Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

3 stars
4500 West Cypress Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
73 reviews
Trip to TBCC

Booked the hotel 3 days ahead of the con, and got a great room for a great price! I would love to... See full review

  • starbuxx
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great Hotel and location!

The hotel was set in a great location of Tampa! Very clean and easy to get to your rooms! See full review

  • Tasha and Robert
  • Jul 28, 2014
Airport hotel in downtown Tampa offers free airport shuttle service

The Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport is located less than two miles from Tampa International Airport in the heart of the Westshore business district. Guests are greeted with chocolate chip cookies and the hotel provides complimentary airport shuttle service, making it a perfect option for business and leisure travelers. The hotel is minutes from the Port of Tampa and 15 minutes to downtown and the Tampa Convention Center. Shopping malls, entertainment and restaurants are nearby and Historic Ybor City is less than 15 minutes from the hotel.

Highlights
  • Warm chocolate chip cookies complimentary at check-in
  • Free airport shuttle service
  • Personal Wolfgang Puck coffee makers in each room
Rooms

Doubletree rooms feature The Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Collection bedding. High-speed Internet access is available in all 489 rooms and 17 suites (fees apply). Rooms include flat panel HDTV with HBO, on-demand movies and alarm clock with MP3 player connectivity. Rooms also have an iron with ironing board and hairdryer. Guests can make their own coffee with a personal in-room Wolfgang Puck coffee maker. Neutrogena skin care products are provided in each guest room. Non-smoking rooms are available upon request. Most guest rooms feature a balcony complete with outdoor furniture. All guests receive a complimentary USA Today each weekday morning delivered to their room.  

Features

The concierge level of the hotel features continental breakfast and cocktail hour daily in the executive lounge. Guests can work out at a 24-hour health club or take a swim in the outdoor pool and whirlpool.  High-speed Internet access is complimentary in the lobby and business center. Dining options include continental cuisine at The Cypress CafĂ© or light fare and cocktails at the popular Player's Sports Bar. The hotel is minutes from the Port of Tampa and 15 minutes to downtown and the Tampa Convention Center. Shopping malls, entertainment and restaurants are nearby and Historic Ybor City is less than 15 minutes from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (10 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (20  minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Channelside Bay Plaza
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Tampa Theater
  • Tampa Convention Center
  • Tampa Museum of Art
  • The St. Pete Times Forum
  • Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center
  • Port of Tampa
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • International Plaza shopping mall
  • Westshore Plaza shopping mall
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet rooms for corporate functions
  • Banquet staff
  • on-site audiovisual services
  • fully-equipped business center

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.9516 -82.5206
Nearby airports
Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 1.00, MI, SE; St. Pete/Clearwater Intl Airport, (PIE), 10.00, MI, NE; Orlando Intl Airport, (MCO), 89.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Raymond James Stadium: 2 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 2.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 3.1 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 4.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 4.2 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 4.4 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 4.6 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 2 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 2.2 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 2.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 3.1 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 3.6 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 4.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 4.2 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 4.3 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 4.4 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 4.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 4.6 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 4.7 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 5.2 mi
  • Ybor City: 5.2 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 7.2 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 8.4 mi
  • Adventure Island: 9.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 9.6 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 10 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 10.1 mi
  • Sun Dome: 10.2 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 10.3 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 12.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 13.2 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 15.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 19.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NSB
Colorado
Jun 6, 2010

It was a terrible place to stay

The air conditioning did not work--it turned out it was frozen over with 1 foot of ice. It was very noisy--we were put on the highway side cause that's the only king bed they had. The parking garage had NO elevator and NO access to the hotel. Parking was difficult,the highway & air conditioner noise kept my husband awake a couple nights,the chair in the room had numerous stains on it, the pop machines on 4 of the 10 floors that I tried were out of bottled water, breakfast was greasy AND expensive,elevators were dirty, computer in business lab didn't work--several did but one was not booting--no sign to indicate not working, complained phone not working one morning--they said they'd check into it--never did, then next day desk person asked if I'd pushed line one--I hadn't realized I needed to as they were working the day before--guess cleaning folks hit the buttons. Complimentary computer area was often really noisey. I wondered if I got the worst room cause I paid a low amount. Not sure but WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. Maybe travel sites aren't the way to go for me. The bed was comfortable which was good since we laid awake longer than usual due to excessive noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 6, 2009

