Rate based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Leamington Hotel

2 stars
View map of 307 NE 1st Street, 307 Northeast 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Leamington Hotel

Overall score

1.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
1.4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
1.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.1

18% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearfield, PA
Jul 18, 2011

friendly staff

The staff was very friendly, but the room left somthing to be desired. It was clean, but needed a paint job and just overall update. Not the best part of Miami (we made sure we were in our room before it was dark outside).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando ,fl
Jun 20, 2011

weekend getaway

It lives up to its bad review. If this hotel was in a third world country i`ll accept it. It amazes me this hotel it allowed to operate here in the U.S. First of all it has no parking, i had to pay $15 a day to park in the corner parking area. their was no running hot water the first night. No elevator after 12am. Insects in the shower, you feel like your in some hole in the wall hotel in south america . Only good thing was the location right in the middle of downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
carribean
May 30, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

i went shopping, yes.ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youngtravellers
Business
Germany
May 19, 2011

Never again!!!

We came actually to Miami to do some sightseeing. But we arrived at this hotel and it was a disaster. We came in very late so the people told us if we want to use the elevator to get our laggage up to our room, we had to do it right away because the elevator was from the middle ages and operated with handes so they needed an employee to get us up there. Your room was mouldy, old and filthy which is for me as a person who has allergies really bad. I'm really not a person who is in need of a high standard but this was to much. It might be simple but there are other priceless hotels which are more reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
Apr 20, 2011

NOT HAPPY

TOO OLD FASHIONED AND MOLD AND HOLES EVERYWHERE...RAG HOTEL....BEDS TOOOOOO HARD...UNSAFE DOOR LOCKS THAT WERE SHAKY..UNHAPPY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scrubbie
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 28, 2011

Good hotel on a budget

I am a single traveler, looking for a safe, comfortable, bug-free hotel to crash in for a couple… of days … on a budget. With that specifically in-mind …. The pros: - Great location downtown - Inexpensive transportation (From MIA, take the 150 Flyer Bus to Earlington Heights Station, then transfer to the Metro Train and take that to Government Center station. Walk 3 blocks to hotel) - Clean bug-free room & clean bathroom with plenty of hot & cold water - Free in-room wireless - Working TV - Great local hole-in-the-wall 24/hour food joint next door (try the Cuban sandwich) - The price :) .… The cons: - There is no ability to change the air temperature in the room, so the room may be too cold or too hot for you. No in-room refrig/microwave. ------- Overall Opinion: This is my second time staying at this hotel and I feel I got was I expected, which was no frills, just a bed with 4 walls and a basic bathroom with no amenities. If you are a single traveler looking for a cheap place to lay your head down, this hotel will work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to the hotel from Miami Int. Airport (MIA) on $4.35, take the 150 Flyer Bus from MIA for $2.35 to the Earlington Heights station, then get on the Metro for $2 to Government Station and walk 3 blocks to hotel.

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 20, 2011

Very poor hotel operation

On check-in, the key was lost and had to borrow the maids key to get in and return it. Eventually they made another. The lost key could have been used to enter and steal by staff. The door knob fell off and out of the door. Two requests to fix were made but it did not happen. I left the door handle on the floor and could not lock the door. A seal on the window was missing and noise from the next building's AC system could be heard all night (request to fix ignored). You have to wait for the elevator boy to eventually come to work the lift (off-limits to people), a request for taxi was made but it did not occur. Bathroom-no water glass, shampoo, floor mat, toilet did not flush, toilet was so close to the sink you could not sit without being bumped by the sink. Take heed on previous reviews, you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHF
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 16, 2011

Just a getaway

The Leamington was in a great location. It is walking distance to Bayside Market place, CVS, Walgreens. When we checked in the hotel staff was nice & pleasant. We had a night stay before leaving on a cruise. We were informed of the free shuttle to the cruise port(must sign up night before)and breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was coffee/tea, toast and coffee cake. The room and bathroom was really clean. No signs of any type of infestation(I always check). The furniture was really dated, but okay for one night and the price was right. Yes, you can spend more for lush and plush but a clean room, neat old elevator, nice staff and great location while saving a buck or two was good for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can shop and pick up dinner just a few blocks away by walking to the Bayside Market Place.

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Late 20's married couple
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 13, 2011

Cheap, well-located, but bad hotel

If you want to spend as little as possible, which is what we wanted, without regard to comfort, stay here. We actually stayed two nights, the first (before the cruise) was the worst, the AC didn't work and the bed was horrible. The second night (after the cruise) we got a slightly better bed, and it was cold so we didn't need the AC, but in the morning the elevator broke, so we had to haul our suitcases down three flights of steep steps. Also the beds are full sized, so if you are used to a Queen or King, you might feel cramped. About half way through the first night I was ready to pay an extra $30 to stay anywhere else. A continental breakfast is included, however the breakfast is only coffee, tea, toast, and lemon poppy-seed bread. So it's good for a start, but we ended up buying breakfast elsewhere too. They also have a free shuttle to the Port of Miami and the airport. BUT make sure you book these the night before, we missed out. However a cab ride to the port was only $10 including tip. And taking the bus to the airport is pretty easy and around $3 a person. The location of the hotel is great, it's not in a great neighborhood, but it's very close to Bayside Park and shopping center, and a block from the 1st Street Metromover station. Exploring Downtown is easy, and South Beach and other areas are a quick bus ride away. So if you are cheap, and just need a place to crash, this hotel is fine. The clientele seemed perfectly fine, similar to us -- vacationers looking to spend as little as possible. We felt safe and the rooms were clean. But if you need a comfortable bed and can afford to spend a few extra Hamilton's a night, then look elsewhere. I'm not sure how this hotel got 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scrubbie
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 9, 2011

Good hotel on a budget

I am a single traveler, looking for a safe, comfortable, bug-free hotel to crash in for a couple of days … on a budget. With that specifically in-mind… The pros: - Great location downtown - Inexpensive transportation (From MIA, take the 150 Flyer Bus to Earlinton Station, then transfer to the Metro Train and take that to Government Center station. Walk 3 blocks to hotel) - Clean bug-free room & clean bathroom with plenty of hot & cold water - Free in-room wireless - Working TV - Great local hole-in-the-wall 24/hour food joint next door (try the Cuban sandwich) - The price :) The cons: - There is no ability to change the air temperature in the room. It is set by the front desk for the entire floor. My room was uncomfortable hot, but others complained there room was a bit cold. - No in-room refrig/microwave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top