Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Walt Disney World Dolphin

4 stars
1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
420 reviews
value and convenience

Nice big rooms, QUIET, and friendly staff for a perfect bargain overnight to visit Disney World at... See full review

  • Birthday gram
  • Apr 13, 2014
FANTASTIC FAMILY GETAWAY

IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD, IT WAS GOOD See full review

  • MJmmmmmmmm
  • Mar 26, 2014
Avant-garde style meets comfort in magical Lake Buena Vista

A striking pyramid design topped by twin iconic dolphin sculptures welcomes guests to Walt Disney World Dolphin. Within the site is a grotto pool complete with waterfalls and white sand beach, plus a great choice of 17 restaurants. If karaoke and sushi appeals, there is Kimonos, or sample fresh produce at the Mediterranean market. For ultimate sophistication, relax at the chic Cabana Bar. Business guests are provided with a whopping 84 meeting rooms at Walt Disney World Dolphin.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Right at the heart of the action within the Walt Disney World Resort
  • Free transport with ferryboat option to all Walt Disney World Resorts and attractions
  • Luxurious guest rooms designed by architect Michael Graves
Walt Disney World Dolphin Rooms

The main 27-story building plus two 10-story wings provide guests at Walt Disney World Dolphin with a choice of 1,508 guest rooms. Beautifully designed in cool, contemporary style with light wood furniture, the emphasis is on pure rest and relaxation. Designer Michael Graves is responsible for this fresh and upmarket feel, and these comfortable rooms feature Westin Heavenly Beds, complete with down duvets and comforters, plus plush pillows promise to deliver a wonderful night of sleep. That is, if the activities, fabulous bars and restaurants, and the Mandara Spa pampering session have not already worn guests out. Large flat-screen televisions, laptop-compatible safes, and coffee-making facilities enhance the experience, and complimentary newspapers are available downstairs in the Walt Disney World Dolphin lobby. High-speed Internet access is also available (mandatory service fees apply). A number of room options are offered, some include a balcony, and for true Disney magic, opt for those with an Epcot fireworks view.

Things To Do:
  • Disney's Fantasia Gardens Miniature Golf courses (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Disney's Hollywood Studios (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Disney's BoardWalk Resort (1 mi/1.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • The following parking fees apply: non-registered guest (those who are visiting the hotel to use facilities and services but are not staying overnight), $16 for each exit (self-parking) and $26 for each exit (valet parking); and registered guest, $16 + tax per day (self-parking) and $26 + tax per day (valet parking).

  • Please note that the property charges a mandatory USD 20.00/day resort fee service package which includes: unlimited domestic long distance per day, unlimited access to the resort's health club facilities, in-room high-speed internet access and two bottles of water daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Walt Disney World Dolphin Rooms

Standard Guest Rooms
At the end of the day, our guest rooms offer the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. All guest rooms at the Walt Disney World Dolphin have been redesigned with a fresh, contemporary look that reflects a luxurious sophistication designed by world-renowned architect, Michael Graves.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Walt Disney World Dolphin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3654 -81.5585
Area served
Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, Orlando, St. Cloud, Winter Park, Cypress Gardens, Winter Haven, Sanford, Daytona Beach
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport - 20 Miles; Executive Airport - 25 Miles; Tampa International Airport - 60 Miles
Area description
Nearby Cities: * Kissimmee - 5 Miles * Orlando - 5 Miles * St. Cloud - 15 Miles * Winter Park - 20 Miles * Cypress Gardens - 25 Miles * Winter Haven - 25 Miles * Sanford - 35 Miles * Daytona Beach - 75 Miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.9 mi