Bad Choice

Had to wait for over an hour for the "Free" shuttle and I was on the phone with the hotel calling for the shuttle when I saw him drive away so he could have quickly turned around. Stuck me in a room next to a busy highway. Will not stay here again and most likely will not utilize Orbitz due to a inflexible cancellation policy. Things come up and trips can be cancelled or delayed so I do not see the value of using your services. I travel at least twice a month and will be back in Tampa next month, but will not stay at the Doubletree since there are many quality choices in the immediate area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants within 5 minutes of location.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2010

Nice staff-not so nice night visitors...

Staff was very friendly, restaurant was very good. Room could use some updating and carpets needed a cleaning. The big disappointment was the cockroach that ran up the wall while I was working at the desk. That in combination with the palmetto bugs brought the total number of bugs to 6. 4 palmettos and 2 roaches. That led to a sleepless night. The hotel mgr comped my room but seemed to write it off that they were palmetto bugs and they have a hard time controlling them. I don't care what kind of bugs they are. They didn't pay for the room, I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fitchburg, WI
Nov 2, 2008

staff mistake.

I had a problem with wake up call. I ordered my wake up call for 5am, my plane departure time was 7:10. Received wake up call at 4am!!! Apparently reason was that this night time was changed from Daylight saving time to normal and watches should be adjusted one hour backwards, what hotel staff missed to do. So they wake me up hour earlier and when I told them that time is incorrect whey didn't bother to give me wake up call at correct time. Good thing I did waked up at right time anyway, next time big chance to miss a plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Regmama
Titusville,Florida
Mar 3, 2009

Location,Location,Location

The hotel is old and need of updating.Although I had a smoking room,the carpeting,desk chair and vanity had large burn holes.There were no ashtrays in room which may explain the burn holes.Housekeeping was very prompt in retrieving one for me.The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Check-in was fast and friendly.The warm cookie was delicious and welcomming. There is a steakhouse nextdoor $$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steakhouse within walking distance to hotel.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happycamper999
Business
Orlando
Jun 25, 2014

Good business trip hotel

The hotel was average. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis tn
Jun 15, 2009

central location, not a beach hotel

this hotel is located in a business district. It is easy to get to downtown tampa, St Petersburg or Clearwater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check prices at Charlies Steak House before you order, two people 145.00 plus tip!!!

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
well2do65
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2013

One bad staff member in the bunch!

Overall my hotel stay was good. However, I could have had a much better experience if one staff member had shown me the same courtesy as she had shown my friends that I traveled with. Apparently the hotel is part of the rewards program. This was unknown to me but later revealed to my friends. When I went to the service desk and ask the staff member that helped my friends; she told me that "I booked through your site and they weren't participating in the program. In other words I was turned away. I later went to another employee and they signed me up with no problem. There were 6 of us there that weekend and everybody got signed up to the program with no problem except me. Which I don't understand since we were all together and signed up using your site and various portals. I didn't appreciate being lied to and refused on something that the hotel is obviously wants new members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Hilton Rewards program. You get the free breakfast buffet.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
boston mass
Jul 26, 2010

not bad..not great

We just needed a place to sleep..we had an early morning flight out of tampa airport. the shuttle was on time..close to the airport..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to the mall

Review of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Westshore Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VipCat
Atlanta GA
May 6, 2014

Staff need attitude classes

Lola was great when I checked n.. but the guy from the day shift on Sunday Morning around 10 30 a needs his attitude adjusted. . He was not friendly at all. The housekeeper was a bit rude as well.. maybe she didn't understand English. But we had checked n around 11p so the towels were still good and I told her that but she still preceded 2 open room door and started taking up clean towels and trash.. I just got back n bed until she finished.. that was my experience n Tampa at the Doubletree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top