Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

4 stars
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
156 reviews
Great family resort.

Perfect grounds, very nice, clean room, and helpful, friendly staff. Have stayed here before and... See full review

  • Tim's Nickname
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great location. Just right for a family of 4.

Room was clean and in a great location. Transportation to the parks was quick and easy to use. See full review

  • WDW Freak
  • Nov 23, 2014
Intricate railings, cobblestone streets and courtyards of flowers capture the spirit and romance of New Orleans' French Quarter. Dine on Creole delicacies, plunge into Doubloon Lagoon with its fantastic water slide or relish the Mardi Gras atmosphere. Dazzling detail, bayou excitement and "all that jazz" can be had for a "song." Resort features 1,008 guest rooms, pool with slide, kiddie pool, arcade and playground. Bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals available at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Rooms

River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request).

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Garden View
2 queen beds or 1 king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Courtyard or Garden view rooms.
King Bed
Features one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 2 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3823 -81.5389
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.4 mi

Dining

Scat Cat's Club (Lounge)
Full bar, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.
Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory
Bakery items including beignets and cookies, burgers, sandwiches, chicken entrees, pizza, ribs, chicken, red beans and rice. Pizza delivery to guests' rooms offered from 4 p.m. to midnight.
Mardi Grogs - Doubloon Lagoon (Poolside)
Hot dogs, submarine sandwiches, ice cream novelities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy the Working Mom
Business
Old Bridge, NJ
Jul 21, 2013

Terrific family fun

The hotel was exactly what we expected: clean, family friendly, and engaging. We were on the plane when we noticed our daughter forgot a valuable souvenir. We called when we landed and they sent someone to the room, and immediately shipped it to us. Their superior service did not end at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Downtown Disney!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenepha
Business
NY
Aug 12, 2013

Family Getaway

Great Value. Friendly Staff. Lots of things to do.Good commute to Disney. Clean hotel . Children Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Disney

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rom99
Business
NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Family Getaway

Great hotel. There needs to be better communication between staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilyclairwell
Business
Michigan
Aug 31, 2013

Port Orleans - French Quarter

This was my third time going to Disney as an adult. This time I decided to up the quality of my hotel to one of Disney's "moderate" resorts. When it came to the room itself, it was exactly the same as the value resorts. The atmosphere was nicer; a bit more classy and not kid-themed. But the actual features of the room were the same. The food court was also exactly the same as the value resorts. I was hoping to find a sit-down restaurant in addition to the food court, but there was not one. What I thought would be the restaurant just turned out to be an indoor bar. The pool was slightly better than the pools at the value resort I had previously stayed at. This one included a small waterslide. Unfortunately, there were no side pools to go to in the hopes of escaping the crowd. If you wanted one of those, you had to take the long trek over to the Riverside hotel. The location was a big step up from the value resort. French Quarter is close enough to Downtown Disney that you can squeeze it into your day without really planning ahead. However, the transportation provided is not quite enough. Catching a bus quickly is a roll of the dice, and the water taxis heading to Downtown are already three-quarters full with the Riverside crowd when they get there. You will most likely have to wait for a second boat. Unfortunately, a lot of the amenities that they advertise have to be accessed at Riverside. Catching a boat to Riverside is easier than catching one to Downtown Disney, but it's still a wait. If you want to try a horse-drawn carriage ride, you've got to go over there. That's also where they have the bike and boat rentals. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful, with the exception of one person on the Bell Services staff. Twice he gave the impression of not wanting to help me, and I had to force him to help me on the second occasion. But he was clearly the odd-man-out on the staff, as the rest of them were always ready to help. When compared with the Value Resorts, I'd say the only step up was atmosphere and location. It really felt like there were a lot less kids around, and if felt more calm and relaxing. And, despite the wait for transportation, it really is nice to be so close to Downtown Disney. I'd recommend renting a car instead of using Disney transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

When visiting Disney World, always make reservations far in advance. The hotel can offer a nice breakfast, but you'll want sit-down meals for lunch and dinner. Disney's restaurants are always packed.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mammie of Three
Business
Pittsburgh Area
Oct 26, 2013

