Rate based on Check-in: Feb 24, 2015 Check-out: Feb 26, 2015

El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

3 stars
2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
204 reviews
great place for the price

Had a great time, will stay again, hope to stay one month next January, staff is great, older hotel... See full review

  • Donald H.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Weekend Vacatiom

LOVE this hotel. We stay here every time we come to daytona. It is always clean and it's a stones... See full review

  • jordienicki
  • Oct 27, 2014
Family friendly beachfront resort brings flavor of Caribbean to Daytona

With its plush lawn, palm trees and soft green paint scheme, guests feel the vibe of the Caribbean the moment they arrive at the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center. The magnificent beach and warmly decorated rooms only enhance the vibe. Beach lovers and water sports enthusiasts will find the beach perfect for swimming, surfing, bike riding and lounging. Just as refreshing are two oceanfront pools. Numerous shops and restaurants are within walking distance, and parking on-site is free.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Walking distance to shops and dining
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Two oceanfront pools
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Most of the 107 eye-catching rooms, efficiencies and suites at the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center feature private balconies with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are decorated in bright, warm colors that stick with the Caribbean palette. All feature refrigerators, microwaves and complimentary wireless Internet access.

Features

The beach in front of the El Caribe Resort and Conference Center is wide and stretches for miles in either direction. Guests spend days engaging in refreshing water sports (motorized sports are available for rent nearby), bike riding the 23-mile long beach, cooling off in the ocean, or relaxing beside one of the two oceanfront pools.

The resort is centrally located within walking distance to numerous dining establishments, shops, clubs and a water park. Ponce Inlet, a scenic beach town a few miles south, has numerous waterfront restaurants and two marinas with fishing guides. Pack up for a worthwhile daytrip to Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • I-95 (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (75.8 mi/122 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Marine Science Center (9.7 mi/15.6)
  • Florida Tennis Center (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (61.4 mi/98.8 km)
  • Universal Studios (66 mi/106.2 Km)
  • Disney World (79.2 mi/127.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

El Caribe Resort and Conference Center Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers 2 Queen Beds, mini refrig with microwave and coffee maker, a private balcony facing the beach and the beautiful Atlantic ocean. Each room is equipped with data port phones for internet connections.(phone sur-charge applies)Each room has Free WI-FI service for wireless internet connection.
Oceanfront Motel
Ocean Front Room featuring two queen size beds, balcony, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Connecting ability to an efficiency room. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed guest rooms. Free Parking
Oceanfront Efficiency
Ocean Front Efficiency featuring two queen size beds or one king size bed, refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, Temperature control, Connecting ability to a room. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed efficiencies. Free Parking
Oceanview Studio Apartment
Oceanview Suite featuring two double Murphy beds and two double sofa beds. Private balcony and a floor to ceiling bay window. Kitchen equipped with a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining area with table and chairs. Individual temperature control. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board. Ability to connect with an efficiency. 580 sq ft. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed Seven Seas Suite. Free Parking
One Bedroom Apartment
Oceanfront One Bedroom Suite featuring two-queen size beds in the bedroom and a double sofa bed in the living room. Kitchen offers a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board. individual temperature control. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed one bedroom suite. Free Parking
One Bedroom Apartment with Jacuzzi Tub
Oceanfront One Bedroom Suite featuring two queen size beds and a double sofa bed in the living room. Jacuzzi tub in a spacious bathroom. Kitchen offers a refrigerator, stove with an oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pans and dishes. Dining table and chairs. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Individual temperature control. Complimentary WIFI. Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean from your private balcony in our well-appointed one bedroom penthouse Jacuzzi Suites. Free Parking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Caribe Resort and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.1977 -80.9932
Area served
Daytona Beach.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport, DAB. Sanford International Airport, SFB. Orlando International Airport, MCO.
Area description
From Daytona Airport: When leaving the airport, follow the signs that direct you to International Speedway Blvd. Turn right on International Speedway Blvd. Go approximately 4 miles to Atlantic Avenue. Turn right on Atlantic Avenue and go approximately 3 miles. El Caribe's is on your left.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.6 mi

Dining

Stavros (Off-Site)
Serving Greek/Italian/pizza. Open 11 am to 10pm. Located across the street. Dress Code: Casual.
Inlet Harbour: (Off-Site)
Serving steaks/seafood/pasta. Open 11 am to 11:30 pm. Located on the water in Ponce Inlet, 5 miles N. Dress Code: Casual.
Deck Down Under (Off-Site)
Serving Seafood. Open 11 am to 11 pm. Located on the water, 2 miles NE. Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Shy
Orlando, FL
Mar 23, 2012

