Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

4 stars
2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
120 reviews
Love this place

Having stayed at many Disney resorts, I keep returning to French Quarter. The location is central... See full review

  • Lisam94
  • Apr 7, 2014
Great Disney hotel at a great value

We stayed here the week of February 15th, 2014 (including President's Day weekend). We had a great... See full review

  • Crate and Friends
  • Feb 21, 2014
Intricate railings, cobblestone streets and courtyards of flowers capture the spirit and romance of New Orleans' French Quarter. Dine on Creole delicacies, plunge into Doubloon Lagoon with its fantastic water slide or relish the Mardi Gras atmosphere. Dazzling detail, bayou excitement and "all that jazz" can be had for a "song." Resort features 1,008 guest rooms, pool with slide, kiddie pool, arcade and playground. Bicycle rentals, family fishing hole and a marina with watercraft rentals available at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Rooms

River View
Two queen beds. River view. Table and chairs. Television. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Clock radio. In-room safe. Ceiling fan. Crib (on request).

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Garden View
2 queen beds or 1 king-sized bed with Television, hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board/iron, ceiling fan, in-room safe, table and chairs and clock radio. Microwave (on request, surcharge). Crib (on request). Courtyard or Garden view rooms.
King Bed
Features one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 2 people
Standard View
Rooms offer views of a courtyard, garden, woodland or parking area. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Water View
Rooms offer views of a pool or lake. Features two queen beds, table and chairs, ceiling fan, vanity area with sink and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3823 -81.5389
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DOWNTOWN DISNEY Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 1.4 mi

Dining

Scat Cat's Club (Lounge)
Full bar, specialty drinks, hors d'oeuvres.
Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory
Bakery items including beignets and cookies, burgers, sandwiches, chicken entrees, pizza, ribs, chicken, red beans and rice. Pizza delivery to guests' rooms offered from 4 p.m. to midnight.
Mardi Grogs - Doubloon Lagoon (Poolside)
Hot dogs, submarine sandwiches, ice cream novelities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Overall score

4.1 / 5
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Emmacc
New Hampshire
Feb 28, 2012

Great for the most part

The hotel room was immaculate, housekeeping was very responsive to minor requests. The location was convenient with frequent transportation to the parks. The food court was small but had good variety. There was a store that sold bottled water, snacks etc that was expensive, but probably no more than any other place in Disney. My only complaint is that the staff did not seem very happy to see their guests and their demeanor was cold. No one smiled or seemed interested in whether their guests were happy. When checking out I was not asked how my stay was, which was surprising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Apparently you can buy a refillable coffee mug for around $15 for unlimited refills during your stay which may be cheaper than paying $2.50 a cup otherwise depending on how much you drink and how long your stay is. The "salad your way" was a good bargain and very fresh.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
Happyyy
NY
Jun 6, 2013

Top hotel for couples

This is my favorite hotel in disney (been to swan/dolphin, animation, animal kingdom and port orleans). It has the least amount of children and the best grounds of any hotel. You can walk to the riverside hotel and rent boats, kayaks or bikes. You can take the ferry to downtown disney and even to old key west and saratoga resorts. The pool is nice and big and themed with princess and the frog stuff. They also have plenty of activities for the kids which keeps the ones there basically in one corner of the pool. This is so awesome by the way. You can easily spend a whole day here just relaxing and you can also check out downtown disney, which has been seriously upgraded. The only downside I can think of was lunch options. They have a restaurant only open for dinner and I didnt eat there so can't comment. But for lunch they only have a cafeteria style place with limited options. I was sorely disappointed with that. Next time I willplan around this obviously. It did work the following daybwhen we ventured to old key west and had a great lunch there. Overall though this is still an amazing place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to downtown disney or a little further to Old Key West for lunch. You can take the ferry to downtown disney and from there a short ferry to old key west. If you want to do the old key west, account for 40 min or so total travel time.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Parents of college studen
Holland, MI
May 20, 2013

Beautiful resort

Room was nice, the beds were not comfortable. Resort itself was a 5 star, grounds beautiful, staff unbelievably nice to all, went out of their way to please. Pool area could of been bigger, no chairs or lounges to sit on most of the time. Food was always good. Buses were convent to use. All in all a good value, for a nice quiet place to unwind after a day at Disney's parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at the more expensive restaurants at Disney's parks during lunch, then eat a the food courts for dinner. Saves a lot of money and you have more choices to eat at lunch sitting than at dinner.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Beechies
Florida
May 13, 2013

Average

This resort has a pretty good location and is the smallest Disney resort in size. Walking distance around the resort is very manageable. We got tied up in a building where they were doing remodel/construction. So at times it wasn't pleasant. There's really nothing that makes this resort stand out above any of the other similar priced resorts. It's basically one of Disney's value properties with a nicer coat of paint. The on-property bus transportation makes it worth staying at Disney alone, be prepared to travel to the Riverside resort to pick up/drop off people before getting to/from the parks as well. Don't plan on being impressed by the food court. Overly expensive (even for Disney) and very plain, cheap food in return. We traveled off property for cheaper and better food or went into Downtown Disney for better food at similar type prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Downtown Disney instead of the food court. You can get there by riverboat, bus, or drive. It's about 2-3miles and you'll get WAY better food for similar prices. (And better selection)

