River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

2 stars
View map of 100 Se 4TH Street, Miami, FL 33131

Hotel Overview

2.5/5

Overall score

54%

Would recommend

Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1
Budget-friendly hotel in downtown Miami near the Financial District

A location next to the Miami River and budget rates lure business travelers to this downtown Miami hotel. The James L. Knight Center and the Miami Convention Center are steps away from the property. Guests find an outdoor pool, fitness center and 24-hour business center on premises. A spacious lobby fitted with tray ceilings and crystal chandeliers set the tone for the traditional style of the hotel whose rooms feature city or river views.

Highlights
  • Riverfront hotel within walking distance from Miami's Financial District
  • Shuttle to Port of Miami (fees apply)
  • Outdoor pool and sundeck overlooking the Miami River
  • Fitness center
Rooms

Clean comfortable rooms use floral bedspreads and striped drapes and valances to create traditional elegance. Depending on the room, windows look out to downtown Miami or the river. Standard amenities include free Wi-Fi access, cable TV and free continental breakfast.

Features

Miami's Financial District is nearby, and the hotel is a popular choice for business travelers. The property makes it convenient for cruisers as well. For $6 per person, a shuttle transports guest to the Port of Miami. Reservations are required.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (24 mi/ 38.6 km)
Attractions
  • James L. Knight Center (0.02 mi/ 0.03 km)
  • Fort Dallas Park (0.02 mi/ 0.03 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami River Walk (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Miami Art Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (5 mi/ 8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting and banquet facilities
  • Close to Miami's Financial District
  • Free Wi-Fi  
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking rate is $22 USD daily per car.
  • Refrigerator fee is $5 USD.
  • Some charges may incur taxes.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami Rooms

Standard
The room offers 1 Double Bed with clock radio/am-fm, in-room coffee and tea, iron & ironing board, newspaper 7 days a week, TV movies - free, TV movies - pay/view, TV, cable/satellite, coffee maker. Free Continental Breakfast with your stay.Refrigerator upon request - $5.00 daily
Standard Double
The room offers 2 Double Beds with clock radio/am-fm, in-room coffee and tea, iron & ironing board, newspaper 7 days a week, TV movies - free, TV movies - pay/view, TV, cable/satellite, coffee maker. Free Continental Breakfast with your stay.Refrigerator upon request - $5.00 daily

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.7712 -80.1922
Area served
Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport.
Area description
River Park Hotel and Suites is located at a distance of 8.75 miles from Miami International Airport and driving time is 15 minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Miami: 1.2 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.3 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.5 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.6 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.8 mi
  • Marlins Park: 1.8 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Miami: 1.2 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.3 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.5 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.6 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.8 mi
  • Marlins Park: 1.8 mi
  • Palm Island: 2.1 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 2.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 3.1 mi
  • Fisher Island: 3.3 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 3.6 mi
  • Morningside Park: 3.7 mi
  • Art Deco District: 3.8 mi
  • Espanola Way: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 3.9 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 4.1 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 4.2 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.3 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.4 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 4.5 mi
  • Oceanfront: 5.3 mi
  • Granada: 5.4 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 6 mi
  • University of Miami: 6.4 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 6.8 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 7 mi
  • North Shores: 7.5 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 7.5 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.5 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 7.8 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 8.5 mi
  • Tropical Park: 8.6 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 8.8 mi
  • Bay Harbour Islands: 8.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (303)

Ratings and reviews for River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy traveler!
Business
New Orleans, LA
Feb 15, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

This hotel was by far the nastiest experience of my life!!! The pictures on the website are very deceiving. The room was very dirty, stains, burn holes and the room smelled like stale cigerettes. The furniture was filthy, again stains everywhere and just overall GROSS!!! There is no service at all when I called for new sheets because they were so gross they told me they were all the same and no one would bring them up anyway, so I asked for a blanket,which I had to go get, and it had so much hair in it it looked as if a dog had been staying on it. There was no coffee and tea as described in the details and when asked about it, the staff said they hadn't had coffee or pots in years. The elevators were broken and extremly slow, and which were also extremly dirty. I think I've seen cleaner elevators in parking garages. This place was so nasty that I had prepaid for the room and LEFT!!! We had to go find a new room and just eat the cost!!! DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THIS PLACE"S PITURES!!!! IT IS NASTY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the hotel next door was much nicer!

