Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

3 stars
105 North Bayshore Drive, Safety Harbor, FL 34695
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
86 reviews
Had a great time !

The hotel was very clean and pretty. The view from the room was beautiful to wake up to every... See full review

  • Jgarcia2143
  • Feb 23, 2014
Excellent second honeymoon getaway

The rooms were very spacious,the pool was nice and heated. the staff was excellent for the price... See full review

  • Barrymoe
  • Aug 28, 2013
Spa and wellness retreat in Safety Harbor on waterfront
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine Florida waterfront overlooking Tampa Bay in the quaint Historic town of Safety Harbor. Just 15 minutes from both airports, the resort boasts 193 rooms, a huge spa and fitness center, three pools, two restaurants, a tiki bar, nine tennis courts, golf practice range, plus instruction and meeting space with an amphitheatre. The Spa offers spa and salon treatments, a 2,000-year-old fountain of youth natural mineral springs, plus fitness and nutritional consults.
Highlights
  • Spa Finder top-rated 50,000-square-foot spa and fitness center
  • Three pools
  • 9 tennis courts,  golf practice range and instruction

 

Rooms

Newly renovated rooms at Safety Harbor Resort and Spa offer one king or two queen beds, granite surfaces and marble flooring in the bathroom, high-speed wireless Internet (fees apply), coffee and tea maker, iron with ironing board, cable/satellite TV, hair dryer and a daily carafe of mineral water. The rooms offer partial bay view or bay view, ranging from 400 to 600 square feet.

Features

The Spa at Safety Harbor Resort is an award-winning oasis, named among Spa Finder magazine's Top Ten U.S. Spas. The cardio room includes Precor treadmills, ellipticals, constrainers, upright and recumbent bicycles and stair steppers. For a daily dose of iron, the weight room features circuit-training machines, a variety of weight benches, free weights and more. The Pilates Studio features Peak Pilates Deluxe Reformer II's. Dining options onsite include Fountain Grille restaurant and La Sardine lobby lounge for light fare. Guests can enjoy poolside refreshments at the Tiki Bar. The resort features a special Champagne Brunch each Sunday from 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.  Coconuts Comedy Club is located on the property and features national comedians on Friday and Saturday nights. 

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (15 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (15 minutes)
Attractions
  • Florida Aquarium 
  • Clearwater Marine Aquarium
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Busch Gardens
  • Salvador Dali museum
  • Museum of Science & Industry
  • Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks
  • Captain Memo’s The Original Pirate Cruise
  • Caledesi Island (rated America's Best Beach in 2008)
  • Clearwater Beach Marina for charter fishing and sunset cruises
  • Pier 60
  • Close to training camps of the Bluejays, Phillies and Yankees
Business
  • 30,000-square-foot meeting space accommodates groups up to 360 guests
  • 3,200-square-foot Baranoff Ballroom features a tiered floor plan and stage
  • 3,500-square-foot Four Springs Ballroom is useful for banquets or awards ceremonies
  • 60-seat amphitheatre is ideal for classroom-style instruction
  • Athena Ballroom with views of Tampa Bay is perfect for lunch or dinner gatherings

 

Policies & Fees

A resort fee of $16.00 (plus tax) per room, per night will be collected by property upon checkout.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Game room
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Poolside snackbar
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Map

27.9908 -82.6864
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 18.00, MI, E; ST PTRSBRG/CLWTR INTL ARPT, (PIE), 7.50, MI, S; Orlando Int'l Airport, (MCO), 105.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Phillipe/Sunset

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
FrankieW
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 26, 2012

Fantastic Resort and Spa

The Safety Harbor Resort & Spa was more then we expected. The service as 5-star, the view from the room was breath taking, the room was quiet and beds were very comfortable. The Resort was on the edge of town and within walking distance of shops and a Starbucks. Great stay, great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Ken senior idol
Waretown , N.J.
Nov 15, 2012

Great relaxing hotel in a lovely setting

The staff , location and amenities were all very good and the dining was above average and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

overall accommodations and stay was very satisfying.

Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
ZTAU
Saint Charles, IL
Jul 16, 2012

Family Wedding trip

This is a lovely resort hotel which is undergoing some needed upgrades. It is a relatively older building with age-related needs. The staff was absolutely excellent, and the hotel restaurant was superb. The two lounges we enjoyed, La Sardine and the Tiki Bar, were very warm and welcoming. I have never experienced a more comfortable bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Laura Mom
Long Beach, NY
Jun 29, 2012

Nice family getaway

My husband & I had a nice vacation at the resort & Spa while our children stayed with their grandparents. The location was close enought to the grandparents also. The pool and tiki bar were very enjoyable. The only complaint we have is that the hotel NEEDS to repair/upgrade their elevators. They were very clunky and made alot of noice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Natural Consultant
Rhode Island
Jun 18, 2012

Very good experience

We love hotel's amenities especially the pools and the spa with the mineral water. The Suday branch was very good quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Safety Harbor is the nice little town.

Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
Pro Spagoer
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 4, 2012

Has room for improvement

I go back regularly and while they are making improvements, it needs so much more to become a first class resort. The spa treatment technicians are fantastic. Janet for massage and wraps and Kelly for facials are exceptional. Had perhaps the best massage ever from another woman but unfortunately the experience was lessened as I could smell that she was a heavy smoker. Too many areas for smokers outdoors at this "health" resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crispers across the street for great salads.

Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Karen the fitness trainer
Birmingham, Michigan
May 21, 2012

Still completing renovation.....

I just returned from a 3-night escape to this beautiful resort, and was thrilled with my stay! The entire hotel is beautiful, including our well-appointed room and the absolutely gorgeous spa and fitness center. The only criticism (albeit constructive) is that the renovation is still underway -- almost complete -- and the elevators need attention as well as artwork in the hallways and guest rooms. Minor criticism -- this is an absolutely fabulous place to relax and be pampered! One last note: The Fountain restaurant on the property serves the BEST food for a good price, and their live music is wonderful. Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For those who enjoy a 4+ mile walk or run, the park to the south of the resort is gorgeous!!!

Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
kerito
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Beach Vacation

The hotel is older but all the rooms have been completely redone. The staff was amazing and really helpful. Thel ocation is just perfect, several places to eat, and just a cute downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Spartanmisfit
Lansing, MI, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Great Getaway!

Hotel was Fantastic! Stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was wonderful. Great restaurant, nightly dinner specials. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Twin Lake
Michigan
Mar 22, 2012

Guest

On the Friday before we arrived I call and requested an early check-in. We arrived at 10:00 am had breakfast and told them we were there could we check in early. It was 3 hours later before they checked us in. They should have expedited us based on our being there. The staff was great, except for the day we checked in. The rooms were great, the pool needs some cleaning, especially the restroom by the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

St. Petersburg, the Bella -------------- downtown near the pier

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map