Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

2 stars
View map of 2520 North 50th Street, Tampa, FL 33619

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.4

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALFE
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 15, 2012

howard johnson, ybor city, FL

Good but scary at first due to the neighborhood. There was constant road noise from highway 4 overhead, about 200 yards from the room. food was limited and medicre and when the decaf carafe was empty, they did not brew more. Should be a 1 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Aug 11, 2011

Disgusting

Prostitutes, drug addicts and filth abound. Bareley rented, had late arrival and the entire property was dark. Had to find the entrance after several attempts, as the gate I was told to use was locked. Next to sewerage treatment plant which infused the air inside as well as outside. I had tio leave first thing next day and went to a real hotel. This is the worst space I ever stayed AT, SO DIRTY....THE BAR WAQS A TOP-LESSBAR. wILL NOT BE DOING BUSINESS WITH YOU EVER AGAIN IF THIS IS A RECDOMMENDATION. nOT EVEN NEar the area I asked for which abounded with first clss hotels. Ripped off three timesw by you and that spells the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palm bay.fl
Jul 5, 2011

the scary

bed a little too uncomfortable and got woking up a 3am by a prank call saying they are from the front desk.Not happy with hotel need better secure with there phone lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 14, 2011

Great place for the price

the Staff was friendly as could be, the lobby was nice and clean. Rooms were very nice with a fridge, coffee maker, and blow dryer in them. The pillows were the comfiest ever lOL. We had a good time and for only $54.00 a night you couldn't go wrong!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far at all from all the clubs in Ybor!!! So much FUN

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nsb fl
Jun 1, 2011

fun with friends

should have late night munchies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

hard rock casino was close

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL
May 16, 2011

Nicer than I expected

We got the hotel room to attend WMNF's annual Heat Wave event in Ybor City (which is a blast). Accommodations were perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Attend Heat Wave in Ybor City next May.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paulinkorea
Business
Korea
May 8, 2011

HOJO in Tampa

Low price seems to be indicator for type of customer. Loud harley's, cars partys until early morning. Continental breakfast? LOL; no need to offer. Room OK for price - same room at same price in Korea has TV with all channels and a computer with free internet (standard)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bachelor Party Planner
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Apr 18, 2011

You get what you pay for...

I went with a group of friends for a bachelor party. The rooms weren't terrible. You can find worse out there. If you are looking for a nice hotel; however, this is not it. The bed spreads and sheets had stains on them. One of the rooms had a tub that did not drain well and both rooms smelled of cigarettes even though we specified non-smoking rooms. On the bright side, we were close to Ybor City and the highway. If you just want a place to crash for a night, then this is fine but I would not recommend for a family vacation or anything like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel did have a lounge with live music if you like country. Ybor City is not far away at all, just a short drive. Same for one of Tampa's famous strip clubs.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merritt Island
Apr 18, 2011

ugh.

Stayed here after a concert at the Florida State Fairgrounds. Thank goodness it was only for the night. They jacked the price, I assume because of the concert (twice what it would normally run). While the staff was very pleasant, this was perhaps one of the most disgusting, stinky, god awful rooms I have every stayed in, and I've stayed in some pretty bad places around the world during my travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mikplant
Business
FT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA
Mar 22, 2011

soso

very run down, front door was loose, none of the lamps worked, either on the desk or by the beds. the Continental breakfast, should be called cereal or toast! no eggs?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I went and had dinner at the Hard Rock

Back to menu Return to top