Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

2 stars
View map of 4730 W. Spruce St, 4730 W. Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607-1497

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. King
Business
Omaha, NE, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Mediocre at best.

First, I think if the rooms have doors that are on the outside of the building and don't open into an interior hallway it should be included in the description. In my mind this is a motel. We never feel as secure in this type of accommodation. The staff when we checked in was somewhat rude and seemed to care less that we were there. The woman behind the counter on Saturday morning was nice. The room was very old feeling with a fresh coat of paint and newer furnishings. The beds were the smallest Queen size bed I have ever slept in....i believe they were doubles. They also weren't very comfortable and the sheets were rough. Overall it was clean and adequate for a quick overnight before an early morning flight out of Tampa. I probably won't stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Home Away
Business
W Lafayette IN
Mar 7, 2012

Great location for airport

The hotel was right by the Tampa airport, but was very competively priced. The breakfast room was a bit crowded but no more so than usual. The staff was very attentive to our needs. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelsaroundtheworld
Business
Colorado, USA
Feb 3, 2012

nice hotel

Free airport shuttle very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Way To Profit
Business
Appleton, WI, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Value !!!

With having free wifi and a continental breakfast and being close to the IHOP and walking distance from the INTL PLAZA Mall and airport....it was a great choice for me as I was going on a cruise the next day...they offer a shuttle from the hotel to the port for only $10. Would stay again....only negative was they apparently ran out of OJ at the continental breakfast in their machine BUT no one or myself ever asked them to refill it as I had a quick breakfast anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP restaurant right next door

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AHall
Business
Overland Park, KS
Nov 30, 2011

Perfect Airport Location!

Arrived late, hotel staff was very courteous and accommodating. Helped to give directions and recommend places to eat. Room was very clean and it was very quiet. VERY easy to get to Tampa International and very easy to find hotel. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

International Mall with over 30 restaurants 2 blocks down from hotel!!

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malyn
Business
sw florida
Nov 29, 2011

great location, convenient

this was perfect location for late evening arrival after long, long trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malyn
Business
sw florida
Nov 23, 2011

so convenient to airport

I needed close proximity to airport and it doesn't get any better than this. Staff very friendly and helpful, airport is literally 3 minutes down the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
regular flyer
Business
Northeast
Sep 11, 2011

Gross, dirty. Property overdue for refresh

First, this was a cheap hotel, but not the cheapest. I did not expect the Ritz Carlton, but in my past experience LaQuinta hotels are not bad for cleanliness or service. There are 2 good things I can say about this property. #1 This hotel is right at the airport which was ideal for my purposes. #2 The front desk staff in the morning was very quick to apologize for my complaints about the room Here's the bad: My flight was running late, so I called 3 times to tell the hotel I did not want my room given away. They said it was in the record and don't worry. When I arrived the girl on duty said there was no message passed to her, but there was still some rooms. She seemed kind of snotty. I got to my room, the sheets felt damp (like the humidity from the air conditioner had made everything feel damp). The room decor was dated and everything looked like it had been used roughly for a long time and needed to be renewed/replaced. The carpet was the typical very dark color (to hide dirtiness) but still I could see it looked like it had not seen a vacuum cleaner in a while. When I checked out in the morning, I told the girl at the front desk about my late arrival message not being relayed and my gross room. She checked my reservation and said "I see here you called 3 times. I don't know why that girl said that." She then offered to adjust my bill for the dirty room, but because the room was through Orbitz, she couldn't do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

For me, I was getting in late, renting a car, and then heading out in the morning for business. I walked out of the terminal, got my rental car, and seconds later I was at this hotel. Very good location, but next time I will use another one of the dozen in the same spot.

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tigerlily
Business
Margate, FL, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Very Nice!

This hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly. I was impressed that the beds were comfortable. The only thing is there is noise pollution from the airport, so bring your ear plugs. :) Other than that, I was really impressed for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nerdtacular
Business
Space Coast, Florida, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My girlfriend and I wanted to get out of town for a bit and decided to go to the West Coast. We just needed something central to St. Pete and Tampa and this was a great spot. We mostly used the hotel room for sleep and showering to get ready to go out and explore the city. Only issues I had was that we did not get all the channels working from our television set and the remote was not working [in fact, none of the buttons worked on the tv either]. Wi-fi was a little on the slow side, but it worked reliably. Overall, would recommend coming back here. If given more time, I would have liked to enjoy the pool (up to 8 feet deep!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to party, take a cab to Ybor City (about 6 miles away). There are a lot of great clubs, bars and restaurants. I recommend eating at La Creperia. As for clubs, check out "The Castle" it is awesome.

Back to menu Return to top