Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2014 Check-out: May 16, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
173 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
173 out of 173
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
Laura Meli
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
slowsky
pa
Jan 20, 2014

ill be back

Under construction but it didn't bother me. Staff was great. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
Ms Shepherd
Elizabeth, NJ
Dec 26, 2013

Horrible!

This had to be the worst experience EVER> there were kids in town, yelling and banging on the balconies. the hotel is a dirty motel!. pool and halls and elevator like a old ghetto projects. the website makes it what it is not! Never, they made me hate Daytona Beach florida forever. dirty windows and doors. balony overlooks another abandoned hotel and the dumpster. the tiki bar is some old drunk wht lady selling drinks off a big white cardboard sign....HORRIBLE. Never again. Im black and my dad always said if u see too many blks there then don't stay, I should have listened to him, my parents stayed at the Wynham. Close to everything with an amazing view and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
Bernie 72
Middleburg, Florida
Jun 25, 2013

Stay not great

Hotel was ok. Staff could be more friendlier, they weren't that outgoing. Even overheard some of them complain about the hotel and going to work at another. They were also in the middle of remodeling so parking was terrible. Might not go nack to this location, undecided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
Lotsa guts
Topeka Ks
Jun 20, 2013

Old and Worn Out!!!

The whole place is falling apart. We saw a man fall through a deck because of rotten boards. The Resort fee of $10.00 a night was absolutely rediculous. This isn't a resort , it was just a room to stay in close to the beach. The parking had been cut in half because of construction. It was almost impossible to find a place to park if you came back to the Hotel after 4:00 p.m. Wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Publix Grocery Store was in the Shopping Center across the street as well as other stores.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
SUPER PAPI
Miami, Fl
Jun 3, 2013

NASTY HOTEL INFRASTRUCTURE STATE

WHEN WE ARRIVED THE PERSON WHO WAS IN THE FRONT DESK HAD A DISCUSSION WITH 10 GUEST. IT WAS A BAD FIRST IMPRESSION. HE WAS NICE WITH ME. THE MAIN ENTRANCE WAS CLOSE AND WE HAD TO ENTER BY THE SIDE OF THE HOTEL WAS NEXT TO THE TRASH AND THE SMELL WAS HORRIBLE AND ALL THE STAIRS AND DOORS WERE DIRTY AND RUSTY. THAT WAS VERY NASTY ESPECIALLY FOR OUR CHILDREN. THE LOCK OF THE DOOR OF OUR ROOM WAS BROKEN AND THE LAST DAY FALL DOWN 2 BOLTS. WE WERE IN THE 3RD. FLOOR AND THE ICE MAKER IN THAT FLOOR DOESN'T WORK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I HOPE RESTAURANT.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
JanetJ
Jacksonville.fl
May 21, 2013

Not recommended!

This was absolutely the nastiest place I have ever stayed! Upon walking into the room after checking in the carpet was wet obviously due to it being cleaned before we arrived. The first thing I did was look for bed bugs! The room had an old stuffy odor! Plaster was coming off of the ceiling and patches of carpet thruout the room was missing from wear and tear. This place totally falsified their rooms. It was obvious the one we were in was NOT refurbished! The bed was unfortable and the linens were as well. Very disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
G'ma BP
Illinois
May 14, 2013

Good price for area

Needs remodel job. Holes in carpet. Bedding old. Towels thin and greyed. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast served was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Publix market across the street

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
louna
orlando, florida
May 13, 2013

not a safe place

we went to swim and our cloth and slippers were stolen. other guests had the same issues. front desk could not do anything because they said they are responsible for the pool area. I will never book through third party especially at this hotel. not a safe place to stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
Ray May
Oviedo florida
May 6, 2013

La playa hotel

Very good fun experience I had a wonderful time. I would recommend people to stay there due to the cost and due to the friendliness of the staff members aboard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza place $1 a piece

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
Family Trip 2013
An Hour From The Beach
May 6, 2013

Good, Could Have Been Better

Great location - can walk from hotel right to the beach. Somewhat clean - NO BUGS, kitchen needed detail work - table not moved to mop, corners, etc. Floors REALLY need shampooing - had to wear shoes in room at all times because my socks turned black. Staff was friendly, but not very helpful - did not direct us to our room. Expected white comforters from pictures - they were thin brown blankets sandwiched between two white sheets. Overall though - we'd go back because of the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top