Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
146 reviews
Family Vacation

Totally Awesome!!! Room upgraded with a bunk bed upon our arrival. My daughter was ecstatic. See full review

  • Vacation Planner 52
  • Sep 15, 2014
Fav Disney Resort!!

We have stayed at other Disney resorts on site in the past but dm this is our favorite resort by... See full review

  • Sarah M
  • Sep 7, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Nearby points of interest

  • Typhoon Lagoon: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbrazel
Business
Frankfort, KY, USA
May 10, 2010

Room With a View? Oh Yeah!

World-class Disney resort with an international staff that are remarkable and friendly from the moment you arrive, throughout your stay until you depart. A room is a room is a room but it is always the people that impress me. All the staff wear badges which show their name and where they are from it's a small world after all. Valet park, and check in was a breeze, see the concierge for tickets to any of the parks. The Disney Magical Express is free to any of the Kingdom's parks and to the airport as well. I arrived hours early and with good timing as the room was available at 8 am. An Arusha Savannah view, the same spectacular one from the main lobby and dawn broke as I dropped off my bag before leaving for a day at the Animal Kingdom Park. Room tidy, impeccable really. Walked out to the balcony saw zebra, giraffe, red bush hogs, and Watusi cattle grazing near a waterhole just outside my window. What place is this? Disney of course, magic abounds. I'm staying only one day here at the Animal Kingdom Lodge but no reason to rush. Take a moment, note the little touches like towels laid on the bed in the shape of that most famous and loved, mouse--Mickey. The decor of the room is decidedly African as is the entire resort. Suspend your disbelief, its quite easy really, this could be the Serengeti or Mozambique. Jambo, it's a Swahili word for "Hello". Walk about the place and marvel at the detail. There is plenty to see and enjoy and to learn. Large flock of pink flamingo's near the Uzima springs pool and water slide. The sun is up and the the day has begun. Enjoy your stay, I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Fast Pass.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grammy's Daughter
Business
Melbourne, FL
May 4, 2010

Mom's 50th Birthday Bash

We had a great time. It was worth the money. The worst thing I can say is that our room was kind of far from the main lobby and other activities. If/When we go again, I'll request a room closer to the center of activity and we'll stay at least two nights. Also, be sure you get there early so that you don't miss all the activities. Finally, I am glad we didn't waste any time in the Disney park -- there are plenty of things to do and animals to see at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the dining plan!

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neb S
Business
EC, Wisc.
Apr 25, 2010

1st trip to DisneyWorld - Orlando

Quick check-in. EZ check-out. Very helpful at front desk with any of our questions. Pool view room was great. Great views of the wild life - if you do not see them from one observation location, go to the next. Try the outside stairwells as observation decks, and walk up to the fifth floor, too. Bus connection location, at lodge, was great. Animal Kingdom Lodge was in a quiet location away from the highways and tourist population. EZ and quick bus access to all the parks. Downtown Disney was approx. 30 minute bus ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
74vette
Business
Mt Airy, MD
Apr 19, 2010

A unique place to stay

It certainly is a one of a kind hotel being right out with animals. Like all of Disney, it is themed out to the max. The balcony chairs even have a zebra shaped back. The lobby is massive with all its wood trimmings. The staff was very nice as with all of Disney employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachin Heather
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 28, 2010

Beautiful hotel for family reunion

I live in south FL and met some family from out of state at Animal Kingdom Lodge for a weekend reunion at the end of their week's vacation in Orlando and Daytona Beach. The Animal Kingdom Lodge is beautiful and extremely large. We did not make reservations together, so our rooms were not close together, which I would try to change next time. I had great service all around the hotel. My family had difficulties at check-in with a confirmation number for one of their rooms. They were also disappointed that the airline/luggage check-in that was advertised in the hotel did not work for them, supposedly due to a problem with their airline info. Unfortunately they had to then haul all the luggage for 5 people to the rental car agency, through 2 shuttle buses and the airport. Otherwise, the stay was great. We visited the Hollywood Studios park, a quick trip from the hotel and loved it. When we came back to the hotel, we swam in the huge swimming pool which had a slide that the kids loved and flotation vests were provided - which was good. The first night, we tried to eat at Boma a buffet restaurant in the hotel, but at about 9:30pm there was still a 45 minute wait, so we went to the Mara a more casual quick dining spot. There were good options for kids to adults, even the fairly strict diet I was on. The second evening we went to Downtown Disney and ate a very late dinner at Rainforest Cafe. Rainforest Cafe does not take reservations on the same day and it is very popular, so if you're planning to go there, plan ahead!! Shopping at Downtown Disney, at the Hollywood Studios park and at the hotel gift shop had no shortage of options - something for everyone and all interests!! The two boys in our group LOVED the Lego shop at Downtown Disney which was very crowded. All in all, I had a great time and my family enjoyed most of the trip also. I've stayed at Disney many times but this was the first stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge and I would definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Boma is a great buffet, but you need to make reservations if you have a particular schedule in mind. The Mara is good for a quick bite, several options available for all ages and tastes.

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm Beach, FL
Mar 9, 2010

Nice quick get away with lots to do

First room at hotel smelled musty so Disney staff worked us into another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Springs, Fla
Jan 31, 2010

DIsney Trip

The size of room really needed a King instead of two double beds. No room to sit at table to work. Other than that, the room was fine and staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Jan 29, 2010

Serengheti Safari

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night and we really enjoyed this hotel. It was very relaxing and our Savannah View room was perfect. We got to see many animals outside our window and really enjoyed the view. The rooms were clean, but a bit small. I definitely recommend having dinner at Jiko, the restaurant at the lodge. It was delicious and the staff was friendly. This hotel did not really have that Disney feel to it, but it definitely gave you that African-vibe. The only thing that was a bummer was that the pool was drained and under construction, so we had to drive to the other part of the lodge to go in that pool. That was an inconvenience that we were not expecting. Other than that, everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lady Lake, FL
Jan 21, 2010

Great Escape!

Met our son and his family before he leaves for Afghanistan. We thought we'd all get together and make some wonderful memories. We did. Visited different theme parks and exhausted away the hours....ate wonderful food and came home with fantastic memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Jan 18, 2010

Animal Kingdom Lodge-Quick Weekend

Had a great stay. Enjoyed the Savanah view with plenty of giraffs and other wild animals. Had reservations at Boma restaurant. Food was great...staff very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top