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
Hosedandunhappy
St. Louis
Apr 26, 2013

Cheap hotel at premium price

This is a budget hotel with nice trim. The photos look cute and very Disney but this was not a pleasant stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
Retired Mom 5
North Fort Myers
Apr 13, 2013

Couple getaway

French Quarter had buses to all parks. Prompt. Property very "kid" orientated. Especially pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
Mema B.
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 26, 2013

Family fun

Spent 5 wonderful days with my family at Disney World. The Port Orleans hotel was a great match. Ambience, nice pool for kids, good food, best bus and boat service to parks etc. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food court has tasty food. Chefs will accomodate any food issues, ie, gluten free.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Dianeinla
Los Angeles CA
Mar 16, 2013

This Moderate Resort has many benefits

I was a little reluctant, as a solo traveler, to book a Disney property hotel. No matter where you go in Disney World you are going to be dealing with loads of kids, but did I really want to deal with them at my hotel as well? But I was in Disney World for the Princess Half Marathon and the advantages to being in a Disney property outweighed my concerns, as as it ends up this was an excellent choice. Many many great things about this property, the main one to me being it is very small as Disney World Resorts go. Getting from my room to the shuttles, the pool, the dock for the river boat, was a very short walk. The best way to describe how small it is - they only need one bus stop for the resort/theme park buses. The room was very comfortable - I had a River view room with two queen beds. There were no King rooms available when I made my reservation and the King rooms cost more anyway. The rooms all have refrigerators which is very nice. The "closet" was just a hanging rod along the vanity area of the bathroom, but there were plenty of hangers. There is a large chest of drawers. The bathtub was nice for soaking after the half marathon or just a day of running around theme parks. The water pressure in my shower wasn't all that great but was hot and good enough. There is a bar/jazz club and one cafeteria style restaurant on the property - one of the downsides of the size of the property was the limited eating choices. But there are more restaurants at the adjoining Riverview property which is a short walk down the riverside path. Also you can grab the riverboat from the dock at the property and take it to Riverview or to Downtown Disney where many many restaurants await. I only had lunch and grabbed an order of beignets from the food court, both of which were very good but the service is PAINFULLY slow. They only have one person at each food station who takes your order, then makes your order. Nice that nothing is premade but at lunch time it can take 20 minutes to get your sandwich. In the morning plan on a very long line for the beignets. Since its a small property it only has one pool - there is no "quiet pool" that you will find at many of the larger properties. There is a water slide in the pool and it seemed pretty good sized. Even though it was warm there weren't a lot of people using the pool. There WERE a lot of people in the jacuzzi - particularly after the half marathon. One of the main benefits of this property as far as I was concerned. I was surprised how many of the reasonable and moderate properties did not have a jacuzzi. The bus service is for the most part excellent. When you are picked up you are taken directly to whatever park you are heading to. When you return, the bus is only going to the two Port Orleans properties, and the French Quarter is always the first drop off. I rarely had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus at either the hotel or the theme parks. The exception was at Hollywood where a bus pulled up to drop off people then left without taking on passengers. We waited a full 45 minutes for a bus and would probably have been there longer if we hadn't gone up to every other bus that pulled up and asked them to tell the dispatcher how long we had waited. The staff was extremely friendly and extremely helpful. Right after I checked out I realized I had left my Ipad on the bed in my room. A cast member called all over walked back to the building with me and helped me find the housekeeper who had cleaned the room already and pick it up. Disney World isn't a trip I would make frequently but if I have occasion to be going there again I will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Disney World restaurants take reservations but most prime times fill up WAY in advance so don't expect to get an 8pm reservation at popular places if you wait until the same day to reserve.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Tired now
Massachusetts
Jan 22, 2013

MLK weekend

Expensive. Almost identical to Value resort at 3X the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

meal plan not worth it.

Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
DZ123
San Diego , ca
Dec 31, 2012

Overall okay

We stayed there for 4 nights during Xmas. In general the hotel is okay , nothing special. We spent most of time at the parks. We probably will stay at a different hotel next time .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Jason 559
Fresno, CA
Dec 8, 2012

Paper thin walls

We checked in late in the evening due to our flight, but had a quick check in. The front desk wouldn't put us in a single bed room without adding on $25 per night, so we passed on that. After getting to bed we found the mattress to be hard and uncomfortable. The worst part was the very thin walls. We could hear things next door, and were woken up several times by water running and toilet flushing. THANKFULLY, the hotel manager moved us to the Riverside resort and we were 100% satisfied there. The walls were a bit thin there and you hear all the noise from kids yelling and running in the halls, but still much better experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top