Disney's Contemporary Resort

4 stars
4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
58 reviews
CONTEMPORARY = CONVENIENCE

The Contemporary is a fantastic resort. You can't get closer to the Magic Kingdom than a tower room... See full review

  • Sivaro
  • Oct 3, 2014
Mini vacation

Took my daughter and granddaughter for a weekend trip to magic kingdom. This hotel was excellent,... See full review

  • Angiesuern
  • Sep 1, 2014
From the dramatic art in the main tower with sleek monorails cruising overhead, to the casual style and convenience of garden rooms looking out over the beach, this is a Disney experience not to be missed. Its bold A frame design makes it a modern masterpiece, capped off by a breathtaking view of the MAGIC KINGDOM Park from the award-winning California Grill, perched high atop the resort. Resort features 656 renovated guest rooms in a 15-story tower and two 3-story garden wings, pool with slide, quiet pool, spas, arcade, playground, children's activity center, tennis courts, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, a marina with watercraft rentals and a health club with spa services and beauty salon.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Contemporary Resort Rooms

Garden Wing - Garden View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of beautifully manicured gardens, the marina, pools or Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Garden Wing - Standard View
Located in the Garden Wing, a three-story building next to the Tower, rooms offer views of landscaped or parking areas. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Tower - Theme Park View
Rooms offer views of the Magic Kingdom Park and parking area. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people
Tower - Bay Lake View
Rooms offer views of Bay Lake. Features two queen-size beds or one king-size bed, day bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan and large bathroom with private commode. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, phone in bath area, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, high-speed Internet access.

Maximum occupancy - 5 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

28.4146 -81.5767
Area served
Walt Disney World Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
Magic Kingdom Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 4.5 mi

Dining

California Grill & Lounge
At California Grill, the food is just as enticing as the spectacular views across Magic Kingdom theme park. Inspired by classic cuisines from around the world, yet combined in inventive and delicious new ways, the menu at California Grill reflects the very best of California fusion cooking.
Outer Rim
Cocktails, light snacks.
The Waveof American Flavors
Experience the transition from "day" to "night" in this casual restaurant with such atmosphere! The menu features fresh American and world flavors, and trendy cocktails.
Contempo Caf
Wave at the passing monorail while you order on touch-screen kiosks. Menu items include flavorful flatbreads and hot and savory sandwiches, like honey lime chicken.
Contemporary Grounds
Coffee Bar serving capuccino, expresso, latte, coffee, flavored coffees, iced coffees, juices, Perrier and Vittel water, smoothies, bagels, wine and beer, specialty liquors.
Sand Bar & Grill
Open seasonally. Menu: snacks, sandwiches, beverages, alcoholic and non-alcoholic frozen drinks, wine and beer.
Chef Mickey's at Disney's Contemporary Resort
All-you-can-eat breakfast and dinner buffet with Chef Mickey and the gang. Daily continuous seatings from 7:00 a.m.- 11:30 a.m.; 5:00 p.m.- 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Contemporary Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Steve
Business
Cranford NJ
Aug 1, 2011

Unimpressed

I had heard many wonderful things about staying at Disney properties. Our stay at the Contemporary Resort did not meet expectations. Wear and tear in busy hotel is normal. That said the room needed to be vacuumed and the bathroom was dirty, for the price we paid we expected better. The pool also looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crewman
Business
West Hollywood, CA
Aug 7, 2010

Disappointed

I thought staying at one of the resorts connected by monorail would be a big benefit and would justify the extra money Disney's properties cost. The monorail was down often while we were there. (Maybe after every time it rained?) Even with the monorail, it only goes to the Magic Kingdom directly. To go to Epcot you have to change cars. To go anywhere else you have to take a bus. The bus ride to Downtown Disney took an hour. The bus goes very slow and stops often. The hotel room itself was nice and current, but it was a far walk from the main part of the hotel and looked out at the back of a tree. I didn't pay $80 extra for the view room, but still, this was unpleasant. If I were going again, I would rent a car and stay at a nice hotel near Downtown Disney. I had read here that others thought the employees were super friendly, but I more often thought they seemed haggard and kind of like they were going through the motions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superboss
Business
Viera, Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Location Location Location

The Resort was very nice. The location was the key right next to the Magic Kingdom. You can't get any closer! We didn't actually get a room in the main building so that was a little disappointing, but we were only in the room to rest! The staff was A number one. Very friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Magic Kingdom entrance. Way cool! Another tip if you stay on property you get to experience extended hours!

