Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

4 stars
1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
239 reviews
Family Vacation

Great place to stay... Very clean with beautiful surroundings. Swimming pool right next to... See full review

  • 1 great vacation
  • Dec 7, 2014
Great resort

The resort and staff were wonderful during our stay at Port Orleans See full review

  • Jon L02
  • Dec 1, 2014
Return to the charming days of riverboats and Mark Twain as you discover this moderately priced resort. Courtly pillars, grand staircases and splendid gardens blend with the Mississippi-style waterways and gracious Southern hospitality. "Mosey over" to Alligator Bayou and discover its rustic architecture, front porches and meandering walkways. A stocked fishing hole, country-style pool, flowered fields and two-story cottages create the nostalgic romance of down-home charm. Resort features 2,048 guest rooms, pool with slide, five quiet pools and one kiddie pool, arcade, playground, bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside Rooms

Royal Guest Room - Gardenview
It's where all your royal Disney friends stay! Each room makes you feel as though you're a character in the Disney stories you love. Magical Fireworks swirl about you as you recline in ornately decorated beds. Adorning the walls are Princely Banners, a magical painting and memories of Tiana and her friends displayed in exquisite frames. Your family will be swept up in a truly royal experience. Courtyard or garden view rooms with two queen beds or one king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
King Room
Maximum occupancy - 2 people
River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Preferred Room
Two queen beds. Varied view. Close to main lobby than standard room. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request). Nonsmoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Banquette beds (35" x 65") may accomodate a child age 3-9 in the Alligator Bayou rooms.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3855 -81.5365
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.5 mi

Dining

Arcadian Pizza Express
Pizza delivery to Guests' rooms at Port Orleans offered from 4pm to midnight.
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Taste of Southern-style cooking and American favorites. Unique setting surrounded by shipbuilding artifacts, fireplace and view of our Southern Trace bakery.
Muddy Rivers - Ol' Man Island (Poolside)
Hot dogs, popcorn and specialty drinks.
Food Court
Burgers and chicken entrees, bakery items including cookies, ice cream and sundaes, BBQ chicken and red beans & rice, ribs, pizza, pasta and salads.
River Roost (Lounge)
Full bar, cocktail service, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcela
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Mar 22, 2011

Nice play to stay

We have stayed in this resort before and we really like it. Love the boat to downtown Disney which is great to grab breakfast , lunch or dinner since the food court and restaurant in the resort are not that great. Rooms are ok for a family of three. Like the lounge with the fire place and piano entertainment. Also good bus service. The pool has a nice slide which my daughter loved. Room has a refrigerator and table which made it eaasy for us to storage some staples and snacks. Only thing I don't like is the message and early maid visit the day of check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus or boat to downtown and dine at Wolgang puck express. The dinner is good and very affordable.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainfield, CT
Mar 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay

Really Enjoyed staying at this Hotel! Loved the Pool, lots of Waterfalls and the slide! The hotel also had a nice place to run in the morning. At first we were reluctant to eat in the food court area but we had Breakfast and a laet Dinner there and it was great, Pasta station was awesome. I would definately recommend this hotel especially for the price. If we can't get one of the upper leve Disney Hotels for a resonible price then we will be coming back to Port Orleans Riverside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Mar 19, 2011

Felt like we were in Orleans

Port Orleans Riverside offered easy water access to the restaurants and shops at Downtown Disney. We took this trip 3 times in our 6 day stay. Rooms were spacious and quiet. Pools were easily accessible and water the perfect temperature. Boatwright Restaurant offered delicious southern menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Mar 18, 2011

good

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Driving Miss Diane
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 24, 2011

Destination Disaster

From the outside, the you'd think you were in Louisana. But my 2 worst experiences were - (.1) the bathroom. The shower curtain had a good amount of blood on it. I don't know if the cleaning staff cut themselves while cleaning, but it was disgusting. (.2) transportation. As a resort hotel, buses are supposed to come by every 15 to 20 minutes to bring you to various attractions. It took 1-1/2 hours and a lot of complaining to get a bus to bring us (and others) to Blizzard Beach. The 1st bus that stopped was full, and they said they'd call in another bus to pick up, but after 20 minutes, none showed, so we asked the next bus that stopped to call into dispatch, and they said they would, but still no bus showed. And now the number of people waiting is increasing, and we're 45 minutes late meeting up with our friends. And still no bus. So we had to walk all the way back to the lobby, and no one working at the resort could/would help us - told us they didn't support transportation, but to us the house phone, so I called dispatch, ripped them a new one, and finally, a bus showed up. But by the time we got there, it was a 2 hour ordeal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jodica
Business
North Miaami Beach
Feb 21, 2011

