Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

4 stars
View map of 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents of college studen
Business
Holland, MI
May 20, 2013

Beautiful resort

Room was nice, the beds were not comfortable. Resort itself was a 5 star, grounds beautiful, staff unbelievably nice to all, went out of their way to please. Pool area could of been bigger, no chairs or lounges to sit on most of the time. Food was always good. Buses were convent to use. All in all a good value, for a nice quiet place to unwind after a day at Disney's parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at the more expensive restaurants at Disney's parks during lunch, then eat a the food courts for dinner. Saves a lot of money and you have more choices to eat at lunch sitting than at dinner.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Karen
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 20, 2013

Family Vacation

The atmosphere is excellent and the staff is friendly. The rooms are little small and outdated, but still comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy the Working Mom
Business
Old Bridge, NJ
Jul 21, 2013

Terrific family fun

The hotel was exactly what we expected: clean, family friendly, and engaging. We were on the plane when we noticed our daughter forgot a valuable souvenir. We called when we landed and they sent someone to the room, and immediately shipped it to us. Their superior service did not end at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Downtown Disney!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenepha
Business
NY
Aug 12, 2013

Family Getaway

Great Value. Friendly Staff. Lots of things to do.Good commute to Disney. Clean hotel . Children Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Disney

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rom99
Business
NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Family Getaway

Great hotel. There needs to be better communication between staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilyclairwell
Business
Michigan
Aug 31, 2013

Port Orleans - French Quarter

This was my third time going to Disney as an adult. This time I decided to up the quality of my hotel to one of Disney's "moderate" resorts. When it came to the room itself, it was exactly the same as the value resorts. The atmosphere was nicer; a bit more classy and not kid-themed. But the actual features of the room were the same. The food court was also exactly the same as the value resorts. I was hoping to find a sit-down restaurant in addition to the food court, but there was not one. What I thought would be the restaurant just turned out to be an indoor bar. The pool was slightly better than the pools at the value resort I had previously stayed at. This one included a small waterslide. Unfortunately, there were no side pools to go to in the hopes of escaping the crowd. If you wanted one of those, you had to take the long trek over to the Riverside hotel. The location was a big step up from the value resort. French Quarter is close enough to Downtown Disney that you can squeeze it into your day without really planning ahead. However, the transportation provided is not quite enough. Catching a bus quickly is a roll of the dice, and the water taxis heading to Downtown are already three-quarters full with the Riverside crowd when they get there. You will most likely have to wait for a second boat. Unfortunately, a lot of the amenities that they advertise have to be accessed at Riverside. Catching a boat to Riverside is easier than catching one to Downtown Disney, but it's still a wait. If you want to try a horse-drawn carriage ride, you've got to go over there. That's also where they have the bike and boat rentals. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful, with the exception of one person on the Bell Services staff. Twice he gave the impression of not wanting to help me, and I had to force him to help me on the second occasion. But he was clearly the odd-man-out on the staff, as the rest of them were always ready to help. When compared with the Value Resorts, I'd say the only step up was atmosphere and location. It really felt like there were a lot less kids around, and if felt more calm and relaxing. And, despite the wait for transportation, it really is nice to be so close to Downtown Disney. I'd recommend renting a car instead of using Disney transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

When visiting Disney World, always make reservations far in advance. The hotel can offer a nice breakfast, but you'll want sit-down meals for lunch and dinner. Disney's restaurants are always packed.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mammie of Three
Business
Pittsburgh Area
Oct 26, 2013

Great Getaway

Our vacation included Walt Disney World. The location of the room was great, it was near the bus system which was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was eager to meet our needs. My only negative comment would be that I wish there were more varied eating options within the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to park bussing system - this was fantastic!!!!!

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disney Steve
Business
Keller, TX
Oct 31, 2013

Disney Port Orleans French Quarter

We enjoyed this property very much. Of the several Disney properties we have stayed at, we would rank this one near the top. It is well-located and is small enough that you can get to the food court and other amenities without walking for miles like at the All-Star resorts. The food court is well-sized and organized. The gift shop is large and well-stocked. The pool is large and has areas to suit all age groups. It was never overly crowded. It has just one convenient bus stop right outside the main hotel entrance, unlike the 4 stops at Port Orleans Riverside located in remote parking lots. Transportation is very good. Buses come frequently in the morning, and leave frequently in the evenings from the parks, we rarely had to wait more than 15-20 minutes or so. The boat transportation to and from Downtown Disney runs every 20 minutes from 10:00 am to 11:30 pm. The worst transportation option is the bus from Downtown Disney to the resort. Be warned it can take nearly an hour, as you stop at Pleasure Island, maybe one of the Water Parks, and then all 4 Riverside stops before getting to French Quarter. If they are still running and you have the capacity to walk on to the boats at Downtown Disney, it is a MUCH better option than the bus. Will definitely consider this resort again for future stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is earlier than 11:30 pm or so, and you can walk the relatively short distance from the Downtown Disney bus stop to the Downtown Disney boats to Port Orleans, you can save a LOT of time getting back to the resort. The bus trip from Downtown Disney to French Quarter can take nearly an hour because French Quarter is the LAST stop, with as many as 6 stops before arriving. The longest you will have to wait for the boat is 20 minutes.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph1234
Business
Ohio
Dec 19, 2013

Nice place, full disney experience

I was excited to go to Disney for the first time and I was not let down. Room was clean and service was excellent. Most of the staff was beyond friendly and helpful as you would expect at a Disney owned resort. Only exception to this was one lady running the front desk late night who could not answer my question, but also didn't offer to help me find someone who could. There were lots of amenities avaliable although many were not complimentary such as breakfast. If you are looking for the full Disney experience without breaking the bank this is the place to go, since it comes with the magic bands, transportation to the parks and hotels, and magic hours that come with staying at a Disney owned resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oscray
Business
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
May 5, 2010

Great Hotel/Resort.

This was our first time staying at a Disney Resort. Previously we had stayed at motels outside of Disney. It exceeded all our expectations. We especially liked being able to leave our car in the lot and get around the whole Disney complex with their very excellent free transportation system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top