Family getaway

I was happy to find out when we first arrived that we were allowed to check in a little early, because our room was clean. We got in our room to find out, it was anything but clean! The side of the fridge was all dirty, and there was hair in the sink and on the counter. We went back to get a different room, and because of the trouble,we were upgraded to an oceanfront room, and we had a great time. I would recommend this hotel, I just hope, the maids do a better job cleaning so the same thing doesn't happen to someone else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiger 241
Business
Kannapolis, NC, USA
Mar 22, 2012

great all way around

Could not find anything wrong. It was a great place to stay. The rooms was clean and the BEDS was good . The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Good location and great ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Winn Dixie across street

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KCBoonBiker
Business
Maryland, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Good location for price

Good location, close to main peir in Daytona, rooms are big & have a nice ocean view but carpet could use a good cleaning. Walking distance to several restaurants & bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mike's Galley for breakfast, huge portions, very reasonable prices.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jvman6969
Business
Illinois
Nov 1, 2011

Needs some attention

Room needed paint and new doors. Ours looked to have been kicked in several times. No TV remote. Nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina33
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Great Value

The room was clean and comfortable. We booked a room that was the hotels choice and got a full kitchen with our room. It's not the most convenient location to the boardwalk at Daytona, but it's in a quiet area a few miles away. There are two pools and one is heated but there were a lot of dead bugs in one of them. The views from the rooms are pricelss though as they all face the ocean :). I come to this hotel anytime I need a weekend getway or send my mom to the beach to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rurich
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Aug 17, 2011

great nostalgist hotel.

The hotel took my back to my younger days. The grounds were well kept. The room was great. The first room was a side view and the lock broke, but no big deal. They moved us right away to an ocean front. Staff was supper friendly. Hotel was about 2 miles from the board walk so the beach was quiet. This is a great hotel. Loved our stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great hotel at a value price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bubba Gumps has great seafood at the board walk and the Daytona water park is great.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
myrtle beach, sc
Aug 1, 2011

good family resort

this hotel is a good choice for families, south end of daytona, a little more low key and less crowded, plenty of room to run on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jul 19, 2011

Enormous Room

This was a total beach trip! Very relaxing. We spent a little bit of time at the pools. They were both great too..but we LOVE the ocean and beach. The only thing I would change if I was management was the pool towels...very tiny and thin. We were visiting my son that livea there, so we got beach towels and chairs from him. Also, it would be nice to be able to rent beach chairs and umbrellas from the hotel or better yet, have them included in your price...but other than that...everything was great. It is an older hotel, but it was very CLEAN AND MANAGEMENT AND EMPLOYEES VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL! Also nice to have breakfast included. This was our first real extensive hotel stay..nothing to really compare to. Also, we were amazed at how huge our room was and we had a great view of the ocean on our balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few breakfast places, pizza and others within walking distance. A grocery store across the street. But, if you have a car, there are many choices for a short drive.

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 11, 2011

Great rooms!

First impressions were that the place was nothing like the photos. Hotel staff was rude when asked questions they must have thought were obvious answers. Rooms were nice though! Kitchenette can stocked with glassware and pans for cooking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, CA
Jul 4, 2011

do not stay at this "resort"

DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF STAYING HERE. This is a MOTEL (the fleabag type), NOT a resort. Absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. The lock on our door did not work. Maintenance installed a new one which still did not work. The hotel was willing to switch out my room for one of LESSER value -- after seeing mine I couldn't believe they HAD anything of lesser value. Next day, the lock situation got worse and we couldn't get out of our room. that night you could no longer get into the room without the maintenance man, who did not want to fix the lock because it was late and his shift was ending (now we can no longer leave the room without one person staying behind). Next day, the front desk was making fun of us because at this point we demanded the lock be fixed. Terrible. Rooms stunk of old cigarettes and bug spray (not the kind you wear), bugs were coverering one of the walls outside our room, the room next to ours had a sign on it stating "chemicals in use" which I'm guessing were for fumigating. So disgusted that we left the hotel and the beach and opted to spend the rest of our vacation in orlando instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 21, 2011

Hotel was aging, but clean

This is an aging property that is desperately in need of a facelift. I believe that it may be ranked as a 3 star hotel, but due to its age, it's really a 2 star hotel. However, the hotel is very clean and it has a friendly and attentive staff. The location is great, and the grounds are well-kept. I thought that we paid too much for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top