Dining

Garden Grove
Enjoy buffets for breakfast and dinner or casual a la carte favorites for lunch in Garden Grove, recently redesigned with a Central Park theme. Disney character dining featured nightly or for breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays. Perfect for family dining.
Kimonos
Experience the art of sushi, karaoke, and an intimate atmosphere in our authentic Japanese sushi restaurant. Open for dinner.
Todd English's bluezoo
Enjoy coastal cuisine from celebrity Chef Todd English, incorporating an innovative selection of fresh seafood in an energetic and vibrant atmosphere. AAA Four Diamond Award and three-time recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence. Open for dinner.
Il Mulino New York Trattoria
Traditional Italian cuisine from the Abruzzi region of Italy, served in a dynamic rustic trattoria. Features a diverse offering of exciting and bountifully presented dishes, prepared from original Italian recipes. Open for dinner.
Splash Grill
Lunch, snacks, and ice cream just steps from the pool and white sand beach. Self-service restaurant with indoor seating. Open seasonally.
Fresh Mediterranean Market
Savor fresh, made-to-order menu items from our Mediterranean-style market. Open for breakfast and lunch.
The Fountain
Crisp salads, custom grilled burgers, and a delectable array of sandwiches and desserts. Take away homemade or soft serve ice cream. Open for lunch and dinner.
Todd English's bluezoo lounge
Experience the resurgence of handmade classic cocktails in our ultra lounge, along with the areas finest champagnes, wines, and cordials. Open evenings.
Splash Terrace
Lunch, snacks and ice cream, just steps from the pool and white sand beach. Outdoor seating with table service. Open seasonally.
Cabana Bar and Beach Club
The new cabana is a sleek and contemporary venue with a hint of south beach chic. Use of luxurious materials such as exotic Ipe wood and custom glass and wood tiles as well as the signature gas torches and wispy white draperies which create intimate seating areas for sipping cocktails create an upscale and sophisticated ambience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A recipient of the prestigious Meetings & Conventions Hall of Fame Award, the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort is a nationally respected and recognized leader in the convention resort arena. Ideally located in the heart of Walt Disney World, the resort offers 2,265 guest rooms and over 329,000 square feet of meeting space. Features consist of 84 meeting rooms, including two executive boardrooms, four ballroom options, 110,500 square feet of contiguous convention/exhibit space, outdoor function areas, two business centers, and exclusive Disney Differences. Groups also enjoy sophisticated guest rooms featuring Westin Heavenly Beds, the luxurious Mandara Spa and 17 world-class restaurants and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (420)

Ratings and reviews for Walt Disney World Dolphin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
420 out of 420
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
South Africa / Botswana
Jan 17, 2010

Over priced over rated

We represent the 40 % of international arrivals that get shafted by disney - we paid over the top prices for everything - now that we have been we know to stay with Disney Resorts as they provide more affordable options and dinner plans - we were paying on average $100-00 per meal (x3 a day ) for junk meals that would normaly cost about $12-00. When asked about meal pland we were smuggly told we dont qualify - I guess once you are paying over $150-00 a day per person then you are expected to just keep paying - even for low quality food. You will notice an absence of McDonalds etc as then one would see that the food served is on par with these outlest but Disney charge 1000 times more for the same quality / standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go with Disney Resorts not Swan or Dolphin unless they have offered rates applicable to what you actualy get .

Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
S D M
Daytona, Florida
Sep 9, 2011

2 Night Weekend Getaway

Front of the house was fine. Housekeeping left lots to be desired. They still hadn't made up the room when we returned from the park at 3:30pm (don't think it was going to happen). Swapped towels myself with a maid that I tracked down and made the beds ourselves. Hallways were dirty and didn't appear to have been vacuumed during our stay. Rooms and common areas (other than the lobby) are dated and could use an update. TV in the room had sporadic outages and not all channels shown on the hotel guide worked. No TV express checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
traveler.1234
Orlando
Feb 18, 2013

Hiddens Fees

It may be just a pet peeve of mine, but I hate when I prepay for a hotel and upon check-out I'm hit with another bill. I stayed at the hotel for 2 days and while the location was good, it isn't worth it to pay the extra fees. Between the booking site and the hotel I was charged over $80 in resort fees, booking fees, and taxes. The hotel prices was good, but when you add $40 bucks a day to it its not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Psl,fl
Oct 3, 2010

It was a Disney experience

Staying in the dolphin was nice the rooms were very small even after askin for an upgrade blacony was tiny, location was nice, parking was quit abit to pay and park even if your staying in hotel. Pricey pricey pricey for the room and stuff just didn't seem worth it a regular Disney expensive vacation over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Tim 2014
iowa
Feb 11, 2014