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin Executive Director
Business
Dover Plains, NY
Feb 10, 2010

Hotel review

Very Unhappy, Dirty and no service including no face clothes, limited towels, no blankets for bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IT Consultant
Business
San Jose, California
Feb 7, 2010

Fine for working in Downtown

Great place to stay if you are going to be working in Downtown . This way you dont need a car or pay a lot for parking - lot of places to eat in the downtown area. . I travel from another city and used to stay in Miami for two weeks and go back. I was received well by this nice lady in the reception at close to midnight . She explained in detail about the amenities at the hotel. Few things which I was not aware of was the $25 valet parking , safe box in every room that they charge $2 per day(whether you use it or not) AND "No Internet /wifi" in the rooms - you have to go down to the lobby to access the internet. The room cleaning service was excellent , the people at the reception , manager and valet were very friendly ,helpful and professional. Few things that made me not rate this place well were:- Noisy neighbors in adjacent rooms who were shouting etc at times till 2 or 3 am out of the two elevator - one was never working and the other one takes all the time to come down or up No microwave , coffee in any part of the hotel or room Breakfast No Wifi / Internet in the rooms Overall is a nice place to stay in downtown for an average price...that suited my budget!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan PR
Feb 6, 2010

IKEA

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, Fl
Feb 3, 2010

The ugly on this hotel!!!

The hotel was over priced, dirty, and well below the standard of expectation for the price paid. I have stayed in much less expensive hotels and had very nice accomodations. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone and will not ever use them again. Our first night in the room with 4 ladies sharing the room, we had one towel and one wash cloth. Upon calling the front desk to report the issue, we were informed that they were out of towels and that we would have to wait til 8am to get more and that we would have to go to the front desk to get them. The remaining nights we only had three towels left and no wash cloths and no hand towels. The website promotes that there are coffee pots in the rooms, however, there was not and when we questioned this, were told that they had not had coffee pots in the room for over a year. Suggested they update the website! We were told via the website and front desk that a continental breakfast was provided. This was served from 8-9am and was coffee, powdered creamer and sugar. The food consisted of a piece of bread and that is it. Further, the elevator did not work well at all and we finally resulted to utilizing the stairs up and down. As if this were not enough, the bed coverings were stained and did not look as if they had ever been washed. To top it off, the carpets were very old and stained. In closing, we also had not only a water leak in the bathroom sink, but could not get the water to turn off. It took two days to get this repaired. For the cost of $149.00 a night, I expect much better facilities and treatment! As previously stated, I would not ever stay with this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK NEW YORK
Jan 15, 2010

ONE TO FORGET

This was a Three night stay. At check in the Valet never greeted us or helped while my wife and I unpacked and filled the bellhop cart. The front desk never welcomed us to the hotel. They responded, "Name sir". Once we were given the room key we stepped into the elivator that looked like it had not seen any cleaning since it was installed. Hand prints and dirt on the floor, like something out of a parking garage. Opening the door to the room to find, dirt along the wall, the T.V. not working, garbage outside the window on the roof, along with a broken ladder. The next morning I spoke with the manager who was understanding about the state of the room and made arrangements for a larger room two floors up. Very nice considering. The hotel ran out of extra blankets the second night and the weather was unusually cold. With no heat, no extra blankets, all the windows in the room it felt like winter inside! The staff made no attempt to prepare for this weather. Not even to provide guests with any comfort at all. Also, the fitness center does not exist. it looked like they sold there equipment and the room looked abandon. All the doors to the back pool area were chained up. Never even got a chance to walk around that area near the water. Even inside the hotel doors had chains on them. This hotel has put little to no effort tword satisfying there guests. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN ON YOUR NEXT TRIP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Miami
Business
New York NY
Jan 9, 2010

No heat in cold Miami!

Who would have thought that there were hotels without heat! The temperature dropped to the 30's-not that unusual for Miami in January-but no one warned that this hotel has no heat. The temperature in my room in the morning was 52 degrees F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring your long underwear if there is a cold spell in Miami.

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 6, 2010

Good location, & price,

Poor parking,scary elevators otherwise ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CindyDD
Business
Miami Fl
Jan 4, 2010

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Firstly, I called the hotel to ask about their rates and to see if they matched up w/ the website. A woman answered the phone and told me "our rate is 149, OK?" and clicked. Secondly, the hotel is located next to the highway so we heard cars driving by all night, which was a good distraction from the dripping shower which also went on all night as the showerhead was leaking and wouldn't stop. Also, the cleaning staff came into our room at 9 am to clean when checkout was not until 11. When we finally went downstairs to checkout there was a huge line through the lobby and only one person doing checkouts even though there is two computers and i saw two other staff members just standing around.When we did get to the front of the line the attendant was rude as i tried to explain to her that the day before they could not find our reservation because it was New years day and the reservations dept wasnt open. She cut me off in the middle of my sentence and told me in a rude way 'room number!'. I understand the cost is low, but these people are all rude. Of the 4 staff members i spoke to all of them seemed to by bothered by questions or even taking a reservation. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Park Hotel and Suites - Port of Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Jan 3, 2010

Not the greatest

Close to the AA Arena and downtown sites. Easy drive to Everglades and Key Largo. This hotel was not the worst, but it was nowhere near the top. I knew it wouldn't be great just looking at the price, but I was hoping for better. Very hard to find the hotel the first time. Really look at the map and watch for those one way roads!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going south of I-95, take the turnpike. If going to the turnpike, take the interstates. It will save you a whole lot of time by not sitting in traffic.

Back to menu Return to top