Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
240 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is $19.00 USD plus 13% taxes per room per night. The resort fee includes usage of Wi-Fi, beach towels, continental breakfast (from 7:30am - 10:30am), use of in-room safe, in-room bottled water, and welcome drink. The Resort Fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 240
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danut
France
Apr 22, 2014

Poor quality hotel but very good location

We've spent three days in this hotel. - The rooms are very uncomfortable Poor breakfast + Location Staff is friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KurtF
minneapolis
Mar 13, 2014

perfect south beach location

overall nice. staff helpful. rooms lack sufficient furniture. rooms can be noisy - poorly insulated walls. attractive, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wolfsonian museum great, also Art Deco walking tour excellent

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess24Mason
Raynham, MA
Jan 14, 2014

Great Pre-Cruise Stay

Location and Check-in was great! Complimentary drinks at check-in (even though we arrived later than their posted complimentary drink times). Staff was very helpful with cab transportation. Held our luggage for us after check-out. Overall couldn't have asked for anything else. Even though it was a quick, one-night stay it was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krystinamenendez
ft myers fl
Dec 26, 2013

good stay

It was an ol stay the room was very nice and comfy. The continental breakfast have much to be desired.and I was surprised to see aresort fee that I still needed to pay after had made mine is a payment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Changez17
Toronto
Dec 22, 2013

Pleasant Surprise !

I stayed here from Dec 10 - 15, 2013 I read many many reviews before I decided to stay here ! I was very nervous that it might be dirty and not up to standard. It was clean and my bf and I were pleasantly surprise. We had to check in at the sister hotel because Collins ave was mess with all the construction. The bell hop took our luggage and took it over to the President. The breakfast was kind of a joke, I only had the coffee. The wifi was the best thing at the hotel ! The rooms were smaller then I expected but very clean. Clean sheets good towels, both beach and bath. The beds and pillows were perfect. The hotel is in a great spot on South beach close to A lot of stores and restaurants, most of which were opened 24 hrs or very late at nights ! checking in and check out was breeze.. The guy LEO at the front desk was super cuteeeee and such a nice guy, he will answer all your questions ! Overall I recommend this hotel 100% Only thing I would improve is making more shelves in the bathroom. There was hardly any shelves to out up my stuff ! Looking forward to staying there again when I visit South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

bus ride to Aventura mall

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Awesome hotel trave
Tampa, FL
Sep 30, 2013

great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rinaaa
Ny
Jul 3, 2013

Noisy

Overall the penthouse was amazing but way too pricey especially when doing construction in the room next door since 6am every day. They should have let us know or at least give a discount. Nobody wants to wake up at 6 in the morning on vacation! And one day our room wasn't even clean. We had to call a house keeper. The last day we called for ice and were told to come to the lobby to get it because the housekeeper had went home. Are you serious? At 5pm nobody could bring ice? After all don't we pay for the service?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Look around before jumping to eat something and know all your options first

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexanBorg
Houston, TX
Mar 31, 2013

A fake boutique

This is the perfect prototype of a fake boutique hotel. Not an aspiring one but a decidedly fake one. How to make a fake boutique hotel: find a great location on south beach, like an old motel. Renovate it cheaply. Build a fancy website with wide shot photos of modern furniture and posters. Add something to the effect of a pool. Show absolute disregard to noise insulation. Charge prices similar to actual boutique hotels. The rooms are renovated but finishing and furniture are cheap and scarce and seem more intended for decor than use and comfort. There is no sofa to sit on but two flimsy chairs good for decor only. Cheap spring mattress. Not enough place to put your stuff on either in the room or bathroom. no vanity in bathroom and a only a teeny tiny dressing table in the room. And the pool is a 2 by 6 yards tank in the yard not even suitable for kids swimming. It could have served as a hot tub except that it is ice cold. no heating. Another decorative feature. God, the noise! you can hear every single word or movement of a person passing in the hallway. The walls maybe okay but the doors seems to be the actual problem. Good luck with taking a nap in the afternoon. The most appalling thing to me was the attitude of absolute disregard of guests comfort. We paid $300 for a friday night stay only to wake up 8am in the morning by the horrible noise of pumps changing the water of that useless pool down in the yard. Sounded like 10 mowing machine. 8am in the morning of a saturday! Unbelievable the hotel management could be this ignorant. Perhaps the cheapest rate they could find for renting the pump machine and to the heck with guests sleeping. Breakfast is a decorative joke as well. Similar to the breakfast at a 2star motel on an interstate highway. you can pay to get omelets etc but so can you anywhere outside. the cleaning service: despite our requests to have our beds made and get new towels, we had to ask again and again. The positive things: location, cold lemony water in the lobby nice to have coming from outside, and green apples in the lobby (they should include a wide shot photo of that in the website). the wireless actually worked anytime we checked. Way too expensive for what they offer. Unfortunately we did our booking only two weeks in advance and this hotel was one of few hotels with availability. Last time we stayed in another hotel on ocean drive, which was a real nice boutique hotel, compared to which the president seems like a bad joke. Book in advance to get to real boutique hotels and don't be deceived by internet pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Romekpl
Memphis , Tn
May 29, 2012

A place to avoid

The only good thing about this hotel experience was that I left 15 min. After check in , the room was dirty and smells like marijuana smoke . The hotel staff was Ok .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJPH
Bridgeport, CT, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Noisy beds, thin walls, cheap breakfast. Good Location

The beds are super noisy, and not too comfortable. Walls are super thin so we kept waking up every time someone was on the hallway. The breakfast is just cereal coffee, tea, toasts and a few pastries. And they make you pay a "resort fee" to include this. Location is great. Room is modern looking. Bathroom is pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner at Meat Market, was amazing!

Back to menu Return to top