outdoor heated pool and sundeck with spectacular view of downtown Atlanta
  • SWEAT fitness center with state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment
  • Acura Experience – tour the city with a personal driver in a decked-out SUV
Rooms
The W Atlanta – Downtown hotel offers a wider range of rooms than many other W hotels. It offers eight different styles of rooms and suites ready to soothe guests with plush carpeting and Makassar wood. All of the rooms feature the signature W bed, with down comforters and goose-down duvets. Once guests are re-invigorated, the rooms provide all of the high-tech amenities needed to get wired. Each room has a plasma TV, iPod docking station, data port and DVD/CD player. All rooms have wired and Wi-Fi Internet access. The bathrooms include the refreshing rainforest shower. Accessible rooms are available along with knock lights and TDD phones. For those traveling with a pet, order a signature W pet bed. Cribs are available upon request.
Features
Even with the W’s ability to dazzle senses, it’s the service that really makes the difference with this hotel. There’s nothing out there quite like the W’s Whatever/Wherever service. When a guest makes a request, the W Atlanta – Downtown hotel staff is ready to make it happen. Another unique feature is the Acura Experience. Guests tour the city in a decked-out SUV, with a professional driver, all for free. The business-friendly atmosphere also is exceptional. The Wired business center offers PC and Mac workstations, laptops, wired and wireless Internet access, printers, scanners and telecommunications equipment.
Transportation
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Marta Civic Center commuter rail station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Amtrak Atlanta station (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Easy access to I-75/85, area interstates
Attractions
  • Centennial Olympic Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The World of Coca Cola (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Georgia Dome (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Jimmy Carter Presidential Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • Wired business center, featuring Mac and PC workstations, laptops, telecommunications equipment, printers, scanners, fax machines
  • High-speed wired and Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms
  • 8,906 square feet of meeting and event space

W Atlanta - Downtown Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Atlanta - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7647 -84.3888
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Georgia Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Centennial Olympic Park: 0.4 mi
  • Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field: 0.6 mi
  • Fox Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Philips Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Georgia Dome: 0.9 mi
  • Martin Luther King jr. National Historic Site: 1.1 mi
  • Margaret Mitchell House and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Piedmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: 1.7 mi
  • High Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Jimmy Carter Library and Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Park: 2 mi
  • Forbes Arena: 2 mi
  • Carter Center: 2 mi
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Turner Field: 2 mi
  • Variety Playhouse: 2.2 mi
  • Zoo Atlanta: 2.3 mi
  • Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Michael C. Carlos Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Fernbank Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Emory University: 4.4 mi
  • Swan House: 5.2 mi
  • Atlanta History Center: 5.3 mi
  • Georgia Governor's Mansion: 5.6 mi
  • Chastain Park Amphitheater: 7.2 mi
  • The Woodruff Arts Center: 7.8 mi
  • Gwinnett Center: 23.2 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT by Bon Appétit's 2007 Restaurateur of the Year Laurent Tourondel is cozy French bistro meets stylish American boite, elegant meets electrifying, and haute French classicism meets urban American sensibilities.
WETBAR
Escape to Atlanta’s only all-weather rooftop pool bar. Sip after you dip around the partially-covered zero-edge pool and soak up panoramic city views with a signature cocktail.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in salon socializing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for W Atlanta - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xanos VI
Business
Athens, GA
Apr 23, 2013

Great honeymoon experience

Nice beds, friendly staff. Slightly pricey for what it was. Only bad experiences included the mandatory valet parking and the fact that only double beds or handicapped king rooms were available, despite booking in advance. Other than that, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romantic
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 15, 2013

Great hotel

I really enjoyed my stay! Perfect for couples and people looking for a romantic night with a loved one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b.ansley
Business
winder,ga
Mar 10, 2013

great getaway site

Wonderful experience i loved it,I will defently be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Have GPS handy

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romantic
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 20, 2013

Very romantic for couples

I enjoyed the hotel with my girlfriend, very romantic and perfect for couples. I was complimentary upgraded to a corner room which was great! The valet service was a huge plus. The openness of the bathroom I didn't like but it was great for couple showers because it was so spacious. I recommend this hotel for couples only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DubV
Business
Morgantown, WV
Oct 26, 2012

Business Conference

The overall experience at the hotel was fantastic. However, the amentities in the room, water, soda, food, alcohol was WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! I do not recommend anyone drinking or eating anything in the room unless you would like a $50 and up for a drink and chips. Also, internet wi-fi is NOT FREE! The pool is phenomenal as is the room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamara scott
Business
Baltimore md
Oct 1, 2012

My stay in atl

My stay was everything clean hotel nice staff everything inside the hotel the only thing is the location make sure you rent a car be ause you will spend alot of money in cabs because it's nothing downtown but other than that I love this hotel all the celebrities stay there it's awsome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coldplay5467
Business
Atlanta
Aug 1, 2012

My First Experience!

I've always wanted to stay at the W Hotel and I finally did! Unfortunately, the power went out in all the rooms in the 16th floor where I was staying. I don't know how long it took for it to come back since I was tired and fell asleep. I sure hope this doesn't happen all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mamagata
Business
Miami
Jul 30, 2012

Atlanta W Downtown

Hotel staff was not knowledgeable or helpful with directions and/or activities in the Atlanta area. We were told that there was no concierge, since the previous one left. The person filling in gave us incorrect directions and caused much frustration when we were lost and wandering in the Atlanta heat. The only saving grace was the Acura driver, Frank, who went out of his way to drive us to and from dinner and give us recommendations for restaurants and locations to visit. The rooms were often without toiletries unless specifically requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wisteria restaurant was excellent. The Shakespeare Tavern had a wonderful play and traditional British food. This was excellent dinner-theater.

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelista85
Business
Waldorf, MD
Jul 30, 2012

Great Hotel and location

I spent my birthday weekend in ATL and had a wonderful time at the W hotel The staff was great and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Atlanta - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big City Lights Mike
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 10, 2012

Holiday vacation

The staff at the front desk were helpful. Valet was good for the most part, but there were times when they were a bit slow. I was in the room once when the maid was making my bed, and noticed she had tossed my pillows on the ground. I asked her not to and she picked them up without an issue. A pet peeve of mine when in hotels.. The pool setting was fun, as they had the bar opened and dj's playing music during certain hours. The hotel did not have a happy hour, which was a bummer.. Great location as you are a short drive or decent walking distance to many restaurants, and you have close access to the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan on dining at Gladys Knight's restaurant, make reservations first! It's located close to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top