Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Newport Beachside Resort

3 stars
16701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
849 reviews
great viwes

I had a great ocean view for the money. I wiuld come back. See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 17, 2014
great place

We had great vacation in that place, We have been there first time, but for sure We'll come back See full review

  • Maryam VM
  • Sep 16, 2014
South Florida splendor at this Sunny Isles Beach hotel

An oceanfront setting with rows of thatched-roof cabanas tempt couples and families to this Sunny Isles Beach resort. The hotel was once a playground for stars such as Sammie Davis Jr. and Tina Turner. The hotel captures the Florida fantasy with access to water sports and a beachfront playground. When guests aren't wading in the pool, they're relaxing in the spa or in their colorful rooms, many with sweeping views of the water.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront hotel with beachside playground and personal cabanas
  • Seven Seas Spa & Salon, an Aveda concept offering hair and nail services
  • Family-friendly activities and water sports
  • Poolside tiki bar
  • Four dining options
Rooms

Guests craving ocean views and more space should request one of the one- or two-bedroom suites. The suites have balconies that are prime for sunset watching. The hotel's non-smoking carpeted rooms favor vibrant, multi-patterned bedding and drapes and matching throw pillows and lamps. A Jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are standard amenities. One- and two-bedroom suites boast two televisions. Wireless and high-speed Internet access is free.

Features

The tropical setting at Newport Beachside Resort appeals to couples on a romantic getaway, families on a summer vacation or business people staying in the area. At guests' request, the hotel can arrange boat charters, jet skiing and kayaking (fees apply). Kitchen 305 is an all-day restaurant featuring a breakfast buffet and a la carte options. The on-site restaurant treats diners to a chic setting and a seafood- and meat-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollwood International Airport (14 mi/ 22.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (18 mi/ 29 km)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • South Beach
  • Viscaya Museum and Gardens
  • Ancient Spanish Monastery
Business
  • 18,000 square feet of event space
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Presentation equipment, including podiums, microphones, lecterns and audiovisual tools
  • Fax and copy service
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $50 fee for pets less than 25 pounds. The fee is payable directly to the property and is not included in pre-paid booking.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • Valet parking costs $18 per day. Self-parking costs $12 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Newport Beachside Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Poolview Suite
The One Bedroom Poolview Suite feature one king or queen sized bed with a murphy bed, private balcony with pool and partial ocean views and the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Standard Room
Standard Room features 2 full-sized beds with the following amenities: cable TV; mini-fridge; electronic safe; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional One Bedroom Suite
The Traditional One Bedroom Suite feature one king sized bed with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.
Traditional Two Bedroom Suite
The Traditional Two Bedroom Suite features two king sized beds with a murphy bed with the following amenities: Spa tub with shower; wall bed with sofa; 2 cable televisions; kitchenette with eating area has a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven; electronic safe; hair dryer; (2) telephones with data port; iron & ironing board; clock/radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Newport Beachside Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.9306 -80.1219
Area served
Miami Beach, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
MIA-Miami International-12mi NE; FLL-Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl-12mi SE PBI-West Palm Beach-50mi S
Area description
Miami - 12mi SW

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose The Newport for your next conference or meeting, where 15,000 square feet of space offer the ideal setting for small to mid-sized conferences. Our meeting support services include high speed internet access, audio/visual technicians, 24-hour security, concierge, fax and copy service, message service and secretarial services. Meeting equipment is available for your event, including: Podiums, Microphones, Lecterns, Slide and overhead projectors, VCR and TV monitor, Lobby bulletin board, Easels, Flip charts, Laser pointer, and Special orders.

Dining

Cappucinos
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Deli, Baked goods, snacks, take-out Sandwiches and beverages. Hours of Operation: 7am to 11pm. Dress Code: Casual.
Ocean Reef
Located: Lobby Level. Serves: Breakfast Buffet and Dinner. Breakfast: 7am to 11am. Dinner: 5:30pm-10pm Dress Code: Casual.
Kitchen 305
Kitchen 305 offers an exciting and unique dining experience where creative plating techniques showcase distinctive gastronomic American-eclectic fare at its best. Where South Beach meets Sunny Isles Beach, Kitchen 305 offers great food and a fun dining in a chic setting. Located in the home of the former Newport Pub, Kitchen 305 is under the direction of Chef Julius Brown who brings his talents from Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Coconuts Pool Bar
Located: Poolside. Serves: Fast Finger Food. Lunch: 11am to 9pm. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (849)

Ratings and reviews for Newport Beachside Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 849
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara On the Go
Denver, CO
Jun 13, 2014

Average

The wait at the front desk is too long. They actually have a designated line area like at an amusement park! It's just a matter of it you get a good rate...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alpharetta
georgia
Jan 19, 2014

Alpharetta

I absolutely enjoyed my stay, weather was chilly but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Was not impressed with the kitchen service, on lobster night had to wait over an hour for the rack of lamb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blown off customer
Pittsburgh
Jan 1, 2014

Great location, ridiculous resort fee

Generally nice hotel, but overrun by teens without parents. $18 resort fee gets you little. No coffee in room, soda machines on EVERY floor are out of order -- many have signs saying can buy soda in bar. If you like fishing, nice fishing pier on property (free with room key)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric0531
Iowa City
Dec 30, 2013

