Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
198 reviews
Great Place

We stayed here last year and it was great!! Redneck Riviera watching at it's finest :) See full review

  • Angedelune
  • Jul 16, 2014
Fantastic getaway!

This vacation with my family was flawless! The hotel was soo beautiful and extremely comfortable... See full review

  • Dunn Family
  • Jul 2, 2014
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando FL
Jul 5, 2011

Fair hotel..... but great location.....

The hotel was ok at best. The hotel made promises they didn't keep. At 2 am 2 drunk guys kept knocking at our door and wouldn't leave. I love the location of the hotel but there were too many negatives to over come one positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom with limited income
Douglasville, GA
Jul 24, 2010

Our stay

Our stay was enjoyable with a few exceptions. The first night there was no air in our room, in the middle of July. We were told we could move to another room, but it wouldn't be oceanfront like the room we had. Also, the ice machine on our floor was out of order for our entire stay. We had to go to the floor above or below our room for ice. The biggest surprise was the daily "resort fee" we were charged at checkout. We were told the resort fee covers such amenities as the safe, valet parking, the spa, etc. The only extra amenity we used, besides the pool, was valet parking, which we were told was included with the price of our room. We were not told the other amenities were included, and that we would be charged for them whether we used them or not. We would have definitely utilized the spa had we known we would be charged for it when we checked in. Also, our reservation confirmation was for two queen beds. Our room had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All in all, I would have stayed at a different hotel had I known about the additional "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valley Forge, PA
Jul 29, 2010

Good price, don't expect a lot

Let me start off by saying that for the price of a little over $100/night during July, the Plaza Resort was a good value for being right on the beach. Our experiece, for a couple in our late 40's, we did expect more after reading other reviews and resort literature. Our first experience with pulling into the hotel was one marked with a sense of choatic confusion - I think our timing was bad as about 11 other couples and families pulled up to the small off-boarding and registration area. Our check-in person, was swampped with phone calls while trying to check people in. The room type I reserved was not available, so we had to settle for the next best available with no compensation. The room was clean and large, the bathroom was small and while clean, we did notice silverfish bugs each day in our bathtub. The amenities were scarce. Although I called down twice requesting additional bath towels, they were never delivered. The pool area was very nice and access to the beach was easy. I was disappointed that the resort didn't have more activities for the guests nor did they catered to those using the beach. Beach rental of chairs/umbrella will run you $30/day unless your reserve for 3 days then its $75, this is not associated with the hotel. We had breakfast twice in the hotel restaraunt which was good with a buffet. There are plenty of restaraunts nearby but for better quality food, I suggest driving to other locations. A short walk along the beach took you to the small boardwalk area and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to check in around the peak time of 4-6pm, its busy and the front lobby and desk are understaffed.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 30, 2010

Good resort for the price

Good for the price. The hotel is dated but the rooms are decent, fairly clean (and I'm picky). The public areas--elevators, pool area--not so clean and lack maintenance. We picked this hotel for it's location--start of the strip where there are no cars on the beach and a lot less crowded. Big factor if you have children. We had an oceanfront room and would recommend it--worth the extra money! Our friends didn't and they had big noise and smell issues and a smaller room. If you want a beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds and all the amenities including a big price, then stay at the Hilton. Look for a deal at this hotel, not worth the "regular" list price, but worth what we paid and much cheaper than oceanfront at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Not bad

Hotel was alright. Reasonably clean but I expected more from a "4-star" facility. Bathroom was extremely outdated. Staff was nice and accomidating. Wouldn't discourage anyone from staying there but I'd tell them to do their homework and also check out some of the others on the strip. Very nice location but there are other hotels there on the beach also so at least give them a look also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTB
South Park PA
Feb 2, 2010

Family trip went well

The trip overall was nice. We were visiting a family member in the area. The hotel served it's purpose but did not have a large impact on the visit. One of us arrived on crutches and a wheelchair was available throughout the stay. Daylight front desk staff very nice, night shift staff not so much. I could stay again or recommend to others if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several options within a few blocks

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington, WV
Mar 30, 2010

Spring Break

I liked a couple things about the hotel. First off, it was very nice. The lady at the check-in counter was very understanding and did her best to get us through the process quickly and effectively. The location was great! I loved the pool area. However, the hotel had no hot tub except in the spa area. They actually wanted us to pay $25 for thirty minutes per person for the hot tub. No thanks. The pool chairs were very uncomfortable. That was all pretty acceptable though because the rest of the hotel was very clean and quiet. All week, the cleaning lady only came once, although that may have been because we denied her service on the second day. When we checked out, we had a lot of trash and we were spring breakers so they looked at us a little more critically. The security guard wanted the check-out man to keep money from our damage deposit for TRASH purposes. Not cleaning and damage. They actually sent me back upstairs with a trash bag and made me bag my trash before they would give me back my damage deposit. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save a lot of money on breakfast just by walking across the street to Ihop.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando,FL
Nov 20, 2009

Okay, definititely not upscale

My wife and I visited for a weekend away from Orlando and where looking for something a little upscale near home without spending $200-250 per night. There was no attention to detail in the halls to the rooms or the elevator interiors or in many regards. Ceiling tile were dirty and hanging out of place. There were hangers and clothes laying on the lower roof and balcany was dirty. Fitness center was very small with no towels supplied. We chose to skip it. Bed was comfortable and room was okay, but bath was very small, basic and plain. Nothing romantic about the room or special if your looking for a luxury resort. Restaraunt fruit looked and tasted like it was two to three days old. We had complimentary breakfasts and ate there but after our breakfast experience we wouldn't consider eating dinner there due to the service and quality of the breakfast buffet. We generally felt that the resort was not staffed properly to have any attention to detail and they cut corners on details in way too many places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Daytona Beach, Florida
Jul 26, 2009

Beach Vacation

Stayed in a limited view room on the third floor. The floors were carpeted and mildewed resulting in a horrible smell. The curtains for the room didn't even fit the window. We were told this was "normal for city-view rooms" and therefore privacy was non-existant. Would recommend spending the extra money to stay in a part of the hotel that is actually up-kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami, Fl
Jul 26, 2009

Where is the 4th star?

Don't be fooled by the 4 star rating on this hotel. It is a 3 star, at the most. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel, but not even close to a real 4 star resort. The hotel was nice and clean, has a very good location, and the staff is pretty friendly. I don't know what the requirements to be considered a resort are, but they offer very little besides a spa, a very small gym and a boring pool. They don't even have chairs and umbrellas for you at the beach. No pool activities for kids, no music, and nothing to do at the hotel besides bake by the pool.If you got the breakfast coupons, the breakfast is decent for one day, but if you are staying more than a couple of days the exact same breakfast gets old pretty quickly. We stayed in room 710, which is tiny. It looks like a converted big linen closet. It is due to the configuration of the hotel. if you get a room ending on a "10" e.g. 610, 510,410......Hope you packed lightly. It is tiny. Overall, this is a "nice" hotel. I probably would not stay there again. I would try to find something for the same price, or even pay a little more for some extras....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the Barnacles restaurant a mile North in Atlantic Ave is awesome. Great seafood. Best lobster lasagna ever.

Back to menu Return to top