Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Meli
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
encswsm
Business
Covington, La
Mar 17, 2013

Hey its Bike Week

We went to this hotel for Bike week. It was basicly a crash pad. I have stayed here about 5 times inthe past over the last ten years and it has always been a decent hotel. It could use a freshening up i.e. new-carpet and newer furniture/deco. It was also showing signs of need for some serious maintanence. The parking grage had jacks holding up the ceiling and some of the railings had the cement held on with wire ties. With that said it was clean and the location was unbeataable. we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Cracked Egg for breakfast. it was awesome...

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disipointed
Business
Ohio
Mar 3, 2013

Never again

My stay at this hotel was less then positive. Parts of building falling off onto parking lot so 29 parking places roped off. NO PARKING FOR 29 GUEST. I was also charged $110. for using a online travel service. Was told I should have booked thru the hotel. Room door had been kicked in and whould not lock. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nascarfan88
Business
Aberdeen, Md
Feb 26, 2013

Great for the Price

My experience was perfect. This is not a 5-star hotel, but for the price I paid for the Daytona Race weekend and the location, 6 miles fromthe track I have no complaints. The room was clean, and the front desk employees were very friendly and extremely helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kooter48
Business
OHIO
Feb 20, 2013

Great

The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant and it was reasonably priced. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not A Fan of this place
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Feb 18, 2013

Waste of Money

Stayed here and had a really good experience back in the early 90's - figured they may be up with the times and changes, but boy was I wrong, place is old and falling apart. On top of that, the indoor pool is no longer working, however they still list in on their website), and then if you book online, they charge you a 10.00 a night resort fee, this place is far from a resort, oh but they do have 2 new hot tubs - woo hoo. JOKE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwelton
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Feb 18, 2013

Gross

I stayed at this hotel and I travel quite a bit. I stayed her with a cheer team. This is the most disgusting hotel I have everrrrrrr stayed in. Filth, gross, nasty doesn't even describe this hotel. I would not even walk across carpet without my shoes on. I didn't want my kids touching anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish Grill - Yummmm

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pocwatjim
Business
Decatur, TN
Feb 16, 2013

La Playa ,Avoid this place!

Roaches in room. Carpet 15 years old ,had stains and was in shreads in several places. TV picture fuzzy on all channels. Tub and sink faucets would not cut off. toilet would work unless you held the handle for 2 minutes sheets would't fit the bed and you were sleeping on the mattress in the morning. were .It was a very unplesent 5 day stay. We have stayed there for the last 4 years in Feb. while attending a Watch & Clock show at the Ocean center and it has finally gotten so low we will not even consider it unless they do a complete remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chief 11
Business
Daytona Beach
Jan 29, 2013

Met the needs of the Family

The experience at the hotel was good. It met the needs of my family, and the price we paid was fair. Yes, it is an aging hotel but it served its function. The hot tub was out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccpcola
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 28, 2013

Best view on the Beach

Had a free upgrade to studio style room. The space was very large and we had the best view you can ask for, 8th floor. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Only downfall would be the carpet. Where socks, pretty old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riptides. On the Atlantic side. Locally owned and operated. Very nice staff and TV's at the bar for sports fans.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
geminimatt
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jan 21, 2013

Great view, just needs a good makeover

The location is perfect. Unfortunetly there were a few issues that really took away the speciality vacation I was hoping for. The balcony and the chairs on the balcony were covered in bird pooh, eww. Just simply having the housekeeping clean that before check in would have been nice. One of the main goal of the vacation was to relax in a hot tub, jacuzzi, to releave some back and knee pain. Neither one of the hot tubs were working, if I knew that I might have stayed somewhere else. The kitchenette was nice but very dated. The carpet in the entire room was loose, torn and or filthy. Bad enough that we were both did not take our shoes off the entire time in the room, except to sleep. Again the hotel is ok for the price, but we will choose to stay somewhere else next time, even if it means spending a little more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top