Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
219 reviews
Great time at Animal Kingdom Lodge club level

Great experience from the time we pulled up to the hotel.We were greeted at the front of the hotel... See full review

  • Jason from Texas
  • Jul 16, 2014
No need to pay for Savannah View

Great room in an amazing resort. Plenty of places to see the animals all over the resort. Will stay... See full review

  • dxwwf3
  • Jul 6, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Disney Resort AKL

Resort itself was great! There seemed to be an issue with having all of our transfers correctly done. I am not sure if this was because we were on a Disney Cruise beforehand (not booked directly with Disney) or because we book the AKL via Orbitz. On the way home, I had to call the transportation company myself to confirm our reservations and then we never got the voucher in our check out materials from AKL. I've done this before with Disney and never had this issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dog momma
De leon Springs, Fl
Oct 22, 2009

The big 50/18 celebration

the trip was very peaceful. it was our anniversary and my husband's birthday.the park was nice and the weather was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Mar 14, 2011

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Stay

"Savannah" view delightful from balcony. Too long of a check in process. Reasonably priced hotel souvenirs and counter service food,drinks. Small refrigerator in room was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel gift shop offers nice selection of fresh sliced bread, deli meats, juices, cold wine--items similar to a convenience store. These can be stored in room (see above refigerator in room) for economical lunch/snacks

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jami93
Dallas, TX
Feb 6, 2011

Awesome Place

We just got back from a 6 night stay at the AKL. The resort was beautiful and offered a lot of activities. My only complaint is the beds. They were not comfortable and were noisy. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again. Waking up and seeing a family of giraffes out your balcony is an experience. One more thing...this place has looonngg hallway. After spending a day at a disney park be prepared for more walking to get to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disnaay
Washington DC
Oct 26, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel is great. The attention to detail is remarkable and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean. We got a Savannah view, which was wonderful, but not sure if its worth the extra money. for us, we spent most of the day at the parks, although it was great when we got there, didn't really make use of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbrazel
Frankfort, KY, USA
May 10, 2010

Room With a View? Oh Yeah!

World-class Disney resort with an international staff that are remarkable and friendly from the moment you arrive, throughout your stay until you depart. A room is a room is a room but it is always the people that impress me. All the staff wear badges which show their name and where they are from it's a small world after all. Valet park, and check in was a breeze, see the concierge for tickets to any of the parks. The Disney Magical Express is free to any of the Kingdom's parks and to the airport as well. I arrived hours early and with good timing as the room was available at 8 am. An Arusha Savannah view, the same spectacular one from the main lobby and dawn broke as I dropped off my bag before leaving for a day at the Animal Kingdom Park. Room tidy, impeccable really. Walked out to the balcony saw zebra, giraffe, red bush hogs, and Watusi cattle grazing near a waterhole just outside my window. What place is this? Disney of course, magic abounds. I'm staying only one day here at the Animal Kingdom Lodge but no reason to rush. Take a moment, note the little touches like towels laid on the bed in the shape of that most famous and loved, mouse--Mickey. The decor of the room is decidedly African as is the entire resort. Suspend your disbelief, its quite easy really, this could be the Serengeti or Mozambique. Jambo, it's a Swahili word for "Hello". Walk about the place and marvel at the detail. There is plenty to see and enjoy and to learn. Large flock of pink flamingo's near the Uzima springs pool and water slide. The sun is up and the the day has begun. Enjoy your stay, I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Fast Pass.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lutz, FL
Oct 21, 2009

Nice place

If not for [...], I would not have booked this hotel since Disney charges over $300/night for the same room. I had a "pool" view but it was an obstructed pool view. We were over the resturant awnings on 2nd floor so we had a view of the roof more than the pool. The rooms are very small but we did not spend much time in them anyway. Don't blow your cash for Savanna view since there are several places you can watch the animals outside of your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Downtown Disney for your Disney shopping. More selections there and entertainment.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JK Disney Fan
Montclair, NJ
Sep 12, 2010

1st Time at Animal Kingdom Lodge

Typical Disney Deluxe Hotel experience....but at a discount since this seems to be the least popular hotel in this class. Overall, I think a Disney Deluxe Hotel is the way to go when visiting Disney World. Pro's include: beautiful building with all the expected Disney theme decorations; Rooms are on the Animal Kingdom "savannah" and we saw giraffes, zebras, ostrich and many other types of animals from our "partial view" room; excellent pool facility; Staying on Disney property provides extra hours of park access; of all Disney Deluxe hotels, this one has the quickest access to off-property restaurants; if you rent a car, free parking at all parks. Cons include: limited food options (a top tier restaurant; a very good, but expensive buffet; and a very limited cafeteria); remote location means long travel times to parks/attractions when using Disney bus service (better with a rental car). So you can't really go wrong here. I'd prefer the Wilderness Lodge for quick access to the Magic Kingdom, but that's a small complaint. The hotel quality is great, with typical attention to detail "Disney style". The hotel rooms are a bit small, but they're comfortable and include a small refrigerator for keeping some drinks cool. During longer stays at Disney, we typically tire of their food offerings (which are pretty much terrible at the parks, and expensive at the hotels), so its nice to have quick access to off-premise restaurants. You need a rental car, but its a 5 minute ride to a commercial strip with plenty of options (make a right on Sherberth Rd. after leaving the AKL). One question.....why does check in at Disney Hotels always take so long??????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car to get to other parks quickly (free parking included with resort stay), and to access non-Disney restaurants that are nearby.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim6
Oxford, CT
Feb 13, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall, great experience, but room was small and sheets had hair on them the first day we checked in, prior to us using. Had to request maid service to come and change sheets. Also, AC was broken and engineer from HVAC had to come to room to fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was well worth it. Unusual offerings, but very tasty.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneylover1234
ga
Mar 18, 2014

great

was convenient and great! The buffet had an amazing spread too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top