Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Travelor
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 1, 2014

wonderful stay

Loved the location, price, and friendliness of the staff. Very good internet access. Only problem was the position of the TV. Could only watch from the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very diverse neighborhood from homeless beggers to the extremely wealthy. It would seem that caution is needed but people moved around with a strong sense of safety.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Discerning flyer
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 1, 2014

Very good value

The hotel is very well located (10-15 minutes walk from the White House and Du Pont Circle), It is a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len O
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Aug 29, 2014

Would stay there again.

The hotel was located about half a mile from the White House. My wife and I and a grandson stayed for four nights and went out each day to see the sights. The hotel was about 0.6 mile from the White House (as the crow flies), about a 15 minute walk. It is about 1.6 miles from the capitol and 1.2 miles from the Washington Monument and 1.6 miles from the Lincoln Memorial. We walked to each and visited other sites along the way. There was a Metro station about 3-4 blocks away. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have what appears to be a very nice dining room, but we didn't eat there. A bit pricey for our budget. The room was clean and comfortable. Our grandson loved the pool. There are many restaurants within a few blocks. Most are fast food places that we felt had good food served very quickly for the most part. They were sandwich and salad places with some other foods on the menu. We didn't go to any of them during the heavy traffic parts of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The real Merrill
Business
Wheelersburg OH
Aug 28, 2014

Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Assuming you are abled bodied, the hotel garage is a great place to leave the car. The Big Bus is good for overview and transportation to the attractions.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomlinbarry
Business
Ireland
Aug 21, 2014

Great City Location

Stayed for three nights mid August 2014.Great location, short walk downtown and to the metro. Decor a bit dated but we felt it added to the overall ambience. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent bell boys, welcoming and charming receptionist, fabulous bar staff and a very good housemaid service. Bar food (snacks) were good but did not try the restaurant. It was great to have the pool in the late evening sunshine after a long day sightseeing. Car parking was a bit pricey at $25 a night but otherwise highly recommended. Tom and Linda - Ireland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster dive, just a five minute walk, great atmosphere with helpful staff and a fab menu. Mid range pricewise.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelRachelRachel
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 18, 2014

Great convenient spot, clean and quiet

I'd definitely stay at the Washington Plaza again. I had to attend a convention at the Convention Center and it's about a 15-minute walk from it, 5-minute taxi. The rooms were very clean and amenities were standard-- nice gym and pool downstairs. You get a mini fridge too! I also had a ridiculous journey coming down from NYC and was a total mess after being on Amtrak all night-- they were cool with letting me check my bags and using the showers in the gym to freshen up for my meeting. Since my ONLY complaint about this place is that check-in is extremely late-- 3PM. They'll let you check bags and use amenities so long as you show you have a reservation but you're screwed if you need the room right away. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and courteous and it's also walking distance from a Whole Foods which is a plus for me; and the yellow line Metro I think. (Had to schlep several blocks from the red line coming from Union Station.) Nice spot I'd definitely book again just being mindful of the late check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods, if you have dietary restrictions like myself. There's a nice huge one on P Street. I saved money on breakfast I could eat in my room while watching cartoons, compared to hitting the hotel's restaurant/room service or going out to eat. It was awesome.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAJANE
Business
Dublin, CA
Aug 14, 2014

Great option if you want to stay close to major attractions

If you want to stay close to attractions and not pay a fortune this is a great place. Good rooms and service. You have to walk about a mile but if the weather cooperates, it's very convenient. Taxi to the mall is $10-$15 depending upon location so that is an option if the weather is bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to the mall. The Smithsonian museums are incredible. Depending upon how much time you have, you can spend from a couple of hours to a day at each one.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wonderninja
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 13, 2014

Great Location, nice pool, okay hotel

Check in was easy, staff was friendly. We were 'upgraded' to a balcony room overlooking the pool but if I had the option again I would take a regular room preferably on the back of the hotel. Seemed like a lot noise came through the balcony door and with it being located on a traffic circle I found it difficult to sleep. Lots of horns and sirens early (5am) in the morning and the staff rearranged the pool chairs at 6am. Room was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in and seemed sparsely furnished to make room for the balcony door. Full sized bed, No dresser, just two drawers in each night stand. Location is very convenient: close walk/bike to downtown and the sights but also a couple blocks to a local area so there is a grocery store, casual restaurants, liquor store and pharmacy close. Metro stations are also a few blocks for longer adventures. Pool was nice and clean for cooling off in the August heat but if I was going any time other than summer I may choose a different location. I'm usually pretty satisfied as long as my room is clean (yes), convenient (yes), and comfortable (sort of) but We originally booked the Residence Inn but got bumped and relocated to the Washington Plaza so it may have led to some of my disappointment. We were traveling with friends and would have liked an area to get together in the evenings. Nice enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods has a breakfast bar in the morning with hot and cold options. As a couple we had a healthy breakfast for $15-20 which pretty reasonable for DC.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelers from Buffalo
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 12, 2014

Great stay!

The hotel location is perfect for getting around DC without a car - there is a nearby Metro stop and a Capital Bikeshare right outside the hotel! There are also a lot of great restaurants on 14th st within walking distance, and a Whole Foods a couple blocks away, too. The pool was great for cooling off in after visiting the monuments and museums in August heat. Only gave 4 stars as the rooms were very small. Not much storage. We would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHappy14
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2014

Enjoyable stay

We only spent one night but I have to say that staff were the friendliest I've seen in a long time. I was a little worried because I'd read a few negative reviews but I didn't encounter a single problem. Check in/ check out was a breeze and the self parking system was easy to use. We were able to keep our car there until 6pm the day we checked out. My room was superb and everything was as it should be. We didn't use the pool but the pool area was attractive. Didn't get to try the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House was a short walk from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top