Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2014 Check-out: May 27, 2014

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
177 reviews
bang for ur buck

Staff friendly. Room quiet. Right around the corner from universal. See full review

  • mk1984
  • Mar 3, 2014
hard to find fault

We were very surprised at the great value of this hotel. it is about as well located as a hotel can... See full review

  • zoomdba
  • Feb 10, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

28.4581 -81.4635
Area served
Universal Studios resort area, International Drive resort area.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport is 10 miles east.
Area description
Within 4 miles of the hotel you will find Universal Orlando, Islands of Adventure,
Wet-n-wild, Sea World, the Orlando-Orange County Convention Center, the Mall
at Millenia, the Holy Land Experience, Prime Outlet shopping, dinner theaters, night
clubs, golf courses and much more. We are 10 miles from the Orlando International
Airport (MCO), the Walt Disney World Resort and Disney’s Wide World of Sports.
Daytona Beach, Port Canaveral and Kennedy Space Center are about an hours drive.

Nearby points of interest

  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Movie Rider: 1.2 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 1.6 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Movie Rider: 1.2 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 1.6 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Biloxi, Ms
Dec 9, 2010

Bed Bugs

Woke up with 2 bed bugs. Staff was very nice. We left immediately. Did get a full refund. Vacation ruined what a waste of gas and theme park tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
cape coral florida
Aug 1, 2011

Very bad day

I got to the hotel and they couldnt find my reservation they had me wait for over 1 hr [...]very bad begining then ni find out they didnt offer continental breakfast [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
steve may
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 22, 2011

bad experience

first day check in the room is soaping,I had to move to another room.and the room still have the bathroom problem,the bathtub not drained and took a whole day water still sit there.and I had to moved again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Port Charlotte,fl
Apr 25, 2010

Family vacation

The AC broke in the middle of the night. The receptionist was not very nice. Apparently there was a complaint on the dog I brought and no one bothered to call me they just locked me out of my room. I had to have smoking room and I did not want a smoking room. The only thing nice was when the maintance man fixed the AC very quick. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
tomahawk wi
Jun 11, 2010

Orlando

If you want any kind of complementary breakfast, do not go to Best Western Gateway, they nickel and dime you for EVERYTHING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
No Mo' Bugs
St. Paul, MN
Sep 3, 2009

Too many problems

I did really appreciate the helpfulness of the staff. Each time a problem arose, they were quick to say sorry and try to fix it. However, after so many problems, sorry just doesn't cut it. We ended up leaving our stay two days early after the culmination of many mishaps. The first thing is that they did not warn us upon check in about these scam pizza flyers. Apparently people sneak into the hotel with homemade flyers that they stick under the door with legitimate looking pizza places and deals. Being that we had been traveling and were hungry, we saw these and ordered from them. As we were sitting down to eat, we saw on the hotel's channel TV an advisory warning not to order from them as they will steal your credit card info and at best you will get a pizza made in someone's garage. This is about the quality we received. Luckily, I paid with cash, but this could have been a close call and something they should warn you about right away. We continued to receive probably 2 more flyers per day under our door the rest of the stay. The second is that the first night in our hotel my girlfriend woke me up screaming that there was a bug I needed to kill. She is a freak about spiders, so I figured a little daddy long leg had crept in. No, these were slightly larger than ticks, but there were at least 20 all together. They were all in our sheets and when I smashed them, they were filled with blood (The next day, I had multiple bites appear all over my body. Who knows if these bugs were carrying some disease or anything??) After pulling back our sheets and finding more and more we quickly packed up and went down to the front desk. They offered to move us either three rooms down from the buginfested room or down two floors and across the hall. We obviously picked the latter. She also gave us two free breakfast coupons for the inconvenience. We filled out the provided breakfast card and got breakfast a few days later hoping to use the vouchers. When they arrived at our door the next morning they said they could not accept these and are for dining in at their restaurant only, even though it did not say this anywhere on the coupon. The meal was charged to our room. Also, be careful if you do happen to have a meal in their restaurant. Although the food is very good, they will automatically tack on an 18% gratuity and then hand you a receipt that just says the total and a spot to add a "tip" when they have already charged you 18%. Then we tried to do a load of laundry and after drying our clothes twice in the 60 min dryers for $2 a pop, they were still damp. The front desk did refund our $4 and we used a different machine, but we were up an extra 2 hours that we didn't plan on when we needed to get up early to catch the complimentary shuttle the next day. The shuttle was another problem. They had three scheduled morning pick ups to go to Universal and one to SeaWorld. Anytime we tried to catch this shuttle, it was at least 15 min late although they tell you to be out there 10 min early. One especially bad day after waiting for the 11:20 shuttle for almost a half hour, I get in line at the front desk to tell them. It was 12:00 by the time the people in front of me had finished checking in and I got to tell the lady. She basically waved me off and said it would be coming soon. The manager luckily heard her tell me this and asked me how long I had been waiting. When I told her it was over 40 min late now, she personally called the company and the bus ended up showing up about 10 min later. The next day it was raining at night and we quickly found this out while in our room playing a game and hearing the drip of water. It was coming in through the broken caulk of the window. A big puddle was forming on the floor (which by the way my girlfriend had her laptop sitting here) and on the ledge of the window. After calling the front desk to inform them, a man came up, said they have had that problem before but there was nothing he could...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try eating at the food court in Universal or other fast foods around before you go if you are trying to save money as all the parks charge an arm and a leg for any type of meal.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Krish ressu
Ga
Dec 28, 2011

Pretty bad

It is not cleaned Out side it looks good but when you go in It is pretty bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Miami Beach, FL
Nov 1, 2009

Family Hollyday

People swiming at night let tables INSIDE the pool, dirty towels, pizza boxes, paper. No breakfast included. The wiring behind the TV stand was a nightmare. Considering carpet floor it seemed too risky. Internet in our room not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brazilian Steakhouse (churrasco) Nelore / Talher de Prata. Great service, food and price.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Bob01
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 16, 2012

TV Did Not Work, Bottled Water half drank

Not good. TV did not work. 2 bottles of water on the dresser to be used at Disney, etc. (for a fee). One of the bottles was half gone when I arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
Emmy Sad Mom
Sunrise, Fl
Mar 21, 2011

Not Good

I had a very bad experience at this hotel. The bathroom tub was dirty, it even had hairs in the drain and mildew inside, the room smell bad. I got home and both of my kids got allergy. And this was only one night stay. They need to improve their cleaning !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It was close to the Universal Parks

Back to menu Return to top