Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Flamingo Resort

3 stars
4601 34th St So, St Petersburg, FL 33711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
13 reviews
Pleasantly surprised with great service.

Very comfortable hotel with many ammenities. They had something social planned for every... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 18, 2010
Pleasantly surprised with great service.

Very comfortable hotel with many ammenities. They had something social planned for every... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 18, 2010
We are the only thing you need in a LGBT resort. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, this exclusive gay - alternative lifestyle resort offers all of the comforts of home in a lush tropical setting with bars, dining, large pool and on-site shopping. Enjoy your stay in one of 120 newly redecorated rooms. Rooms available with a Courtyard view or City view. Two- and Three-room suites available, as well as, a king room with a Jacuzzi. We are also pet-friendly and offer select rooms and pet areas. Dine in the relaxed atmosphere of the Hemingway's Key West Grille Restaurant or enjoy a light meal pool side. The Flamingo is open daily for lunch and dinner. Piano Nights in the restaurant are a must! The Flamingo has six unique bars. Two poolside bars are the large Cabana and the cozy Hurricane, the Main Bar features a sophisticated lounge setting and dance floor and doubles as our weekend show bar. The Code Bar is a dark, seedy environment with loud music and exotic dancers. We offer great drink specials and feature entertainment 7 days a week. Check our calendar for special event weekends and upcoming show dates. Please note - This is a gay exclusive hotel, 21 years of age and older, no children are allowed. The Flamingo Resort is a pet friendly property, a charge of $20 per pet, per stay applies.

Flamingo Resort Rooms

City View Room
Offers two queen beds or one king bed
Courtyard VIew Room
Offers two queen beds or one king bed with a view of the courtyard area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Flamingo Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7259 -82.6803
Area served
St Petersburg, St Pete Beach
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport, St Pete/Clearwater Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 4.2 mi

Dining

Cabana Bar
A open, pool side pavilion that offers a 360 degree view of the pool and lush tropical courtyard. Enjoy cocktails at this full bar with lunch served daily. This is our most popular gathering place for both sunbathers and late night outings.
Flamingo Main Bar
Our main bar is a large lounge with two bars, a seating area and a dance floor. Sophisticated design with multi levels make the perfect show-bar on weekends.
Hurricane Bar
A Key West style, pool side bar that's another weekend hot spot. Watch the game on the outdoor tv's and kick back for a comfortable afternoon with friends.
Code Bar
If you like dark and seedy, this is for you. Open weekend nights and Sunday afternoon, this bar offers loud music, dim lighting, exotic dancers and hot bartenders.
Sports Bar
This weekend bar is available as a VIP bar or a close seat to the tv's with the big game playing.
Hemingway's Key West Grille
Our newest addition is Hemingway's, a tropical indoor restaurant with American and Latin influenced cuisine. Pictures of Ket West and Ernest Hemingway line the walls.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Flamingo Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill just bill
Oswego NY
Nov 22, 2013

Not for everyone

OK place. Very clean but Lamp, clock and one light in bath did not work. No garbage can. A supply of Condoms and lube on counter in room was an eye opener. Men walking the hotel in speedo's at all hours. Definitely catered to a LGBT crowd. Very loud music around pool until 10 at night but bar music starts at 10 at it too is very loud. Total party scene. Family questionable. You should find a way of alerting people making a reservation just in case they are not comfortable with this environment. We picked a 3 star hotel to use while we we at a hospice visiting a sick friend. That turned into paying our respects on her passing. A bad combination. I think knowing this would be better for all parties. They were very nice at the desk but could not help us with a refund because we had payed through You so we stuck it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlando couple
Orlando
Oct 29, 2013

Last Minute Booking

After a last-minute decision to overnight in town, we booked at the Flamingo. We have been there before for drinks, but have never stayed. The room was not extravagant and needs to be updated, but was clean and can't complain for the price. The resort has a huge pool area, which was crowded with patrons for the Sunday T-Party and more than enough bars to spend the day or evening. Best part of our stay was definitely the staff. From our arrival at the front desk through our check out, staff was TOP-NOTCH. We now have friends at Flamingo that we look forward to seeing on our next trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fromnyctofll
Ft. Lauderdale
Mar 31, 2013

Flamingo Resort

Stayed one night on our road trip to Tampa. We did the Sunday night when they have a big tea dance party in the pool area. It's loud with a lot of people. If you want any quiet, get a room in the back as the music can play until 2am on Sundays. Room was basic; the hotel really needs to do a gut renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Motel zero stars
Tampa
Mar 25, 2013

Tied with the worst hotel I've ever stayed at

I knew this was a gay establishment so I figured it would be nice but that was not the case. I paid $130 for a room but it should have been $20. You would be better off sleeping in your car. The carpet, bathroom, and everything else was soo nasty. This had been a smoking room even though smoking was not aloud don't waste your money staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toddicus
San Diego, Ca
Mar 13, 2012

Descent

Experience was good, the only draw back to staying here is their earlier than normal check out time which is at 10:00am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to a lot of fast food restaurants, Wal Mart and a few other nearby shops.

Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, fl
Mar 20, 2011

Comfy and private.

A friend and I attended a wedding in the area during spring break and every place with decent rates was booked. The only place was the gay-themed Flamingo. Aside from the pamphlets and condom jar at the front desk, it seemed like a regular hotel. The bed was comfortable and though there was audible music in the bars below the room, I wasn't bothered and slept well. Its not luxurious but there was also wi fi and cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, fl
Mar 20, 2011

Comfy and private.

A friend and I attended a wedding in the area during spring break and every place with decent rates was booked. The only place was the gay-themed Flamingo. Aside from the pamphlets and condom jar at the front desk, it seemed like a regular hotel. The bed was comfortable and though there was audible music in the bars below the room, I wasn't bothered and slept well. Its not luxurious but there was also wi fi and cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mylanta
central Pa
Mar 16, 2011

Room review

The bars were great, met some great people, made some friends. Really enjoyed the entertainment too! The room however,,, not so good. I would give it a 2 at best! The carpet was filthy!!! The bathroom was [*]. The toilet was clean but the shower, I was tempted to go buy the stuff and clean it myself.The towels were grey and warn out as well. I would go back for the bars and the entertainment , but Im not likely to stay there again unless there are some improvements in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Party there and meet the locals. Stay somewhere close by...

Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mylanta
central Pa
Mar 16, 2011

Room review

The bars were great, met some great people, made some friends. Really enjoyed the entertainment too! The room however,,, not so good. I would give it a 2 at best! The carpet was filthy!!! The bathroom was [*]. The toilet was clean but the shower, I was tempted to go buy the stuff and clean it myself.The towels were grey and warn out as well. I would go back for the bars and the entertainment , but Im not likely to stay there again unless there are some improvements in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Party there and meet the locals. Stay somewhere close by...

Review of Flamingo Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disappointed weekend getawayers.
Sarasota FL
Feb 13, 2011

We couldn't stay there and didn't!

I was looking for a downtown St. Petersburg Florida location with a king bed. I saw spots on the site but none had a king bed. An advisor im'd and asked for my parameters which I gave and he came back with a suggestion that I booked. As I was looking at an Indigo and a Hapmton Inn, which I'm sure the advisor could see, my wife and I were stunned when we arrived at the location. It was not downtown (over 4 miles away), there were condoms on the lobby counter in a glass cookie jar and information about AIDS as well as more condoms in the room (which I decided to at least look at). The hotel caters to gay men. We could not comfortabley stay and didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top