Rate based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura Meli
Friends
Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Apr 16, 2012

You get what you pay for

The room was clean and big with a kitchen. Doors had some issues but nothing major. If your looking for a basic hotel this is it. Far from the boardwalk on foot. Staff could have been more helpful. Nice pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Talitravels
Single
New York City, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Didn't meet expectations

The room's carpet was filthy and the quality of everything from the walls to the sheets was old and needs work. The lights went out in several rooms during my stay, for about an hour on one of the days. The staff didn't have a clear response, or time frame, and had no idea what was going on. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the location was semi-convenient with access to a strip mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juicyfruit
Couples
Orlando Fl
Oct 1, 2012

My Anniversary

I love this place it is always clean welcomes couples and families the same. The front desk are always striving to make your stay great..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RipTides Raw Bar

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy mom 1
Family
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2012

Going down hll

I have been coming to Daytona for 20 years. For years I stayed at the same place until it sold out and the rates went up and was not worth the price. I stayed several diffrent places until I came across La Playa and this was our 3rd year staying there. The hotel had a good price it was clean and we had plenty of room with the murphy bed. This year though may me the end of La Playa for us. The room was in really rough shape. The door knob between rooms was barely on, we had no TV service in the living area due to a cable problem and was restored until 2 days before check out (they did us 2 complmentary breakfast for that), I saw 2 roaches in bathroom, the carpet was nasty looking and the tiki bar was open at random times and you never knew when you went down to get a drink if it would be open or not. They do have security now though, which is a good thing, but did not see what help they were considering they had people at all hours of the night being extremly loud ( 1am to 3 am). They said they are under new management and that they are redoing it. They should not have chraged what they did this year for the room and it definitly will not be worth no more even if they do take care of all the problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fairgator
Family
gainesville, florida
Aug 5, 2012

Good hotel for price

Overall experience was good for the price to have an efficiency room on the beach. We have stayed at this hotel several times so we have past experience. The disappointments were that one of the elevators was down so there was a long wait and that the indoor pool was closed which was not disclosed anywhere until we went to use it and it was locked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duff's buffet has a good variety for the price.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CaronSS
Friends
South Shore, Montreal,Quebec, Canada
Mar 10, 2012

Correct

Our room was oceanview efficiency with a kitchenette, everything was functional, we would appreciate a toaster, don't count on the cofee supply; i'ts just enough to make an half cup!! The beds got a little rebound but even comfortable. The hotel location is good, near a liquor store, pharmacy, groceries, restaurant. The outside and inside pool are not heating. The two outside spa are not functional, the inside one is very small. There's a beach volleyball playground but full of seaweed. All things considered, we enjoy being to LaPlaya, the price vs. quality is correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the bus service for transport. It cost 12 dollars for a week pass and got a large network. Be careful with the schedule during special event (ex: Nascar) night time or week-end.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christine G.
Single
Brewster, NY
Jan 19, 2012

Pleasant Experience

I didn't check the reviews of this hotel prior to booking and after reading them I was a little worried about what I should expect. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. Although the hotel is definitely in need of some cosmetic updates, it was an overall positive experience. The breakfast dining at the hotel was good but it would be better if they served breakfast, lunch and dinner as there are not alot of other restaurants in the immediate area so without a car you are kind of stuck. The hotel was located at the northern end of Daytona Beach so it was a nice relaxing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a plaza across the street from the hotel which holds a Publix Supermarket and some discount stores which was helpful.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRoW
Family
Jackson, TN
Sep 5, 2011

Worst Experience Ever

The LaPlaya Resort & Suites was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First upon trying to enter the room the key card didn't work, had to go back down to the front desk to get another card which didn't work either. Had to go back down to the front desk and maintenance was called to come repair door. Finally upon entering the room I thought I was being punked. It was utterly terrible. The carpet was soiled and filthy, the bath towels were dingy and overused, the comforters on the beds were from the 60's. Later in the night I had a guest to visit, the roaches, I couldn't believe it, no excuse for a hotel to have roaches to that magnitude it was ridiculous. The next day maintenance came back to spray for the roaches but later that night they were worst. I thank LaPlaya for making my first stay in Flordia the worst experience ever for me. The staff was not friendly and not really willing to help when called upon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dici
Couples
netherlands
Dec 12, 2010

as not good at all

the room was outdated with a lot of worn bedding, towels and carpet. broken material like curtains and airco, light on balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billyd
Couples
glen burnie, maryland
Apr 15, 2010

good location

Not bad location,nice water front view,room doors were hard to close and the air conditioner in the family room did not work plus we called 3 times for someone to fix it but it never fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sequim, Washington
Jul 8, 2009

Great Getaway

We had a great time. The location was awsome. With a rental care we were able to go to various places.Like musuems, lighthouse, chocolate factory, the speedway, comedy show. We went to Orlando, went on a air boat ride, gatorland, Titanic tour,went to a Luau dinner. We found lots of great resturants. We would do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top