Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

4 stars
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
137 reviews
Wonderful trip!

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter Resort. It's a... See full review

  • LTL23
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great value

Really pleasant hotel with lovely grounds and pool. Not too big and crowded which is great after a... See full review

  • civvychris
  • Jul 25, 2014
Intricate railings, cobblestone streets and courtyards of flowers capture the spirit and romance of New Orleans' French Quarter. Dine on Creole delicacies, plunge into Doubloon Lagoon with its fantastic water slide or relish the Mardi Gras atmosphere. Dazzling detail, bayou excitement and "all that jazz" can be had for a "song." Resort features 1,008 guest rooms, pool with slide, kiddie pool, arcade and playground. Bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals available at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Rooms

River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request).

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Garden View
2 queen beds or 1 king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Courtyard or Garden view rooms.
King Bed
Features one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 2 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3823 -81.5389
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.4 mi

Dining

Scat Cat's Club (Lounge)
Full bar, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.
Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory
Bakery items including beignets and cookies, burgers, sandwiches, chicken entrees, pizza, ribs, chicken, red beans and rice. Pizza delivery to guests' rooms offered from 4 p.m. to midnight.
Mardi Grogs - Doubloon Lagoon (Poolside)
Hot dogs, submarine sandwiches, ice cream novelities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Earthling
Madison, WI
Apr 22, 2009

Nothing special, but fine for the price

The Port Orleans - French Quarter was nothing special, but we were happy with the choice since you can spend a LOT more for lodging in Disney World. Our biggest complaint was that the beds were old and concave (so both parties tended to get sucked into the middle). The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We only ate once at the food court, and it seemed ok. The Disney shuttles worked well. But driving around Disney in our rental van was a confusing mess, with curving roads so you couldn't tell which direction you were heading, and signs that had only park or hotel names (no road names... hint to Disney: add the road names to your signs so people using maps can figure out which turns to take).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Disney parks early, then take a break around noon from the heat and sun for a recharging nap in your air-conditioned room. Then eat a buffet supper and head back to the parks around 5pm for the rest of the day (you won't need to buy a meal, just a snack or two for the evening).

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Feb 4, 2010

Very Nice Place to stay

Everything ran well.Disney is very organized.I liked the way the bags were handled to and from the airport,and the bus service was great to all the attactions.No big complaints,just no fitness center,and the regular sized double beds were a little small when you are used to a queen sized bed.To wind down at night you must check out the great entetainment in the Lounge with Elliot Dyson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FestiveDaisy
Austin, TX
Jul 15, 2014

Great, small Disney resort

This was our second time staying at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter. We like the location of this resort (a quick bus ride to Magic Kingdom, and boats to Downtown Disney) and that it's smaller than the other resorts. What it lacks in food options, it makes up for in short walks to the store, restaurant, bus stop, and parking lot. Our only issue this stay was that our room wasn't cleaned one day, and we didn't know until we returned late in the day ready to go to sleep. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the grounds were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The onsite restaurant deals with food allergies very well. You speak with a chef and receive a pager so they can let you know when your specially prepared meal is ready.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mindy W.
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2014

Good value for the money

It's Disney what's not to like. The grounds and amenities were outstanding. The pool was beautifully themed and large. The quick service restaurant gave you what you need. The room was adequate. The bed was comfortable but the decor was not to my liking. Not a big fan of purple and gold though I do understand why. It's supposed to be New Orleans. Anyhow when you are in Disney who spends time in the room so the room did it's job by providing a comfortable place to sleep. Overall I recommend staying here if you are on a bit of a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mbioman
Upland, CA
May 12, 2014

Great place to stay for a Disney Vacation

Our stay with a family of 4 went very well. The room is quite small, but is what you expect on Disney property. The wall safe is tiny - barely fit a couple of tablets. Forget about a laptop. The pool is great and the location is prefect. They accommodated our room requests - top floor, building 5, close to transportation. Shuttle service to the parks was fantastic. The food is on par with the parks, but can be busy at times. The beds were quite firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great place for a quaint Disney experience.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Steve
Keller, TX
Oct 31, 2013

