Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
View map of 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dooner
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darth Jader
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 25, 2014

Everything Wonderful, Needs some detail updates

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay here during Food and Wine Festival. The hotel itself is wonderful. The theming is excellent, overall very clean. 95% of cast members were excellent and cheerful, though we did bump into 1 or 2 grumpy ones (but everyone has bad days). The pools are very nice, and the grounds are beautiful. We were right next to a quiet pool which we used several times; it was very clean and perfect temperature, even in the rain! We stayed in a corner king bedroom which was very spacious for our needs. Bed was very comfortable, everything worked well and was generally very clean. We did bump into a few little things (rusty shower curtain rings, a few missed spots in cleaning) but nothing significant or that would effect a vacation! The bus system at the resort was consistent, buses were clean, and drivers were helpful and friendly. However my husband and I prefer to come and go as we please. In our minds our time spent doing other things holds more value over the free bus transportation. We opted to use a taxi several times over riding the bus and would probably rent a car next time. But again, this is our personal preference. The bus system itself was excellent. We got a great deal with several discounts. Even without those deals, we felt the resort would have been worth its regular seasonal price. There are lots of things to do, the food we had was very good, and the theming and charm of the hotel is very beautiful! We stayed without kids but my husband and I agree we loved the hotel in all its beauty and would stay there again in a heart beat with our 3 children. I would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you get a chance, Check out Yee-Ha Bob, he is wonderful and very entertaining!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alohaholi
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Sep 25, 2014

Great Place with Kids or without Kids

We stayed here 3 nights & loved it. I read the reviews & this Disney onsite hotel was priced great when we went. Yes, it is a long walk for little legs to the lobby or pool (if you get a room far away, like we did) & some how I missed this...BUT, If you stay near the West Bus Depot, it is the 1st pickup & 1st Drop Off for the Buses!!! I liked the Boat/Ferry ride. My family thought it took too long. I thought it was relaxing & I liked seeing the other resorts along the waterway. Hotel is 2 floors, with NO Elevator, (or at least we didn't find it when we were dragging luggage up & down the stairs, or when we came back from a long day at the Magic Kingdom) The theme was Princess & the Frog, New Orleans. Which means the food, decor, music is geared towards this. The grounds were gorgeous, it was like being in a beautiful swamp. Everyday the staff was Friendly & the place was spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have the dining plan or Not, go to downtown Disney. We didn't have it & found much better food & prices there. And from this hotel you can take the boat or the bus to almost anywhere!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hammock swinger
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 16, 2014

Best mid-tier Disney hotel

Now that Disney has introduced FastPass+ where park guests who stay at a Disney hotel can reserve Fastpass+ selections 60 days in advance, staying on Disney property looks more attractive. The Port Orleans is big, yet comfy. Multi-story buildings are spread around a central pool area located on a small island. The property evokes a Mississippi riverboat feel. It was about a 8 minute walk from our room to the main dining area, though it could be longer from some rooms. Every room included a small mini-fridge, which is helpful to store breakfast items. If you like cajun food, the table service restaurant (Boatwright's) makes a pretty mean crawfish étouffée. Overall, we were very pleased with the amenities and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Consider purchasing a refillable mug on your first trip to the dining hall. One could be shared between two adults; most kids meals come with a beverage (milk, juice, etc.).

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stabes66
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Sep 16, 2014

Expected a little more from Disney

The main building was absolutely beautiful and the buildings looked great; Disney is all about themes and our building looked like a wilderness lodge. We were greeted by an awkward little girl who had difficulty checking us in, but no big deal. We told her that he had a little toddler with us, but that didn't seem to matter because they put us on the second floor...without any elevators. The front desk girl did not tell us this, so he had to carry everything up staircases; not very Disney. We get to our room and it was dirty, our family who checked into the next room had dead cockroaches in their bathtub! Our little girl likes to climb around under the sink and when she put her hand down, it was covered in dust and dirt. We thought, that it just might be an over sight in cleaning, but the next day our room was barely cleaned and none of the coffees were refilled nor was our ice bucket bag that I had used replaced (I had to empty it and reuse it). Normally I don't mind these little inconveniences, however this is Disney. I expect more from them. The buildings are nice, but your room may or may not be clean and not one employee made us feel welcomed. Not sure why that is, but we'll remember it next time we book a hotel. Over all, good location, normal amenities, but un-Disney like employees with dirty rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best part of the hotel was using the buses to get to the parks. The longest wait time we had was only about 10 minutes.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virginia traveler 01
Business
dc
Sep 15, 2014

super

everything was great, pool was very nice and room was exceptionally clean, xxx ooo very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

starbucks now at magic kingdom and epcot; also 2 locations at downtown disney

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dottlid
Business
orlando
Sep 15, 2014

ist trip disney

we booked king were put in room with two queens overall great location .......but was very disappointed in service from hotel when saw we booked with Ortiz the attitude seemed to change a little .....was not bad but you could tell difference was like great to have you may I help you ..........give name and looked up ...was like you booked with Ortiz ok here are direction to your room ..... .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

stay in location closer to main hall lots of walking

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbush7785
Business
Cape Coral
Sep 5, 2014

Disney experience

We stay at Disney hotels once a month because we are annual passholders. I enjoyed this hotel as a good value. We stayed in the royal guest rooms. As far as theming and the Disney experience it was fantastic. It felt like we were in a whole new place! As far as a hotel it was above average. Very clean and nice bathrooms but the beds were not very comfortable at all. I also thought the food court breakfast was good but other meals were overpriced and average. You can get an awesome meal around the countries at Epcot for what you'll spend in the food court :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bandjbaine
Business
Athens, GA
Sep 5, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Great hotel. A few problems, but nothing that would keep me from coming back. We had problems with them linking up our magic bands to charge to the room- that never got resovled but we were only there 2 nights. Only other confusion was check in- getting to the right building and having to park out in the parking lot to check in. They were accomodating with bell serivces though. Pool was fabulous. Room was spacious- great value for 5! Cute little murphy bed. Quiet, peaceful surroundings, lots of ammenities for a hotel at this price point!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some reserved parking spaces in the front of the parking lot for check in. I didn't see them until we already parked so we walked more than we needed to.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ100
Business
Palm Beach, Florida
Sep 1, 2014

Great for a family getaway

There were tons of kid friendly activities: movies, pools, etc. The rooms were comfortable and the in room refrigerator was super helpful to have. Transportation to disney parks was on time and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the crawfish étouffée or shrimp & grits at the onsite restaurant. Very tasty!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Verona Mom
Business
New Jersey
Aug 31, 2014

Port Orleans Riverside vacation

Our stay at Port Orleans Riverside was overall a very nice experience. The grounds are beautiful and are laid out to make you feel like you are in the South. There is a ferry located at Riverside that takes you directly to Downtown Disney so that is a nice service. There were 2 restaurants- a sit down full service for dinner (food was excellent) and a quick service dining hall that was very popular with the families - food was ok. I would definitely recommend buying the pre-paid cup with the free refills since they tend to rip you off on fountain drinks. I believe it was $7.99 for one day and $18.99 for your whole trip for the refillable mug which many people brought to the park and refilled. Be wary of rooms in the 90 building if you go to bed early (before 10 pm). Nightly lawn movies were VERY loud and staff refused to turn down the volume.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Meal plan is probably the best option for families with hearty eaters and buy the refillable mug-($18.99 for entire trip) it will save you a ton on drinks. Large fountain drink was $2.99 if you tried to buy individual drinks.

Back to menu Return to top