Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
222 reviews
Great hotel

Great hotel for daytona beach right in the middle of Daytona Beach great spot with lots of stores... See full review

  • Thomas G.
  • Feb 24, 2015
GreatBeachHotel

Awesome hotel, great everything! Nice and comfy room, great bar, restuarant, and friendly staff. See full review

  • Girlfriends Getaway
  • Jan 26, 2015
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 15, 2010

Not what I expected

Location was good in terms of getting to restaurants and shopping. The hotel was pretty clean but very average. The restaurant in the hotel never had one person so we were very leery. Also, make sure you are cautious when walking on the streets at night around the hotel; the crowd changed tremendously and was a very scary scene. This is the oldest hotel on the beach so expect it not to be as nice as some of the newer ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of night clubs right across the street from this hotel. There is a Walgreens also and many restaurants with decent food. I was disappointed in the quality of seafood; I expected much better. There are also many banks in the area so no worries about money. The final thing is that a car is really not necessary. Everything is in walking distance and they charge a nightly fee to park....so not worth it. Other than the beach area, the city has nothing to offer so walking around the hotel is your best bet.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 11, 2009

Okay ... but expect more for the $$$

Front desk was unaware of special promotion given when reservations were made. After a couple phone calls the matter was cleared up and the promotion was honored. Although we were made aware of the parking fees at the time of the reservation and at check-in, our final bill also contained additional fees for the safe that were not agreed upon nor expected. Rooms are clean, but the not-so-recent renovations were not exactly first class. A decent room, with a great view and relatively nice amenities .... but not a particularly good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
THE VILLAGES, FL
Sep 12, 2009

JUST OK

THE HOTEL WAS JUST OK. NOTHING GREAT. WE NOTICED THAT THEY WERE NOT MAINTAINING THE AREA AROUND THE POOL. THE LOUNGES NEEDED A DEEP CLEANING. THE CONCRETE AREA SURROUNDING THE POOL HAD ANTS ALL OVER IT. THERE DIDN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY ATTEMPT TO CLEAN IT. THEY DIDN'T SEEM TO CARE ABOUT HAVING ANY OF THE BARS OPEN. WE APPROACHED THE BARTENDER AROUND 9PM ONE NIGHT AND ASKED IF WE COULD GET A DRINK AND SHE KIND OF SHRUGGED HER SHOULDERS AND LOOKED AT US AS TO SAY "IF YOU REALLY NEED ONE." SHE DID NOT ANSWER US. JUST LOOKED AT US.THERE WAS NO LIFE AT THE HOTEL. WE PROBABLY WILL NOT GO BACK THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FLBoy4Life
Business
Alexandria VA
May 9, 2010

Great View

The hotel is a couple of blocks from the bulk of the action on Daytona Beach. I booked the room for my parents as a spur of the moment get-away for them. I got them an oceanview room and the view was spectacular. It faced southward down the beach and was shaded from the afternoon blazing sun. Perfect for them. They really enjoyed themselves. The only not-so-cool moment was checking in when the desk attendant had a bad attitude, which is NOT good since she was the first representation of the establishment. In any case, the hotel is definitely decent for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GEORGIA
Jun 29, 2009

NICE

IT WAS EVERYTHING THAT WE HAD EXPECTED. I WAS DISAPPOINTED, HOWEVER, THAT WE HAD TO SETTLE FOR A 'CITY VIEW' ROOM UNLESS WE WANTED TO PAY EXTRA PER NIGHT TO UPGRADE. (AND THE SOUND OF TRAFFIC AT NIGHT WAS SOOOOO LOUD!) THE FRONT DESK SAID THAT THATS THE ROOMS ORBITZ BOOKS. BIG BUMMER! THE HOTEL WAS NICE, JUST LIKE THE PICTURES. A NICE BIG TV & FLUFFY PILLOWS. THE POOL WAS A NICE SIZE, THE WATER WAS VERY WARM. THE BAD THINGS ARE: THE AIR VENT OVER THE TUB/SHOWER WAS JUST A BIG HOLE & YOU COULD SEE INTO THE DUCT WORK- THE FAUCET WAS COMING OUT OF THE WALL- THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO COUNTER IN THE BATHROOM TO DO YOUR HAIR OR PUT ON MAKEUP, OR TO PUT YOUR TOOTHBRUSHES FOR THAT MATTER. WE DID LOVE BEING CLOSE TO IHOP, IT WAS SOOOOOO GOOD! THE FROZEN DRINKS AT THE BAR BY THE POOL WERE TASTY TOO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garfield, NJ
Aug 11, 2010

Noisy

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The pool is great and the location of the hotel is right in the middle of the Daytona Beach hot spots. The only problems we encountered at this hotel was that we could hear absolutely everything that was going on in the room next to us. When the people next door showered is sounded like they were in our room. Our room was also oceanview but we got the view of another buildings roof more than the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
far away
May 20, 2011

eh...okay

We went down to the beach. Though it was a private part, it costed us $30 to still rent a chair. Also, there were cigarette burns in my sheets and the water leaked from the shower and absolutely flooded the floor. On top of that we chose to check out a couple hours later and they charged us $60 for 4 more hours! Definitely not what I was hoping for when paying $133 a night plus the $60 to check out later. Very disappointing ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Port Richey
Aug 7, 2008

Great Except!!!

Great location near the boardwalk without the noise of the bordwalk crowd. We had an ocean front room on the bottom floor. This was great and gave us easy access to the beach and pool area. The balcony was very small and dirty. The room was comfortable and roomy for 4. The biggest problem I found was the small insects I found in the bathtub every morning. I had to get up earlier than everyone else every morning to have time to kill the bugs before they freak out my wife and kids. I think that the bathrooms need a remodel. Not much interaction with the staff except for the front desk attendant who seemed very bored and unmotivated. did not even crack a smile. I would go back and ask for a room in a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando FL
Jul 5, 2011

Fair hotel..... but great location.....

The hotel was ok at best. The hotel made promises they didn't keep. At 2 am 2 drunk guys kept knocking at our door and wouldn't leave. I love the location of the hotel but there were too many negatives to over come one positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom with limited income
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jul 24, 2010

Our stay

Our stay was enjoyable with a few exceptions. The first night there was no air in our room, in the middle of July. We were told we could move to another room, but it wouldn't be oceanfront like the room we had. Also, the ice machine on our floor was out of order for our entire stay. We had to go to the floor above or below our room for ice. The biggest surprise was the daily "resort fee" we were charged at checkout. We were told the resort fee covers such amenities as the safe, valet parking, the spa, etc. The only extra amenity we used, besides the pool, was valet parking, which we were told was included with the price of our room. We were not told the other amenities were included, and that we would be charged for them whether we used them or not. We would have definitely utilized the spa had we known we would be charged for it when we checked in. Also, our reservation confirmation was for two queen beds. Our room had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All in all, I would have stayed at a different hotel had I known about the additional "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top