Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
198 reviews
good trip

nice. hotel......! I would'd go there again went for the Daytona 500 only a ten minute drive from... See full review

  • Robert F.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Meli
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nascarfan88
Business
Aberdeen, Md
Feb 26, 2013

Great for the Price

My experience was perfect. This is not a 5-star hotel, but for the price I paid for the Daytona Race weekend and the location, 6 miles fromthe track I have no complaints. The room was clean, and the front desk employees were very friendly and extremely helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kooter48
Business
OHIO
Feb 20, 2013

Great

The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant and it was reasonably priced. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not A Fan of this place
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Feb 18, 2013

Waste of Money

Stayed here and had a really good experience back in the early 90's - figured they may be up with the times and changes, but boy was I wrong, place is old and falling apart. On top of that, the indoor pool is no longer working, however they still list in on their website), and then if you book online, they charge you a 10.00 a night resort fee, this place is far from a resort, oh but they do have 2 new hot tubs - woo hoo. JOKE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwelton
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Feb 18, 2013

Gross

I stayed at this hotel and I travel quite a bit. I stayed her with a cheer team. This is the most disgusting hotel I have everrrrrrr stayed in. Filth, gross, nasty doesn't even describe this hotel. I would not even walk across carpet without my shoes on. I didn't want my kids touching anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill - Yummmm

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pocwatjim
Business
Decatur, TN
Feb 16, 2013

La Playa ,Avoid this place!

Roaches in room. Carpet 15 years old ,had stains and was in shreads in several places. TV picture fuzzy on all channels. Tub and sink faucets would not cut off. toilet would work unless you held the handle for 2 minutes sheets would't fit the bed and you were sleeping on the mattress in the morning. were .It was a very unplesent 5 day stay. We have stayed there for the last 4 years in Feb. while attending a Watch & Clock show at the Ocean center and it has finally gotten so low we will not even consider it unless they do a complete remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chief 11
Business
Daytona Beach
Jan 29, 2013

Met the needs of the Family

The experience at the hotel was good. It met the needs of my family, and the price we paid was fair. Yes, it is an aging hotel but it served its function. The hot tub was out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccpcola
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 28, 2013

Best view on the Beach

Had a free upgrade to studio style room. The space was very large and we had the best view you can ask for, 8th floor. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Only downfall would be the carpet. Where socks, pretty old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riptides. On the Atlantic side. Locally owned and operated. Very nice staff and TV's at the bar for sports fans.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
geminimatt
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jan 21, 2013

Great view, just needs a good makeover

The location is perfect. Unfortunetly there were a few issues that really took away the speciality vacation I was hoping for. The balcony and the chairs on the balcony were covered in bird pooh, eww. Just simply having the housekeeping clean that before check in would have been nice. One of the main goal of the vacation was to relax in a hot tub, jacuzzi, to releave some back and knee pain. Neither one of the hot tubs were working, if I knew that I might have stayed somewhere else. The kitchenette was nice but very dated. The carpet in the entire room was loose, torn and or filthy. Bad enough that we were both did not take our shoes off the entire time in the room, except to sleep. Again the hotel is ok for the price, but we will choose to stay somewhere else next time, even if it means spending a little more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheer mom 2000
Business
Live oak, Florida
Jan 15, 2013

Great family getaway

We were on the ground floor which was great with having a 5 year old. We were right at the pool and had a great view on the ocean. We have stayed here 4 years in a row and this was the best year yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travis Mr Basketball
Business
Franklin, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Ok if just need somewhere to sleep

not up-to-date, carpets could be cleaner, but I can understand though because it is a beach hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top