Short Getaway

Generally a nice place. The valet parking and attendants was very convenient, and quick and pleasant service. Has a good small store for quick food and drink needs. The suite was nice but the shower was on the old side and its faucet didn't output an even spread. The check-in experience was a bit irritating when I had card problems and I think the staff did not provide a high end interaction but then this is a 3 star hotel. Anyways, nice place and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan7
CA
Dec 28, 2013

Nice Stay

Room was comfortable, staff was responsive, albeit guest volume and the age of the decor showed somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann from Indy
Miami, Florida
Nov 27, 2013

nice for simple leisure

overall was good. my room was a little out dated, and my frig was hard to get to, but pretty comfortable. fitness facility needs new equipment. you only have the sun at the pool in the morning, other tall buildings block it. I would recommend to someone if they want something simple, but i will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are two strip malls across from the hotel that made it nice for shopping and dining out.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YankeeImmigrant
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2013

Great location, needs updates and a better crowd

The hotel location is great, and it is affordable. The spa and restaurant are nice. Beach service is a great treat. The hotel needs updating, however - the elevators take forever, hallway rugs are old and dirty, and the pool area is very old. When I visited, in mid-August, the hotel was terribly overcrowded, and some of the guests were very loud and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole la Bretonne
Stockton, CA
Jun 2, 2013

Great location

Friendly staff. Perfect location. Easy access to the beach. Situated on a busy avenue, without noise disturbance. Room was spacious and clean. If I go back to Miami, I would consider using this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All sorts of boutiques.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bart k
Den Haag, Netherlands
Oct 26, 2012

clean and good located, but just average

I spent 5 nights in this hotel (1x3 + 1x2); Good points: - the staff is very friendly (first time I even got a free upgrade to ocean view) - the rooms are generally clean (just within my expectations' range) - the beds are comfortable and bedding seems to be brand new; - the beach and pool area are very nicely arranged; the plastic deck chairs are for free (you can also try to use the unoccupied wooden beach lounges but wil be kindly asked to leave as soon as somebody reserves these) - the food choice on site is sufficient; there is a supermarket in the neighborhood and a food mart just across the street - the location is OK; there is also a bus stop at the hotel (both directions) so you could even reach the Miami downtown without having to use the car - executive suite I upgraded to during my 2nd stay was just awesome! But there are also things to consider: - the hotel is being renovated now; many rooms are just "clean but old"; It's not glamorous, but it's also not really disturbing (you will spent the whole day on the beach either, won't you?); - on some floors you will have to deal with renovation works. Hint: just ask the staff and they will check other rooms for you (worked for me both times) - there are some building works on the pier next to the hotel (but not really disturbing); - the self parking is across the street; it's only a problem on check-in/check-out or if you have a lot of luggage you want to transport to/from the car; but the parking staff is friendly - just tell them you have a reservation. - the price does not include Resort fee ($15 per day) and room tax ($1,95 per day); Resort fee (or the combination: room price + resort fee) is in my opinion too high given the current works in the hotel. But fair considering the free amenities. - the price of the valet parking on-site ($20) is ridiculous. The self parking ($15) is also a bit expensive (comparable hotels in the neighborhood have free or less expensive parkings). All in all I can really recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a huge Aventura Mall approx. 5 miles from the hotel.

Review of Newport Beachside Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tedibearjeff
Great Mills, MD
Oct 19, 2012

Newport Beachside Resort Plusses and Minuses

Hotel was clean from the atrium to my room, but certain stairways going down from the third floor where I was staying that accessed outside, needed some cleaning up. It is an older hotel. When you book a room and you want a balcony like I thought I was getting, make sure you inquire first to make sure you have one. The web booking site I used implied balcony rooms, but my room was not one of them. I did get a renovated room on the parking lot side of the hotel which was renovated nicely, but the air conditioning was too cold for me even when turned off. A heat setting was not available on the AC thermostadt. There was no way to warm it up via opening a window (all sealed) or balcony door (no balcony). My room was lucky to be 72 degrees during the day with the AC turned off. I'm from Maryland, and I like my inside ac temps set in the summer from 78 to 80 degrees . I had a rental car, which I kept in the hotel cheaper non valet parking lot across the streeet from the hotel. This parking lot worked fine for me. The beach by the hotel is very nice and the sand clean, but the last week of August 1011 that I spent there included occasional jellyfish. There are a plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and outside bar area which bode well with me. The food was OK at the Coconuts pool bar as well. I never tried the inside restaurant due to a lack of advertising of menu items and specials. There are a lot of eating places within a couple of blocks North of the hotel, one of which was an Italian one that I really enjoyed, and frequented four or five times. It had a small band playing on Saturday eves. Hotel events were not advertised well at all. The hotel breakfast buffet restaurant was fine, but doesn't change its items, at least for the week I was there; so, I went to Denny's a couple of times for a change, which was a fair walk up Collins Ave. from the hotel. Check in was slow in terms of my room being ready. And a couple of hours later, when my room was ready, around 4pm, the valet who had my bags was nowhere to be found. I also had to return to the front desk a couple of times to have my room 'keycard' reprogrammed. I believe the memory strip on the cards are worn, and don't hold the key code after a couple of days. As a retired Engineer, I know magnetic strips used on the cards wear out. I flew into the Miami airport and drove North to the Newport on this trip. But if I did it again, I would use the FT Lauderdale airport, due to the traffic congestion I dealt with in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Adventura Mall which is about 6-8 mile drive from the hotel is 'just another mall' as far as I was concerned. But if you want movies to go to, this would be the place.

Back to menu Return to top