Disney Port Orleans French Quarter

We enjoyed this property very much. Of the several Disney properties we have stayed at, we would rank this one near the top. It is well-located and is small enough that you can get to the food court and other amenities without walking for miles like at the All-Star resorts. The food court is well-sized and organized. The gift shop is large and well-stocked. The pool is large and has areas to suit all age groups. It was never overly crowded. It has just one convenient bus stop right outside the main hotel entrance, unlike the 4 stops at Port Orleans Riverside located in remote parking lots. Transportation is very good. Buses come frequently in the morning, and leave frequently in the evenings from the parks, we rarely had to wait more than 15-20 minutes or so. The boat transportation to and from Downtown Disney runs every 20 minutes from 10:00 am to 11:30 pm. The worst transportation option is the bus from Downtown Disney to the resort. Be warned it can take nearly an hour, as you stop at Pleasure Island, maybe one of the Water Parks, and then all 4 Riverside stops before getting to French Quarter. If they are still running and you have the capacity to walk on to the boats at Downtown Disney, it is a MUCH better option than the bus. Will definitely consider this resort again for future stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is earlier than 11:30 pm or so, and you can walk the relatively short distance from the Downtown Disney bus stop to the Downtown Disney boats to Port Orleans, you can save a LOT of time getting back to the resort. The bus trip from Downtown Disney to French Quarter can take nearly an hour because French Quarter is the LAST stop, with as many as 6 stops before arriving. The longest you will have to wait for the boat is 20 minutes.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmacc
New Hampshire
Feb 28, 2012

Great for the most part

The hotel room was immaculate, housekeeping was very responsive to minor requests. The location was convenient with frequent transportation to the parks. The food court was small but had good variety. There was a store that sold bottled water, snacks etc that was expensive, but probably no more than any other place in Disney. My only complaint is that the staff did not seem very happy to see their guests and their demeanor was cold. No one smiled or seemed interested in whether their guests were happy. When checking out I was not asked how my stay was, which was surprising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Apparently you can buy a refillable coffee mug for around $15 for unlimited refills during your stay which may be cheaper than paying $2.50 a cup otherwise depending on how much you drink and how long your stay is. The "salad your way" was a good bargain and very fresh.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnb27
Hoboken NJ
Feb 4, 2010

Excellent option!

The hotel was really a great value. I've never stayed in the park before, so I can't really compare it to anything else, but we found the place to be very nice. We arrived lated on a Thursday, and the hotel staff still greeted us warmly and quickly got us checked in and on our way to our room. No one offered to help us with our bags, so you're on your own for luggage, and some of the buildings are pretty far from the main check-in area. The room was nice, totally comfortable, but definitely had no bells and whistles (no plush bedding, compact shower/toilet room, no luggage stand, no closet, no flat screen or digital cable, etc.). The breakfast was good, a quick way to get something and then get going to the park. The buses ran frequently, and depending on the park, took about 10 minutes to get to the park. Using the Magic Express shuttle from and to the airport was terrific, very convenient and very simple. Basically, staying in the park is the way to go. I imagine that most of the hotels are perfectly acceptable - if you want something like a Hilton or Sheraton, this isn't quite at that level, but it really was a great deal and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Feb 4, 2011

Great Environment

The atmosphere was great and all the staff were very helpful. It was also very nice to take the water taxi to downtown Disney. My only complaint is the food on site. The food courts food was comparable to cafeteria food. I paid around $10 for a cheese steak that wasn't great. The bread was dry. The vending machine also charged $1.75 for a small bag of chips and 1.75 for a bottle of water. Everything was over priced, but that's Disney. No free internet, and no wifi available. Kind of disappointing that some fast food places have FREE wifi and this hotel doesn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own food and drinks and keep them in the room.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason 559
Fresno, CA
Dec 8, 2012

Paper thin walls

We checked in late in the evening due to our flight, but had a quick check in. The front desk wouldn't put us in a single bed room without adding on $25 per night, so we passed on that. After getting to bed we found the mattress to be hard and uncomfortable. The worst part was the very thin walls. We could hear things next door, and were woken up several times by water running and toilet flushing. THANKFULLY, the hotel manager moved us to the Riverside resort and we were 100% satisfied there. The walls were a bit thin there and you hear all the noise from kids yelling and running in the halls, but still much better experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top