Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
437 reviews
Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money. See full review

  • The real Merrill
  • Aug 28, 2014
Enjoyable stay

We only spent one night but I have to say that staff were the friendliest I've seen in a long time.... See full review

  • HappyHappy14
  • Aug 9, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wallers
Business
Bolton UK
Jun 5, 2013

Fantastic 4 day stay in DC

First time in DC for a holiday break, we chose the hotel from the Internet and wasn't disappointed everything was what we expected, the room was upgraded at no extra cost, breakfast was varied and food was an exellent standard, staff where helpfull and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, great stay would book this again if we go back to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Booked the Big Red Bus for 48 hours free river trip included plus free entry to Madam Tousards an excellent way to see Washington DC you can hop on and off at all the sites buses every 20 minutes

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dint
Business
Redmond, WA
Jun 3, 2013

Check-in

The Front Desk Attendant went out of his way to find a room for my request to check-in very, very early. couldn't have been happier or more appreciative ! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RuthNYC
Business
New York City
May 20, 2013

Great hotel

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We came to D.C. for my nephew's graduation. I have no complaints. My room was smallish but adequate for our needs. It was very quiet and very clean. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious. The outdoor swimming is an added bonus. And if you forget your laptop, the business center has free internet and printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate Ken
Business
Corning, NY
May 19, 2013

Overall good experience

The only complaints were that the pool was not open and the size of the room. Apparenetly, they only open the pool on Saturdays. That would have been nice to know ahead of time. And our single-queen room was very tight, especially the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was convenient to what we wanted to do. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becca29
Business
Ohio
May 15, 2013

Okay

The hotel was okay, but we had to leave early due to an emergency and the hotel wouldn't refund us one night back because they said our reason wasn't good enough. My father being in the hospital is reason enough for me....not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
This is a pain
Business
Ames, IA
May 3, 2013

Good stay, wonderful staff

Our room was very comfortable and the internet was free. We went for a business breakfast at a fancier hotel and found the staff there unhelpful and rude. We were so pleased with the Washington Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soughingboy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 28, 2013

Great place

Great hotel, really nice staff, and they didn't nickle and dime us. Free internet, bottled water, etc....the little things made it great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonRobby
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2013

Good DC Hotel

The Washington Plaza Hotel provided us with a good stay. We were visiting a friend in Shaw, so it was very conveniently located. We also did some sightseeing, and the walk to the sites isn't bad. There's plenty of good food and coffee around. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff was excellent! They held our bags after we checked out and ordered us a car to the airport--all went off without any issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. PK
Business
Massachusetts
Apr 17, 2013

Great location

This hotel offers tourists a wonderful stay at within walking distance to everything. Self parking with in and out service. I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House is close by.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ry0304
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 16, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

Stayed here several times and will continue to come! The staff is great, and the rooms are clean! The only problem I have is the maids have walked in on me TWICE even thought I have the do not disturb sign on my door. This past weekend they woke me up at 6 AM, hoping they would go to the next room I attempted to go back to sleep, but was then looking face to face with maid who let her self right in the room! Other than that I always enjoy my stay at the plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top