Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 23, 2015 Check-out: Feb 25, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
157 reviews
How do you say WOW! in Swahili?

This hotel is unbelievably lovely from top to bottom. The architecture, the decor, the music, the... See full review

  • Michelle M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Couple's Mini Vacation

The hotel is amazing and has so much to offer but I would not recommend staying for only one night.... See full review

  • Kayla B.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugong
Boston, MA
Mar 12, 2012

I had a great time!

Before I left my home, I checked my confirmation. And I knew that I made a mistake. I reserved a standard view room not a savanna view room. But our room must have been a savanna view room. We could animals every day ! I was so excited ! This hotel has a pool, gym. So we can enjoy hotel life without going out. I satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed African dishes. It was a novelty for us. And staff was pretty good.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catherine Dawn
Business
Mount Laurel NJ
Oct 7, 2013

Animal Kingdom

I really wish your hotel had transportation, to Universal studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Stay a extra day so you can see Universal.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roosterrun
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 24, 2013

The Animals Make This Place Special

In true Disney fashion, the AKL is the perfect place to experience incredible service in a relaxed atmosphere. This lodge doesn't have that theme park feel to it and thus creates a more relaxing atmosphere. A wide variety of wildlife was just outside our balcony and it was peaceful to come back from the hectic parks and just watch them grazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Mom of 3
Business
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2013

Very overpriced!!!

We spent two nights at the Animal Kingdom to treat our kids to a real safari like experience. When we got to our savannah room we found there were very few animals to look at and they have invisible gates so the dream of having the animals right outside your balcony was gone. It was more like a zoo experience but with less animals.Our kids quickly became bored and just wanted to play with the i pad.The restaurants at the hotel all ran us between $100 and $200 each meal and the food was average. We ended up spending our last 3 days at the Orlando Hilton and the kids said that was the best part(aside from the parks of course)of our trip. They have a pool w/slide and a lazy river. I will be returning there every year! I could see paying $200 a night for Animal Kindom but this felt like another Disney ripoff and we had anticipated going there for years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I wouls suggest not eating in the hotel but taking a short drive . There are many local restaurants with better food and prices.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sallieo
Business
New Smyrna Beach, CA
Aug 7, 2013

Never go back there

Horrible.Check in took over 1/2 hour. Hotel not handicapped friendly. Room tiny. No refrigerator as promised. Staff uncooperative. Totally overpriced andno help. Free coffee all day in lounge BUT you have to buy a 16.50 cup to drink it. What a ripoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make reservation

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connie Mama
Business
Tallahassee
Jun 4, 2013

Weekend with neice.

Great hotel. Food and drink good but a little over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cd grandma
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2013

Great Hotel - Tiny rooms

Lovely hotel and the savannah view rooms are great for kids. Lovely lobby and all restaurants and public areas very good. Size of room smaller than most motels. A queen size bed and bunk beds left very little floor space. The smallest bath I have been in in a long time...door practically grazes the toilet and whole bathroom seems to be lit by 40 watt bulb. Only two dresser drawers and for a week stay for a family very tight quarters. Would recommend for a couple but not adults and children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurants in hotel very good and the adjoining lodge also had good food.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lightscalar
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 28, 2013

Amazing.

Giraffes & Zebras right outside the hotel room. Vast pool. Several restaurants. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Disney Animal Kingdom
Business
New York, NY
Mar 7, 2013

1st Disney Animal Kingdom Vacation

This was a great vacation! Hotel was clean and stepping out onto the balcony and seeing the animals was very cool. The size of the rooms was a bit small. My main complaint was that the food in the hotel wasn't great. The hotel offered a large buffet, which didn't look very appetizing and on top of that was very expensive. There could have been more varied (and healthier) options available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAC4
Business
Turks and Caicos
Feb 26, 2013

Great family Hotel

Different very nice. Love the animals outside our window. Staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanaa Restaurant was very nice. Great value for money and great interesting menu and food. Boma breakfast was very nice but was not impress with the dinner there. Service at The Boma was not great

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAM of Iowa
Business
Humboldt, Iowa
Feb 4, 2013

Animal Kingdom Resort! Marvelous!

What a wonderful experience! The location was top notch! We saw wild animals every evening! It was like being on a Safari, only cheaper and more comfortable! I had made a mistake before leaving for the trip by failing to print out proper papers. The receptionist was patient and eventually helped me to print out the forms from their personal computer. The initial receptions put in extra effort to upgrade our room at no extra charge. We had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Search your parks for what you think will be your top attractions. If available strategically plan the day & print out Fast Passes at the parks as soon as you arrive.

Back to menu Return to top