Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
147 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is $19.00 USD plus 13% taxes per room per night. The resort fee includes usage of Wi-Fi, beach towels, continental breakfast (from 7:30am - 10:30am), use of in-room safe, in-room bottled water, and welcome drink. The Resort Fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 147
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amazeme
Tampa
Apr 30, 2014

Short stay

Staff were really nice! Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. Deal price is as expected for the hotel itself. I didn't expect much but I was still very disappointed with the bed. It was like the 2nd bed under the real cushion one and had them refurbished as you can feel the springs literally. They said they were working on it and I read that in one of the reviews way back January and its the end of april. Otherwise, stay was great in this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping centers.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisiana
Jun 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

My entire trip was wonderful and served its purpose. I loved the President hotel staff was friendly and helpful.Although the rooms were small with no drawers it served its purpose.It was clean and room service was great.We spent little time in rooms. No interntet but I didnt need it anyway and bar was a display and not in use, now that was a bit of a problem. If you are going to relax and have fun this is the place the price is resonable and people are plesent. Location is awesome walking distance to shopping centers clubs etc.Washington St. club area, Ocean Drive great dinning, Collins shopping the location is worth it At the President Hotel you are in the middle of all that. Iwould also recommend the city boat tour,Key West is my next tour, yes I will be back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocen Drive says it all. Reasonable pricing great food and drinks friendly people. You are never bored in South Beach Miami

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dotzi
Clearwater, FL
Jun 12, 2010

Really nice location for that price!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised of the location and the style of this hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and had us immediately relocated to a similar hotel, The Penguin, just behind the President (directly on Ocean Drive)(upgrade) because our room had been flooded. The receptionist of The Penguin was fully informed and it all went very smooth. The room was clean and the furniture as well as the BR renovated with new sink etc. Nice. Also the breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe as part of the hotel was really good, not the usual but lots of fresh fruits etc. I think this hotel/area is especially liked by young couples as we saw lots of them. The nice area with all the action on Ocean Drive and the beach right across the beach was a very good choice. We would go there again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to choose from.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaboo
New Brunswick, NJ
May 27, 2010

Great Value

I've been to South Beach several times & this was my first time staying at this hotel. For our travel purpose of shopping hotels for a wedding, I was very satisfied with the President. The rooms exceeded my expectations; very clean & up to date. Noise was minimal and service was great. Location is great. The only thing missing was a pool, but with the beach a block away you could do without a pool. I would stay again & recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's on Collins Ave near 18th St is a great place for outdoor dining with live entertainment. And staff is great. We ate there three times during a 4 day stay! It's great.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sarah v
orlando,fl
Jan 24, 2010

very nice place

The Hotel it's really nice, cheap and perfect location also very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ
Dec 28, 2009

Good stay!

Good stay on the whole. Fantastic location at a good proce. Valet parking though was too slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tampa
Dec 16, 2009

Perfect Location, Very Nice Room

It is in really perfect location. You can go to beach, Lincoln, Espanyol, Ocean dr. The rooms are decorated very nice. It is exactly like in the photos. The stuff is friendly and helpful. No problem with air condition, towels, iron, iron board, hair dryer, refrigirator. The rooms are so clean. The price is also very good. In terms of limitations I can say the beds are a little..noisy.. bathroom is so cute but so so small. elevator is a little old. wireless internet is in only lobby not in the rooms. For this money it is really perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoyRide1031
Grand Blanc, MI
Nov 5, 2009

President - Great at a Good Price

I paid less that $100 for the hotel so I was extemely happy with my purchase. +: Great Location Good Value Small But Nice Bathroom Good Happy Hour Specials Clean -: Uncomfortable Beds Paper Thin Walls Small Beach Towels No Early Check In Overall I would book The President again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat @ Emeril's!

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bitten.
Mexico City, Mexico
Sep 23, 2009

EXCELLENT!

It's my fourth time in this hotel, and it's always been a good experience. It's really close to Lincoln Road and one block away from the beach. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are neat and the decoration is really cool, the bathroom is impeccable. Next visit to Miami, I'm staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to Lincoln Rd, a lot of restaurants and shops there.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chester, PA
Aug 23, 2009

GREAT Location and Price!!!!

The hotel room was beautiful! It was in the heart of South Beach! Everything was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The scenery is amazing!

Back to menu Return to top