Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Walt Disney World Dolphin

4 stars
1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
420 reviews
value and convenience

Nice big rooms, QUIET, and friendly staff for a perfect bargain overnight to visit Disney World at... See full review

  • Birthday gram
  • Apr 13, 2014
FANTASTIC FAMILY GETAWAY

IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD See full review

  • MJmmmmmmmm
  • Mar 26, 2014
Avant-garde style meets comfort in magical Lake Buena Vista

A striking pyramid design topped by twin iconic dolphin sculptures welcomes guests to Walt Disney World Dolphin. Within the site is a grotto pool complete with waterfalls and white sand beach, plus a great choice of 17 restaurants. If karaoke and sushi appeals, there is Kimonos, or sample fresh produce at the Mediterranean market. For ultimate sophistication, relax at the chic Cabana Bar. Business guests are provided with a whopping 84 meeting rooms at Walt Disney World Dolphin.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Right at the heart of the action within the Walt Disney World Resort
  • Free transport with ferryboat option to all Walt Disney World Resorts and attractions
  • Luxurious guest rooms designed by architect Michael Graves
Walt Disney World Dolphin Rooms

The main 27-story building plus two 10-story wings provide guests at Walt Disney World Dolphin with a choice of 1,508 guest rooms. Beautifully designed in cool, contemporary style with light wood furniture, the emphasis is on pure rest and relaxation. Designer Michael Graves is responsible for this fresh and upmarket feel, and these comfortable rooms feature Westin Heavenly Beds, complete with down duvets and comforters, plus plush pillows promise to deliver a wonderful night of sleep. That is, if the activities, fabulous bars and restaurants, and the Mandara Spa pampering session have not already worn guests out. Large flat-screen televisions, laptop-compatible safes, and coffee-making facilities enhance the experience, and complimentary newspapers are available downstairs in the Walt Disney World Dolphin lobby. High-speed Internet access is also available (mandatory service fees apply). A number of room options are offered, some include a balcony, and for true Disney magic, opt for those with an Epcot fireworks view.

Things To Do:
  • Disney's Fantasia Gardens Miniature Golf courses (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Disney's Hollywood Studios (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Disney's BoardWalk Resort (1 mi/1.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • The following parking fees apply: non-registered guest (those who are visiting the hotel to use facilities and services but are not staying overnight), $16 for each exit (self-parking) and $26 for each exit (valet parking); and registered guest, $16 + tax per day (self-parking) and $26 + tax per day (valet parking).

  • Please note that the property charges a mandatory USD 20.00/day resort fee service package which includes: unlimited domestic long distance per day, unlimited access to the resort's health club facilities, in-room high-speed internet access and two bottles of water daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Walt Disney World Dolphin Rooms

Standard Guest Rooms
At the end of the day, our guest rooms offer the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. All guest rooms at the Walt Disney World Dolphin have been redesigned with a fresh, contemporary look that reflects a luxurious sophistication designed by world-renowned architect, Michael Graves.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Walt Disney World Dolphin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3654 -81.5585
Area served
Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, Orlando, St. Cloud, Winter Park, Cypress Gardens, Winter Haven, Sanford, Daytona Beach
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport - 20 Miles; Executive Airport - 25 Miles; Tampa International Airport - 60 Miles
Area description
Nearby Cities: * Kissimmee - 5 Miles * Orlando - 5 Miles * St. Cloud - 15 Miles * Winter Park - 20 Miles * Cypress Gardens - 25 Miles * Winter Haven - 25 Miles * Sanford - 35 Miles * Daytona Beach - 75 Miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.9 mi

