Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
View map of 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travlin folks
Business
new york
Feb 4, 2015

Home away comfort

Having been to Disney over 2 dozen times, we've stayed at The Animal Kingdom lodge over 6 times now, the best place to stay for families with older children. BOMA breakfast is by far the best buffet in all of Disney. The rooms are a bit dated, but very comfortable and clean. Mara restaurant is perfect for late night dining after a long day at the Park. Bus transportation is frequent enough. Super fun for kids to see the animals roaming freely on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle M.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

How do you say WOW! in Swahili?

This hotel is unbelievably lovely from top to bottom. The architecture, the decor, the music, the people, the sandalwood scent, the VIEWS of animals, the art work collection, JIKO, the hot tubs. Every moment we were at Jambo house was heaven. Even the gift shop was lovely, with so much african art and artifacts all over it. Make sure you look up, down, sideways--everywhere you look there is something lovely to see or experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The best views of animals are in the afternoon till sunset. In the morning most of them are in for feeding, but the afternoons you can see animals everywhere from the rooms, stairwells, hallways and especially from the viewing areas that extend out into the animal preserve area.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick OO
Business
Chicago
Jan 21, 2015

Nice location and property, long ride to park

We really enjoyed the grounds, got to see lots of animals. The rooms were nice. Food was typical Disney food. Only complaint was transport to parks. Had to take bus and was at times some longer waits and rides seemed long after long day at park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick OO
Business
Chicago
Jan 20, 2015

Family trip thanksgiving

Pros: Nice resort, grounds are nice. Our rooms had bunk beds which the kids loved. The animal reserve was really nice and scenic. Some activities at night including marsh mellow roasting. Cons: Bus service to the parks was slow and frustrating at times waiting to get to and back from the parks. Ride seemed long after a long day at the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kayla B.
Business
Jacksonville
Jan 6, 2015

Couple's Mini Vacation

The hotel is amazing and has so much to offer but I would not recommend staying for only one night. The price was outrageous and we really didn't even get to see everything the hotel had to offer. This is definitely a hotel to stay at on a planned vacation. I will say though that the pool looked awesome and towels are available poolside and every room has a balcony which is great. Be sure to use your animal spotting guide provided in the hotel room to see all the animals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frippster
Business
Warrenton
Jan 6, 2015

2014 vacation

This was my family's 2nd stay at Wilderness Lodge and it has quickly become one of our favorite WDW resorts. As others have stated I would agree that it is the best value on Disney property. Rates are usually $100-150 per night cheaper than the other 3 MK resorts. The drawback is not being on the monorail line, but WL does have direct boat access to MK. Honestly, the price difference makes the slightly longer travel time to MK a no-brainer for me. As for the resort itself, theming is second to none on WDW property. The relatively small nature of the resort makes it pretty easy to get around. The walk to the loading areas for the boat and buses is comparable to the other resorts and probably shorter than the walk to the monorail from the outer buildings of the GF or Polynesian. Those resorts are far more spread out than WL. If you want to stay near MK, but balk at the prices of the other Deluxe resorts, definitely give WL serious consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonia t
Business
Syosset
Jan 5, 2015

Animals

The animals outside our room was the best part of the hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful. The stores have not enough fruit and organic choices and yogurts have GMO. Check in was very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsey H.
Business
Lafayette
Dec 30, 2014

Not as great as I thought

At $600 a night, my expectations were high. I couldn't help but be let down. The rooms were small small and slightly dirty. We found long black hair on our towels, on our comforter, and in the tub. They don't let you take kids under 8 on safari, and of course mine were under 8, so we couldn't access the animals as we thought. The resort has 1 pool and 3 restaurants - a fancy $70 a head place that required a reservation, a $40 per head buffet that required a reservation (yuck), and a quick service poolside joint. Well we never could get a reservation so guess where we ate ALL 3 days??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick OO
Business
Chicago
Dec 2, 2014

Nice stay

Stayed over Thanksgiving break. Rooms and grounds were very nice. Bus to and from Magic kingdom is direct but slow to get back and forth and sometimes have to wait for multiple buses due to lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Downtown disney

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikki134
Business
NY
Nov 18, 2014

ANIMAL KINGDOM LODGE

Average hotel rooms but above average concept. The view from my balcony was something to see, it was nice to be able to wake up and see the giraffes, zebras, and other animals grazing and feeding. I did not enjoy the two appetizers I tried but the quick service choices were decent. Staff was accommodating. Overall a decent hotel but too much $$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top