Great Getaway

Our vacation included Walt Disney World. The location of the room was great, it was near the bus system which was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was eager to meet our needs. My only negative comment would be that I wish there were more varied eating options within the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to park bussing system - this was fantastic!!!!!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Steve
Business
Keller, TX
Oct 31, 2013

Disney Port Orleans French Quarter

We enjoyed this property very much. Of the several Disney properties we have stayed at, we would rank this one near the top. It is well-located and is small enough that you can get to the food court and other amenities without walking for miles like at the All-Star resorts. The food court is well-sized and organized. The gift shop is large and well-stocked. The pool is large and has areas to suit all age groups. It was never overly crowded. It has just one convenient bus stop right outside the main hotel entrance, unlike the 4 stops at Port Orleans Riverside located in remote parking lots. Transportation is very good. Buses come frequently in the morning, and leave frequently in the evenings from the parks, we rarely had to wait more than 15-20 minutes or so. The boat transportation to and from Downtown Disney runs every 20 minutes from 10:00 am to 11:30 pm. The worst transportation option is the bus from Downtown Disney to the resort. Be warned it can take nearly an hour, as you stop at Pleasure Island, maybe one of the Water Parks, and then all 4 Riverside stops before getting to French Quarter. If they are still running and you have the capacity to walk on to the boats at Downtown Disney, it is a MUCH better option than the bus. Will definitely consider this resort again for future stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is earlier than 11:30 pm or so, and you can walk the relatively short distance from the Downtown Disney bus stop to the Downtown Disney boats to Port Orleans, you can save a LOT of time getting back to the resort. The bus trip from Downtown Disney to French Quarter can take nearly an hour because French Quarter is the LAST stop, with as many as 6 stops before arriving. The longest you will have to wait for the boat is 20 minutes.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph1234
Business
Ohio
Dec 19, 2013

Nice place, full disney experience

I was excited to go to Disney for the first time and I was not let down. Room was clean and service was excellent. Most of the staff was beyond friendly and helpful as you would expect at a Disney owned resort. Only exception to this was one lady running the front desk late night who could not answer my question, but also didn't offer to help me find someone who could. There were lots of amenities avaliable although many were not complimentary such as breakfast. If you are looking for the full Disney experience without breaking the bank this is the place to go, since it comes with the magic bands, transportation to the parks and hotels, and magic hours that come with staying at a Disney owned resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oscray
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
May 5, 2010

Great Hotel/Resort.

This was our first time staying at a Disney Resort. Previously we had stayed at motels outside of Disney. It exceeded all our expectations. We especially liked being able to leave our car in the lot and get around the whole Disney complex with their very excellent free transportation system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnb27
Business
Hoboken NJ
Feb 4, 2010

Excellent option!

The hotel was really a great value. I've never stayed in the park before, so I can't really compare it to anything else, but we found the place to be very nice. We arrived lated on a Thursday, and the hotel staff still greeted us warmly and quickly got us checked in and on our way to our room. No one offered to help us with our bags, so you're on your own for luggage, and some of the buildings are pretty far from the main check-in area. The room was nice, totally comfortable, but definitely had no bells and whistles (no plush bedding, compact shower/toilet room, no luggage stand, no closet, no flat screen or digital cable, etc.). The breakfast was good, a quick way to get something and then get going to the park. The buses ran frequently, and depending on the park, took about 10 minutes to get to the park. Using the Magic Express shuttle from and to the airport was terrific, very convenient and very simple. Basically, staying in the park is the way to go. I imagine that most of the hotels are perfectly acceptable - if you want something like a Hilton or Sheraton, this isn't quite at that level, but it really was a great deal and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Feb 4, 2010

Very Nice Place to stay

Everything ran well.Disney is very organized.I liked the way the bags were handled to and from the airport,and the bus service was great to all the attactions.No big complaints,just no fitness center,and the regular sized double beds were a little small when you are used to a queen sized bed.To wind down at night you must check out the great entetainment in the Lounge with Elliot Dyson!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top