Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

La Playa Resort

2 stars
View map of 2500 N Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
206 reviews
arrived for bike week. was a nice ce short ride to main st. great location all around

Saw it had a kitchenette. Thought I could get some clams to steam but no pots or pans. Dishes and... See full review

  • Alan P.
  • Mar 21, 2015
good trip

nice. hotel......! I would'd go there again went for the Daytona 500 only a ten minute drive from... See full review

  • Robert F.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Vibrant Daytona oceanfront resort offers sun, sand and entertainment

Beach-lovers flock to this lively resort a few miles north of the Daytona strip. This is a quieter part of the beach, but no less vibrant when the live entertainment kicks up poolside. The beach here is wide and stretches for miles in both directions, perfect for walking and biking. The Caribbean-themed rooms have balconies with ocean views. La Playa Resort is within walking distance to restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the speedway and several golf courses.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront pool and lounge and kiddie pool
  • Hot Tubs
  • Tiki Bar
Rooms

The 238 stylishly decorated rooms at La Playa Resort have a distinctive Caribbean feel, with colorful fabrics and wood furniture. The rooms are housed within an nine-story structure and all come with private balconies and ocean views. Other amenities include kitchenettes, premium cable television, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers with gourmet coffee and tea.

Features

La Playa Resort is situated on a magnificent section of a wide 23-mile beach. The hard-packed sand and refreshing surf attract sunbathers, swimmers, surfers and bike riders. Motorized water sports such as jet-skiing and parasailing are available nearby. The Ocean Waters Spa offers a variety of European Spa treatments overlooking the ocean.


The oceanfront pool deck is a perfect respite from the salt water and sand. The poolside Tiki Bar serves lunch and drinks, and live entertainment performs poolside on weekends. The resort is convenient to numerous restaurants and shops, including a large shopping center across the street. Plan a day trip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • I-95 (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (82 mi/131.9 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Ocean Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Universal Studios (72.3 mi/116.3 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (72.5 mi/116.6 km)
  • Disney World (85.5 mi/137.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting/banquet facilities accommodating 10 to 300 people
  • Conference center
Policies and fees
  • Please be advised that room balconies are closed and the hotel exterior only provides limited access due to renovations.
  • All guests must be 18 years of age or older, with proper id. Deposits $100 USD per person. Fully refundable provided no damage to room.
  • Max 4 per occupancy per room. Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  • Pets under 25 lbs are allowed for $15 per night/pet.
  • The hotel charges $9.95 resort fee per day for amenities including parking, in-room safe, coffee and Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

La Playa Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Compact refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Sunrise Suite
Two double beds in separate bedroom. Furnished, step-out balcony with ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. Double pull-down bed in living room. Table and chairs. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Full kitchen includes apartment sized refrigerator; stove; microwave; coffeemaker; and pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with oceanfront view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Kitchen-area with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Oceanview Efficiency
Two double beds. Furnished, step-out balcony with partial ocean view. Tropical decor with light wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access. Cable TV. Separate kitchen with apartment sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, table and chairs, dishes, utensils, pots, and pans. Mirrored closet doors. In-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.2629 -81.0252
Area served
On Daytona Beach. Just across the street to the Bellair Plaza shopping center and 2 miles from the center of the City.
Nearby airports
Daytona International Airport.
Area description
Just miles from the hotel you will find Ponce Inlet lighthouse and Daytona Speedway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 6 mi

Dining

Tiki Bar
For light fare food and cocktails.
Veranda
Open daily for breakfast.
Penthouse Lounge
Fantastic oceanfront views located on the top floor.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Playa Resort offers beautiful meeting and banquet facilities. Accommodating from 10 to 300 people, the La Playa Resort is the perfect place to hold your corporate meeting, reunion, wedding, or banquet. Specializing in smaller sized groups allows us to provide you a warm, personal atmosphere. Our 3,800 sq. ft. ballroom can accommodate up to 220 people for dinner or divides into two smaller areas of 2,280 and 1,520 sq. ft. for meetings and smaller groups. With a wide variety of menus and prices available, we'll help you plan the perfect event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Playa Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calvin W.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

great time for my family and friends

We had a wonderful time during our stay, can't wait to go back!! The ladies at the front desk were awesome....they really made it easy to check in, and were very professional!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lace G.
Business
Flint
Apr 21, 2015

family get way

Hotel was really old far away from fun things it was walking distance of a few restaurants it was a ok get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rena A
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

Family trip spring break

The hotel was good for a last minute book. Beach front with nice pool and place for adults to get a drink and socialize with other adults staff nice and helpful. Parking was close and store close. I would stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brittany R.
Business
Baldwin
Apr 6, 2015

Stay somewhere else!

Super RUDE staff, ruined the entire feel of the hotel. Rooms could have been MUCH cleaner, broken door to balcony, which made enjoying our ocean view room rather difficult. Phone in room was broke, so we couldn't even call the front lobby for assistance. Stay somewhere else!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shaoling
Business
Ravenel
Apr 6, 2015

An old hotel, but good location.

We booked an ocean view room for 3 nights, upon arrival, realize that the room is not oceanfront. Our room is on the north side of the hotel, which if you stayed at 6th floor or above, you will have a good ocean view. Construction of other hotel is right on front of our room. The room we stay is very outdated. A old19in tube TV. So old that color has darkened. The cabinet is chipped and door don't close itself. However we did have a good stay. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is located at about 2 miles from all the shops and traffic. And publix is right across street. pool, hot tub and beach made the trip very pleasant:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan U.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Last minute get away

We booked at LaPlaya mostly because of lack of options because we booked quite late and the remaining options where either $40 a night with awful reviews or $300 a night and we weren't trying to go that route either. The location, being right on the beach was very nice and a Publix right across the street was very convenient. The hotel was ok, very old and nothing updated but clean for the age. The kitchenette was a good amenity as we made our own breakfast and lunch each day. The staff was pleasant. The complaints I would have include being able to hear the spring break kids running up and down the hall ways and on their balcony until 4am and the entire (and I mean entire) hotel smelling of marijuana. I know it was spring break but we were close to leaving the first night because it seemed every other room in the place was there just to smoke. I've never experienced such overwhelming use, it made it a poor choice to take our 5 year old, another time of year may have been different. Secondly you cannot purchase a parking pass for a second vehicle so if you are traveling with more than one you'll have to find parking somewhere else and walk or get picked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan P.
Business
N/A
Mar 21, 2015

arrived for bike week. was a nice ce short ride to main st. great location all around

Saw it had a kitchenette. Thought I could get some clams to steam but no pots or pans. Dishes and silverware were there.otherwise slept with the 2nd floor balcony door open. Woke to a great sun rise and loud, ocean waves. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather W
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Quick trip to Daytona

Hotel staff was very friendly. Rooms and appliances were a little outdated for normal pricing but we used a promotion code so they were just fine for the price we paid. Great location right on the beach. Though we didn't use them, they had a very large (up to 10' deep pool), two hot tubs, and a tiki bar. Hotel is also pet friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana F.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Perfect family get away

My family & I had alot of fun the hotel was perfect for the price. Huge money saver. Nice big room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Playa Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert F.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

good trip

nice. hotel......! I would'd go there again went for the Daytona 500 only a ten minute drive from the track

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top