Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

The Westin Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
View map of 400 Corporate Drive, 400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quiltinana
Business
Albany,NY
Mar 26, 2013

Staff was helpful and courteous

When we arrived our room was ready and we were greeted by a friendly staff. Food served on the premises was excellent and we would return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Casinos which had excellent dining experiences!!!

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ed201
Business
fortlauderdale florida
Mar 16, 2013

bring your own towels

the hotel is great but no coffee shops , we didnt have a car which we did rent once we got there , there is no shuttles or anything . but the worse for me was we would go into the hot tub but when we got back in room to bathe for dinner there were never no towels , we even went out bought few towels when we ask they would say we are waiting to have them sent up every two days we would get one one day we only got wash cloths and they took dirty towels so we didnt have anything to dry on was a mess , people are very nice they just need few more hundred towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dymps
Business
Westin
Mar 14, 2013

Terrible

Carpet in room very dirty Pool area dirty fridge did not work. No towels left in room on second day had to wait one hour and thirty to get towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ruth chris

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drum seeker
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2013

Excellent Quality Hotel

This was a pleasant surprise (4 star) for the offered price. The location was not great because I needed to be in Miami a lot, but for those wishing easy access to Lauderdale's N. Federal Highway businesses and I 95, and the airport, it is excellent. The rooms were quiet and the clientele and staff respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cliff husband and lover
Business
Maryland
Jan 3, 2013

NYE getaway

We have stayed at the Westin previously and always find it to be a good value. Centrally located, rooms always clean, comfortable bed and quiet at night, for the most part. Staff could be a little friendlier and not always prompt with service. But overall a very good value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Founders
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Dec 23, 2012

less than expected

I would rate that hotel at 2-3 stars. It is certainly not a 4 star. I imagine the only reason it is assumed to be a 4 star is that it has a "resort" associated with it, which only means a pool and a restaurant... both of which are located right next to the highway the hotel is off of. The reception was lackluster at best when we checked in. That was the only staff we saw on the premises the whole time... which would explain the half full wine glass that sat on the window sill of the loby for alost 15 hours (the amount of time we were there). I tried calling the concierge after having difficulty with the internet and had to leave a message, which was never returned. In the end we were never able to get on line. The warn and stained carpet had power cables running underneath it, and the countertops in the bath had cracks and glued down chips/pops in its top. Additionally, the show leaked from the head all night. On the up side, the shower did have two heads. However, when you see a card on the sink asking you not to clean your towels with every use to help reduce the amount of water used for the sake of the environment the two shower heads seemed out of place. I appreciate real environmental concern. I do not appreciate green washing for the sake of marketing. I also liked the fruit infused H2O at the front door, but did not appreciate the $14.00 continental breakfast, which is free at lesser hotels. In the end, if on vacation and looking for a 4 star hotel to enjoy, this is not the one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little 50's style diner up the road. good servie, and reasonable food.

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GGand OT
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 9, 2012

Westin Ft. Lauderdale

Bed was comfortable, room clean. The soundproofing in the rooms is nil--we could even hear the maids talking in the hall. The hotel was understaffed, and the business center too smal;l for a business friendly hotel--it was a long wait to be able to access a computer. They charge extra for Internet service. Though advertised as near the airport, there is no airport shuttle service, and the cab ride was nearly $40. All in all, an average place, and would not stay tere again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It can be difficult to get a cab, and the traffic is horrific, so any cab ride that takes ypou on I-95 is going to be very expensive.

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darkknight1999
Business
Norwood, MA
Nov 29, 2012

Never stay here...awful

I've traveled a lot for work and stayed all over. So needless to say I know the difference between quick clean value and what a 4star hotel should be. This trip was to take my wife for a nice get away for a long weekend. This place from the highway at 70mph or from pictures on a website looked fine... This is a Westin after all... rated for 4 stars... but it's not, and it's not even close... The problems started almost right away... here they are in no particular order: 1. Stained carpet 2. Toilet ran the whole time 3. TV hardly worked 4. TV remote didnt work at all 5. The bed squeaked every time you moved 6. No free wifi... ($10 bucks a day!?!!) wifi is free all most every where, including the value hotels. 7. Shower head made the pipes rattle in the wall. Zero chance of taking a shower and not waking everyone else around you up. 8. Little bugs in the bathroom (noticed this the 2nd morning) (we checked out after on the second morning) 9. Food and drinks were awful. 10. Trash in the parking lot... 11. Staff was useless... For all the trouble, they gave me a 1000 "Star Points" and $10 bucks off our bar tab, which was only $40 bucks to begin with... We checked out a day early because I was not going to stay in such a place! We'll never stay in a Westin ever again. We got a room for the night at the much much better hotel... They treat you amazingly. Hopefully booking agent can do something for me. -John

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonaldR
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 16, 2012

Great for the business man/women

If your looking for a "corporate" place to stay. This is it. Very clean. Not a great choice if your a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darkknight1999
Business
Norwood, MA
Nov 12, 2012

Do not stay here....

I've traveled a lot for work and stayed all over. So needless to say I know the difference between quick clean value and what a 4star hotel should be. This trip was to take my wife for a nice get away for a long weekend. This place from the highway at 70mph or from pictures on a website looked fine... This is a Westin after all... rated for 4 stars... but it's not, and it's not even close... The problems started almost right away... here they are in no particular order: 1. Stained carpet 2. Toilet ran the whole time 3. TV hardly worked 4. TV remote didnt work at all 5. The bed squeaked every time you moved 6. No free wifi... ($10 bucks a day!?!!) wifi is free all most every where, including the value hotels. 7. Shower head made the pipes rattle in the wall. Zero chance of taking a shower and not waking everyone else around you up. 8. Little bugs in the bathroom (noticed this the 2nd morning) (we checked out after on the second morning) 9. Food and drinks were awful. 10. Trash in the parking lot... 11. Staff was useless... For all the trouble, the have me a 1000 "Star Points" and $10 bucks our bar tab, which was only $40 bucks to begin with... We checked out a day early because I was not going to stay in such a place! We'll never stay in a Westin ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top