La Playa Resort

2 stars
2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
190 reviews
Fantastic family getaway!

loved it .Great view of the beach large pool an outdoor bar area! See full review

  • Shae Vandyke
  • Mar 24, 2014
Had a great time!

We had an ocean front view room. Each morning we saw the sunrise and dolphins playing. The staff... See full review

  • Back Roads USA
  • Mar 4, 2014
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Punchy92
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Great Location

The room was ok. I didn't really like the beds. They reminded me of a nursing home. They could really use a upgrade. Other than that, the hotel was nice. Especially the indoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Chipole

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christine G.
Business
Brewster, NY
Jan 19, 2012

Pleasant Experience

I didn't check the reviews of this hotel prior to booking and after reading them I was a little worried about what I should expect. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. Although the hotel is definitely in need of some cosmetic updates, it was an overall positive experience. The breakfast dining at the hotel was good but it would be better if they served breakfast, lunch and dinner as there are not alot of other restaurants in the immediate area so without a car you are kind of stuck. The hotel was located at the northern end of Daytona Beach so it was a nice relaxing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a plaza across the street from the hotel which holds a Publix Supermarket and some discount stores which was helpful.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vlk1302
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 30, 2011

dream cruise 2011

hotel was in center of all the festivities, beautiful view of shopping center to see all the muscle cars and also the ocean. The rooms need to be updated but was clean and comfy. Will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRoW
Business
Jackson, TN
Sep 5, 2011

Worst Experience Ever

The LaPlaya Resort & Suites was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First upon trying to enter the room the key card didn't work, had to go back down to the front desk to get another card which didn't work either. Had to go back down to the front desk and maintenance was called to come repair door. Finally upon entering the room I thought I was being punked. It was utterly terrible. The carpet was soiled and filthy, the bath towels were dingy and overused, the comforters on the beds were from the 60's. Later in the night I had a guest to visit, the roaches, I couldn't believe it, no excuse for a hotel to have roaches to that magnitude it was ridiculous. The next day maintenance came back to spray for the roaches but later that night they were worst. I thank LaPlaya for making my first stay in Flordia the worst experience ever for me. The staff was not friendly and not really willing to help when called upon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristina
Business
Daytona beach, fl la Playa hotel
Aug 20, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

this hotel was absolutely disgusting. I wish I could get a refund. The beach was beautiful though. Oceanview from the side hardly. Only received room service when we checked in. Employees are very rude and unwelcoming. I suggest never staying at la Playa in daytona beach. Pool was small and salty. Hot tub can onlyfit three people. Since we never got room service in the week we were there we had to use the same towels everyday. Oh blood stain on the floor. Absolutely no lock on the door, talk about safety. Overall all I want my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Casselberry, FL
Aug 9, 2011

Close to everything we needed.

The hotel has seen better days but it was clean. And best of all we had a bed for everyone. Finding a hotel for 5 is hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearwater, Fl
Aug 8, 2011

Horrible experience, BAD service

Me and 3 other friends had our worst experience at this hotel and we highly recommend to everybody to not stay at this hotel. Our first night we had to switch rooms because the A/C broke, so they move our rooms and then the next day a family comes into our room because the people at the front desk didnt switch our rooms on the computer so we were rudely intruded on. This hotel charged us $20 for parking which is rediculous and 2 of the nights we couldnt even find a spot at the hotel because they had some comedy club going on. Our room had a kitchenette but had no pans to cook with so we had to call twice for a pan and no one ever brought it up so we had to go out to eat every night so that was a waste. One of my friends left her heels in the first room we were in so the next day we go back to get them and they were gone and houskeeping said they never saw them when they specifically were left in the other room. We asked to speak to a manager and the 2 workers at the front desk kept ignoring us and avoiding contacting the manager. overall this was my worst experience with a hotel and it deffinately put a damper on our trip. And worst of all after all the hassle we went through you figure they could at least give us some kind of discount for the trouble but all we get from the lady is a apology. NOT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. They need to be trained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont stay here this hotel is horrible

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando FL
Aug 3, 2011

Good Stay

we had good stay my boys enjoyed the indoor pool and see the ocean when they opened there eyes in the morning. also having everything so close-by we nice the room was very clean. the one thing I would say is a little paint would put it over the top and having the pool bar open at night would have been nice too but we will be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

we got a big breadfest with left overs for under $20.00 for all 4 us.

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2011

La Playa Roach Resort!!!

La Playa ROACH Resort from HELL. My family was disgusted by the condition of our room. This is the first and last time we will ever stay at this hotel. My family did NOT sleep under the covers at this nasty roach motel! Yes, there was roaches everywhere! The kitchen appliances were older than I am and very dirty. The carpet was so bad we had to throw away our kids socks and the entire room smelled horrible. The sheets were not changed and the bathroom was filthy. To make matters worse we could not find any coke machines or ice machines that actually worked. We were going to stay a few days longer but could not stand to stay in such a nasty place. I have stayed at many places along the beach and this is the worst we have ever seen! Do not believe the pictures online! My family will NEVER stay at this roach infested trash heap again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do NOT stay at this hotel! Find a nice clean hotel to stay at. NOT worth the money you spend here!

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rablack21
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 9, 2011

Great Price for a decent place

The hotel was very clean and right on the beach. The had a nice pool and tiki bar. The price was unbeatable and the view was beautiful. My only complaint was that the air conditioner in our room didn't work very well, so it got hot in our room at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top