Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
187 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Playa Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Meli
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whiskeydawn
St. Louis
May 31, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

There is a grocery store, liquor store, wall greens, laundromat, and a Denny's right across the street. The pool is large and goes to 10 feet deep. I liked this hotel and would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation0521
Daytona beach
May 29, 2014

Bad bad bad

Room door would barely lock, balcony door would come off its track and get stuck. Found a roach in the shower, someone had literally pooped in the elevator while someone else had set off a stink bomb in the stairwell. Tiki bar is what sold me on the hotel when booking online, but it was rarely open!!! Closed at 5pm! If you just want to be by the beach and don't care for amenities, this place would be ok. I will not be going back, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charlie Horse restaurant is a must! Next to Olive Garden and bonefish grill

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dolphinslady
florida
Apr 29, 2014

Awesome place for vacation!

Great location. Great staff. Great amenities. Great entertainment in the hotel. Easy check in and out. Had a wonderful time will stay again soon! One con...wifi links are not very strong when moving around hotel but there are many wifi links to connect to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Funny!!

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ducky10
Palm Bay, fl
Apr 28, 2014

Weekend getaway ...

The hotel was slightly dirty. The rooms were outdated and the food they served tasted like plastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gooma123
ocala fl
Apr 13, 2014

weekend getaway

Our room looked to be newly remodeled. It was spring break and all seemed calm. Great place to stay for any length of time. Would stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shae Vandyke
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach Fl
Mar 24, 2014

Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ana mireles
Florida
Mar 24, 2014

Horrible

Terrible costumer service haded to go tell front desk people to open the spa tub and they will always lie they they were sending somebody over waited the entire day and when i went for the 4 th time they told me that they could not open it cause it was passed 7pm and they close it at that time they could of just be honest about it and tell me the truth so i wouldnt have been waiting . We pay to stay there and enjoy the amenties and they dont let us use it !! They Shoulf inform everyone that is booking that its going to be close and not lie about it!!! WILL NEVER STAY BACK AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deiddy
eustis fl
Mar 24, 2014

I would never stay there again

The staff members were very rude... and were very agrasive to the people staying there.... the water pool was very cold zand the hot tubs were always closed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bikeweek2014
LBI, NJ
Mar 17, 2014

great staff, bad facility

Kitchen beyond old (rusty etc), stove needed service upon arrival as only one burner worked, had to ask for pots, pans (chore to clean as they are not non-stick) and cooking utensils. no toaster available. balcony slider was screwed shut and we were unable to get ANY fresh air. Slider was covered with dust and spackled concrete so the "ocean view" was not enjoyable at all. Construction next door was also unsightly. Heat was broken when we came home one evening and maintenance was going off duty so we were offered blankets or switch rooms.... (we had unpacked for a week with groceries etc. switching rooms at 11pm at night after a day out and about was not really an option, so we took the blankets and froze anytime we have to get out of bed.) another morning we were woken by work being done on the unit next to us... called the front desk and were told they would be finished in a few hours. they were drilling into the concrete and the noise traveled loudly throughout the unit, speaking was impossible. Manager did give us a night back and waived the resort fees because this was unacceptable. Staff was very friendly and quick when we did call with needs (stove repair, request for kitchen items). the lobby and pool area are nice, but very misleading to the condition of the actual rooms. Unit smelled and was awful the night the heat did not work to even circulate are. there was a smell of wet animal that lingered and was present everytime we returned to the unit. They were very accommodating to bikers and had towels, buckets and hose for cleaning bikes and special parking. Would only stay here again for 1/2 the price of what we actually paid. not worth the price at such a peak time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Back Roads USA
Taunton, MA
Mar 4, 2014

Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff was very friendly and answered all of our questions with a smile. One day our room was not cleaned properly and after I made a polite call to the front desk they immediately sent the housekeeping staff back to tend to our room. We already booked another room for next week and we are looking forward to staying here again! The room was very large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top