Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
277 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Located on the "World Famous" Atlantic Avenue in the heart of Daytona Beach, is The La Playa Resort an oceanfront hotel. All rooms have a view of the Atlantic ocean, the hotel offers outside pool deck, Tiki Bar, Veranda restaurant, whirlpool, kiddies pool, and shuffle board. Relax and enjoy our 360-degree view from the penthouse lounge. Exchange your vows in our oceanfront gazebo and move to our 250 person ballroom for the reception and banquet.**We now have FREE high speed DSL internet access in all guest rooms. We also offer high speed wireless access throughout the hotel.**Please Note: there is is a $9.95 Daily Resort Fee payable at the hotel.

The hotel has the following policies:
All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits-$100 per person under 21 (During Spring Break, deposit for every person under 25). Fully refundable provided no damage to room. Max 4 per occupancy per room.
Small pets up to 25 pounds accepted. Daily pet fee-$15.00 per day.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Meli
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Temper
MO
Dec 30, 2012

La Dump

The carpet is so dirty its repulsive. Its black and has holes. They twist all the towels, which are old and stained. Overall a dive. Pretty cheap but I recommended you spring for a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelzz
Miami, Florida
Dec 4, 2012

Happy birthday to me!!

It was great overall! The location was perfect, it's by the beachside and close to stores for convenience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cadillac16
Florida
Oct 16, 2012

It is what it is...a great value

I was expecting a clean room with a view and that's exactly what i got. I paid $60 a night. You will not find that anywhere for a ocean front room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juicyfruit
Orlando Fl
Oct 1, 2012

My Anniversary

I love this place it is always clean welcomes couples and families the same. The front desk are always striving to make your stay great..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RipTides Raw Bar

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yucky
Daytona beach, fl
Sep 24, 2012

Out dated

The staff is great. The indoor pool is closed and the hot tubs are boarded up with plywood. The doors are horrible they don't want to shut or open. The towels are more like hand towels and they are so ruff. The furniture is nasty and from the 1980 s it dark colored wood and not the light they say. The place is over run with roaches it is really quite gross and nasty. I think for what the place is they should not be charging you to park and the $5.00 parking advertised is not true they charge $7.00 a day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast. The lounge is not really a lounge it is nothing more than a bartender outside by the pool. The place overall is misrepresented and I think this is a real shame. It would be well worth your money to stay some where else and pay a little more to be some where clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loving Life 21
Ocala, Florida
Sep 5, 2012

Clean and worth the money

Experience was great, people at desk were very courteous and helpful, pool area clean, tiki bar was nice. The hotel was a little old, and needs some upgrades, but I was at this hotel to sleep, enjoy the beach, and have a relaxing getaway, and this is what I got at this hotel. It's in no way luxurious, but it served it's purpose, and I thought the place was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Maria
Orlando, Fl
Aug 16, 2012

Good value for the money.

We're not the "pickiest" bunch and if you can live with a slightly outdated room/furniture, etc, this hotel has good value for the money (we paid just under $70 a night, including tax) It is located right on the beach, just a couple of miles north of the Daytona Beach hot spots, so it is a little quieter and the beach isn't as packed with people. The beds were too firm, even for me...and I prefer firm mattresses over soft. Other than that, like I said, it would be tough to find a better value for what we paid....I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy mom 1
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2012

Going down hll

I have been coming to Daytona for 20 years. For years I stayed at the same place until it sold out and the rates went up and was not worth the price. I stayed several diffrent places until I came across La Playa and this was our 3rd year staying there. The hotel had a good price it was clean and we had plenty of room with the murphy bed. This year though may me the end of La Playa for us. The room was in really rough shape. The door knob between rooms was barely on, we had no TV service in the living area due to a cable problem and was restored until 2 days before check out (they did us 2 complmentary breakfast for that), I saw 2 roaches in bathroom, the carpet was nasty looking and the tiki bar was open at random times and you never knew when you went down to get a drink if it would be open or not. They do have security now though, which is a good thing, but did not see what help they were considering they had people at all hours of the night being extremly loud ( 1am to 3 am). They said they are under new management and that they are redoing it. They should not have chraged what they did this year for the room and it definitly will not be worth no more even if they do take care of all the problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrMike55
Jacksonville, f
Aug 6, 2012

older place,,,

having grown up in panama city, i've seen my share of older cinder block hotel buildings. This was one of those. There was a very large crowd there and one of the elevators was out of service, and being on the 9th floor it was a bit of a hassel. The front desk staff was very friendly as was the tiki bar personnel. However, it rained some and they closed early and never did reopen after the typical Florida summer afternoon rain shower past. Overall, probably good for a family with small kids but would avoid for any kind of romantic weekend unless your on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a strip mall across the street with some grocery shopping which works out well when you get an efficency.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fairgator
gainesville, florida
Aug 5, 2012

Good hotel for price

Overall experience was good for the price to have an efficiency room on the beach. We have stayed at this hotel several times so we have past experience. The disappointments were that one of the elevators was down so there was a long wait and that the indoor pool was closed which was not disclosed anywhere until we went to use it and it was locked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duff's buffet has a good variety for the price.

Back to menu Return to top