Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
236 reviews
Awesome Hotel

So great for the value. We stayed in a royal guest room and loved it! We have stayed at nearly... See full review

  • Kbush7785
  • Oct 16, 2014
Repeat guests at Port Orleans Riverside

We have stayed at POR more than any other resort. The layout of the resort is perfect - every room... See full review

  • Peach run
  • Oct 6, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jodica
Business
North Miaami Beach
Feb 21, 2011

Disney's Resort or Orlando Motel

This hotel looks great from the outside, but inside is another story it is a two start average motel. Very small rooms, thank goodness only there for 2 nights. The hotel simply did not live up to the website advertisement. [...] extra 10 dollars for internet [...]. The bathroom was clean, but everything was motel six qualities from the small towels to the little bottle of combo shampoo conditioner including the side of the room and old TV. There are better hotels for that price in that area. I DID NOT RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL AT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uvafish
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 15, 2011

Clean, modest, and pretty.

Port Orleans-Riverside is exactly what it says it is, a moderate, clean, family hotel that gives you all the Disney bells and whistles. The room is nothing fancy. We had two queen size beds that practically filled the entire room. There's a small refrigerator, a TV stand and a desk. There are two sinks at the back of the main room near the bathroom with a curtain that can be pulled to give privacy between the bedroom area and the bathroom area. The resort is large and sprawling with a nicely landscaped (but nothing spectacular) grounds. Hotel personnel are all very pleasant and helpful. There was a lively bar scene at night with an old fashioned piano player energizing the crowd. The best part about the resort is that it's a Disney resort which means you get to take advantage of all the Disney extras including their Magical Express service (delivers luggage from airport to your room, automatic check-in for your return flight, transportation to and from the airport, etc.), frequent (every 20 mins) buses to all the Disney resorts and Downtown Disney, Disney meal plans, etc. If you're visiting Orlando to go to the Disney parks and do not plan on spending a lot of time in your room, then this is a good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Fantasmic show at Disney's Hollywood Studios at the end of the day. Spectacular!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 10, 2011

Terrible Hotel Experience

I'm not sure where to start. The four Disney parks were great but our hotel experience soured our first trip to Disney. The customer service at Riverside was absolutely horrendous. Since we had two families with small children(5 year old, two 3 year olds, and a 3 month old), we were "promised" a conjoining room on the first floor. Instead, we were given two rooms on the second floor(w/o an elevator) that were neither conjoining or adjoining. In order for them to correct the mistake, we were required to pack/unpack and move our suitcases to other rooms 6 different times within the first 3 days. We had also requested a crib for our 3 month old daughter. When we checked in at 10:30 am, we were "promised" that the crib would be in the room(which was the wrong room anyway) after we returned from the park. That did not happen either. I actually had to make two separate trips to the front desk(which was about a half mile from our room) before the crib was finally delivered at 11:00 pm. On the second day, they gave us keys to a room that was already occupied by another visitor. Despite all of their mistakes, I had two separate managers try and tell me it was our fault. It seemed like every manager I spoke with was more incompetent than the last. Each one kept making promises that the next manager wouldn't/couldn't uphold. It was a customer service nightmare!! When I asked for some sort of compensation for our extreme inconvenience, each of them looked at me like I was crazy. Finally after three days of empty "promises", they gave in a credited us $100. $100 credit, are you kidding me?!? If you have ever been to Disney, you know that's not going a long way. As a family, we have been taking two vacations a year for some time now. This is by far the worst experience I've had with a hotel and it's staff. I don't want to come off as a bitter person because we had a blast at the actual parks. I just want to make sure everyone is aware of what they should expect if they decide to stay at Riverside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Nice stay at Disney Rvrside Port Orleans

We had an awesome stay in the Acadian House at Riverside Port Orleans Disney Resort. The room was 2 feet wider than a standard hotel room... double sink/ large bath very clean. Beds were only Double not Queens, and that was disappointing, but the resort and the grounds and the pools were very nice. Bus service takes you to the 4 disney parks, so its worth staying on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn to use the Fast Passes... a ticket you get that holds your place in line for a later ride... you can go do something else for a couple of hours until your "time" and then come and walk right in.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL.
Jan 17, 2011

Nice Getaway.

Hotel was older but in very nice shape. Great location and plenty of transportation to the theme parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar had a great show.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jan 12, 2011

Just tolerable

We were at the hotel for race weekend (1st weekend in jan). Check in was WAY too long. I did not have to wait in any lines but the agent checking us in was super slow. There were no greetings when you pulled into the porte cocher. I had to get out of my car and ask a bellman to direct me to check in. The agent CLEARLY saw that I had 2 children under the age of 3 and put us on the second floor (with no elevator) and a double stroller to carry up/down the stairs everytime we went somewhere. There was A LOT lacking in the service department. The pluses (only amenity related)...a fridge in the room, the food court, the convenient bus stop near our room for race morning and the boat to Downtown Disney. Just a note about the races...you can hear all the activity from the half marathon/marathon in the VERY early morning because of the proximity to Epcot. If you are not attending any races I might suggest chosing a hotel in another resort area (MK, AK, etc). I don't think I'd come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathon Mommy
Business
Bellingham, WA
Jan 11, 2011

Good for the money, great service

We were there for the WDW Marathon weekend with three boys 5-10. We stayed here because we can get a room with a trundle, a big draw when you have three kids. Overall like PO French Quarter better because it's less spread out and less busy, but Riverside has better pools and of course the Disney level of service was unbeatable. Poor luggage guys had to dismantle one of their crates to get at my suitcase when I realized I had packed an item I needed, and they did it with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

To save money on food, I pack small cereal boxes and paper bowls and we have breakfast in the room, then just eat what we want the rest of the day. We get a jump on the day that way too.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metro Atlanta
Jan 10, 2011

SLOWED down to RUN a marathon

This is one of the perfect places to just relax. Although it is on Disney property and one might be tempted by the theme parks, it is just fine to sit back along the "river", take a "lazy" stroll, or take a boat ride to Downtown Disney. Without a doubt, my family prefers Riverside to French Quarter. I would also suggest the Alligator Bayou area because of its proximity to the main building, dining and transportation. However, the experience is always a welcome pleasure. I overheard another guest comment that for the same amount of money that he would have been a fool to stay anywhere else. :) P.S. The Check-in/Registration is EXTREMELY slow...I was told that it was due to a "new" system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unfortunately, this hotel/resort can get pricely, so look for special deals. We in early January and we got a very good deal. However, when we tried to plan for another Disney running event in late February, the rates were appreciably higher and were unavailable when I checked back an hour later.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Honey
Business
St. Lucie West, Fl 34987 from CT
Dec 1, 2010

Riverside Visit

We were very pleased with Disney's Port Orleans, Riverside resort. The surrounding are beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful. We were in a building quite close to the bus stop. Since we like to come and go frequently, this was very convenient for us. The two pools were also very conveniently located. One has a slide and waterfall and a hot tub. It was most pleasant. Our room was very nice. The beds were wonderful. The room was very clean and the bed linens sparkling (which is a must for us). Also the price of this room was reasonable. We would definitely choose this resort again. My husband and I will definitely choose this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the boat from the resort to Downtown Disney where there are many restaurants to choose from. The ride to and from the location is very enjoyable also.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gran & Pop
Business
Sebastian, Florida
Nov 30, 2010

Great mini Vacation!

Super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top