Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Disney's Wilderness Lodge

4 stars
901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
81 reviews
Great stay at Wilderness Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities and seclusion of this hotel as well as the value and will... See full review

  • Roborn
  • Sep 4, 2014
excellent hotel

Loved this hotel!! It was a great value and a lot nicer than we expected. One of new favorites!! See full review

  • sparker0828
  • Jul 25, 2014
The majesty and grandeur of the great Northwest American spirit echo throughout this relaxing mountain retreat. The bubbling springs and gushing geyser add to the authentic Native American carvings and inspiring decor to reflect the historic National Park lodges of yesteryear. And the scenic restaurants are attractions in themselves. Resort features 727 guest rooms, pool with slide, quiet pool, kiddie pool, arcade, playground, children's activity center, bicycle rentals, a marina with watercraft rentals and a health club. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Wilderness Lodge Rooms

Courtyard View
Rooms offer a view of the pool, a waterfall or the lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony or patio, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Woods View
Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony or patio, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Woods View w/ Bunk Bed
Rooms offe a view of the woods. Features one queen-size bed and a set of bunk beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony or patio, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer a view of other exterior sections of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Features two queen-size beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony or patio, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Courtyard View w/ Bunk Bed
Rooms offer a view of the pool, a waterfall or the lake. Features one queen-size bed and a set of bunk beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony or patio, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Wilderness Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4092 -81.5738
Area served
Walt Disney World Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
Magic Kingdom Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 4.1 mi

Dining

Whispering Canyon Cafe
All-you-care-to-eat during breakfast, lunch, and dinner with food served family style. Performance theming has servers interacting with Guests.
Artist Point
Upscale, a la carte restaurant featuring Pacific Northwest cuisine with ample varieties of seafood, steaks, and vegetarian entrees.
Roaring Fork Snacks
Quick-service snack area with arcade next door. Menu: Sausage biscuits, scrambled eggs, fried potatos, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, assorted beverages, grilled hamburgers, hot dogs, specialty sandwiches, fries, salads, fruit, soft-serve ice cream, beverages. From 11pm to midnight only cold sandwiches, snacks and drinks are served.
Trout Pass Pool Bar
Full bar, snacks, smoothies, frozen delights.
Territory Lounge
Full bar service, specialty coffees, Northwest wines, light appetizers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HBuzz
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Nothing special - , room entrance problem

After checking in & going to our room, the cards we were issued would not open the door. Maids were in the hall & we requested their assistance, unable to help (against hotel rules), returned to front desk & they reprogramed cards, cards worked ONCE, upon returning from parks, cards again would not work! `back to the front desk, reprograming cards again took about 15 min. (They said they were checking to see if our info had been "corrupted") Cards worked after this, my husband recently had knee surgery & each return trip to the front desk was very painful, no where on our floor for him to sit & wait while I went to desk. Food & accomidations only average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

High priced dining, low quality food. Other disney hotels have much better food & accomidations. We rate thie hotel as the lowest of the Disney Hotels.

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reyesfam
Business
Lutz,Fl
Sep 1, 2009

wilderness lodge

You cannot eat dinner on the lodge restaurant without reservations, and without notice after a long day at the park, they blocked the hall walkway with a table we had to move to get to our room because they were redoing the wood floors. Not to mention my husband has a walking disability and they set us up in the room farthest, I do mean the farthest room away from the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations in advance or take a chance at eating junk.

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weary Disney Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2009

Chilly reception by Disney?

