Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Hilton Tampa Downtown

4 stars
211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Short Vacation

Staff all friendly, very clean room, beds were amazing! See full review

  • DebAJ
  • Sep 27, 2014
Luxurious Getaway

The hotel was extremely quiet and well kept. The hotel staff were professional and friendly. The... See full review

  • Professor Brent
  • Sep 5, 2014
Sophisticated corporate retreat in downtown Tampa

Hilton Tampa Downtown is a corporate retreat ideally located in the heart of the city. This 17-story urban hotel is surrounded by the natural attractions of Florida's beautiful Gulf Coast. Guests enjoy convenient access to the Convention Center, Ybor City, Florida Aquarium and Busch Gardens. Dozens of golf courses and beaches can be found close to the property, plus baseball spring training grounds. Whether planning a wedding, vacation or corporate retreat, this newly redesigned hotel offers contemporary rooms, dining and an award-winning staff.

Highlights
  • Fitness concierge supplies maps of running and walking trails, plus GPS watches
  • Granite and marble tubs with Portico bath products
  • Trolley service to local attractions 
Rooms

Hilton Tampa Downtown features more than 500 recently renovated guest rooms with iHome stereo and iPod docking station, generous work desk and 32-inch LCD TV. Guests can relax in comfort on one king or two double beds fitted with luxurious linens, a soft down throw and plush pillows atop a pillow-top mattress. Amenities include a daily newspaper delivered to your door and some rooms feature pool views. Enjoy posh granite and marble baths with Portico spa products. Take advantage of video checkout, account review and messaging. For travelers who choose to work out in the privacy of their room, the hotel offers YogaAway, a system offering a complete yoga workout on an in-room entertainment unit. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Hilton Tampa Downtown has modern conveniences for the business and leisure traveler alike, including a 24-hour business center and babysitting services. The hotel features an on-site gift shop, laundry and dry cleaning. 211 Restaurant serves American cuisine and offers guests a relaxing lounge. The heated outdoor pool and rooftop sundeck with whirlpool provide an ideal spot to enjoy the sun or spend an evening. Exercise enthusiasts can navigate their way through the surrounding jogging paths via GPS watch or jogging maps provided by the hotel concierge.  Avid golfers will find 17 golf courses within 35 minutes of the hotel. 

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (10 minutes)
  • Tampa Convention Center ( less than a mile walk)
  • Channelside shopping (1 mi/.6 km)
  • Trolley car available to museums or the zoo (small fee)
  • Hourly airport shuttle (fees apply)

 

Local Attractions
  • Tampa Theater (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Tampa Convention Center (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Tampa Museum of Art (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • The St. Pete Times Forum (.4 mi/.6 km )
  • University of Tampa (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Channelside Bay Plaza (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Port of Tampa (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Florida Aquarium (.8 mi/1.2 km )
  • Raymond James Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Lowry Park Zoo (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Busch Gardens (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business

Hilton Tampa Downtown offers more than 30,000 square feet of versatile space, including ballrooms, garden rooms, boardrooms and banquet halls. Enjoy the sleek convention office and more than 4,000 square feet of luxurious pre-function space. Consider the city center room or a lush garden patio for evening functions accommodating up to 300 guests. 

 

All meeting venues offer high technology including Category V, ISDN wiring and T1 Mobile Wireless Internet access. A meeting concierge and talented multilingual staff can assist with business needs. On-site or off-premises catering services add another dimension to the meeting space. 

 

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Tampa Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.9461 -82.4577
Nearby airports
Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 8.90, MI, N;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Tampa Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jan 3, 2011

Nice - not great

We went to the Outback Bowl and choose this hotel because the team was there. It was great to see the team in an informal environment but the hotel, itself, lacked amenities - including limited dining and an overpriced bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley and go to Ybor City. We had a wonderful time there - great food, good drinks

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 31, 2010

Great Business Hotel

We stayed at this hotel Dec.18-30th. Too Long! The Hotel was Clean,modern and had been recently renovated. The staff was fantastic. Always greeted us with a smile. Always asked if there was anything they could do for us. Response from housekeeping was immediate. I would not however recomend this hotel for a family holiday. Downtown Tampa seemed Deserted. Most Resturants in the area cater to the business crowd, so they are closed evenings and weekends. Not a whole lot to do. Very little night life. Many,vacancies and homeless people. Ybor City is close by, but is 80% vacant. We went there for dinner one night and did not feel safe. Channel side, another nearby tourist area is about 60-75% vacant. We drove to St.Pete's beach one day and it looked like a ghost town. Clearwater beach,however was busy and looked like a happening place. Next time we will go to Clearwater,Ft.Lauderdale or Miami. Would recommend this hotel for short Business Stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tampa Aquarium near by and definately worth a visit.

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, New York
Dec 26, 2010

A Great Stay

The staff was exceptional, very personable! Not one staff memeber was nasty and we was given some great ideas from the receptionist for places to eat as we cheacked in. The only disapointment was no refidge or microwave in the room. Room was very clean, overall a very good stay! The room service was excellent, food very tasty. There hotel shuttle service although not free was cheaper than the city cabs and the way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Beware the city of Tampa is like a ghost town at night and you must travel about 10min for a happening spot so if your gonna drink cab it! There is a great bar around the corner from the Hotel called Hattricks an irish spots bar excellent place, good food and Hot bartenders! For dinner only the best Steak House in the world called Burn's. By far the best steak I ever had and I live in a steak town, NYC. Blow's away Peter Lugers in Brooklyn NY. That's the happening area I was talking about 10-15mins away $25 hotel shuttle ride one way. Burn's Steak House is a must SEE and EAT!!!! Totally amazing and you will need a reservation or a tip from me, you can sneek in without one and you can eat at the bar!

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 6, 2010

Very good experince

The hotel is very well locate but i think that paying the bus fee to and from airport is not a good thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 29, 2010

Business Hotel

It's a business hotel not for vacationers. They charge $15 extra for parking, but you can park for $5 just a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fl
Nov 27, 2010

Top shelf travelers hit bottom shelf

Pool view from room equated to view of the roof access to wash windows. Need to address the sound proofing between rooms. Can hear the room next door activities...restroom trips...nice at 3 and 5:am , won't discuss full conversations heard, again starting at 5 am. not impressed.. our worst to date. Booked this room months in advance, no excuse for a poor location or the $200.00 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hamilton n j
Nov 21, 2010

great hotel

enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

samaria cafe

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, FL
Nov 19, 2010

Hotel

All was fine, but the room smelled like it was a smoking room at one point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CPitts313
Business
Little Rock, AR
Nov 12, 2010

Great place for a business trip

We were on a business trip and felt very well taken care of. We were welcomed each time we returned by the valet and got a warm welcome when we entered the building with "Welcome back". The only complaint I have is the 2 times I went to the restaurant, I did not get any service, I was referred somewhere else once and then ignored the next time. However, I did order room service and received excellent food and friendly efficient service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Greek place at the Channelside, it was great. Wish I could have gone to the Splitsville bowling alley but didn't get a chance.

Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Great!

The hotel was very nice and just what I need for a quick trip to Tampa! All of the staff was really friendly and helpful! I enjoyed my stay very much, thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Florida Aquarium is very close, about a mile and it was a fantastic experience!

Back to menu Return to top