Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
201 reviews
Gorgeous hotel & great staf!

Once again we had a great stay at The Plaza. Cameron, who works the front desk, checked us in and... See full review

  • JLo21
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Holiday escape

Stayed for the Labor Day weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk to the... See full review

  • Travels for Work
  • Sep 2, 2014
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas Nevada
Jul 13, 2010

excellent Daytona Beach Location

The hotel is lovely, excellent location easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. The staff is friendly, the maid service is something to be desired. They have a shortage of towels at the pool and in your room. The rooms need to have the night stands and tables moved more frequently to remove dust and various little pieces of dirt. We really enjoyed the beach and pool. Hotel rest. good food slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy fine dining the Hyde Park Restaurant is located in the Hilton not far from the Plaza Resort excellent osyters and great key lime pie. The service was excellent.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiananpolis
Apr 4, 2010

Not 4 STAR

Not 4 STAR It wasn't up to par but we loved the location. Walking distance to Main St. and pier. Not very clean and very small bathroom. Very beat up and needed cleaning and painting in many areas. NO hot tub. Nice pool and sunning area. Breakfast: I wouldn't do again there. Lounge not open. Watch for extra charges....$8 to $12.00 a day parking ( even if you don't have a car) and safe is charged to your room no matter what! That is $1.50 per day. If you can get discount on rooms, its not bad. I would NOT be happy at all paying full price!!!! LOVE THE new beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Port Richey
Aug 7, 2008

Great Except!!!

Great location near the boardwalk without the noise of the bordwalk crowd. We had an ocean front room on the bottom floor. This was great and gave us easy access to the beach and pool area. The balcony was very small and dirty. The room was comfortable and roomy for 4. The biggest problem I found was the small insects I found in the bathtub every morning. I had to get up earlier than everyone else every morning to have time to kill the bugs before they freak out my wife and kids. I think that the bathrooms need a remodel. Not much interaction with the staff except for the front desk attendant who seemed very bored and unmotivated. did not even crack a smile. I would go back and ask for a room in a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Aug 9, 2010

One of the nicest hotles in Daytona

We arrived the night before our reservation and was told then that there were no more Oceanfronts available and that we would have to stay in a Oceanview. The man said he could make someone move... and it shocked me! I thought how rude! He made us a new reservation and we did get our Oceanfront but had to keep checking in at the desk to make sure but after we checked in to our regular reserved room everything went fine. OUr first room was a little dirty with marks on the walls and a dead bug on the ceiling. The Oceanfront was much nicer! We have a 3 and 6 yr old and the only down side to the hotel is there's no kiddie pool for them to play. Maid service was good except for once when we had to call them twice and the front desk once for somone to come clean our room. Beds were clean and comfortable and that's a biggie with us! The hotel wasnt as pretty in person as is in the photos but overall is a good place to stay. The parking garage is ideal size and always room for hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Oct 11, 2009

Okay ... but expect more for the $$$

Front desk was unaware of special promotion given when reservations were made. After a couple phone calls the matter was cleared up and the promotion was honored. Although we were made aware of the parking fees at the time of the reservation and at check-in, our final bill also contained additional fees for the safe that were not agreed upon nor expected. Rooms are clean, but the not-so-recent renovations were not exactly first class. A decent room, with a great view and relatively nice amenities .... but not a particularly good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisbet
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 2, 2012

Not too happy

Check-in was great. Employees very friendly. Room cleanliness questionable. First day the room was not cleaned all day from 10 am - 11pm. After complaining someone came and provided clean towels but did not clean room. The next day the room was cleaned around 4pm but only after we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 15, 2010

Not what I expected

Location was good in terms of getting to restaurants and shopping. The hotel was pretty clean but very average. The restaurant in the hotel never had one person so we were very leery. Also, make sure you are cautious when walking on the streets at night around the hotel; the crowd changed tremendously and was a very scary scene. This is the oldest hotel on the beach so expect it not to be as nice as some of the newer ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of night clubs right across the street from this hotel. There is a Walgreens also and many restaurants with decent food. I was disappointed in the quality of seafood; I expected much better. There are also many banks in the area so no worries about money. The final thing is that a car is really not necessary. Everything is in walking distance and they charge a nightly fee to park....so not worth it. Other than the beach area, the city has nothing to offer so walking around the hotel is your best bet.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katiegraham
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Mar 27, 2011

Nice Place

This hotel was elegant and the rooms were large. The view of the ocean and the river were great. Beach was accessible and we enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were old fashioned and the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. All of the staff was great. The food was excellent and fairly priced for the time of year and area. Reasonable, fairly priced and an exceptional place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pokeman
orlando,fl
Mar 31, 2010

good location/bad customer services

great location /nice pool/bad customer services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 24, 2010

Great view, but...

The view and location was great. The pool is large and beautiful. It was almost like a private beach since no driving is allowed in this section of Daytona. The bathroom was small and dark with no counter space. I was very upset that they have very large Palmetto bugs (The American cockroach (Periplaneta americana), also known as the palmetto bug, particularly in the southern United States, is the largest species of common cockroach). It was disturbing to watch roaches the size of my thumb running across the floor. I called and complained and a man came to our room, squirted a can of something under the air conditioner and shrugged his shoulders. At checkout I handed the front desk person a dead bug in a coffee cup and let her know how upset I was. The bugs ruined an otherwise relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top