Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
326 reviews
Wonderful Disney experience!

After staying at several Disney hotels, my husband and I decided to do a quick & cheap stay this... See full review

  • Mommy Poppins
  • Jul 15, 2014
Our favorite place

My husband and I LOVE the riverside! We've stayed there twice now, and are always more than happy... See full review

  • DaniD88
  • Jul 14, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dooner
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Honey
St. Lucie West, Fl 34987 from CT
Dec 1, 2010

Riverside Visit

We were very pleased with Disney's Port Orleans, Riverside resort. The surrounding are beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful. We were in a building quite close to the bus stop. Since we like to come and go frequently, this was very convenient for us. The two pools were also very conveniently located. One has a slide and waterfall and a hot tub. It was most pleasant. Our room was very nice. The beds were wonderful. The room was very clean and the bed linens sparkling (which is a must for us). Also the price of this room was reasonable. We would definitely choose this resort again. My husband and I will definitely choose this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the boat from the resort to Downtown Disney where there are many restaurants to choose from. The ride to and from the location is very enjoyable also.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gran & Pop
Sebastian, Florida
Nov 30, 2010

Great mini Vacation!

Super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gran & Pop
Sebastian, Florida
Nov 30, 2010

Great mini Vacation!

Super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa,Fl
Nov 28, 2010

Great property, so so service

The property was really nice and spacious with a lot of amenities. Check-in took way longer than work expected, as something was not working and she had to keep going to the back room or something,with not much more than an apology for the inconvenience. Later that night when I tried the internet(to do work) , I found out that we had to go to the front lobby to add a credit card- I had asked at check-in and was told that I would just have to push a number to get it set up. Then their machine wasn't working so my hubby had to come back and get cash and this was at 12:30 am(ugh), then when he returned the machine worked. Again, not much offered for the grevious inconvenience. It was also a bummer that they don't have wifi-disney should be up with the times, as most hotels that are moderately priced have this. Other than the pool and the playground, the amenities like fishing and bikes cost money. The property is gorgeous though! The bus service to the parks was easy and convenient-no long waits, though it is a bit of a ride to the Magic Kingdom(this was the only park we visited this trip) and the ride back was pretty crowded and long. Oh, and remember the name of your particular stop near your room-its hard to tell at night LOL. Overall, a decent stay, everyone had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown disney is just a boatride away from the hotel and I would recommend taking the boat rather than driving if you are going at night, as parking at Downtown Disney is crowded and many of the parking lots were full.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa,Fl
Nov 28, 2010

Great property, so so service

The property was really nice and spacious with a lot of amenities. Check-in took way longer than work expected, as something was not working and she had to keep going to the back room or something,with not much more than an apology for the inconvenience. Later that night when I tried the internet(to do work) , I found out that we had to go to the front lobby to add a credit card- I had asked at check-in and was told that I would just have to push a number to get it set up. Then their machine wasn't working so my hubby had to come back and get cash and this was at 12:30 am(ugh), then when he returned the machine worked. Again, not much offered for the grevious inconvenience. It was also a bummer that they don't have wifi-disney should be up with the times, as most hotels that are moderately priced have this. Other than the pool and the playground, the amenities like fishing and bikes cost money. The property is gorgeous though! The bus service to the parks was easy and convenient-no long waits, though it is a bit of a ride to the Magic Kingdom(this was the only park we visited this trip) and the ride back was pretty crowded and long. Oh, and remember the name of your particular stop near your room-its hard to tell at night LOL. Overall, a decent stay, everyone had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown disney is just a boatride away from the hotel and I would recommend taking the boat rather than driving if you are going at night, as parking at Downtown Disney is crowded and many of the parking lots were full.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 27, 2010

Fair

The room was not clean when we arrived. The beds were made, but pizza boxes and water bottles were strewn about. Perhaps prior occupants returned after maid service. Good location with easy access to buses, boats etc. New computer system glitches meant we could not pick up our will-call tickets there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry to Marketplace, and chose the T-Rex Cafe. Food was good and the kids were entertained by the ferry ride and the eatery. It is a Rainforest Cafe restaurant, with dinos, giant insects etc moving and growling. Like the Rainforest Cafe, it is not quiet.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 27, 2010

Fair

The room was not clean when we arrived. The beds were made, but pizza boxes and water bottles were strewn about. Perhaps prior occupants returned after maid service. Good location with easy access to buses, boats etc. New computer system glitches meant we could not pick up our will-call tickets there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry to Marketplace, and chose the T-Rex Cafe. Food was good and the kids were entertained by the ferry ride and the eatery. It is a Rainforest Cafe restaurant, with dinos, giant insects etc moving and growling. Like the Rainforest Cafe, it is not quiet.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, GA
Nov 5, 2010

Low Cost Disney Hotel

This was a quick trip to enjoy the Food & Wine Festival at Epcot. The hotel was clean - but the furnishings were a bit tired looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, GA
Nov 5, 2010

Low Cost Disney Hotel

This was a quick trip to enjoy the Food & Wine Festival at Epcot. The hotel was clean - but the furnishings were a bit tired looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keninny
Buffalo, NY
Sep 28, 2010

Awesome room

We had an awesome room, first floor Peterre Place. A bit off to the side but NO traffic outside room, very attractive view when stepping out door, fountain and river to left, mansion stairs to right. Ice machiene right around coner. Mousekeeping was great. Loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The 95-- series rooms are on the first floor. This makes it easier to get in and out. Buliding 95 is off to the left (walking from the lobby) but you have less traffic passing by your room. Had a great stay.

Back to menu Return to top