Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

W Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
72 reviews
Love the W

I am staying at this hotel every time I travel to Fort Lauderdale. Just love it!!!!!!!! See full review

  • Julia NC
  • Jul 1, 2014
Beautiful Hotel, great views and service

The W is a gorgeous, stylis,h and hip hotel with wonderful staff. They went above and beyond to... See full review

  • AmandaGee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Hip, trendy beachfront hotel offering resort-style service and feel

Featuring the signature "Whatever/Whenever" service and breathtaking views of the ocean from the public spaces and rooms, the W Fort Lauderdale offers a hip and sophisticated experience right on the beach. Perfect for leisure and business travelers, the hotel has spa and fitness facilities, a large business center and function space, including a 300-person capacity grand ballroom. From the relaxed atmosphere of the Living Room Lounge to the pulsating beat and dance floor of the Whiskey Blue nightclub, the W Fort Lauderdale has something for everyone.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Four-acre site located directly on Fort Lauderdale Beach, close to dining and entertainment venues and the downtown area
  • Bliss Spa features a wide range of treatments, SWEAT Fitness Center, two infinity swimming pools and outdoor hot tub
  • Multiple dining and drinking options, including chic Steak 954, the W Cafe and the hip Whiskey Blue nightclub
W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

The W Fort Lauderdale has 517 rooms and suites in a variety of sizes, ranging from 400 square feet to over 3,600 square feet in the extreme wow suite. They all feature fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Fort Lauderdale Beach or the Intracoastal Waterway, and many rooms and suites also have private balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. All levels of accommodation have a modern, contemporary decor featuring clean lines and comfortable furnishings, including the signature W Bed and oversized desk. Guest rooms and suites are all equipped with a 32-inch (or larger) LCD television with CD/DVD player, an iPod docking station and high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply). They also feature en suite bathrooms with shower/tub, a magnifying makeup mirror and complimentary Bliss Spa bath amenities. The W Fort Lauderdale is a pet-friendly facility (fees apply) and 24-hour room service is available.

Things To Do:
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Jungle Queen Riverboat (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Las Olas Boulevard (shopping) (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale Museum of Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Seminole Casino Hollywood (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills Mall (13 mi/20.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years or older and provide photo identification in order to reserve and check into a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Boutiques
Video checkout
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Fort Lauderdale also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1266 -80.1036
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 7.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 33.00, MI; Palm Beach International Airport, (pbi), 47.00, MI;
Area description
Beachfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 6 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.9 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 22.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for W Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spa owner
monroeville pa
Apr 9, 2011

the good, the bad and the really ugly

upon arriving early we asked if at all possible for an early check in. gave our cell # and had lunchat the hotel. never called. so we went to ck in at 3:06 pm and was told room wasnt ready and when asked approx time we were told they didnt know. then we called [...]at 3:30 pm and they said they would call front desk. they called bk and we weretodd the room was cleaned and we could ck in at 4:00. went to desk at 4:15 pm still not ready and couldnt give us a time . so we had a drink. at 5:00 pm same. at 5:30 same . at 5:45 i asked for a manager and at 6:00 pm we were given our room. the front desk help offered no appologies or excueses for the lengthly delay. the manager did and offer us a $50 off any room service which we ordered on night and never received i was so disquested i never mentioned not getting it. the valet service and the maids couldnt be nicer and i suggest whomever is training them should train the front desk staff who were the most rude and cold individials i have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

fablous italian restaurant cafe d angelo it is a 10 ate ther e for the second trip and could not be better. it is on commercial

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
objective reviewed
fort lauderdale, fl
Jul 24, 2012

Below for how its advertised

Prices don't reflect the service and the caliber of hotels in same price points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brookfield, CT
Aug 7, 2011

Horrible stay at the W Ft. Lauderdale

The room did not match the descriptoin on the website. Asked, and paid for, and ocean view room and stayed in one that faced directly towards the hotel next door. Very noisy... the airconditioning units and exhaust fans from the rooftop of the restaurant ran loud all night long. Overlooked the loading dock to the hotel - trucks backing in and out all early morning long. Not worth the price I paid at all. Was told there was nothing they could do about my room due to booking capacity. Could not request a late check out as well. No free wi-fi. Over priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brookfield, CT
Aug 7, 2011

