Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
326 reviews
Wonderful Disney experience!

After staying at several Disney hotels, my husband and I decided to do a quick & cheap stay this... See full review

  • Mommy Poppins
  • Jul 15, 2014
Our favorite place

My husband and I LOVE the riverside! We've stayed there twice now, and are always more than happy... See full review

  • DaniD88
  • Jul 14, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigcat1952
Puyallup, Wa
Feb 18, 2010

Orlando Vacation

I wasn't in the room too much. But when I wanted to use the Internet, the cable was poorly located. It's located behind the nightstand between the beds. It should be by the table. Just a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimmy 1
Tawas, Michigan
May 4, 2009

Winter getaway

We had a non-stop flight to Orlando, from Flint, Michigan.It took approx. 2 hrs 15 min. Disney picked us up, dropped us at the hotel, in 80 degree weather I might add.Fantastic.Great room, great location easy walking distance to food court.Loved the riverboat ride to downtown Disney.Watched the space shuttle launch from there.I can only say good things about our trip and will be sure to stay at riverside or french quarter next time we are in Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoMac2001
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We traveled to Disney World with our 7 year-old. The pools at this location were great--we liked the big one at Riverside better but the big one at French Quarter is fun, too. Lots of other (presumably quieter) pools around the resort. Location is pretty central to the 4 Disney parks--but if using Disney transport plan on at least 1/2 an hour to your destination,; more like 3/4 to 1 hour. The staff here, as all over DW, was VERY friendly and efficient. We ate at the sit-down restaurant and the food was pretty good. The boat to downtown and FQ was noisier than I thouhgt it would be--but it's still a fun way to get to these places. Overall, for the price, it's a nice, quiet & clean place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Canada
May 28, 2009

Disney Vacation

Hotel is located close to Disney parks, maximum 30 minutes ride by bus. Very good restaurant, open 6:00 A.M. to 11:00 P.M.. Good choice for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use hotel restaurant.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela
Tulsa, OK
Apr 9, 2008

needs updating

This room needed new beds and some new paint. The halls were somewhat dirty, but overall the hotel was clean. Could have used more people at check in--we waited over 30 min. Good location and free parking was a plus. Buses to the parks convenient, but Port Orleans needs a sit down eatery that stays open after 10:00. Beds needed fitted sheets as the sheets constantly pulled out and our room was missed one day on service. Overall stay was pleasant and a fair value for Disney. Mini fridge was included in the room as was a small coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
houstonju
Minneapolis
Apr 23, 2014

Good but not great

The location was great and the Disney transportation was very convenient. Only complaint was that the beds could have been a little more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Oct 11, 2009

Great place to stay

Resort was very enjoyable. The grounds were incredible and made you feel like you were in another world. The boat rides to downtown Disney was the highlight of the resort. You did'nt have to worry about the traffic and parking just hop on and off as you desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the boat instead of driving. Downtown Disney is a 20 minute cruise and there is a great selection of resturants to choose from including a huge movie theatre

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KA47
Northport, NY
Nov 7, 2013

Disney Port Orleans Riverside

Staff of course was great, room was clean. All good except refrigerator was missing in room. We were so far away from the food court, but OK because food was just OK and over priced, with a car we went to other local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat off WDW property for best value

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 7, 2008

Great, but be prepared to walk.

Port Orleans is a LARGE complex, so it is vitally important to know exactly where your unit is located. For anyone with mobility issues, this is especially important. Our unit was several hundred yards from the parking lot and bus p/u location. Property is beautiful, quiet and rooms are nice and beds comforable. This is especially nice after a long, hot day in one of the many Disney locations. Staying in the World is well worth the extra money for the convenience and ease of travel within the parks. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to several nice pool complexes.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahine5O
Davis, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Unexpected Upgrades!

I visit WDW annually, but this 4-night stay at Port Orleans - Riverside (POR) was my first time staying at a moderate hotel (I usually stay at the deluxe hotels with DVC members) and my brother's first time at WDW. We were able to check in early upon arrival (~11am) and although I had originally booked a basic Standard View room, we were unexpectedly upgraded to a Water View Royal Guest Room (thank you)! It was the first of a few unexpected treats on our trip. The room was decorated to a "T" (literally, as Princess Tiana's first initial was at the top of our light-up headboards) with princess-themed artwork, bedding, and drapery in a royal blue/purple motif. Our room was conveniently close to the main lobby, dining hall, and the South bus stop which was much appreciated after spending 15+ hours in the parks on some days. We enjoyed the relaxing riverboat ride from POR to POFQ (for beignets) to Downtown Disney one morning. We never had to wait long for a bus from POR to the parks in the morning, however there was often a 1-2 bus wait on return rides from the various parks back to POR in the evening. Travel times between POR and the parks were lengthier than those when staying at deluxe hotels, but I expected this and it did not come as a surprise. The ~H20+ bath amenities are always appreciated, but I missed the body/bath wash usually provided at the deluxe resorts (we received orange-scented shampoo, conditioner, facial soap, and body soap). We rarely saw housekeeping or any other workers around the rooms, but again, we were at the parks most of the day and always returned to a clean room in the evening. My brother and I agreed that we really enjoyed our brief stay at POR, but will likely stay at another Disney resort the next time we visit WDW - there are just so many to experience! Finally, Disney's Magical Express was an added bonus that definitely helped us save on transportation costs to/from Orlando airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top