Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
327 reviews
Wonderful Disney experience!

After staying at several Disney hotels, my husband and I decided to do a quick & cheap stay this... See full review

  • Mommy Poppins
  • Jul 15, 2014
Our favorite place

My husband and I LOVE the riverside! We've stayed there twice now, and are always more than happy... See full review

  • DaniD88
  • Jul 14, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
327 out of 327
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dooner
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Perfect Princess
Michigan
Feb 26, 2014

Where the Princesses Stayed

Love Disney resorts - wonderful atmosphere and so clean! The only downfall with this resort is that is seems to be busier than other resorts at Disney that I have stayed at. The cafeteria area was always extremely crowded and there were no chairs available by the main pool. Pros - lovely grounds, close proximity to events and activities, very very helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston momma
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2014

One night on the Disney property

I booked a room at Port Orleans Riverside for a one night stay on the Disney property so that my kids and I could take advantage of the 8am to 1am hours at Magic Kingdom on Tuesday, February 18, 2014. This was our first trip to Disney! We enjoyed the park until 3pm at which time we drove to Port Orleans Riverside to check in. Check-in was quick and easy. The property is huge so we drove to our building and then enjoyed some time at the pool before dinner. The pool is surrounded by many trees, which made the area a little chilly at 3pm on a warm February day, but my kids had a great time on the slide and in the pool. We went back to our room, showered and ordered a pizza delivered to the room. The room and service were excellent! We headed back to Magic Kingdom until my kids asked to leave at Midnight. The park is close to the hotel and free parking is included with the room. When we woke up, we dressed and headed to the cafeteria for breakfast. The food was good and the service was speedy on a day that the cafeteria was packed to capacity. I will absolutely stay at Port Orleans again and will recommend it to my friends. Great value and close to the park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Being from Boston, I am a big fan of public transportation, but if you drive to Port Orleans Riverside, I chose to drive to the parks instead of using the shuttle for flexibility.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiaAly
Miami
Jan 27, 2014

Weekend Getaway

We had a wonderful weekend getaway with friends in Orlando. We decided to stay here because it was a Disney hotel for a good price. The lobby is beautiful and the staff was great. It was a bit of a trip from the lobby to our building and then the parking lot to the room. The room was a typical double bed room and was very clean. We enjoyed breakfast in the quick service restaurant. Overall we were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caronka
Miami Beach
Jan 8, 2014

Too expensive but what they actually offer

Hotel needs to improve check-in services. The wait was horrible, they only had 3 staff members for a large crowd coming in. The rooms were not what expected, it had nothing special (alligator side). Overall not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Literate14817
Ohio
Dec 29, 2013

1st Disney Trip

Good stay, a little pricey for food and beverage. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
food and wine fester
South Florida
Dec 20, 2013

Epic Food and Wine Festival at Epcot

Check-in was a breeze, and the staff were super nice. The location of the room on the property, and the proximity of the property to Epcot were fantastic. I'll definitely be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Epcot is right across the street.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magical Couple
Twin cities, MN
Dec 14, 2013

A magical experience

Room very clean and fairly new renovation. Housekeeping staff right on it! There is a lot of walking as both resorts spread out, but wonderful paths along the river. Can rent bikes, boats, fishing gear. River boats take you to downtown Disney and buses take you to parks, minimal waiting- very efficient. Resort very family oriented and comfortable, casual. Bring comfortable walking shoes/ sandals! My husband and I had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Downtown Disney- Portobello's- wonderful Italian restaurant- can dress or go in shorts! Wolf Gang Pucks is also very good. Earl of Sandwich has wonderful warm sandwiches and bakery items- it was windy and about 48 degrees, so warm sandwich was great!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DannyOcean
Tampa, Florida
Dec 10, 2013

Royal room delivers

The Roy rooms at Riverside are a nice blend of classy/fun regal decor. The gold accents and light-up firework headboards were a great touch! Boatwrights has OK food but the service was lackluster,. Definitely check out the River Roost bar for a decent drink selection and some amazing buffalo wings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RCandace
st. Petersburg, FL
Dec 10, 2013

Are we there yet? Spread out in the woods...stay at Swan or Dolphin!

I have stayed at multiple Disney properties and did not think that this was worth the extra money compared to the All star music or sports....the property is difficult to find, walking to the rooms is SOOO far! Everything is really spread out and not easy to get to because it's in the woods. For less money, I much prefer the Swan or Dolphin property..the location and amenities are MUCH better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stella31
connecticut
Nov 21, 2013

pay more and get a better resort

It took over a half hour at the window to just get a room. She had no idea how to locate one near a parking area.i thenĀ  told them i had a large spider in the bathroom with at least forthy babies on it i had to kill. I told the front desk nothing said.about a pest inspection in the room. Bathoom was clean except for the carpet. Beds were comfortable.Staff was pushie when i asked about printing boardind passes did not listen to what I wanted just kept talking and answering with other info.. No fridge in room would be nice.i

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to downtown shopping.

Back to menu Return to top