Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
190 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 190
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwelton
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Feb 18, 2013

Gross

I stayed at this hotel and I travel quite a bit. I stayed her with a cheer team. This is the most disgusting hotel I have everrrrrrr stayed in. Filth, gross, nasty doesn't even describe this hotel. I would not even walk across carpet without my shoes on. I didn't want my kids touching anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill - Yummmm

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pocwatjim
Business
Decatur, TN
Feb 16, 2013

La Playa ,Avoid this place!

Roaches in room. Carpet 15 years old ,had stains and was in shreads in several places. TV picture fuzzy on all channels. Tub and sink faucets would not cut off. toilet would work unless you held the handle for 2 minutes sheets would't fit the bed and you were sleeping on the mattress in the morning. were .It was a very unplesent 5 day stay. We have stayed there for the last 4 years in Feb. while attending a Watch & Clock show at the Ocean center and it has finally gotten so low we will not even consider it unless they do a complete remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chief 11
Business
Daytona Beach
Jan 29, 2013

Met the needs of the Family

The experience at the hotel was good. It met the needs of my family, and the price we paid was fair. Yes, it is an aging hotel but it served its function. The hot tub was out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travis Mr Basketball
Business
Franklin, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Ok if just need somewhere to sleep

not up-to-date, carpets could be cleaner, but I can understand though because it is a beach hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Festival Fant
Business
NC
Feb 1, 2010

Daytona Beach

The overall visit was good, though the wireless internet service was very spotty and difficult to use. The lounge was pricey, and only offered service on two nights, with admission of $ 25 per night charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JuJitsu
Business
Salt Lake
Sep 1, 2009

Daytona

This was a horrible experience. I walked in a supposed non-smoking room that smelled like an ash tray. I layed down on the bed and began to itch. Stay away. We ended up down the street at a very friendly Hilton that gave us a 4 star room for the same price and included a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steak Restaurant at Hilton.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatorjr
Business
North Carolina
Jul 10, 2009

Nice hotel just old

The hotel was nice just an older one. The water pressure in the shower was slow and I had a problem with my door not wanting to shut but there wasnt anything I could do about that even maintenance couldnt fix it. Nothing that would cause me not to stay there again couldnt beat the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 2, 2009

Daytona Trip 2009

The View Was Awseome. The Staff Was Great. Pool Sode Was Cool And Calm Right By The Tiki Bar ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Restaurants across the street were just devine!

Back to menu Return to top