Horrible stay at the W Ft. Lauderdale

The room did not match the descriptoin on the website. Asked, and paid for, and ocean view room and stayed in one that faced directly towards the hotel next door. Very noisy... the airconditioning units and exhaust fans from the rooftop of the restaurant ran loud all night long. Overlooked the loading dock to the hotel - trucks backing in and out all early morning long. Not worth the price I paid at all. Was told there was nothing they could do about my room due to booking capacity. Could not request a late check out as well. No free wi-fi. Over priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spa owner
monroeville pa
Apr 9, 2011

the good, the bad and the really ugly

upon arriving early we asked if at all possible for an early check in. gave our cell # and had lunchat the hotel. never called. so we went to ck in at 3:06 pm and was told room wasnt ready and when asked approx time we were told they didnt know. then we called [...]at 3:30 pm and they said they would call front desk. they called bk and we weretodd the room was cleaned and we could ck in at 4:00. went to desk at 4:15 pm still not ready and couldnt give us a time . so we had a drink. at 5:00 pm same. at 5:30 same . at 5:45 i asked for a manager and at 6:00 pm we were given our room. the front desk help offered no appologies or excueses for the lengthly delay. the manager did and offer us a $50 off any room service which we ordered on night and never received i was so disquested i never mentioned not getting it. the valet service and the maids couldnt be nicer and i suggest whomever is training them should train the front desk staff who were the most rude and cold individials i have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

fablous italian restaurant cafe d angelo it is a 10 ate ther e for the second trip and could not be better. it is on commercial

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jun 30, 2009

Not as great as other W hotels

The hotel has only been open a couple of months and it shows. Some areas were great; the restaurante, Steak954 was great, the valet service and bellman were terrific. Other areas were not as buttoned up as they should be. The concierges were not very friendly and did not seem very well versed on the area. The housekeeping staff could use some tightening up - they repeatedly failed to replace basic ammenities, left an empty wineglass (dirty) on the balcony for the entire stay and there were moldy flower arrangements in the bathroom that I finally asked to be removed. For lunch I ordered the same salad 3 days in a row and it came different each time - always missing something significant or adding something gross (big hunks of onions) Before you go, understand that the hotel is located where A1A is a two lane road, so it is very, very loud. Also know that the hotel does not own the beach space, so if you want chairs/umbrellas on the beach in front of the hotel you will have to pay for them ($60 for an umbrella and two chairs.) I have stayed at 6 other W hotels and this one was less than great and probably not one that I would return to... not a horrible trip, but nothing special. I would also recommend that parents use caution before bringing children to the hotel. The scene at the pool is not always G-rated, especially on Sundays. It can be fun for adults, but kids may be a bit overwhelmed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jun 30, 2009

Not as great as other W hotels

The hotel has only been open a couple of months and it shows. Some areas were great; the restaurante, Steak954 was great, the valet service and bellman were terrific. Other areas were not as buttoned up as they should be. The concierges were not very friendly and did not seem very well versed on the area. The housekeeping staff could use some tightening up - they repeatedly failed to replace basic ammenities, left an empty wineglass (dirty) on the balcony for the entire stay and there were moldy flower arrangements in the bathroom that I finally asked to be removed. For lunch I ordered the same salad 3 days in a row and it came different each time - always missing something significant or adding something gross (big hunks of onions) Before you go, understand that the hotel is located where A1A is a two lane road, so it is very, very loud. Also know that the hotel does not own the beach space, so if you want chairs/umbrellas on the beach in front of the hotel you will have to pay for them ($60 for an umbrella and two chairs.) I have stayed at 6 other W hotels and this one was less than great and probably not one that I would return to... not a horrible trip, but nothing special. I would also recommend that parents use caution before bringing children to the hotel. The scene at the pool is not always G-rated, especially on Sundays. It can be fun for adults, but kids may be a bit overwhelmed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
md
Jun 17, 2009

Not a Family resort

the first night there , a huge pary, noisy until about 4am.Third night saw a mouse in the lobby, no parking other than at hotel,which was 31.80 a day. Very upscal,not for kids. great location. and adult clubs onsite. Food at restaurants very high. Nice place ,just not for family and could have found a more relaxed atmospher for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

other restaurants along the beach within walking distance.

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5star
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Overpriced W fort lauderdale

I have nothing good to say about the W fort lauderdale except the staff was very nice and it was in a good location. Other than that I felt it was a waste of money. My room was very small and they put me in a corner room that had a view of the parking garage. My room was moderately clean at best and the beds were hard as a rock. The food was descent but overpriced. I hate to be so negative about the W but I feel like for $435 a night i could've stayed elsewhere and had a much better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time or money on the W fort lauderdale

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Lauderdale
Jul 3, 2009

W Hotel

We definitely liked the service from Valet and with Baggage assistance. The girl at the front desk was informative but not very friendly. When I asked if I would be able to have a late checkout her immediate response was "NO". I'm in service and sales and that had to be the worst response she could give. I would have appreciated it if she actually made me feel like she was going to see if there was something that she could do even if the result would have been no extended time. Elevators were down several times which made going up to the 19th floor difficult. I had made reservations with the front desk for Steak954 only to find that when I arrived to the restaurant we were not placed on the list. I love W Hotels however this was not the most favorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top