Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
172 reviews
Great getaway

This was one of the nicest places I have stayed. Staff was very friendly, rooms clean, pool was... See full review

  • Mom the greatest
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great Place to Stay with family

Great stay! Excellent Staff. Bad Pillows. Not very many people there I booked room 8 months ago. I... See full review

  • Marilyn memaw
  • Oct 13, 2013
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
My children
Merritt island, Flordia
May 27, 2012

I was shocked

I was so shock that when we walked in there were lee press on nails on the floor. There was hair in the bathroom sink. The one bed had a stain on the bed sheet. Very bad. I couldn't get coffee at the bar by the pool nor did he offer another or if he could run and get me sone. He told me to go the restaurant and they would have some. Just shocked at the whole experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
GNLgrl
Nashville, TN
Jun 10, 2012

Not as terrible as others say

First off, the check in time is 4pm. We were there at 4am....they were nice enough to go ahead and check us in. Considering we were on the road for 12 hours...that was a great relief. The room we booked was an ocean view room. That is exactly what we got. The balcony overlooked the pool and miles of ocean. It was perfect. The room had a refrigerator and microwave which was great for all the leftovers we had. The bathroom was quite small though and didn't leave enough room to move. The major downsides were not having enough towels and the air conditioning was leaking onto the floor. My husband had to clean it out himself. The elevators were a bit slow, but we were right on the beach so it wasn't like we couldn't slow down and chill out a bit. Had it not rained every day we were there, our trip would have been great. The hotel was average, but not as bad as some are saying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Inlet Harbour Restaurant...the ahi tuna salad is AMAZING!

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Daytona Beach, Florida
Jul 26, 2009

Beach Vacation

Stayed in a limited view room on the third floor. The floors were carpeted and mildewed resulting in a horrible smell. The curtains for the room didn't even fit the window. We were told this was "normal for city-view rooms" and therefore privacy was non-existant. Would recommend spending the extra money to stay in a part of the hotel that is actually up-kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Cullman, Al.
Jul 20, 2009

"Good rates for the location"

Enjoyable,location is great but the room had wet floor. Did not meet my expectation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out all information about dinning and most recommended by locals.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
GEORGIA
Jun 29, 2009

NICE

IT WAS EVERYTHING THAT WE HAD EXPECTED. I WAS DISAPPOINTED, HOWEVER, THAT WE HAD TO SETTLE FOR A 'CITY VIEW' ROOM UNLESS WE WANTED TO PAY EXTRA PER NIGHT TO UPGRADE. (AND THE SOUND OF TRAFFIC AT NIGHT WAS SOOOOO LOUD!) THE FRONT DESK SAID THAT THATS THE ROOMS ORBITZ BOOKS. BIG BUMMER! THE HOTEL WAS NICE, JUST LIKE THE PICTURES. A NICE BIG TV & FLUFFY PILLOWS. THE POOL WAS A NICE SIZE, THE WATER WAS VERY WARM. THE BAD THINGS ARE: THE AIR VENT OVER THE TUB/SHOWER WAS JUST A BIG HOLE & YOU COULD SEE INTO THE DUCT WORK- THE FAUCET WAS COMING OUT OF THE WALL- THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO COUNTER IN THE BATHROOM TO DO YOUR HAIR OR PUT ON MAKEUP, OR TO PUT YOUR TOOTHBRUSHES FOR THAT MATTER. WE DID LOVE BEING CLOSE TO IHOP, IT WAS SOOOOOO GOOD! THE FROZEN DRINKS AT THE BAR BY THE POOL WERE TASTY TOO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
letsgetaway
KS
Jul 19, 2009

great location

Upon check-in the front desk staff was not helpful, and almost rude. The room was a little smaller than I prefer, traveling with two children. The hotel is in a great location parasailing right on the beach and within walking distance to food and shopping. Pool is open late! The hotel does charge for parking, which I was not aware of until checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
MsBrown
Michigan
Aug 12, 2012

Not What it Used To Be

The rooms are starting to need updates. The bathroom needed lots of work. When we turned on the sink faucet, the sink just about came off the wall. Holes in walls need repair. Never did get a second box of Kleenex. Someone pounded on our door and said they had linens-well , wrong room, but it woke us from a sound sleep and frightened us. Because of weather the pool area was not as clean as in prior visits-even the door opening to the pool was thick with dirt. Elevators are not programmed to meet the needs of guests. The store in the hotel is great and the night cashier is a special man. What is wrong with the Magnolias room?Its lovely, the food is good, but usually empty. Most families cannot affort the prices and the food is not normal family fare. We usually have drinks and hamburgers at the Veranda Lounge. It was great as usual. The barkeep is an exceptional employee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Boardwalk is fun and the restaurants are great.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Happyhappy
Stafford, VA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

surprise

I was surprised to find out that above the price that was already payed in full, was a $15.00 per day Resort fee, $50.00 minimum on all rooms incidental charges. Also if you bring a pet or smoke they will charge a minimum $250.00 for cleaning. The rest was OK, during Bike Week lots of motorcycle parking out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Norpen
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Jan 28, 2013

Good location but needs help.

Hotel must have been nice 40 years ago but needs lots of help. The heater was broken and had to be replaced as soon as we arrived. The bathroom had no vanity or counter to place our toiletries. The carpeting was old and worn. The parking was horrendous. We had to park our expensive car at the far end of the property one evening and the access to the hotel was locked c. 10:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Orlando,FL
Nov 20, 2009

Okay, definititely not upscale

My wife and I visited for a weekend away from Orlando and where looking for something a little upscale near home without spending $200-250 per night. There was no attention to detail in the halls to the rooms or the elevator interiors or in many regards. Ceiling tile were dirty and hanging out of place. There were hangers and clothes laying on the lower roof and balcany was dirty. Fitness center was very small with no towels supplied. We chose to skip it. Bed was comfortable and room was okay, but bath was very small, basic and plain. Nothing romantic about the room or special if your looking for a luxury resort. Restaraunt fruit looked and tasted like it was two to three days old. We had complimentary breakfasts and ate there but after our breakfast experience we wouldn't consider eating dinner there due to the service and quality of the breakfast buffet. We generally felt that the resort was not staffed properly to have any attention to detail and they cut corners on details in way too many places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top