Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
150 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in June 2014. The room was clean and beautiful and the hotel... See full review

  • spooky23
  • Oct 19, 2014
Great experience for the family

Fantastic hotel for the family. Rooms are spread out but that was to be expected. Perfect decor.... See full review

  • MN Road Trippers
  • Oct 18, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jami93
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 6, 2011

Awesome Place

We just got back from a 6 night stay at the AKL. The resort was beautiful and offered a lot of activities. My only complaint is the beds. They were not comfortable and were noisy. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again. Waking up and seeing a family of giraffes out your balcony is an experience. One more thing...this place has looonngg hallway. After spending a day at a disney park be prepared for more walking to get to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disnaay
Business
Washington DC
Oct 26, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel is great. The attention to detail is remarkable and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean. We got a Savannah view, which was wonderful, but not sure if its worth the extra money. for us, we spent most of the day at the parks, although it was great when we got there, didn't really make use of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carol jayne
Business
ga
Jan 18, 2010

great weekend getaway

in and out , restarants should stay open longer for late flight. Reasonable ones!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Springs, Fla
Jan 31, 2010

DIsney Trip

The size of room really needed a King instead of two double beds. No room to sit at table to work. Other than that, the room was fine and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparta, NJ
Oct 5, 2008

My review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

The Animal Kingdom Lodge definitely caters to the animals. My children loved seeing the animals from our balcony and the few locations around the lodge. I am glad we stayed once for the kids, but it is not a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jul 7, 2009

Animal Kingdom Lodge

Even though Disney is for families, it seems that the hotel lacked in the dining experience for children. That was really the only negative I had with the hotel. The staff was great and very friendly, the pool was wonderful, and the scenery was absolutely wonderful as well. This was my first trip to Disney but I probably would not stay at this hotel if I decide to go back. Mainly because there is so much more to see with the other hotels and it wouldn't be right to limit yourself to the same place time after time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do more research on the restaurants around. Verify if reservations are needed. I went at this blindly and wish I had it to do over again.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
74vette
Business
Mt Airy, MD
Apr 19, 2010

A unique place to stay

It certainly is a one of a kind hotel being right out with animals. Like all of Disney, it is themed out to the max. The balcony chairs even have a zebra shaped back. The lobby is massive with all its wood trimmings. The staff was very nice as with all of Disney employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 14, 2011

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Stay

"Savannah" view delightful from balcony. Too long of a check in process. Reasonably priced hotel souvenirs and counter service food,drinks. Small refrigerator in room was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel gift shop offers nice selection of fresh sliced bread, deli meats, juices, cold wine--items similar to a convenience store. These can be stored in room (see above refigerator in room) for economical lunch/snacks

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Disney Resort AKL

Resort itself was great! There seemed to be an issue with having all of our transfers correctly done. I am not sure if this was because we were on a Disney Cruise beforehand (not booked directly with Disney) or because we book the AKL via Orbitz. On the way home, I had to call the transportation company myself to confirm our reservations and then we never got the voucher in our check out materials from AKL. I've done this before with Disney and never had this issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1derWoman
Business
Ellicott City, MD
Jun 5, 2010

Beautiful hotel!

We just got back from our stay last night and had a fabulous time! My five year old daughter LOVED the waterslide. They also had activities for the kids by the pool every day around 3pm plus someone doing face painting in the casual dining restaurant in the afternoons. My only complaint is that it is located a little far from Magic Kingdom (about 20 minute bus ride) so traveling there would be 30-40 minutes (10-20 minute wait for a bus) and the return home was also always about a 40-50 minute process (which is long if you have a tired child). Aside from that, this hotel is WONDERFUL and perfect for younger children! Definitely worth doing if you have kids 8 and under.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top