Dining

Garden Grove
Enjoy buffets for breakfast and dinner or casual a la carte favorites for lunch in Garden Grove, recently redesigned with a Central Park theme. Disney character dining featured nightly or for breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays. Perfect for family dining.
Kimonos
Experience the art of sushi, karaoke, and an intimate atmosphere in our authentic Japanese sushi restaurant. Open for dinner.
Todd English's bluezoo
Enjoy coastal cuisine from celebrity Chef Todd English, incorporating an innovative selection of fresh seafood in an energetic and vibrant atmosphere. AAA Four Diamond Award and three-time recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence. Open for dinner.
Il Mulino New York Trattoria
Traditional Italian cuisine from the Abruzzi region of Italy, served in a dynamic rustic trattoria. Features a diverse offering of exciting and bountifully presented dishes, prepared from original Italian recipes. Open for dinner.
Splash Grill
Lunch, snacks, and ice cream just steps from the pool and white sand beach. Self-service restaurant with indoor seating. Open seasonally.
Fresh Mediterranean Market
Savor fresh, made-to-order menu items from our Mediterranean-style market. Open for breakfast and lunch.
The Fountain
Crisp salads, custom grilled burgers, and a delectable array of sandwiches and desserts. Take away homemade or soft serve ice cream. Open for lunch and dinner.
Todd English's bluezoo lounge
Experience the resurgence of handmade classic cocktails in our ultra lounge, along with the areas finest champagnes, wines, and cordials. Open evenings.
Splash Terrace
Lunch, snacks and ice cream, just steps from the pool and white sand beach. Outdoor seating with table service. Open seasonally.
Cabana Bar and Beach Club
The new cabana is a sleek and contemporary venue with a hint of south beach chic. Use of luxurious materials such as exotic Ipe wood and custom glass and wood tiles as well as the signature gas torches and wispy white draperies which create intimate seating areas for sipping cocktails create an upscale and sophisticated ambience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A recipient of the prestigious Meetings & Conventions Hall of Fame Award, the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort is a nationally respected and recognized leader in the convention resort arena. Ideally located in the heart of Walt Disney World, the resort offers 2,265 guest rooms and over 329,000 square feet of meeting space. Features consist of 84 meeting rooms, including two executive boardrooms, four ballroom options, 110,500 square feet of contiguous convention/exhibit space, outdoor function areas, two business centers, and exclusive Disney Differences. Groups also enjoy sophisticated guest rooms featuring Westin Heavenly Beds, the luxurious Mandara Spa and 17 world-class restaurants and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (420)

Ratings and reviews for Walt Disney World Dolphin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
420 out of 420
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
Birthday gram
palm harbor fl
Apr 13, 2014

value and convenience

Nice big rooms, QUIET, and friendly staff for a perfect bargain overnight to visit Disney World at a seriously busy time of year. Easy access to park tickets & GREAT breakfast buffet, Everything spotless and seriously clean. Would stay again and again, even tho the Disney bus is S L O W

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast bar in lobby works great for a la carte, and the Level 1 Mediterranean restaurant has a wonderful buffet breakfast with juicer treats, and egg chefs to customize

Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
MJmmmmmmmm
New Hyde Park, NY
Mar 26, 2014

FANTASTIC FAMILY GETAWAY

IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

4
dma7349
Huntington, NY
Mar 24, 2014

Perfect Location

The room was very quiet, one of the quietest rooms I've experienced in a long time. I like the idea of getting a $5 credit every day you don't use the housekeeping to clean your room. That helped pay for breakfast. Perfect location to walk to Epcot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

4
Princess Jillian's Mom
Plainfield, NY
Mar 18, 2014

Nice family hotel

We really enjoyed the pools, water slide, and cabana bar and food. One of the hot tubs was cold, though, and didn't get fixed during our stay. The pools were pleasantly warm, and very enjoyable. Water transport to Epcot and Hollywood Studios is fast and fun, but the bus transport to Magic Kingdom and Animal kingdom is average. The hotel is beautiful, and the fountain in the lobby is very impressive. My daughter loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Disney Boardwalk area to eat. Short walk and decent variety and prices.

Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

4
RCtraveler
Orlando, FL
Mar 18, 2014

Everything you Need and More

My wife and I (no kids) enjoyed a weekend getaway and really enjoyed the amenities and proximity to Epcot (10 min walk or ferry ride). The pools were not busy and the restaurants had great selections. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water to offer. So many positives, but here are only a couple negatives: If you are trying to budget your trip, please consider that there are parking fees ($15/day) and resort fees ($20/day) in addition to the price you pay. Also, the bus ride to and from magic kingdom easily took two hours out of our day (apps 20-50min wait, with 20 min ride). Lastly our toilet water continued to run throughout the night, but the noise was easily hampered by shutting the bathroom door. Overall, we will definitely revisit the dolphin on our next trip if we want to treat ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
JayH from NJ
Edgewater, NJ
Mar 15, 2014

