Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
232 reviews
Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly... See full review

  • Kbush7785
  • Oct 16, 2014
Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room... See full review

  • Peach run
  • Oct 6, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bandjbaine
Business
Athens, GA
Sep 5, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Great hotel. A few problems, but nothing that would keep me from coming back. We had problems with them linking up our magic bands to charge to the room- that never got resovled but we were only there 2 nights. Only other confusion was check in- getting to the right building and having to park out in the parking lot to check in. They were accomodating with bell serivces though. Pool was fabulous. Room was spacious- great value for 5! Cute little murphy bed. Quiet, peaceful surroundings, lots of ammenities for a hotel at this price point!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some reserved parking spaces in the front of the parking lot for check in. I didn't see them until we already parked so we walked more than we needed to.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ100
Business
Palm Beach, Florida
Sep 1, 2014

Great for a family getaway

There were tons of kid friendly activities: movies, pools, etc. The rooms were comfortable and the in room refrigerator was super helpful to have. Transportation to disney parks was on time and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the crawfish étouffée or shrimp & grits at the onsite restaurant. Very tasty!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Verona Mom
Business
New Jersey
Aug 31, 2014

Port Orleans Riverside vacation

Our stay at Port Orleans Riverside was overall a very nice experience. The grounds are beautiful and are laid out to make you feel like you are in the South. There is a ferry located at Riverside that takes you directly to Downtown Disney so that is a nice service. There were 2 restaurants- a sit down full service for dinner (food was excellent) and a quick service dining hall that was very popular with the families - food was ok. I would definitely recommend buying the pre-paid cup with the free refills since they tend to rip you off on fountain drinks. I believe it was $7.99 for one day and $18.99 for your whole trip for the refillable mug which many people brought to the park and refilled. Be wary of rooms in the 90 building if you go to bed early (before 10 pm). Nightly lawn movies were VERY loud and staff refused to turn down the volume.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Meal plan is probably the best option for families with hearty eaters and buy the refillable mug-($18.99 for entire trip) it will save you a ton on drinks. Large fountain drink was $2.99 if you tried to buy individual drinks.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diamond mom
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Aug 26, 2014

family trip

It was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KylieAZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 18, 2014

Amazing Vacation

I took this vacation with my boyfriend. We are in our mid-20s. The hotel property was absolutely beautiful. Walking around was an experience of it's own. The staff was always great. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was simple (don't expect the four seasons), but it worked well for us. The only negative would be the location. It requires bus transportation (which you often get stuck standing) to get to any of the parks. However if you want boat or monorail access, then expect to pay a hefty price and one of the fancier resorts. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quiet and relaxing resort. I definitely recommend it for couples on a smaller budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcroudo
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2014

First trip back to disney in a long time

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Port Orleans Riverside resort for 3 nights. Based on the resort reviews, I expected the resort to be a little nicer. The rooms were clean, however once you get back from the parks, it is a long walk to the rooms as they are not connected to the lobby/restaurants. You need to pass through the lobby, leave the building, cross a bridge and then pass the main pool, cross another bridge and then find your building...This was not something that we were expecting. The layout of the rooms also gave the resort a "motel" feel as there were outdoor hallways - again not something we were expecting. We asked for a King size bed, however there were only a few at the resort and as we didn't request this in advance, we were stuck with two queen sized beds. As we didn't spend so much time at the hotel, this did not affect our experience, however I will probably be spending a little more money for a nicer experience next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book well in advance

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JD family
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 5, 2014

Not the room I booked!

After checking in, we went to our assigned room, we noticed that it was the alligator bayou and not the royal room, we had to go back to the lobby to get correct room, the supervisor explained that the resort decided to change the room because we were a family of five and the royal room was only for four, after almost thirty minutes of trying to make her understand that We wanted the room we booked and paid for, she finally gave us the correct room. They kept saying it was Orb. false information and fault for allowing us to book the royal room exceeding the number of guests allowed. The royal room was nice and clean, just as the picture, the kids loved the lagoon pool, it felt very safe with so many lifeguards on duty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sclappfan
Business
Fleetwood, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful time

Port Orleans Riverside never lets us down. We have stayed at many Disney hotels and this is our favorite. PO provides great southern charm in a very comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the boat to Downtown Disney. It is a very relaxing ride with lots of scenery.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony Mann
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jul 24, 2014

Didn't meet our expectations

For a Disney hotel it was lacking that " magic " charm. No exercise room and the hotel's activities for the kids where far from the hotel room . However the water taxi to downtown Disney was a very relaxing and enjoyable ride. The staff was very courteous and extremely informative . I would not recomend as a first timer. If you've put your trip on a pedastel like we did , you will be disappointed .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your breakfast and lunches from the local market. The dinning plan is very over priced.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Poppins
Business
Illinois
Jul 15, 2014

Wonderful Disney experience!

After staying at several Disney hotels, my husband and I decided to do a quick & cheap stay this summer. Our Port Orleans room was very roomy and we had no problems making enough space for all of our luggage & our family. With two queen beds, the trundle bed & the crib, everyone had their own space & we didn't feel cramped in the slightest. Although the resort was very busy while we were there, we never heard a noise out of guests around us, and the room was in a very peaceful and quiet area which added to the Bayou theme of our area of the resort. Our kids LOVED the main pool and waterslide, and we also made great use of the quiet pool. We took many walks around the beautiful resort & even rented a surrey bike one day. Also, the boat to Downtown Disney is a nice touch, and on the way back one night we were able to see some of the Frozen Summer Fun- Hollywood Studios fireworks. This is one of our top Disney resorts from our many stays, and we hope to return at some point in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top