Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

2 stars
6603 International Dr/I-4, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
91 reviews
my time in HJH

It was really good experience in the Howard Johnson Hotel. It os close to the main atractions and... See full review

  • Mateus Chaves
  • Mar 14, 2014
My experience

Near everything in the International Drive. The shuttle was on time always. Nice place not to... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 24, 2011
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive hotel located near fun-filled Orlando theme parks and attractions. Walk to WetnWild waterpark and Magical Midway. Other exciting parks including Disneyworld, Universal Studios, Sea World and Aquatica are just 15 minutes away. Congo River Mini Golf is also nearby. Have an exciting meal at Pirates Dining Adventure just outside this lodging. Enjoy complimentary shuttle service to Universal Studios, Walt Disney World, Epcot Center and Magic Kingdom. After a day of excitement, relax at the outdoor pool and sundeck. Large-vehicle parking is available, so you can bring the whole family, and guest laundry facilities and valet services are available for long stays. Refresh in your guest room with refrigerator, and wireless Internet access. Suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4583 -81.4702
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.8 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.9 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.3 mi
  • Trainland: 1.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3.1 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.8 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.9 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.3 mi
  • Trainland: 1.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3.1 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.9 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.1 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.1 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.1 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.3 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.8 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CindyW872
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Bedbugs, cockroaches, water that smells like burnt hair!

We caught a cockroach crawling on our wall one night, you know, the big kind? I also saw a small one crawling in the bathroom. The water from the sink smelled like burnt hair, especially when you use the hot water. My husband had huge red welts in rows from bug bites, on his thighs, neck, arms, and face! The bed sank in the middle, so we were literally falling into each other every night. The pool was decent, the TV worked, the refrigerator was cold, the AC unit worked, and the toilet flushed, frequently running on its own. The front desk people were helpful half the time, at least when they answered the phone. There's a free shuttle early in the morning for the theme parks that services several hotels. Overall I would NEVER go there again because of the bugs. Stay at your own risk, to be sure. It's the cheapest hotel around for a reason!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind getting to a theme park by noon you can get "discount tickets" right across the street. They desperately want to sell you a timeshare and badger you telling you you're making a bad decision if you don't give them $26,000. They say it's a 90-minute presentation, but only PART of the presentation is 90 minutes. We were there for almost 4 hours. But we got about 50% off our tickets.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
danny568
Business
Utah
Nov 21, 2011

Worst Howard Johnson!!!

I had ants or flees in my room so I asked to move rooms. My new room even had flees. The service was terrible. My phone in the room didn't even work. The carpet was disgusting. The safe in my room was broken. The walls had something growing on it. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson again after this experience. There are hidden daily $4.95 charges and a noisy go cart track across the street. I go to Orlando every year for trade shows and will go somewhere better next time. Please don't make the mistake I made. If you like terrible service, dirty rooms, noise outside, extra fees, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ckp6191
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 16, 2011

SINGLE STAY

GOOD FOR A SINGLE ADULT. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR A SINGLE NIGHT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria 2011
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2011

2nd time no complaints

This is the second time at the hotel. I picked it because of location in the middle of international dr whats better than that. I found the staff responded quickly and was very helpful. The room was clean and we had no issues. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 30, 2011

Wow!!

The hotel from the front looked very nice. But once inside it was like you were walking back in time. I thought the "Brady Bunch" was going to jump out of the closet. It was old nasty and did not give half of the things it offered. Not the "Howard Johnson's" I went to as a kid or maybe it was and they just haven't updated or cleaned since the 1970's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tara Nightwatcher
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 11, 2011

Great value

This was a 9 day birthday trip to WDW for a 10 year old. We needed a clean room, a decent swimming pool, easy access to the parks, and easy access to meals all at a reasonable price. We got all of that. This is an older motel and the exterior shows that, but our room was neat, clean, cold and dry. The continental breakfast was enough to fill us up for a trip to the parks, and considering the cost of the room, extremely generous. The pool was well maintained and the biggest hit of the trip (even above the princesses). The staff was wonderful, very helpful, courteous, & knowledgable. The shuttles to the parks (Epcot, Magic Kingdom, Sea World & Universal Studios) may only be once each day each way, but would fit into most peoples schedules if they are careful. If not,a cab from WDW is about $40 including tip. From Universal or Sea World, take the I-Ride Trolley for $1.25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to visit Universal Studios or Sea World/Aquatica, or if you want flexability in dining not within walking distance, get an I-Ride Trolley pass for your stay. There is a stop right next door or across the street. But beware, there are not enough trolleys for certain times of day, and some drivers are unwilling to have more than a couple of standees, so will not stop to pick up additional riders. Which means you wait for another 15-30 minutes. But at $10 for an adult for a week (children under 12 ride free with an adult) it is a great bargain.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Charlotte, Fl
Jul 11, 2011

Good location and clean

Staying here was perfect for avoiding the parking hassals at Universal by using the free shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 6, 2011

Family vacations

We enjoy our stay at the Howard Johnson HOtel everything was good, thank u

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need more menu

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.Herndez...
Business
DUNNELLON, FL.
Jun 21, 2011

Great for the money great staff !!! ;D

enjoyed pool setting as well as the room it was very comfortable. The TV had exceptional channels everything was basic. It was a great experience.GREAT STAFF, THANK YOU !!!Will Be Back!!! ;D "CLOSE TO ALL ATTRACTIONS"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

save time and money by taking the trolly well worth it !

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luis Boss
Business
San Juan PR
Jun 14, 2011

The hotel

The trip was good. But the hotel needs to improve. i was about 2 and a half hour out of my room because the door didnt open. We passed the night in other room but with nothing. it was a bad night cause we had everything in the room and we didnt get them up to the next morning. the shower was always leaking water even if it was closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top