Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

3 stars
1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
Fun Adult Hideaway

Great hotel with a perfect location! The Staff couldn't make you feel more welcome!! It's a... See full review

  • AS1L
  • Mar 17, 2014
Ybor Stay!

Trying to find the hotel was a little difficult but once I did, then I had to figure out where to... See full review

  • Filthtree
  • Jun 30, 2013
The Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL hotel is located in Ybor City, a nationally recognized historic district of downtown Tampa, Florida. With our rich designs and comfortable amenities, this hotel beacons its well recognizable name as a lighthouse sending a welcoming light to today's travelers. When you stay with us, you will enjoy the history and ambiance of ''days gone by'' while having all the comfort and conveniences of today.The Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL hotel features 138 beautifully designed rooms and suites, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed internet access and complimentary hot breakfast. Large whirlpool/spa tubs are available in some rooms. A fitness center, outdoor pool and business services are also available. We are the perfect solution for your meetings and events in Tampa/Ybor City area. Consider the Clarkson Boardroom for those small meetings up to 10 people or the Columbia/Gasparilla Meeting room for up to 50 people in theater style seating or up to 36 people in classroom style seating. Our Hampton Inn & Suites guests can enjoy dining, entertainment and shopping by hopping on the Hartline Streetcar to Channelside or by taking a stroll down the main strip of 7th avenue in Ybor City. You can also take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that we offer to any location within 5 miles of the hotel between 8:00am - 10:00pm daily.The Tampa Convention Center, Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Shopping and Entertainment District are all within 1.5 miles. The Raymond James Stadium, home to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Tampa International Airport are within 10 miles. As part of the Hilton Family of Hotels you can earn Hilton HHonors points as well as airline miles for your stay.We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City hotel in Florida!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

27.9602 -82.4455
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, (TPA), 8.00, MI, E; St. Pete/Clearwater International Airport, (PIE), 18.00, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 65.00, MI, NE;

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baytraveler
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Poor service

Having made a reservation 3 weeks ahead of time for a NON-SMOKING room, upon arrival I was told "because they were full and my reservation was made through a 3rd party, I was bumped and moved to a smoking room. No appology..no offer of a refund or credit. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this location to anyone else. As a Hilton Honors Diamond member I am disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsHoo
Business
Nevada
Dec 15, 2011

Non-smokers beware!

We arrived late Saturday night 12/3 11:30pm. We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel, flat rate $25. I'm not sure what type of neighborhood this hotel is in however, it seemed we were driving backroads to get there. If you like to party there were a lot of clubs in the area that didn't open up until 9pm. This translates to a lot of people on the streets. As we were checking in the front desk clerk informed us she didn't have any non-smoking rooms available. We booked the room in September?! She was very insistent that we were going to have to take a smoking king room. My traveling partner informed her in no uncertain terms that we booked a non-smoking room in September and that's what we were going to be given. Amazing how she manaaged to have a non-smoking room available. We talked to the front desk clerk the following morning who gave us the impression that the rooms were first come first served? That is unacceptible. The continental breakfast the next morning was a joke, the eggs were over cooked and rubbery. The room itself was okay. Not sure I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TERRY MOM
Business
ocala
Nov 27, 2013

bad hotel

was told that we have to pay $8.00 a day to park at hotel. swimming pool was the size of a stamp got to room with things left in shower & ref. only good part was kim in the food area was very helpfull on what to do in tampa and hotel was in old part of town it is not downtown tampa will not be going back and has room next to trains where you hear the going up & down the streets. very unhappy with stay and had to leave 2 day early and beds were way too soft

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, Georgia
Sep 26, 2009

Hampton Inn Ybor City FL

We arrived around 10:30 am, checkin was not until 3:00pm, but decided to see if we might get into room early. Rooms were not ready b/c check out was not until noon. Besides the 2 of us there were 2 other couples waiting to checkin. We waited at the hotel b/c we didn't think it would take that long to get the rooms ready. After checking with the registation desk 3 times they finally checked us in at 2:30 that afternoon. While we were being checked in another couple arrived and were told that their room was not ready either. When we were given our key to the room we arrived at our room and the cleaning staff was still cleaning the room. When we got ready to go out for dinner that evening the hotel cleaning staff was still cleaning rooms. I can understand not letting people into the rooms before checkout time for the previous day, however, since there were only 2 other couples besides us waiting for a room, I don't understand why they could not have checked us in at least by 1:00pm. The staff was not friendly or very informative as to the area. The area is Ybor City and is advertised as a historic downtown area. The area is very run down, mostly bars and no shopping to speak of. We were there for 2 nights and did not have a car. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with children, and I definitely would not recommend you get there before checkin time because your room will not be ready. While the price was reasonable I would pay more to stay at a hotel that had a friendly staff and in a better part of town. The pool was extermely small and only had sun in the am, the walk area around the pool was so narrow it was hard to put a chair there and still have room to walk around the pool safely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsHoo
Business
Nevada
Dec 19, 2011

SO SO

We arrived at the airport about 11:30pm Saturday 12/3 and got a taxi from the airport to the hotel, flat rate $25. Check-in at the hotel didn't go well. The front desk clerk advised us she didn't have any non-smoking king rooms and would place us in a smoking room. This didn't go over well with my traveling companion who informed her that he made the reservation in September and he knows there was a non-smoking room when he booked it. Needless to say it was interesting she was able to find a non-smoking room. We asked about it the next morning and was told it was sort of like a first come first serve? I don't think so. The continental breakfast the next morning was awful, rubbery scrambled eggs. Not the way we wanted to start the day. We then went outside, or what we thought was outside to await the shuttle to the port. When I looked around I saw a shuttle parked on the street but it wasn't apparent how to get to it. We asked the desk clerk if that was the shuttle to the port. She said yes and gave directions on how to get to it, thru the lobby, around the pool and out the doors. If we hadn't noticed it parked in the distance we might have missed it. Speaking of, to get reserved seating on the shuttle you needed to call or come by the front desk at 7:30am to get on the list. We would have liked to sleep in a bit since we got in so late the night before. We went to the continental breakfast since the front desk clerk was helping another guest. We came back to get on the list and was told we the only available times were 10:00am and 11:40am. The 10:40 had booked immediately. My partner was leaning towards the 11:40am but I asked for the 10:00am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsHoo
Business
Nevada
Dec 17, 2011

Beware

AS a NONE SMOKER I was very upset when I checked in just after Midnight and was told they only had smoking room left. I booked my none smoking room 4 monthes before I checked in so I know they had none smoking rooms then. For being a upper end Hotel the breakfast also S***ed. I wouldn't stay there agian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekendwisher
Business
Frederick, MD, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Near girlie clubs and tattoo parlors

Kinda dingy. Generally clean and close to the trolley. Breakfast was free and plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Mar 30, 2010

Parking Suprise

The hotel was great, staff helpful, location fine. The parking suprise is they don't tell you until the last minute that there's a $7.00 per day charge for the very little, cramped parking they do provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

It was OK did cost to much and parking

for the cost of the room it was to expensive and trying to charge for parking overnight was not fair to the guests. will find a cheaper place to stay that fits our pocketbook

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WV EER
Business
Atlanta
Dec 6, 2011

Problems checking in

To start, the hotel and rooms are very nice and if you are going to stay in Ybor, it's a great location. That said, the manager Steve is extremely unprofessional and the staff seems to be terrified of him. The dude should have nothing to do with dealing with customers or the public. Rated staff a 1 because of Steve. everyone else is very friendly and helpful especially the morning dining staff........ If you want details, you are more than welcome to contact me. Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top