Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Onemorepage
Chelmsford, MA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Nice place

The resort was nice. We were lucky to be located with a smaller pool right outside our door and a very short walk to the food court and larger pool. Quiet and peaceful, with regular buses to the Disney parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are buying beer in Port Royale, go into what looks like a clothing store. Hidden in that store is a cooler with six packs. Cheaper than buying in the food court. There are also munches in that area.

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Musicmama2013
Business
Suburban Philadelphia, PA
Sep 5, 2013

Disney Moderate category? I don't think so!

So disappointed in this hotel. We typically stay at Pop Century, but "splurged" thanks to a Disney discount plus a travel site 15% coupon that made the price just a bit more than Pop usually is. Wish I had stuck with Pop Century. Stayed in (standard view) Barbados building 14, first floor, which desperately needs refurbishment. Wall molding coming away from the wall showing the crumbling dry wall behind it. No refrigerator due to a recall that we never heard about, so we had to rely on the small ice bucket to keep drinks marginally cold overnight. Lots of flying bugs in the bathroom. Impossible to really regulate the air conditioning - either lukewarm or freezing cold, and the extra blankets that we requested never materialized. Beds have pretty headboards but are doubles - same size as at the value hotels. Overall, the room was just "old" feeling. On the other hand, the resort general location is mere minutes away from Downtown Disney, Hollywood Studios and Epcot, and not that much farther to Magic Kingdom. That's a big bonus when you are driving as we did. Each resort "village" has its own pool - the one for our village was your basic pool shape; can't say what the water was like as we never actually made it thanks to the thunderstorms every night that ruined pool time. We did take a morning on the beach area to enjoy the hammocks - note that you are not permitted to go in the water at the beach. Only went to the food court for one meal - breakfast - what chaos! Lots of people and lots of lines and few seats. The Mickey waffles were good and they do have takeout lids available when you ask for them but very pricey, considering that the bacon and sausage that came with the waffles was almost inedible. I guess that price doesn't much matter if you're on the dining plan, but we weren't so it did. The overall resort is so spread out that you have to drive to the building where the food court is. Being on the first floor, we heard all kinds of sounds from above - sounded like someone jumping from bed to bed or practicing cheer moves - but at least we didn't have to climb the stairs every time we returned to the room as the buildings don't have elevators. Phone reception was spotty at best, had to go outside to the courtyard to complete most calls. Internet was slow but at least it worked. Took advantage of the airline checkin service to get our boarding passes printed - take note that you MUST have identification for all members of your party over 18 or they won't print the passes, even if you're already checked in. Hours are also very short - desk closes at 1:00pm. There did seem to be fewer kids and less noise than at Pop Century, but that was the only benefit we really noticed. I wouldn't classify Caribbean Beach as worth paying 50% or so more than Pop Century for. Certainly wouldn't stay here again unless it was cleaned up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared to take a bus or drive to get around the resort unless you're in the village next to Old Port Royal (where the food court is). You'll have to do the same to get to the lobby desk, which is in a completely different building and place in the resort.

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommygunn44
Business
Springfield, MA
Aug 12, 2013

Excellent stay

Tremendous location, just minutes from the gates of Hollywood Studios, Epcot and Magic/Animal Kingdoms....the staff was fabulous, check-in/out took just a few moments, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job everyday. Room was always neat and clean. The Price was reasonable despite it being a 'busy' time at the parks - ...hint -one thing to keep in mind, when you stay "on-site" like this, you don't have to pay to park at Disney- which saves you $16+/day - and that can add up quick. The only drawbacks at this resort are the lack of amenities... the rooms are very basic, not too big. But was fine for us two adults, and it was also a bit of a walk to get to the main pool and cafe area - but that may just be luck of the draw on room location.... other than that - I would absolutely recommend this resort/hotel -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Two big pluses with staying "on-site" at Disney hotels/resorts is that you 1) - Don't have to pay to park at the theme parks (which is $16-18/day) and 2) - Staying "on-site" also allows you to take advantage of Extra Magic Hours (EMH) at the parks... for example, our first day there, we flew in late 8pm .... thought It'd be a kinda lost day, but when we reached the resort, they told us that Magic Kingdom was open til 2am for those staying on property (it closed at 11pm for those not staying) - so we headed over there and got in every single ride and attraction we wanted to - with less people to fight lol..... EMH can be an excellent perk when staying on site....

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lamares
Business
West Des Moines IA
Jul 6, 2013

Perfect!

