Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
151 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in June 2014. The room was clean and beautiful and the hotel... See full review

  • spooky23
  • Oct 19, 2014
Great experience for the family

Fantastic hotel for the family. Rooms are spread out but that was to be expected. Perfect decor.... See full review

  • MN Road Trippers
  • Oct 18, 2014
An entirely unique Disney experience to enjoy just west of DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Theme Park. It's the thrill of staying at a wildlife reserve with animals grazing just beyond your balcony. Rejuvenate both body and spirit in luxurious surroundings while sharing the grandeur of the African wilderness. The beauty of the savannah, the rhythm of tribal drums, exquisite cuisine in lush settings and the lure of authentic African treasures all come together to celebrate the beauty and wonder of this vast and untamed continent. Resort features 1,293 guest rooms, pool with slide and zero-depth entry, two spas, kiddie pool, arcade, playground, children's activity center, animal programs and a health club with spa services. Rooms are available for guests with disabilities.

Complimentary Wi-Fi service is now available in all Walt Disney World Resort hotels. Guests will now be able to access complimentary Wi-Fi in their rooms as well as in select common areas within the resort hotel, including restaurant locations, bus load zones, feature pools, arcades, convention spaces (if applicable) and the porte cochere.

Disney Hotel Resort guests also enjoy their Extra Magic Hours Benefit. On select days, Disney Resort hotel guests can enter a Disney Theme Park an hour early-and on select evenings, enjoy a Park up to two hours after regular closing time. That's when lines may be shorter and the weather can be more comfortable. Guests have time for a midday break or a dip in the pool. Then the gang will be ready to head back to the same Theme Park for more fun! Don't forget your Magic Your Way Tickets with Park Hopper Option! The Park Hopper option is the only way you will be able to fully enjoy the Extra Magic Hours Benefit when the extra hours in the morning is a different Disney theme park than the extra hours in the evening.

Disney Hotel Resort guests receive complimentary Disney's Magical Express Service for roundtrip airport shuttle from Orlando International Airport, luggage delivery and airline check in*. To book Disney's Magical Express Service visit Disney's Magical Express Service Web site at www.disneysmagicalexpress.com/US to register once you have completed your booking. Luggage delivery service will be provided for Disney's Magical Express to Walt Disney World Resort for a resort stay who arrive on flights beginning at 5 a.m. until 10 p.m. You will receive your luggage tags and the Airport Transportation Information Booklet with specific direction and general information.
* Resort Airline Check-In Guests will be subject to the airline's checked bag fees policy.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Chick
Business
Beaufort, SC
May 7, 2012

Fun Vacation

Overall I had a good experience. Our room did smell like urine. We told the front desk, but nothing was done about it. Other than that and everything being way overpriced, we had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI Family Loves Disney
Business
Port Huron, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

The Animal Kingdom Lodge was amazing. As you enter the main lodge, Jambo you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We used the online checkin before we got there. Quick and easy, our keys and info were waiting for us when we got there. The hotel honored our request to be close to bus stop/hotel main house. Our room was very nice but I found the bed mattresses (hard) were not as nice as other hotels I have stayed at. The hotel is very close to Animal Kingdom Park but is at least a 25 min. bus ride to Magic Kingdom. Prices at the hotel resturants/cafe seemed high. Overall the hotel was beautiful, where else can you see giraffes and other wild animals from your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations ahead of time. We didn't and were not able to eat at one of the sit down resturants.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim6
Business
Oxford, CT
Feb 13, 2012

Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall, great experience, but room was small and sheets had hair on them the first day we checked in, prior to us using. Had to request maid service to come and change sheets. Also, AC was broken and engineer from HVAC had to come to room to fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was well worth it. Unusual offerings, but very tasty.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terp in Town
Business
NYC
Dec 23, 2011

Kinda dismal Animal Lodge

Very poorly lit. Some staff (chef at the buffet restaurant) go above and beyond; others, not so much. Overall, an expensive, mediocre experience! The animals outside my window were cool, though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't hesitate to talk to the buffet restaurant staff if you have special dietary needs (I'm vegan). I didn't expect much but was treated to extremely helpful and gracious service and a very decent meal!

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
predator
Business
pittsburgh,pa
Dec 19, 2011

loved it

we had a great time going to come again next year..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel has an expensive rest and a not so expensive rest.. its up to your taste..both great..had a great time.. thanks disney..

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tarapres
Business
Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA
Dec 14, 2011

good times

we went for an early holiday celebration, were able to spend lots of time at the parks and some down time at the hotel using the pool, hot tub, and play ground. The hotel also had cute activities like craft making in the lobby and roasting marshmellows at the outdoor campfire for our family to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make reservations, the good restaurants dont take walk-ins for dinner at the parks and hotels

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jolly Traveler
Business
Springfield, VA
Dec 13, 2011

Wonderful Visit at Animal Kingdom Lodge

I made reservations at AKL because we wanted something a little bit different and the reviews about drinking coffee on the balcony and watching the animals sounded delightful. I later read reviews full of complaints about the hotel, small rooms and darkness of the rooms so I was a little nervous. It was wonderful. The room is a little darkish because the furniture is dark and evokes an African safari hotel - unique! The bedspread, drapes, and pictures are all bright and colorful. I loved seeing the animals from our balcony and probably spent more time than most watching them. THe most amazing sight was about 10:30 pm when we stopped at one of the outdoor viewing balconies and saw three giraffes. This was special because we hadn't seen them from our room. The other nice feature was the distance from the disney hubbub. It was a lovely retreat at the end of a very busy day. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveinBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Long Weekend getaway

The Hotel is tons of fun and the food was great. the animals are easy to see and seem relaxed considering how close they are to humans. The staff is friendly and busy. The one drawback I would give it is that the Hotel can be dark, even the front entrance seems poorly lit. Early December in Orlanda is great, crowds seemed light and waits at the theme parks were never more than 20 minutes even for the hot rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Jiko, very good food and a diverse South African Wine list.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggem
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Perfect place to unwind after a busy day

Start your day at your balcony, watching all kinds of animals walk around lazily. At the end of the day go to the different overlooks to spot more animals; zebras and giraffes seem to be more active at sunset. There is also african story telling and parade every night. We enjoyed our 8 nights stay very much. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the night animal viewing! Cast members will be at the Uzima Savanna Overlook providing night vision googles, and will help you identify the animals. It is just amazing!

Back to menu Return to top