Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

2 stars
2520 North 50th Street, Tampa, FL 33619
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
88 reviews
family vaca

The service was excellent and the employees were exceptionally professional! See full review

  • smh143mr
  • Jun 18, 2014
Great value for money & really friendly staff

The staff at this hotel were really helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The... See full review

  • EllieL
  • Apr 20, 2014
Relax at this Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City conveniently located on Route 41. The lively Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is just two miles away, or explore the Florida State Fairgrounds three miles away. For family excitement, Florida Aquarium, Lowry Park Zoo, as well as Busch Gardens and Adventure Island theme parks are nearby. Walk to several eateries, or relax with a cocktail at the onsite Silver Dollar Lounge. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and enjoy a complimentary newspaper. Cool off in the outdoor pool, and enjoy the spacious sundeck. Large-vehicle parking makes it easy to bring a crowd. Stay productive with complimentary wireless Internet access, fax and copy service, and meeting spaces for events of up to 300 guests. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.9657 -82.4031
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Ybor City: 2 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 2.2 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 2.9 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.3 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 4 mi
  • Ybor City: 2 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 2.2 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 2.9 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 3 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 3.1 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 3.3 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 3.8 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 4 mi
  • Hyde Park: 4.8 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 5 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.1 mi
  • Adventure Island: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 6 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.3 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 6.4 mi
  • Sun Dome: 6.5 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 6.5 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 8 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 8.2 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 9.5 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 11.9 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 12 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 16 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 24.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 88
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.7

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cuteshastadaisy
wisconsin
Jun 18, 2012

Tampa 2012

Nasty truck stop reality, and the pool was moldy black!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Do not use your credit card at either hotel or attached bar. You will be a victim of fraud, as I een then doing it on my trip.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALFE
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 15, 2012

howard johnson, ybor city, FL

Good but scary at first due to the neighborhood. There was constant road noise from highway 4 overhead, about 200 yards from the room. food was limited and medicre and when the decaf carafe was empty, they did not brew more. Should be a 1 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wooosh
Nebraska
Mar 22, 2012

never again

Went to the hotel, should have been a sign when we had to stand outside to check in through the little window. The carpet was sticky. The light switches were filthy. It looked like they painted the room rather than clean it. We were set for a four night stay, we left after the first night (we arrived at midnight and were exhausted) and didn't go back. If you book on a travel site that begins with O and ends in Z, don't count on them allowing you to cancel reservations to a place like this, I tried 4 different times and each time eventually hung up after being on hold for more than 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bambi
Albany, NY
Apr 17, 2007

Disgusting and VERY DIRTY!!!!!!!

The Howard Johnson Express was very dirty and disgusting. The room was filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ferggie
Kansas City
Nov 14, 2009

howard johnson 1850

it was not clean, it has rodents,not enough tv channels, the internet service was bad, not enough hot water. this was the worst hote i have ever stayed in compare to the other howard johnson i've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vero Beach, FL
Nov 23, 2009

It's a place to sleep

We had a difficult time finding this hotel because the frontage is hidden from 50th Street. Although there is a large vertical sign its difficult to see from the car. Furthermore, the hotel is at the I4 overpass which interfares with ones field of vision. We entered from the Columbus Road entrance in the rear of the hotel and I was ready to call [...] and request a refund. The exterior was VERY unattractive, appeared dirty and cluttered. There was no signage directing you to Registration. Once I got directions from another guest I circled around the building and to my surprise found a more pleasant registration area. The parking lot appeared to have been paved recently. The lobby was clean,modestly furnished and attractive. The receptionist immediatly responded as I approached the desk. The check in process went smoothly. I asked the receptionist not to assign us to a room in the rear as I feared for our safety. No info was given regarding breakfast or the pool, etc.Our room was relatively clean and comfortable, although I don't believe that the carpet had been shampooed in awhile. The bathroom was clean and odor free. Continental breakfast was adequate. For the price its adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

HardRock Hotel and casino five minutes away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vero Beach, FL
Nov 23, 2009

It's a place to sleep

We had a difficult time finding this hotel because the frontage is hidden from 50th Street. Although there is a large vertical sign its difficult to see from the car. Furthermore, the hotel is at the I4 overpass which interfares with ones field of vision. We entered from the Columbus Road entrance in the rear of the hotel and I was ready to call [...] and request a refund. The exterior was VERY unattractive, appeared dirty and cluttered. There was no signage directing you to Registration. Once I got directions from another guest I circled around the building and to my surprise found a more pleasant registration area. The parking lot appeared to have been paved recently. The lobby was clean,modestly furnished and attractive. The receptionist immediatly responded as I approached the desk. The check in process went smoothly. I asked the receptionist not to assign us to a room in the rear as I feared for our safety. No info was given regarding breakfast or the pool, etc.Our room was relatively clean and comfortable, although I don't believe that the carpet had been shampooed in awhile. The bathroom was clean and odor free. Continental breakfast was adequate. For the price its adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

HardRock Hotel and casino five minutes away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx,NY
Jun 8, 2009

If Need Be

The hotel needs to work on their appearance. The staff seemed friendly. They did clean the room late into the day which was a plus. When we arrived and parked we were greeted by a women's SUMMERS EVE box. That was nasty but, the next day when we returned it was all cleaned and things seemed better. If you are just passing through and make this an online reservation the cost was good. It also appeared that alot of locals used this hotel also to hang out in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx,NY
Jun 8, 2009

If Need Be

The hotel needs to work on their appearance. The staff seemed friendly. They did clean the room late into the day which was a plus. When we arrived and parked we were greeted by a women's SUMMERS EVE box. That was nasty but, the next day when we returned it was all cleaned and things seemed better. If you are just passing through and make this an online reservation the cost was good. It also appeared that alot of locals used this hotel also to hang out in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ImfromEarth2
Sarasota FL
Aug 30, 2009

Nice Sleep

Good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and comfy beds, great a/c, useful fridge and microwave, a restful night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top