Great time at Dolphin

My daughter had her 6 year old birthday during the stay and Dolphin sent us a happy birthday cupcake and balloons with an ice cream coupon free. The swimming pool was clean and neat. She took water slide more than 30 times and had a fun on the sand beach. The staffs were very kind and entire atmosphere and service was very satisfying us. Next time when I come with my sister in laws family to Disney (they have younger children) , I would visit Dolphin again for its value and kids friendly amenity. Note : I was charged a hotel fee about $22 per day separately. Please make sure of all fees are included before you get a deal. And no Disney Magical Express available from/to MCO but have to find out your own transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
DW visitor
Washington DC
Mar 9, 2014

Great location but expensive & dirty

PROS: Great location if you're planning to go to Disney World. The boats to Epcot & Hollywood Studios were a huge plus and operated much more smoothly than the buses to Magic Kingdom/Animal Kingdom. The boats were on time, not overflowing with people (though sometimes it would become standing room only but I never saw anyone get turned away due to it being over-capacity). It's a smooth and pretty boat ride to the parks. The buses seemed much less reliable. They pick up at a few other resorts before getting to Dolphin so due to lack of capacity, they would sometimes end up never even stopping at Dolphin so you end up waiting a LONG time for a bus (it's supposed to be 15-20min between buses so multiply that by 2 or 3). Buses coming back to Dolphin from MK/AK more timely and not as full (though Dolphin is the last resort stop they make on their way back). CONS: Found a cockroach in our bathroom & that pretty much killed the good stuff about the hotel. The staff moved us to a new room and gave us a small credit on our bill (which they actually messed up & overcharged $$ instead of deducting $$) but didn't seem to care otherwise about any potential pest infestation. They also moved us to a room that had a terrible view - completely blocked by the machinery on the rooftop. Food at the hotel is overpriced. They also charge a daily resort fee (I think it was about $20/day) to your bill... covers the 2 free bottles of water which housekeeping drops off at your room (which btw cost $1.50/bottle in the parks), gym/facilities, etc. Not that much in the way of perks for a resort fee that adds up if you stay several days IMO. At least the wifi is free.... Bottom line: Dolphin was OK but the cockroach issue was just a bit much for me to handle. Not a super fancy hotel so don't set expectations super high. If you're here for the parks, the location is pretty good (GREAT for Epcot/Hollywood Studios in particular). But do some research on the bus routes for the other DW resorts too. Your resort stop # matters! TIP: (1) The hotel also has a Disney World desk which is hidden away in the lobby area. Definitely check it out to pick up park maps, event schedules, or if you just have questions. Not sure why the check in staff never pointed this desk out to us when we checked in! (2) We took the Mears shared shuttle back to airport & ride was easy and affordable compared to taxi. We didn't pick up anyone else at other resorts so that saved some time. But they do make you schedule your shuttle pick up for 3 hours before your flight so you lose a little time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

1
Terry22
Houston, Texas
Mar 5, 2014

Additional Charges to Credit Card

The Dolphin resort charged my credit card an extra 417.00 for no reason, and will not return my phone calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
Chris Lowe
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 3, 2014

Amazing Customer Service

My wife and I had a great experience. This was a last minute trip we booked to stay two nights at the Dolphin and visit Epcot while there. Walking distance to Epcot makes the Dolphin extremely convenient. We used the Valet service to park the car where we were helped by Ramon. While in line to check in we realized that we had left our Disney Bands in the glove box. I rushed back to see that the car had already been parked. This was not a problem as Ramon was quick to run out to car to retrieve the bands for us. We checked in the front counter. Miquel was very helpful while checking in. He answered every question we had and was very friendly. The room was amazing and we were reluctant to check out on Sunday as were were having such a great time. We checked out and were again helped by Ramon as he pulled our car around. He offered us directions to where we were heading and even grabbed us a couple mini waters for the road. We will be staying at the Dolphin many more times on our returns to Disney. I would recommend this Resort to anyone thinking of going to any Disney park, especially Epcot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Epcot

Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
Chris Lowe
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 3, 2014

All the Disney Amenities without the Cost

Less expensive than the hotels right next door. Yet you will still get all of the Disney Perks, such as character breakfast, extra magic hours etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top