Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
View map of 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI Family Loves Disney
Port Huron, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

The Animal Kingdom Lodge was amazing. As you enter the main lodge, Jambo you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We used the online checkin before we got there. Quick and easy, our keys and info were waiting for us when we got there. The hotel honored our request to be close to bus stop/hotel main house. Our room was very nice but I found the bed mattresses (hard) were not as nice as other hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is very close to Animal Kingdom Park but is at least a 25 min. bus ride to Magic Kingdom. Prices at the hotel resturants/cafe seemed high. Overall the hotel was beautiful, where else can you see giraffes and other wild animals from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations ahead of time. We didn't and were not able to eat at one of the sit down resturants.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Chick
Business
Beaufort, SC
May 7, 2012

Fun Vacation

Overall I had a good experience. Our room did smell like urine. We told the front desk, but nothing was done about it. Other than that and everything being way overpriced, we had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI Family Loves Disney
Business
Port Huron, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

The Animal Kingdom Lodge was amazing. As you enter the main lodge, Jambo you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We used the online checkin before we got there. Quick and easy, our keys and info were waiting for us when we got there. The hotel honored our request to be close to bus stop/hotel main house. Our room was very nice but I found the bed mattresses (hard) were not as nice as other hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is very close to Animal Kingdom Park but is at least a 25 min. bus ride to Magic Kingdom. Prices at the hotel resturants/cafe seemed high. Overall the hotel was beautiful, where else can you see giraffes and other wild animals from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations ahead of time. We didn't and were not able to eat at one of the sit down resturants.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim6
Business
Oxford, CT
Feb 13, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall, great experience, but room was small and sheets had hair on them the first day we checked in, prior to us using. Had to request maid service to come and change sheets. Also, AC was broken and engineer from HVAC had to come to room to fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was well worth it. Unusual offerings, but very tasty.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terp in Town
Business
NYC
Dec 23, 2011

Kinda dismal Animal Lodge

Very poorly lit. Some staff (chef at the buffet restaurant) go above and beyond; others, not so much. Overall, an expensive, mediocre experience! The animals outside my window were cool, though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't hesitate to talk to the buffet restaurant staff if you have special dietary needs (I'm vegan). I didn't expect much but was treated to extremely helpful and gracious service and a very decent meal!

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
predator
Business
pittsburgh,pa
Dec 19, 2011

loved it

we had a great time going to come again next year..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel has an expensive rest and a not so expensive rest.. its up to your taste..both great..had a great time.. thanks disney..

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tarapres
Business
Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA
Dec 14, 2011

good times

we went for an early holiday celebration, were able to spend lots of time at the parks and some down time at the hotel using the pool, hot tub, and play ground. The hotel also had cute activities like craft making in the lobby and roasting marshmellows at the outdoor campfire for our family to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make reservations, the good restaurants dont take walk-ins for dinner at the parks and hotels

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jolly Traveler
Business
Springfield, VA
Dec 13, 2011

Wonderful Visit at Animal Kingdom Lodge

I made reservations at AKL because we wanted something a little bit different and the reviews about drinking coffee on the balcony and watching the animals sounded delightful. I later read reviews full of complaints about the hotel, small rooms and darkness of the rooms so I was a little nervous. It was wonderful. The room is a little darkish because the furniture is dark and evokes an African safari hotel - unique! The bedspread, drapes, and pictures are all bright and colorful. I loved seeing the animals from our balcony and probably spent more time than most watching them. THe most amazing sight was about 10:30 pm when we stopped at one of the outdoor viewing balconies and saw three giraffes. This was special because we hadn't seen them from our room. The other nice feature was the distance from the disney hubbub. It was a lovely retreat at the end of a very busy day. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveinBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Long Weekend getaway

The Hotel is tons of fun and the food was great. the animals are easy to see and seem relaxed considering how close they are to humans. The staff is friendly and busy. The one drawback I would give it is that the Hotel can be dark, even the front entrance seems poorly lit. Early December in Orlanda is great, crowds seemed light and waits at the theme parks were never more than 20 minutes even for the hot rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Jiko, very good food and a diverse South African Wine list.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggem
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Perfect place to unwind after a busy day

Start your day at your balcony, watching all kinds of animals walk around lazily. At the end of the day go to the different overlooks to spot more animals; zebras and giraffes seem to be more active at sunset. There is also african story telling and parade every night. We enjoyed our 8 nights stay very much. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the night animal viewing! Cast members will be at the Uzima Savanna Overlook providing night vision googles, and will help you identify the animals. It is just amazing!

Back to menu Return to top