Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FL bound mom
Business
Knoxville
Mar 29, 2013

nice hotel

Plaza Resort is a nice hotel but our room was not cleaned until after we got back from supper and there was a piece of pizza and a chicken bone laying in the hallway most of the day Seemed like they were short on staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Russ
Business
Gainesville, FL
Nov 4, 2013

Acceptable but not Great

This property is under renovation, something nobody ever tells you when reserving a room. The desk clerk did not have my reservation made 3 days prior to my arrival. There were no King bed rooms, so I settled for a 2 Queen room upgrade to ocean front. The room was okay, but not exceptional in any way, and it was a little run down. Not a a bad stay, but not great either. THe breakfast was expensive, and the biscuits were so dry they crumbled like crakers! Don't waste your money on breaksfast here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Port Richey
Aug 7, 2008

Great Except!!!

Great location near the boardwalk without the noise of the bordwalk crowd. We had an ocean front room on the bottom floor. This was great and gave us easy access to the beach and pool area. The balcony was very small and dirty. The room was comfortable and roomy for 4. The biggest problem I found was the small insects I found in the bathtub every morning. I had to get up earlier than everyone else every morning to have time to kill the bugs before they freak out my wife and kids. I think that the bathrooms need a remodel. Not much interaction with the staff except for the front desk attendant who seemed very bored and unmotivated. did not even crack a smile. I would go back and ask for a room in a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando FL
Jul 5, 2011

Fair hotel..... but great location.....

The hotel was ok at best. The hotel made promises they didn't keep. At 2 am 2 drunk guys kept knocking at our door and wouldn't leave. I love the location of the hotel but there were too many negatives to over come one positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom with limited income
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jul 24, 2010

Our stay

Our stay was enjoyable with a few exceptions. The first night there was no air in our room, in the middle of July. We were told we could move to another room, but it wouldn't be oceanfront like the room we had. Also, the ice machine on our floor was out of order for our entire stay. We had to go to the floor above or below our room for ice. The biggest surprise was the daily "resort fee" we were charged at checkout. We were told the resort fee covers such amenities as the safe, valet parking, the spa, etc. The only extra amenity we used, besides the pool, was valet parking, which we were told was included with the price of our room. We were not told the other amenities were included, and that we would be charged for them whether we used them or not. We would have definitely utilized the spa had we known we would be charged for it when we checked in. Also, our reservation confirmation was for two queen beds. Our room had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All in all, I would have stayed at a different hotel had I known about the additional "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Forge, PA
Jul 29, 2010

Good price, don't expect a lot

Let me start off by saying that for the price of a little over $100/night during July, the Plaza Resort was a good value for being right on the beach. Our experiece, for a couple in our late 40's, we did expect more after reading other reviews and resort literature. Our first experience with pulling into the hotel was one marked with a sense of choatic confusion - I think our timing was bad as about 11 other couples and families pulled up to the small off-boarding and registration area. Our check-in person, was swampped with phone calls while trying to check people in. The room type I reserved was not available, so we had to settle for the next best available with no compensation. The room was clean and large, the bathroom was small and while clean, we did notice silverfish bugs each day in our bathtub. The amenities were scarce. Although I called down twice requesting additional bath towels, they were never delivered. The pool area was very nice and access to the beach was easy. I was disappointed that the resort didn't have more activities for the guests nor did they catered to those using the beach. Beach rental of chairs/umbrella will run you $30/day unless your reserve for 3 days then its $75, this is not associated with the hotel. We had breakfast twice in the hotel restaraunt which was good with a buffet. There are plenty of restaraunts nearby but for better quality food, I suggest driving to other locations. A short walk along the beach took you to the small boardwalk area and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to check in around the peak time of 4-6pm, its busy and the front lobby and desk are understaffed.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 30, 2010

Good resort for the price

Good for the price. The hotel is dated but the rooms are decent, fairly clean (and I'm picky). The public areas--elevators, pool area--not so clean and lack maintenance. We picked this hotel for it's location--start of the strip where there are no cars on the beach and a lot less crowded. Big factor if you have children. We had an oceanfront room and would recommend it--worth the extra money! Our friends didn't and they had big noise and smell issues and a smaller room. If you want a beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds and all the amenities including a big price, then stay at the Hilton. Look for a deal at this hotel, not worth the "regular" list price, but worth what we paid and much cheaper than oceanfront at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Not bad

Hotel was alright. Reasonably clean but I expected more from a "4-star" facility. Bathroom was extremely outdated. Staff was nice and accomidating. Wouldn't discourage anyone from staying there but I'd tell them to do their homework and also check out some of the others on the strip. Very nice location but there are other hotels there on the beach also so at least give them a look also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTB
Business
South Park PA
Feb 2, 2010

Family trip went well

The trip overall was nice. We were visiting a family member in the area. The hotel served it's purpose but did not have a large impact on the visit. One of us arrived on crutches and a wheelchair was available throughout the stay. Daylight front desk staff very nice, night shift staff not so much. I could stay again or recommend to others if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several options within a few blocks

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington, WV
Mar 30, 2010

Spring Break

I liked a couple things about the hotel. First off, it was very nice. The lady at the check-in counter was very understanding and did her best to get us through the process quickly and effectively. The location was great! I loved the pool area. However, the hotel had no hot tub except in the spa area. They actually wanted us to pay $25 for thirty minutes per person for the hot tub. No thanks. The pool chairs were very uncomfortable. That was all pretty acceptable though because the rest of the hotel was very clean and quiet. All week, the cleaning lady only came once, although that may have been because we denied her service on the second day. When we checked out, we had a lot of trash and we were spring breakers so they looked at us a little more critically. The security guard wanted the check-out man to keep money from our damage deposit for TRASH purposes. Not cleaning and damage. They actually sent me back upstairs with a trash bag and made me bag my trash before they would give me back my damage deposit. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save a lot of money on breakfast just by walking across the street to Ihop.

Back to menu Return to top