Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
542 reviews
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 542
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Come again customer
Business
Michigan
Nov 19, 2014

Great location for beach, shopping, and partying

The location is perfect! You are in the middle of all the activity. The beach is across the street...the food is great...and the shopping is excellent! Everything is in walking distance. From 7 to 8 p.m every evening the drinks are free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy Vee
Business
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2014

Had its ups and downs

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club definitely had its ups and downs. To start off: my friends and I were set up in a room that seemed to be located in the part of the hotel that had not yet been renovated, so it smelled musty and moldy upon arrival. There was very little lighting and our phone was not working until the day before we left, as a result, we had to run to the concierge to get towels or other things we needed. That was very disappointing. Other annoyances included the television in the room, which was one of those big box tvs, and the picture was blurry and the ipod dock was not working either. Since my group and I did not plan to stay in our room much, as we would be out most of the time, these minor things did not bother us much as the smell, the phone and the lighting. All in all, the experience with our room could have been better. However, outside of our room, I was happy with the rest of the hotel. The staff was great! They were very friendly and accommodating. Maxine's Bistro, which was located right outside of our room, had really good food. The bartenders and waiters were great. The rooftop pool was also really nice, it was small but the atmosphere was cool, as was the music. I would recommend this hotel if you get a room in any of the other renovated buildings, because it was a cool place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neil from NY
Business
New York City
Oct 8, 2014

The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The Catalina is by far the best hotel ive stayed at. They are extremely friendly and accomadating. Tyrrel the consierge gentlemen was very helpful in introducing activities of the hotel and food selection. The staff in general has great communication qualities. Thank you and i will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangoes Tropical

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Feeling 22
Business
Capitol heights, Maryland
Oct 2, 2014

Super Fun Birthday Vacay!

I was recently here 9/25-30,2014. Its was me and my best friend and we shared a standard double bed room. I can honestly say i did not want to leave.The staff were super friendly and accommodating. my only issues were, I really wish they had a microwave && they also placed us directly beside the rooms they were remodeling which only lasted in the morning for 2 days (so it wasn't that big of a deal) In plus we came to party! room service was really good. we went out and left the please clean sign on the door, when we came back the room was so super neat, she arranged our shoes neatly stacked our make up i wont go full into details but she was great! also i lost my id right at the end of my trip the staff was super helpful in helping me to look even though we didn't find it. they made a photocopy when i checked in..and gave me that to board my plane. I SO LOOVED THIS HOTEL, AND I ENJOYED MY BIRTHDAY. my friend had to drag me onto the plane. needless to say each and every time i come back this is where i will be! however i will only recommend this hotel to people who came to have fun, not for business or quietness. #PerfectStay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take advantage of the concierge...he's great! they also have a great $40 special to some of the best spots!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nik531
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 22, 2014

Miami Getaway

The staff at the Catalina Hotel's are very friendly and helpful and the location is central and great! However, the rooms are VERY small, the building is very old, and the cleanliness of the rooms is very questionable. We had to call and ask for an upgrade upon arrival because the towels and sink in our room clearly had not been cleaned. The staff was very responsive and helpful to fix this. I most likely would not stay here again and I would recommend 2 people to a room maximum. The restaurants at the hotel have great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JaxTD
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 15, 2014

Maids must have forgotten

The room smelled like urine. Had to go buy Windex and paper towels to clean the bathroom and furniture surfaces. Aside from that, everything else was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zchujfi
Business
Colombia
Sep 8, 2014

Very Noisy

Rooms in the first floor must suffer from intense noise . Only between 12m and 8:00 am you can get to sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super1378
Business
Ontario, Cananda
Aug 30, 2014

Fun weekend away

The hotel was average, the pool was very nice, rooms could use some updating. The location was great. overall a good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Lenn
Business
Queens, New York
Aug 23, 2014

Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming, friendly and interactive. Miguel, one of the door men, would even take the time to actually hold a conversation with us and directed us to some of the good hang out spots and eateries. The rooms were just what we needed, a clean place to sleep! You're in south beach and the room is the last place you'll want to be. The rooftop pool was very nice, it had a rooftop bar and a nice lounging area. The ground level pool was my personal favorite hang out spot, considering the water reaches up to 8ft deep and food or drinks can be ordered from the restaurant that is connected with the pool (food can also be ordered from the rooftop pool). The location of the hotel was also in a very convenient spot, not far from shopping centers and most importantly, the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I also recommend visiting this one sandwich spot it's on 14th st, between Collins ave and Washington ave it's called " La sandwicherie" .

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agsantos
Business
Connecticut
Aug 22, 2014

Fantastic 21st

We had a wonderful week long stay at the Catalina Hotel. 4 of us girls stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds, although it was tight, it was doable. The staff was amazing and fun to be around. The open bar was a hit and overall this hotel is a great place to meet lots of different people and have an amazing time! Such a great location on South Beach, so close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top