Upon our arrival to the hotel, I didn't have to wait long to check-in. However the man at the reception desk greeted me saying "Welcome to Wilderness Lodge, now go home through the same doors you came in." At this point I had only said 'hello' so I'm not sure what prompted this- a previous guest? or just a bad day. I mentioned that it didn't seem like a 'Happiest place on earth' way to greet someone but then he pointed out that Disney was the second happiest and that the happiest was the company that recently gave their employees a million dollar bonus. Good point. Rest of the interaction went okay he even upgraded me which I was surprised by b/c of the first interaction with him. The hotel itself is very nice, great location to MK and it offers two boat options -one is to the MK and the other is to the other hotels on the Lagoon- this includes the Contemporary Hotel so you can essentially avoid the buses if you wanted to. The staff all seemed to need a refresher course on customer service friendliness. After leaving several notes for the maid we finally talked to her to ask if she could leave towel animals for our child. Our Mickey doll was never arranged so it looked like he was doing something while we were gone (something Disney is or what we thought known for). The front desk gave me a hard time about picking up my tickets I ordered online through them. And then of course my odd experience checking in. It was almost like we came right after some nasty customers so that when they saw us coming they weren't happy to see us. Shame on Disney. Bathroom in the room was dark and cramped. Another annoyance was that there was a trigger that would turn on a very loud fan every time you walked in to the toilet/shower area - our 4 year old was scarred of fan b/c of how loud it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a limo service instead of the Magical Express - many will meet you before baggage claim to help you with your bags and ours was parked at the front door in the lower level garage so there was no hike to the car. Furthermore they will stop at a grocery store before dropping you at your hotel. We bought lunch meat, milk, cereal, a case of water and lunchables that didn't require any cooking before eating. This saved us a bundle of money b/c we essentially only ate one meal out. Wilderness Lodge rooms come with a frig so you can easily stock up. While at the front desk saw other guests complaining about the meal plan- b/c they didn't like being told where they had to go when they ate. We were happy we didn't do the meal plan. Also any character or special buffets will have whole fruit out = you paid for the buffet so we would take the fruit to have in the room later. This also saved some money b/c whole fruit at a counter service restaurant was $1.

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbitz in incompetent
Business
ny ny
May 26, 2009

your communication with disney sucks

i had to spend the better part of 2 hours over 1 night and 1 morning arguing with the front desk over a charge....it seems that orbitz screwed up my reservation with disney and i had to fight to get a charge off my bill....i had to call visa and threaten to dispute the charge in order to convince the front desk to take a charge off my bill i am extremely disappointed in orbitz and disney for the inconvience this presented me and my family shame on you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
malden massachusetts
Jul 2, 2009

the truth

oms smaller than other deluxe resorts such as Polynesian. Small takeout cafe, often a long wait. Whispering Canyon Cafe was GREAT although somewhat expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Long wait at takeout restaurant during most times

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Aug 4, 2010

End of vacation stay

We stayed only one day at this property to extend our week vacation. Previously we had stayed at the Beach Club Villas and liked the location of the Beach Club to Epcot over this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apealng
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2014

Post Cruise Stay

After departing the Disney Dream of the Disney Cruise Line, we decided to stay one extra night with Disney. There were both pros and cons in regards to our stay. Pros: Great proximity to Magic Kingdom, beautiful pool, beautiful decor and architecture, large sized room. Cons: Room seemed old and dated (the sink was rusted, non-digital thermostat), Room had an moldy musty smell (I had to leave the fan on throughout the day to try and dissipate the smell), price paid does not match value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If planning to dine at Whispering Canyon for dinner, make a reservation.

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BL4545
Business
CA
Sep 1, 2014

Great hotel, but rooms need work

The good: The hotel itself is great, with lots of activities, decent location close to the theme parks, adequate dining options. The bad: The rooms are not designed well. The noise from the hallway and the adjoining rooms was so loud I did not have a restful nights sleep the entire trip. I could even understand every word of the conversations the guests next door had. The rooms are also beginning to show their age and could use an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkcangel
Business
Omaha, NE
Mar 26, 2014

Great resort !

The Wilderness Lodge was a comfortable place to stay on Disney property. Loved the boat rides to Magic Kingdom. Room service was exceptionally great. The mercantile store provided groceries items that I was afraid I wouldn't find on property. Staff was very friendly. Still amazed at how quick the elevators were every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Lover TK
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 24, 2014

Location, Location, Location

The resort is perfectly located to get to the parks quickly using the bus, boat and/or monorail. The mattresses are a little firm for us after a long day of fun. The cafe staying open until midnight made it great for a late night snack before bed. It is definitely a family resort so we wished there was adult time at the hot tubs and pool in the late evenings. But all in all a beautiful resort perfectly located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top