Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
139 reviews
Disney vacation

We stayed in a room where you could see the animals & my daughter enjoyed immensely? The room was... See full review

  • LucyD100
  • Aug 22, 2014
Great time at Animal Kingdom Lodge club level

Great experience from the time we pulled up to the hotel.We were greeted at the front of the hotel... See full review

  • Jason from Texas
  • Jul 16, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amywdw
Pennsylvania
Mar 31, 2014

Nice Stay

This was my first stay at a Disney Deluxe Resort and it was very nice, however compared to Disney Moderates at which I have stayed I find it hard to justify the price difference. Staff was friendly, lobby and overall resort are beautiful. I would stay again but would probably choose a moderate instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

All 3 hotel sit-down restaurants are wonderful.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan from Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania
Mar 24, 2014

Fun

Awesome place it was cool to see the animals off the balcony. Just an average room ,nice bathroom. The bed wasn't comfortable . It had deep depressions in it. We had fun , everything was expensive , but I guess we expected that .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jetzone
Buffalo, NY
Mar 21, 2014

3 Days in the Savannah

Amazing resort in true Disney Fashion. Rooms are quiet even with all the hustle and bustle. Service was great... Meals were amazing.... But... It's all about the Animals !! We loved hanging out at dusk when "everyone" (the animals) were actively moving about for feeding time !! PS If your into to Fitness, this is one of the best workout facilities you will ever see with Sauna and Steam room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disneylover1234
ga
Mar 18, 2014

great

was convenient and great! The buffet had an amazing spread too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyDELI
Brighton, MI
Feb 23, 2014

Always amazing hotel!

We have stayed at the animal Kingdom Lodge many different times and always love staying there. We will be back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Animal Kingdom Lodge is a beautiful hotel with many different areas to explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black Bart
east coast usa
Jan 18, 2014

Magical Stay

The room was a bit dated but very comfortable. Lobby and public areas are beautiful and views of the animals makes for a special experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shannon219w
Decatur, GA
Jan 2, 2014

Don't believe the hype about all the extra amenities

We wanted to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge since our trip was based on our visit to Disney's Animal Kingdom. We've seen the video from Disney about all the special benefits you get by paying to stay on site, but the added amenities did not equate to the value of the added costs. Honestly, I felt like Disney sold me over and over again about how they "took care of all the details" but I think they forgot about a lot. Cons: (1) The big bonus about staying on site is free transportation. We had about 30 min or more wait for the Disney Magical Express, and we also had over 30 minute waits on almost every bus we went to. Most of the other hotels offer shuttle service to/from the airport and Disney parks. I am sure the waits were longer because it was peak season but it's not like they didn't know the crowds were coming. We did like the quiet of the Lodge at night but it is located farthest away from most other attractions so be prepared for 30-50 minute bus ride from AKL to anywhere else on Disney compound. (2) At a resort hotel geared towards children, wouldn't it make sense for the sinks to be at child's height? My 4 year old could not reach the sink to brush his teeth or was his hands. (3) The Disney app is nice touch but it never remembered how many people were in my party when making a reservation and we had to manually input this info every time. This simple programming would be a nice touch to the App. Also, by the time we got to the resort and found out we needed reservations for EVERYTHING, it was all booked up. Plan on making lunch and dinner reservations BEFORE you leave for your trip. But keep in mind that if you don't show up, they charge you $10. (4) When they cleaned the room, they forgot to give us new coffee. (5) The resort prices and the food at Jiko were excellent. This is supposed to be the most expensive restaurant on the property but we found it to be the best value. Delicious flat bread pizza, kids meal, and 3 specialty drinks were around $30, which I have no problem with. Quick service restaurant, Mara, is WAY overpriced. We bought 2 Miller Lites' and 3 snack-size bags of chips at Mara for roughly the same price. (6) The Lodge makes their money on Mara - especially since it's the only place open at Jambo House open to eat from 11 am - 4:30. The only lunch options are overpriced Mara, Sanaa -which was ok, nothing spectacular for resort prices, or room service. I completely understand resort pricing but this was absurd. (7) We wanted to buy a 6 pack of beer to keep in the room. That really is magic when I thought the Disney sundry shop was a good deal! Pros: (1) The Lodge is great if you get into all the resort activities for the kids. There are scavenger hunts, kid parades, bedtime stories, etc for the kiddos. (2) The Savannah room was nice to see the animals at night and early morning but not really worth the extra price since there are good views of animals all over the resort. I think we would have enjoyed a pool view just as much. (3) Animal Kingdom Park was great! We had a wonderful time. It was educational and different than the Magic Kingdom. Highly recommended. My 4 year old loved earning Wilderness Explorer badges and the Dinosaur ride. Summary: The resort prices are not worth the additional amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyER
Chicago, IL
Nov 11, 2013

If you're going to Disney, this is the place to stay.

We had a fantastic experience at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The resort is gorgeous, the views of the wildlife are spectacular, and the service is impeccable. The staff made every effort to make our stay stress-free, during and even before our stay. Definitely take advantage of the Magical Express airport transportation, resort airline check-in, and the new Magic Bands—all will give you much less to worry about! And the food is a topic unto itself! We had the Boma buffet twice for breakfast and once for dinner, and all three times, it was outstanding—a great mix of African-inspired dishes and American dishes for the less adventurous (and children). We also dined at Jiko to celebrate our anniversary, and the staff there went above and beyond to make us feel special with a handwritten card and a complimentary dessert. The food at Jiko is not to be missed for a special occasion. We've been to Orlando many times before but this is the first time we've stayed at an onsite resort—and now I don't think I can ever go back! The Animal Kingdom Lodge is certainly kid-friendly, but we thought it was a perfect choice for couples with its sophisticated ambiance and more adventurous fine dining options. We had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're celebrating any kind of special occasion when visiting Disney parks, let guest relations know when you arrive at the park. They'll give you a special pin—wear it everywhere (including in the resort) and you'll get the star treatment by the staff.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
booisa8
Delaware
Oct 26, 2013

Mother and daughter trip

I would not recommend it! It is geared towards children only!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massachusetts Michelle
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Oct 16, 2013

Not the Four Seasons

The animals were great but the room was small and the service was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations in advance.

Back to menu Return to top