Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Great place to stay

Loved the royal room with fireworks in the headboard. Great staff, clean, comfortable room. Short... See full review

  • BeeNme
  • Apr 9, 2014
great family vacation

Everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and had... See full review

  • Candy T
  • Apr 6, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
Mad Dooner
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Very nice but inconsistent service

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Riverside. The not so good - Location - We had asked for a quiet room and were given one by the river which turned out to be a very quiet location until one of the delivery/maintenance carts went zooming by on the river side path. This went on at all hours night and day! Food - horribly overpriced and mediocre. Stale buns at the food court. No response to our complaints. Wi-fi - didn't work well with my iPad. Called several times to get corrected and was told it should work. Well it didn't! Finally got someone to admit they had problems with Apple devices. The very good - room size and amenities. Pools. Cleaning staff. The Great - Front desk service and front gate guards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take your own snacks and drinks to the Disney parks in a small backpack. It will save you lots of $$$$.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Dec 5, 2009

Fun Family Getaway

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at this hotel because of the price. The rooms were very clean and the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas time. I really enjoyed the theme of this hotel--definitely had the whole "Old South" thing going on. The lobby was gorgeous, the staff very friendly, and great dining choices. Definitely worth the $100 we spent, but probably would not stay again if priced higher than that. The only complaints we had were that we were not given a "do not disturb" sign, and therefore were woken up twice by housekeeping, who continuously would tap on the door at around 8:00 A.M. and then again at 9:00, where she did not knock, but just opened the door. Also, I specifically asked the woman at Check-In if I would have to physically Check-Out in the morning, even though I did not leave a credit card on file and everything was paid for. She told me I did, and the next morning I stood in line to check-out, and the concierge told me everything was taken care of and I did not have to come up there. I figured that because when I stayed at the All-Star and Contemporary they told me if I don't leave a credit card on file, I can just leave. That was a bit annoying, especially since I stood around with like 6 concierges not helping anyone and just talking to each other, and not once did they offer to help me. Overall, I would stay again and it was a good value, considering the time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
Got in free on birthday
Melbourne, FL
Nov 14, 2009

Got in free on Birthday

Nice boat trip from the resort to Down Town Disney. Also had a fun piano player in the resort bar getting hilarious audience participation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Can take a boat ride to Down Town Disney with a wider selection of dinner options. Had to have reservation days in advance to get into resturants in Epcot, but they can be made online.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
T&M Travelers
San Diego
Nov 8, 2009

Fantastic location!

Can't beat the location. Don't understand why Disney charges for internet service ($9.95/ 24 hr period)? The transportation to and from other hotels and attractions is perfect. The grounds were gorgeous and the free boat ride to Downtown Disney was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of Disney's bus system. Very efficient at this time of year.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
Dr. Jeff
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 3, 2009

A couple's adventure

Small room, though don't spend much time there at WDW. LOTS of noise through walls from family next door- could hear them urinating in bathroom while we laid in bed... (and they likely heard us- if they could over Dad's screaming at kids.) Did not enjoy cafeteria dining at hotel, or nescafe "coffee." Also, fridge in room set at "like a cooler" temperature according to engineering. Did not keep soda or milk cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine (?stay) at Disney's Boardwalk resort.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
TAMPA FL.
Oct 29, 2009

Very nice Disney resort.

Great location next to all the Disney parks .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Sarasota Florida
Oct 28, 2009

Beds need improvement

Disney quality but beds need improvement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
Rodperri
Miami, FL
Oct 27, 2009

Good Deal

The hotel was great and the staff very friendly, as is usually the case at Disney. Clean rooms and the usual Disney efficiency. The only couple of minuses were 1) the distance from the rooms to the reception and 2) the food, which was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Boat to Downtown Disney is great. especially for the kids.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
A Night Away...
Orlando, FL
Oct 26, 2009

Great looks, beds VERY uncomfortable

This was our first time away from our kids overnight...we decided to stay here because of Disney's reputation. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautiful. The room was laid out well and were very clean. We were thrilled until it was time to go to sleep...the beds felt like we were sleeping on our pull out couch - not very restful at all. When we brought this to the supervisor's attention, they were very responsive and apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
ny11386[@]
New York
Oct 26, 2009

Disney does it again ,,,

Friendly .. clean .. Disney style .. could not be any better ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
flynhi
Business
Hawaii
Oct 22, 2009

Ho-hum for business travelers

I just stayed there for 4 nights while I attended a conference. $10/day for internet, no wifi, horrible cell phone reception (regardless of carrier) in the room left me no choices but to watch TV when I came back at night. The wall plates on the power outlets were cracked. Majority of the rooms are double beds. Otherwise, it's not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your convention or meeting is at a Disney World property, then DO NOT rent a car. Use the Disney Magical Express and it'll make your travel experience cheaper.

Back to menu Return to top