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aneyefordetail
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Jan 5, 2014

Mediocre Hotel with Great Location

The hotel is very overrated. It essentially feels like a dressed up motel that was remodeled. The location is what you are paying for. It has a direct stop to the Magic Kingdom on the monorail. The service could be better. They delayed our check-in because the reservation forgot to include our single 3 year old toddler. Give me a break! Most hotels do not flinch if two adults bring one additional small child let alone 2 kids; it's not like we were sneaking in a group of 4 kids like some families do. When we checked in, the person who checked us in was not particularly friendly nor did she communicate what the delay was about. The beds did not include a nice substantial comforter like most nice hotels. It felt like they substituted two flat sheets for a comforter. The mattress was not comfortable. Unlike most finer hotels in this price ranger, it was not a feather or pillow top. It felt like a cheap motel mattress. The hot water was restricted as well. When we arrived, the water on it's hottest scale felt like just above lukewarm water. I'm not one of those people who take scalding hot showers either but after a long day at Disney, a nice hot shower is a must. Maintenance arrived and removed the temperature restriction so that you turn the handle all the way up and get much hotter water. Our room was not cleaned well. Housekeeping forgot to remove a thong bikini that was hung on the shower when we arrived...gross. Also, the front desk is not particularly friendly when you call. When we called to complain about the hot water, the front desk was not apologetic or quick to help. On Sunday morning, the front desk did not even answer the phone. They were stingy about providing a late checkout meaning allowing us to check out at 12 PM versus 11 AM. And we booked with american ex online with our platinum card which is supposed to guarantee you a late check out. When we informed them of this, they still would not provide us a late check out. So what is nice? The resort monorail is a nice feature particularly when traveling to the Magic Kingdom. The ability to go to both Epcot and the Magic Kingdom in the same day makes this hotel nice. The air conditioning in the hotel was nice and our room got really cold. The shower amenities are nice. The valet parking is relatively cheap at $15 per day. They offer free parking so you don't need to valet. The swimming pool has lifeguards which is a nice tough for families with small children. The hotel also has a great system with their new bands. Purchasing items in the park with your bands is convenient. Bottom Line: you are paying for the location. If you are expecting a nice luxurious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KSA
Jul 2, 2011

Stay at Disney's Contemporary, Orlando,

The stay was an average. Excellent reception and convenient location but an old facility and the cost are exceeding the return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Either walk to Magic Kingdom or use the bus/Monirail to other attractions.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poulsbo, Washington
Apr 22, 2009

Had a good time.

Great location for Disney World. Wish the food was better on the 4th floor. Restaurants were too hard to get a reservation and not open enough hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, On
Dec 29, 2009

for what they charged, I expected more!

For $500 Canadian per night I would expect the soaps and shampoos to be replenished and clean glasses and cups to be provided. It was a nice hotel and the staff were friendly but for the price I would have expected more like say a discount on park admissions. It was no better than any other Hotel that charges $200 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Usually no complaint Brad
Business
S. San Gabriel, California
Aug 5, 2014

Family Getaway

For the most part good. But, family disappointed. When I made reservations, picture of resort had monorail going through tower. When checked in we were placed at a very distant detached 3 level part of the resort. It was quite a walk from the tower. Carrying bags (from shopping) and kids were inconvenient. The walk daily was quite dreadful and tough for kids after a hot day. I called front desk to pay for a move to tower but no availability. Deceiving when I purchased that resort. No 4 star experience because of location of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations well in advance

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fruitface
Business
Los Alamos, NM 87544, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Fun family time

We went for the marathon, it was very convenient to get to places. Restaurants at hotel had good service and delicious food. The light show on the lake in front of the hotel each evening at 10:10 should be earlier for the sake of children to see and runners who went to bed early the nights before the marathon. Runners who want quiet should ask for the side convention building. Pool noise also echoed up to our room on the 6th floor at night. So we might try the other building next visit, but you can't beat the beautiful view over the lake from our room. We could easily take the monorail to the Polynesian and the Grand Floridian for breakfasts, which is what we did. And took the boats to Wilderness Lodge for a dinner. Note: Whispering Canyon Cafe is far from quiet, lots of noise, encourages kids to scream and run around, have stick horse races during dinner and the waiters scream across the room for ketchup, etc, that's part of their act. But if you taught your kids to not scream indoors or run around during dinner, you might want to skip this restaurant or bring earplugs (will use those for the very loud music in the park parades too). We had a great time at Disney World, always do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Wave restaurant was very nice, ate their twice. Made reservations before we left home.

Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis131
Business
Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Good resort

Good resort great location if you are going to visit the disney parks. acsess to the monorail is esential. great staff as with all of disney they aim to please. price is a bit high but again same with all of disney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the california grill! great food and in the hotel

Back to menu Return to top