The perfect place to stay for the whole family ! kids love it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeni super mom
Business
roland, ia
Jun 19, 2013

orlando vacation

Great family fun, great pool and fun activities. Good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler to Disney World
Business
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Jun 6, 2013

Disney Resort - Needs That Special Something

We went in with too high of an expectation due to it being a DISNEY resort. The rooms had amenities comparable to an average hotel room, but nothing extra. The mattresses on the beds were not very firm, and there was a refrigerator, and a coffee pot, a very tiny, shallow safe in the room, and a nice large newer TV, but no added "Disney" touches. There was wi-fi available in the rooms, but, ironically, the average cell phone had NO service in any of the buildings, including the dining building, the lobby building, nor the individual resort room. (We did not have time to partake in the amenities outside the room itself, so can't comment on the pool, arcades, volleyball court, or beach campfire listed in the brochure.) The location of the resort was ideal, however. The transportation system provided by Disney was convenient, and ran often to the parks, and to Downtown Disney, and other Disney attractions, with good opportunities to go early, late, and any hour in between. The cleanliness of the rooms left a but to be desired. The bare minimum required was about all we could expect. We did have to call to get packaged coffee that wasn't left for the following morning once, and the ice bucket didn't get a new lining one of the days. (If any coffee or water was left out, still sitting in its cup, and we forgot to dump it out before leaving the room; that liquid would still be sitting there, without a replaced clean and empty plastic cup, or glass for water, in the evening. (One day, even the melted ice in the ice bucket was left untouched, with a replacement lining draped into it.) We learned to dump out anything we needed to have cleaned or replaced. Personal items, though, were very safe, and left untouched while we were out for the day. The staff, for the most part, was very friendly, and helpful. However, two incidents were not so positive. The TV in the room would not turn on with the remote on our first day there. (It wasn't the remote as it lit up indicating the power and batteries were fine.) I called the front desk to have someone assist with the problem. After more than a half hour, I was able to fiddle around with the connections on the back of the set, and found out one of the cords was not firmly connected to the TV. Unfortunately, during all that time, no one from the resort arrived to help, so, after I figured out the problem; I called again to "cancel" the request that hadn't been taken care of anyway. The second incident was the staff member in charge of handling questions on the departure information using the "Disney Magical Express." She was rather curt with her dismissal of a problem that developed, and informed us that was not something she could help us with and we would have to get that problem resolved with the airline. (It wasn't the usual friendly way of dealing with an issue, that we were accustomed to experiencing, when encountering a member of the Disney staff.) Much of the details of information for someone experiencing the resort for the first time were lacking. We kept being "surprised" by the way they handled something, instead of having it simply explained, either when arriving, or on the correspondence they had or brought to the room. It made for unnecessary repeated questions and delays to find the answers. Most of the staff were friendly, and helpful to provide those answers, though. Finally, the outer decor of the resort was pretty, as well as all of the lush vegetation, which made it a very nice looking resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you pick an airline that allows, or doesn't charge extra for, reserving specific seats on the plane in advance, as the Disney Magical Express staff cannot help you with this upon your departure. The Disney Magical Express is a courtesy service that provides you with the boarding pass based upon the information given to them by the airlines; but if your airline assigns random seats, your party may be separated, and you will still need to correct that problem once you get to your gate at the airport.

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robyn Super Mom
Business
Leesburg, VA
May 14, 2013

Great Time

Disney Caribbean Beach Resort is a great hotel. The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but clean. And, the pool/waterslides, marina, play area, beach fronts, etc are fantastic. Extremely kid friendly. I would stay there again just for the amenities. And, it's so close to the parks. The bus system takes a while and I don't recommend it unless you don't want to drive. Renting a car is the way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lorenaladanubiana
Business
baltimore, md
May 2, 2013

You get what you paid

Rooms are dark, lack of lighting. Everything is brown on the room. The bathrooms are tiny

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TroyNY
Business
NY
Apr 23, 2013

One night stay

We booked this hotel as we moved up our travel plans. Using the Disney Magic Express was simple and really a good idea if you do not need to travel off Disney properties. Our room was small, but very clean. Disney staff, from the bell person to the hotel clerk and the shuttle driver were all very accommodating, extended a warm welcome and went out of the way to be helpful to make our stay magical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul from South Jersey
Business
South Jersey
Apr 21, 2013

Disney Trip

This was the first time we stayed at Caribbean Beach. Very nice - but I think we would prefer the Riverside - French Quarter where we stayed twice before. I do think they could do a better job with the on site quick food selections. Not much variety and the food is just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good conference
Business
Federal Way, Washington
Apr 19, 2013

Finding Nemo

I would go to this hotel again. The bus system to the different parks was quick and easy. Bring a jacket for the buses. They can be pretty cold. I loved seeing the sandy beach and water outside my room. I was there for a conference, so it was nice having so much to do after a long day of meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is only one dining spot on the property that does not serve breakfast. Bring your own or eat at the parks.

Back to menu Return to top