This the one your mother told you about, buyer beware!

great location, beautiful motel, but he hidden fees must go! you are stuck with fees (approximately $ 42 per day). that you don't realize until you are there and they got u! they appear to offer lower rates then add on the extra and you have not choice but to take the fees or walk. I would suggest you check out the other motels close to DW before making finalizing your reservations. sorry guys but someone has to let people know about the bad business practices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
delaware
May 30, 2011

Average

No housekeeping done. Trash was left in the room with dirty diapers for 2 days! Air conditioner didn't work. My little one was either freezing or too hot. Hotel location and pools were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
JPro
Florida
Nov 6, 2012

They Charge for Parking!!!

It's a very nice hotel but... They charge you for parking, per-vehicle, per-day. It ended up costing me an additional $40 for a two day trip! I got nickel-and-dimed so I gave them 2 stars. PS - The REAL Disney hotels don't charge for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't park there if you can avoid it - Save yourself the daily parking fee

Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Azusa
Jun 10, 2008

Stay at a real Disney Hotel

You don't get the complimentary Disney transportion and the room / bathroom is way to small for the amount of starts this place has. You are better off staying at a Disney Hotel on Disney Property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
Xave's Mom
Princeton, NJ
Jul 29, 2012

Bad customer service

Although the location is ideal, there is little to make this outstanding. Had to call downstairs when there was trouble in the hall...no security? And then had to deal with a nippy concierge when I complained. Have to walk through smoking section to get to shuttle bus. Can hear next door. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Walt Disney World Dolphin

Reviewer score

2
DiannaC
East Central, IL
Jan 6, 2011

Room Issues - including ants

My family and I stayed at the Dolphin Resort from December 16th -22nd, leaving the 22nd. We had a few room issues. The first day, I had forgotten my laptop in the car. I used the tv remote, turned on the internet, but when I tried to use the keyboard, nothing would happen. I couldn't get the keyboard to work, so I took off the back to see if it had batteries. They were completely corroded. Well, you couldn't go back to regular TV without turning off the internet from the keyboard. I called the front desk, explained the situation and said they would need a keyboard. She said, "Well, we're in the process of removing all of the keyboards." They have maids in everyday - shouldn't be a big process. The tech arrived, tried the keyboard, wouldn't work, took the back cover off. He said, "I'll be right back, I need a another keyboard". I explained to him I told them at the front desk it was completely corroded and that whoever came up would need another. He came back within about 10 minutes and fixed the problem.When the hotel started filling up on the weekend, you had to stand and hold the lever down on the toilet for 11-12 seconds (try actually doing that and see how long that really is). Our shower had a wayward spray that, no matter how tight you tried to get the curtain closed, would spray out onto the floor and the toilet. However, a couple of days later when we started having ants, I called to complain. They had to call me back. They said the only room they had was a king bed room, but there were 4 of us. They sent up Angel to check out the problem. He brought a bug spray - black and white can. He sprayed the area around the coffee pot and under, near the bathroom, and the beds and desk. That was right before we went to bed. After that my throat became very scratchy, I developed a cough, and was a bit hoarse. My daughter developed a cough as well. It didn't seem to affect the other two. The morning of our departure, I went to the desk to tell them the ants had come back the day before, but since my daughter and I had developed symptoms after them spraying the room, we didn't call to have them spray again. I wanted to make them aware, that they would probably want to spray since there were ants again, before someone else checked in to that room. I asked if there was something they could do with our bill because of this. The woman at the desk (I didn't get her name), said wait a moment. After waiting, she came back and said I would have to talk to security, which I thought was odd. I waited in the lobby for approximately 10 minutes before someone [...]from security arrived. I explained the situation, he asked for identification, saying that way he knew who he was actually talking to. I gave him my driver's license and business card. He proceeded to copy down my driver's license information. He kept saying he was just taking the report, and would be turning it over to someone else to handle. He said they would definitely be giving me a call. It's Jan 6th, and I haven't heard a peep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top