Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
144 reviews
Family Vacation

Totally Awesome!!! Room upgraded with a bunk bed upon our arrival. My daughter was ecstatic. See full review

  • Vacation Planner 52
  • Sep 15, 2014
Fav Disney Resort!!

We have stayed at other Disney resorts on site in the past but dm this is our favorite resort by... See full review

  • Sarah M
  • Sep 7, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI Family Loves Disney
Port Huron, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

The Animal Kingdom Lodge was amazing. As you enter the main lodge, Jambo you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We used the online checkin before we got there. Quick and easy, our keys and info were waiting for us when we got there. The hotel honored our request to be close to bus stop/hotel main house. Our room was very nice but I found the bed mattresses (hard) were not as nice as other hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is very close to Animal Kingdom Park but is at least a 25 min. bus ride to Magic Kingdom. Prices at the hotel resturants/cafe seemed high. Overall the hotel was beautiful, where else can you see giraffes and other wild animals from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations ahead of time. We didn't and were not able to eat at one of the sit down resturants.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
oklahoma
Jan 31, 2011

No complaints

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Atmosphere is great, food is average at best. Recommend eating your dinners on International drive

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Jan 24, 2011

Excellent

Excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K the traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 15, 2011

Comfortable room--with animals!

This is our favorite Disneyworld hotel. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the restaurants have a great selection of African dishes and you can watch the animals day and night. As with all Disney hotels, the staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. This hotel always has a number of staff members from Africa and they have cultural activities so you can learn more about Africa, its animals and the prople who live there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

When you stay here,make sure to eat at Boma. It is a buffet with many African dishes every day. If you have a little more money to spend, Jiko is the more elegant restaurant. It is truly fine dining.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
run j run
Lake Mary, FL
Jan 9, 2011

Good visit, not my favorite hotel

We stayed at AKL because we ran the Disney 1/2 marathon and it was convenient for transportation to the race. The hotel is beautiful. I was disappointed that my room was changed to a safari view room from a pool view room without consulting whether I was ok with the change. The beds in the room need replacing, they actually squeaked! We payed quite a bit to stay on the Disney property and feel that these issues were not a part of the Magical experience. The public spaces were great, pool was fun, and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West palm beach
Jan 8, 2011

Animal. Kingdom lodge

Sunrise safari Animal View from room Consierge floor was first class

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Myrna Gramma
Canada
Jan 3, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

It was a great hotel and we wished that we would have had more time to spend there. I quite enjoyed seeing the wild animals plus seeing them at night with the night goggles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 29, 2010

AMAZING!

The hotel is gorgeous! I can't say there is any other hotel like it, I mean there were GIRAFFES right outside our room!!!! Staff was great and friendly. Loved it! Expensive, but definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
palos heights, il
Nov 20, 2010

we loved our stay at this lodge.

the view of the savannah was beautiful. the animals were entertaining at times. lodge was clean and absoutely beautiful. great pool, and good food. choice of three different places to eat. shuttle buses from the airport, and to all the parks. we WILL stay here again it's worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

the mara was the most affordable, with good food and choices.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
stuart, fl
Nov 10, 2010

awesome

like being in africa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Distant visitors
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Oct 10, 2010

Very good vacation

Clean quiet and restful stay. Enjoyed being able to see the animals around the hotel. I agree with others that it is not necessary to have a room with a view of the savannas as there are plenty of viewing areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top