Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
View map of 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
almsreview
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Great for the price

The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We had a great time and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dooner
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drowsy Mosquito
Business
WV
Jun 1, 2012

Couple getaway

Great experience. Very clean room and grounds. Helpful staff. Food court was surprisingly good. Pleasantly surprised given the affordable price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to downtown Disney.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahine5O
Business
Davis, CA
Aug 9, 2012

Unexpected Upgrades!

I visit WDW annually, but this 4-night stay at Port Orleans - Riverside (POR) was my first time staying at a moderate hotel (I usually stay at the deluxe hotels with DVC members) and my brother's first time at WDW. We were able to check in early upon arrival (~11am) and although I had originally booked a basic Standard View room, we were unexpectedly upgraded to a Water View Royal Guest Room (thank you)! It was the first of a few unexpected treats on our trip. The room was decorated to a "T" (literally, as Princess Tiana's first initial was at the top of our light-up headboards) with princess-themed artwork, bedding, and drapery in a royal blue/purple motif. Our room was conveniently close to the main lobby, dining hall, and the South bus stop which was much appreciated after spending 15+ hours in the parks on some days. We enjoyed the relaxing riverboat ride from POR to POFQ (for beignets) to Downtown Disney one morning. We never had to wait long for a bus from POR to the parks in the morning, however there was often a 1-2 bus wait on return rides from the various parks back to POR in the evening. Travel times between POR and the parks were lengthier than those when staying at deluxe hotels, but I expected this and it did not come as a surprise. The ~H20+ bath amenities are always appreciated, but I missed the body/bath wash usually provided at the deluxe resorts (we received orange-scented shampoo, conditioner, facial soap, and body soap). We rarely saw housekeeping or any other workers around the rooms, but again, we were at the parks most of the day and always returned to a clean room in the evening. My brother and I agreed that we really enjoyed our brief stay at POR, but will likely stay at another Disney resort the next time we visit WDW - there are just so many to experience! Finally, Disney's Magical Express was an added bonus that definitely helped us save on transportation costs to/from Orlando airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoMac2001
Business
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We traveled to Disney World with our 7 year-old. The pools at this location were great--we liked the big one at Riverside better but the big one at French Quarter is fun, too. Lots of other (presumably quieter) pools around the resort. Location is pretty central to the 4 Disney parks--but if using Disney transport plan on at least 1/2 an hour to your destination,; more like 3/4 to 1 hour. The staff here, as all over DW, was VERY friendly and efficient. We ate at the sit-down restaurant and the food was pretty good. The boat to downtown and FQ was noisier than I thouhgt it would be--but it's still a fun way to get to these places. Overall, for the price, it's a nice, quiet & clean place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manmarquez
Business
Mexico
Sep 12, 2012

Very good hotel :D

Very good atention :D free transportation to the Parks and good resort :D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghostDo
Business
Short Hills, NJ
Oct 31, 2012

Amazing staff, Outdated room, high score overall.

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights for WDW, of course. Staff members were amazing since minute one, very friendly and eager to help. Room was a little outdated. We stayed at the Acadian House, but I think this applies to all rooms in the hotel, (stayed at the Alligator Bayou before, and it look about the same) Pool water was not warm enough for the cold weather during our visit. (end of October) The food court opens till midnight which is great if you forgot dinner after fireworks. A little expensive though, but expected for anyting within the WDW area. Otherwise you can take a short 10 minute drive (if you rent a car) and find some fast food, chinese food around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrincak
Business
boca raton, florida
Nov 6, 2012

family get together

it was a beautiful hotel . you felt like you were in the wilderness. the buses to disney were great, the food court was good but expensive. the riverboat trip to downtown disney was wonderful. great resort. the only bad side was the excessive amount of walking to get anywhere ex: to pool, river, food court , lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

the riverboat ride to downtown disney was great. only 15 min beautiful ride.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Disneyite12
Business
Bloomington, IN
Dec 5, 2012

Typical Disney

Have stayed at this hotel several time, and have always enjoyed it. Great location and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gailbencas
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 11, 2013

Mini vacation fun

Went for daughter's cheer finals at ESPEN sports. This was a great destination. Very efficient. Great staff. Would definitely go back. One concern they arrange airport transportation for you. With all of the stops they cut our time too close for comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure they give you enough time for airport. We were still in security checkin with 15 minutes till start if boarding.

Back to menu Return to top