Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
View map of 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyler and Riley's Mom
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 15, 2014

Awesome Vacation

We loved this hotel. Our kids loved waking up every morning and watching the giraffes from our balcony. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris' Girl
Business
Augusta, MI
May 10, 2014

Good Learning Experience

First trip to Disney World and we learned a lot. Location is obviously close to Animal Kingdom, but with Magic Kingdom being the main draw for children, we found ourselves using a taxi more than the buses by the end of the trip. It is really cool to see the animals as you walk down the halls and out your balcony. The kids got a kick out of it and seeing them never got old. Housekeeping always got to our room before we came back and we wanted for nothing. The pool and water slide kept the kids occupied for hours and us adults enjoyed the pool as well... The beds were a bit uncomfortable and there was only one option for type of pillow. My boyfriend wasn't too thrilled about that. We got a good deal, but next time we will probably stay closer to Magic Kingdom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have children, know going in that you want to spend the majority of your time at Magic Kingdom, so pick your hotel accordingly

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrfudd
Business
Augusta, GA
Apr 10, 2014

Nice, but pricey

Nice, clean hotel. Room with 2 queen beds was on the small side. Vanity and bath areas are dark- need brighter or more bulbs. On site dining good, but expensive. Arusha view rooms provide excellent animal viewing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amywdw
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 31, 2014

Nice Stay

This was my first stay at a Disney Deluxe Resort and it was very nice, however compared to Disney Moderates at which I have stayed I find it hard to justify the price difference. Staff was friendly, lobby and overall resort are beautiful. I would stay again but would probably choose a moderate instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All 3 hotel sit-down restaurants are wonderful.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan from Pennsylvania
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 24, 2014

Fun

Awesome place it was cool to see the animals off the balcony. Just an average room ,nice bathroom. The bed wasn't comfortable . It had deep depressions in it. We had fun , everything was expensive , but I guess we expected that .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jetzone
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 21, 2014

3 Days in the Savannah

Amazing resort in true Disney Fashion. Rooms are quiet even with all the hustle and bustle. Service was great... Meals were amazing.... But... It's all about the Animals !! We loved hanging out at dusk when "everyone" (the animals) were actively moving about for feeding time !! PS If your into to Fitness, this is one of the best workout facilities you will ever see with Sauna and Steam room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneylover1234
Business
ga
Mar 18, 2014

great

was convenient and great! The buffet had an amazing spread too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyDELI
Business
Brighton, MI
Feb 23, 2014

Always amazing hotel!

We have stayed at the animal Kingdom Lodge many different times and always love staying there. We will be back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Animal Kingdom Lodge is a beautiful hotel with many different areas to explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black Bart
Business
east coast usa
Jan 18, 2014

Magical Stay

The room was a bit dated but very comfortable. Lobby and public areas are beautiful and views of the animals makes for a special experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shannon219w
Business
Decatur, GA
Jan 2, 2014

Don't believe the hype about all the extra amenities

We wanted to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge since our trip was based on our visit to Disney's Animal Kingdom. We've seen the video from Disney about all the special benefits you get by paying to stay on site, but the added amenities did not equate to the value of the added costs. Honestly, I felt like Disney sold me over and over again about how they "took care of all the details" but I think they forgot about a lot. Cons: (1) The big bonus about staying on site is free transportation. We had about 30 min or more wait for the Disney Magical Express, and we also had over 30 minute waits on almost every bus we went to. Most of the other hotels offer shuttle service to/from the airport and Disney parks. I am sure the waits were longer because it was peak season but it's not like they didn't know the crowds were coming. We did like the quiet of the Lodge at night but it is located farthest away from most other attractions so be prepared for 30-50 minute bus ride from AKL to anywhere else on Disney compound. (2) At a resort hotel geared towards children, wouldn't it make sense for the sinks to be at child's height? My 4 year old could not reach the sink to brush his teeth or was his hands. (3) The Disney app is nice touch but it never remembered how many people were in my party when making a reservation and we had to manually input this info every time. This simple programming would be a nice touch to the App. Also, by the time we got to the resort and found out we needed reservations for EVERYTHING, it was all booked up. Plan on making lunch and dinner reservations BEFORE you leave for your trip. But keep in mind that if you don't show up, they charge you $10. (4) When they cleaned the room, they forgot to give us new coffee. (5) The resort prices and the food at Jiko were excellent. This is supposed to be the most expensive restaurant on the property but we found it to be the best value. Delicious flat bread pizza, kids meal, and 3 specialty drinks were around $30, which I have no problem with. Quick service restaurant, Mara, is WAY overpriced. We bought 2 Miller Lites' and 3 snack-size bags of chips at Mara for roughly the same price. (6) The Lodge makes their money on Mara - especially since it's the only place open at Jambo House open to eat from 11 am - 4:30. The only lunch options are overpriced Mara, Sanaa -which was ok, nothing spectacular for resort prices, or room service. I completely understand resort pricing but this was absurd. (7) We wanted to buy a 6 pack of beer to keep in the room. That really is magic when I thought the Disney sundry shop was a good deal! Pros: (1) The Lodge is great if you get into all the resort activities for the kids. There are scavenger hunts, kid parades, bedtime stories, etc for the kiddos. (2) The Savannah room was nice to see the animals at night and early morning but not really worth the extra price since there are good views of animals all over the resort. I think we would have enjoyed a pool view just as much. (3) Animal Kingdom Park was great! We had a wonderful time. It was educational and different than the Magic Kingdom. Highly recommended. My 4 year old loved earning Wilderness Explorer badges and the Dinosaur ride. Summary: The resort prices are not worth the additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top