Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
View map of 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneylover1234
Business
ga
Mar 18, 2014

great

was convenient and great! The buffet had an amazing spread too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyDELI
Business
Brighton, MI
Feb 23, 2014

Always amazing hotel!

We have stayed at the animal Kingdom Lodge many different times and always love staying there. We will be back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Animal Kingdom Lodge is a beautiful hotel with many different areas to explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black Bart
Business
east coast usa
Jan 18, 2014

Magical Stay

The room was a bit dated but very comfortable. Lobby and public areas are beautiful and views of the animals makes for a special experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shannon219w
Business
Decatur, GA
Jan 2, 2014

Don't believe the hype about all the extra amenities

We wanted to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge since our trip was based on our visit to Disney's Animal Kingdom. We've seen the video from Disney about all the special benefits you get by paying to stay on site, but the added amenities did not equate to the value of the added costs. Honestly, I felt like Disney sold me over and over again about how they "took care of all the details" but I think they forgot about a lot. Cons: (1) The big bonus about staying on site is free transportation. We had about 30 min or more wait for the Disney Magical Express, and we also had over 30 minute waits on almost every bus we went to. Most of the other hotels offer shuttle service to/from the airport and Disney parks. I am sure the waits were longer because it was peak season but it's not like they didn't know the crowds were coming. We did like the quiet of the Lodge at night but it is located farthest away from most other attractions so be prepared for 30-50 minute bus ride from AKL to anywhere else on Disney compound. (2) At a resort hotel geared towards children, wouldn't it make sense for the sinks to be at child's height? My 4 year old could not reach the sink to brush his teeth or was his hands. (3) The Disney app is nice touch but it never remembered how many people were in my party when making a reservation and we had to manually input this info every time. This simple programming would be a nice touch to the App. Also, by the time we got to the resort and found out we needed reservations for EVERYTHING, it was all booked up. Plan on making lunch and dinner reservations BEFORE you leave for your trip. But keep in mind that if you don't show up, they charge you $10. (4) When they cleaned the room, they forgot to give us new coffee. (5) The resort prices and the food at Jiko were excellent. This is supposed to be the most expensive restaurant on the property but we found it to be the best value. Delicious flat bread pizza, kids meal, and 3 specialty drinks were around $30, which I have no problem with. Quick service restaurant, Mara, is WAY overpriced. We bought 2 Miller Lites' and 3 snack-size bags of chips at Mara for roughly the same price. (6) The Lodge makes their money on Mara - especially since it's the only place open at Jambo House open to eat from 11 am - 4:30. The only lunch options are overpriced Mara, Sanaa -which was ok, nothing spectacular for resort prices, or room service. I completely understand resort pricing but this was absurd. (7) We wanted to buy a 6 pack of beer to keep in the room. That really is magic when I thought the Disney sundry shop was a good deal! Pros: (1) The Lodge is great if you get into all the resort activities for the kids. There are scavenger hunts, kid parades, bedtime stories, etc for the kiddos. (2) The Savannah room was nice to see the animals at night and early morning but not really worth the extra price since there are good views of animals all over the resort. I think we would have enjoyed a pool view just as much. (3) Animal Kingdom Park was great! We had a wonderful time. It was educational and different than the Magic Kingdom. Highly recommended. My 4 year old loved earning Wilderness Explorer badges and the Dinosaur ride. Summary: The resort prices are not worth the additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyER
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 11, 2013

If you're going to Disney, this is the place to stay.

We had a fantastic experience at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The resort is gorgeous, the views of the wildlife are spectacular, and the service is impeccable. The staff made every effort to make our stay stress-free, during and even before our stay. Definitely take advantage of the Magical Express airport transportation, resort airline check-in, and the new Magic Bands—all will give you much less to worry about! And the food is a topic unto itself! We had the Boma buffet twice for breakfast and once for dinner, and all three times, it was outstanding—a great mix of African-inspired dishes and American dishes for the less adventurous (and children). We also dined at Jiko to celebrate our anniversary, and the staff there went above and beyond to make us feel special with a handwritten card and a complimentary dessert. The food at Jiko is not to be missed for a special occasion. We've been to Orlando many times before but this is the first time we've stayed at an onsite resort—and now I don't think I can ever go back! The Animal Kingdom Lodge is certainly kid-friendly, but we thought it was a perfect choice for couples with its sophisticated ambiance and more adventurous fine dining options. We had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're celebrating any kind of special occasion when visiting Disney parks, let guest relations know when you arrive at the park. They'll give you a special pin—wear it everywhere (including in the resort) and you'll get the star treatment by the staff.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
booisa8
Business
Delaware
Oct 26, 2013

Mother and daughter trip

I would not recommend it! It is geared towards children only!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massachusetts Michelle
Business
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Oct 16, 2013

Not the Four Seasons

The animals were great but the room was small and the service was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations in advance.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catherine Dawn
Business
Mount Laurel NJ
Oct 7, 2013

Animal Kingdom

I really wish your hotel had transportation, to Universal studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Stay a extra day so you can see Universal.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roosterrun
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 24, 2013

The Animals Make This Place Special

In true Disney fashion, the AKL is the perfect place to experience incredible service in a relaxed atmosphere. This lodge doesn't have that theme park feel to it and thus creates a more relaxing atmosphere. A wide variety of wildlife was just outside our balcony and it was peaceful to come back from the hectic parks and just watch them grazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Mom of 3
Business
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2013

Very overpriced!!!

We spent two nights at the Animal Kingdom to treat our kids to a real safari like experience. When we got to our savannah room we found there were very few animals to look at and they have invisible gates so the dream of having the animals right outside your balcony was gone. It was more like a zoo experience but with less animals.Our kids quickly became bored and just wanted to play with the i pad.The restaurants at the hotel all ran us between $100 and $200 each meal and the food was average. We ended up spending our last 3 days at the Orlando Hilton and the kids said that was the best part(aside from the parks of course)of our trip. They have a pool w/slide and a lazy river. I will be returning there every year! I could see paying $200 a night for Animal Kindom but this felt like another Disney ripoff and we had anticipated going there for years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I wouls suggest not eating in the hotel but taking a short drive . There are many local restaurants with better food and prices.

Back to menu Return to top