Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
694 reviews
Great hotel

My stay was great every time I come down to Miami in visit I always stay here. I live the location... See full review

  • Michael Clemons
  • May 19, 2015
Great location

Great location lively atmosphere. Great staff. Rooms are a bit old and a/c is smelly. Beds... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 16, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 694
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marquice T.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

first trip to Miami

I love this hotel. I will book this hotel everyone I come to Miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandria T.
Business
Lake City
May 2, 2015

Great stay

The hotel was perfect for just us girls for two nights. Comfortable and nice sized room, amazing beds!! Decor was great, loved the bathroom and all the mirrors. Bartender was awesome in the main building. The cons were our floor had a funny kind of smell..and walking through the restaurant with bags wasn't fun. But we had a great time and I will definitely book there next time I am in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaya
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Not my idea of a relaxing weekend

The worst hotel I've ever experienced. Let me preface this by saying, this was our 2nd trip to South Beach for a girls weekend. We liked our last hotel, but heard good things about the Catalina so we wanted to try it. The pics online LOOKED good too! Upon checking in, the lobby & outdoor areas are really nice. Once we got to our room, we were in total shock. It was SO tiny! The concierge told us it was their last double bed room so if we weren't happy we couldn't switch (yeah right). The lighting was horrible. & it was hot! Apparently, the ventilation in the room wasn't working. It was always 79 degrees in the room! It got so unbearable, we called down & had them bring up a portable air conditioning unit. At one point, the bathroom ceiling started leaking. The overwhelming smell of marijuana was in our halls, although they made it clear there was no smoking in the rooms. There was nonstop music coming from downstairs, next door, outside. All over! The bamboo pool had leaves in it, so we weren't able to take advantage of that. The ONE thing we enjoyed was the rooftop pool with the dj set. Housekeeping never came to make our beds or give us clean towels. They swung by at 5 pm on Saturday asking if we wanted our room cleaned.. well, not while we're in there! We took towels from the cart in the hallway. & tried our best not to stay in the room for our stay. Ugh. Do yourself a favor & look into other options! Don't waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Niesha S.
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2015

Just OK

This hotel has the potential to be great but for right now it is just ok. The hotel is beautiful but it only goes skin deep. We told the wrong pick up site for the complimentary transport from the airport by the hotel staff. We had to pay some randoms bus driver a fee to get to the hotel. One of the nights we were there the housekeeper had eaten our snacks we brought in while watching tv. We were given a free breakfast voucher. The next day we use the voucher and our breakfast was horrible. Our order was wrong and the food was cold. We were approached by the owner of resturant and was given a free breakfast the next day. I do not feel we were compensated fully for the drama we had to endure during this trip with our hotel. Miami was still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nadia M.
Business
Bay Point
Apr 29, 2015

Great trip

The staff was wonderful the room was somewhat small but a lot of them are in south beach. Loved it here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciara B.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Great

My stay at the hotel was great. The staff was very attentive and polite. Had a blast. They take care of everything transportation to and from hotel, beach chairs, pool and happy hour saved us a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nidia r.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

AMZAING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Amazing service! Love this hotel so much! Staff were so inviting and friendly. Angel Portugal went above and beyond for me! He is one of the most kindest people I've ever met! I couldn't thank him enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria H.
Business
ALGONQUIN
Apr 10, 2015

Great location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They offer two pools, the rooftop one was our favorite with tanning beds. Service a little slow but eventually they came around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaTheTraveler
Business
Boston
Apr 10, 2015

Girls Getaway Weekend

Overall we had a great experience at the Catalina. It was our first trip to Miami and the Catalina is very centrally located and had an airport shuttle which is ideal for people who are unfamiliar with the area. Our room was smaller than expected, but very clean. Unfortunately, we were in a room close to the front lounge area so it was very loud into the early morning hours. If you are going to be out partying, this is definitely a great hotel for you. The hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. There is a golf cart shuttle that take you to areas close by, which was a ton of fun. Overall great experience, would recommend for anyone on a budget and going to Miami for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand M.
Business
Huenenberg
Apr 9, 2015

super hotel, nice location always again and agina

good hotel, nice atmosphere, great pool the right stuff for mia, anytime again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top