Disney's Resort or Orlando Motel

This hotel looks great from the outside, but inside is another story it is a two start average motel. Very small rooms, thank goodness only there for 2 nights. The hotel simply did not live up to the website advertisement. [...] extra 10 dollars for internet [...]. The bathroom was clean, but everything was motel six qualities from the small towels to the little bottle of combo shampoo conditioner including the side of the room and old TV. There are better hotels for that price in that area. I DID NOT RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL AT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uvafish
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 15, 2011

Clean, modest, and pretty.

Port Orleans-Riverside is exactly what it says it is, a moderate, clean, family hotel that gives you all the Disney bells and whistles. The room is nothing fancy. We had two queen size beds that practically filled the entire room. There's a small refrigerator, a TV stand and a desk. There are two sinks at the back of the main room near the bathroom with a curtain that can be pulled to give privacy between the bedroom area and the bathroom area. The resort is large and sprawling with a nicely landscaped (but nothing spectacular) grounds. Hotel personnel are all very pleasant and helpful. There was a lively bar scene at night with an old fashioned piano player energizing the crowd. The best part about the resort is that it's a Disney resort which means you get to take advantage of all the Disney extras including their Magical Express service (delivers luggage from airport to your room, automatic check-in for your return flight, transportation to and from the airport, etc.), frequent (every 20 mins) buses to all the Disney resorts and Downtown Disney, Disney meal plans, etc. If you're visiting Orlando to go to the Disney parks and do not plan on spending a lot of time in your room, then this is a good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Fantasmic show at Disney's Hollywood Studios at the end of the day. Spectacular!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 10, 2011

Terrible Hotel Experience

I'm not sure where to start. The four Disney parks were great but our hotel experience soured our first trip to Disney. The customer service at Riverside was absolutely horrendous. Since we had two families with small children(5 year old, two 3 year olds, and a 3 month old), we were "promised" a conjoining room on the first floor. Instead, we were given two rooms on the second floor(w/o an elevator) that were neither conjoining or adjoining. In order for them to correct the mistake, we were required to pack/unpack and move our suitcases to other rooms 6 different times within the first 3 days. We had also requested a crib for our 3 month old daughter. When we checked in at 10:30 am, we were "promised" that the crib would be in the room(which was the wrong room anyway) after we returned from the park. That did not happen either. I actually had to make two separate trips to the front desk(which was about a half mile from our room) before the crib was finally delivered at 11:00 pm. On the second day, they gave us keys to a room that was already occupied by another visitor. Despite all of their mistakes, I had two separate managers try and tell me it was our fault. It seemed like every manager I spoke with was more incompetent than the last. Each one kept making promises that the next manager wouldn't/couldn't uphold. It was a customer service nightmare!! When I asked for some sort of compensation for our extreme inconvenience, each of them looked at me like I was crazy. Finally after three days of empty "promises", they gave in a credited us $100. $100 credit, are you kidding me?!? If you have ever been to Disney, you know that's not going a long way. As a family, we have been taking two vacations a year for some time now. This is by far the worst experience I've had with a hotel and it's staff. I don't want to come off as a bitter person because we had a blast at the actual parks. I just want to make sure everyone is aware of what they should expect if they decide to stay at Riverside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Nice stay at Disney Rvrside Port Orleans

We had an awesome stay in the Acadian House at Riverside Port Orleans Disney Resort. The room was 2 feet wider than a standard hotel room... double sink/ large bath very clean. Beds were only Double not Queens, and that was disappointing, but the resort and the grounds and the pools were very nice. Bus service takes you to the 4 disney parks, so its worth staying on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn to use the Fast Passes... a ticket you get that holds your place in line for a later ride... you can go do something else for a couple of hours until your "time" and then come and walk right in.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL.
Jan 17, 2011

Nice Getaway.

Hotel was older but in very nice shape. Great location and plenty of transportation to the theme parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar had a great show.

Back to menu Return to top