Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Washington Hilton

4 stars
1919 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
196 reviews
Executive rooms are great

Got a pretty sweet deal on the executive room, my only complain was that the view from the room was... See full review

  • niceguy1
  • Oct 22, 2013
Great place to stay

Somehow there is always a major event going on here ! Which is always fun from the sidelines to... See full review

  • Judi 13
  • Oct 8, 2013
Rooms and suites in Dupont Circle, with outdoor pool
The Washington Hilton is located in upper Dupont Circle. Restaurants, shopping and museums are an easy walk or Metro ride away. Guests appreciate the Living Well fitness center, which offers classes. The outdoor pool is a favorite during the summer months. Rooms at the Washington Hilton are comfortable with custom bedding and bath products. The District Line Restaurant serves locally inspired comfort food.

 

Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • Near restaurants, shopping and museums
  • Dedicated conference center and 110,000 square feet of function space
Location

The Washington Hilton is in northern Dupont Circle, a short walk from the Metro. The D.C. hotel is near Woodley Park, Adams Morgan nightlife and the Phillips Collection.

 

Rooms

Traditionally decorated rooms at the Washington Hilton have a work desk, flat screen television, laptop-size safe and Serenity Beds. Washington Hilton rooms have one king bed or two double beds, and suites have one king bed. Families with small children can request high chairs and cribs. Rooms are wired for high-speed Internet access.

 

Features

The outdoor pool with snack bar at the Washington Hilton is a local favorite and can get busy during the summer months. The on-site Living Well has cardio equipment, weights, a group exercise studio and classes (fees apply). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Take advantage of valet parking (fees apply) and the hotel's pet-friendly policy (fees apply, call for details).

 

Dining

The District Line Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in locally inspired comfort food. Guests mingle with colleagues at the TDL Bar, enjoying quality beer, wine and small plates. Unwind and watch the game at McClellan's Sports Bar.

 

Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro stop (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Regan National Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • The Phillips Collection (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Zoo (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Georgetown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • The White House (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • National Cathedral (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The National Mall (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.5 mi/4.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 110,000 square feet of function space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9165 -77.0455
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.2 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.2 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.2 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.6 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Hilton

Overall score

3.6 / 5
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Atlanta
Oct 31, 2010

Age has not been an improvement

The Washington Hilton has been renovated since last stayed there. My last visit was memorable and that is why I decided to return when I saw availability on [...]. Unfortunately, my memory is better than this weekend's reality. The rooms felt smaller - like the hotel needed to fit twice as many rooms in the same space. But they were clean. Some staff were great - the bell staff were exceptional but the housekeeping and customer service staff not so much. Called customer service to request water glasses not replaced by housekeeping and it took two calls to finally get a resopnse -- about an hour. I also don't understand why this hotel can orffer free WiFi in the lobby but charges 13.00 per night in the room...makes no sense to me. I figure the $28 per night self parking for my car is average for DC. I love the Hilton chain as a rule but was disappointed in this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Guapo's Mexican restaurat almost next to the Tenley Town metro stop....best I've ever eaten outside of a border town.

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Anytown, ZZ
Oct 4, 2010

You get what you pay for.

The bed was soft and the sheets were comfortable. However, the in room coffee was so bad and there was no breakfast included. I wish the latter had been more clear. I've had great coffee and breakfast at much, much lower-tier hotels. I feel like a traveller should be able to take those two things (good coffee and breakfast included) for granted, particularly at the Hilton. So, the mornings made me grumpy. Also, it would have been nice to have had an airport shuttle, but at least I knew that going into the deal. Another annoying thing was that the free wifi was only in the lobby area. There was in-room hi-speed, but at an additional daily (and high) cost. I did get a great deal on the hotel and flight together but felt like I got the second or third class room and amenities because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to use the subway/metrorail, go to the dc metro website in advance, purchase a smarTrip card online and have it sent to your home so that you'll have if prior to your arrival. This card is easy to use and reload with credit at any station, but is not available at every station.

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Oct 4, 2010

Very Nice

Very nice rooms and service. The elevators are hard to find but it's OK. Rooms were amazingly clean and the bed was very good. Even though looks old architecture, you can tell they have never stop updating their furniture, lobby, carpets, etc. I didn't know that Ronald Reagan attempt of murder had happened at this hotel until a friend told me while staying there. Interesting, life goes on!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Dupont Circle. Delicious all size restaurants in the area. Metro at Dupont Circle can take you pretty much anywhere in the city.

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

3
PGTexas
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 26, 2010

A stay with 2 Hiltons

I stayed at this Hilton location because I was in town for a conference at the Capitol Hilton. The room was fine and the staff friendly. However I would suggest a shuttle service, especially when there were at least 2 business conferences between the hotels. I also thought including gym usage in the hotel charge would have been an improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Aug 30, 2010

Beautiful Suprise

It was amazing. I wasn't expecting a room so beautiful. It was very modern, clean and fresh. I went home and immediately started shopping for things that were in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on Dupont is so close. There are beautiful little shops on every corner from the walk to Dupont Circle back to the Hotel.

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

5
ElyseUU
Greenville, Delaware
Aug 8, 2010

Well worth recommending!

My husband and I liked this hotel the minute we checked in. The staff were incredibly friendly and the hotel was very nice. We have traveled all over and throughout Europe and thought that the Washington Hilton was one of our best stays. The dining staff couldn't have been nicer, all the staff made our stay very welcoming. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to our friends. The roof top pool was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Ohio
Jul 28, 2010

Nice hotel

The restaurant staff were wonderful! Got complimentary breakfast daily which was a big plus. The pool was very difficult to find if you followed the signs. But once you found it, it was very nice. The cleaning staff were very friendly and accomodating. The walk to the metro was four blocks but the walk back is all up hill. But was a nice stay and enjoyed the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

4
lanchkhuti
Waco, Texas
Jul 28, 2010

Great Hotel

The staff was great. The location good but 4 blocks to the metro. The restaurants in the Hotel are expensive. There are many less expensive restaurants on 18th st, 10 minutes away or towards dupont Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 17, 2010

Great Experience

Great experience. Loved the outdoor pool and location. Staff were also very nice and helpful. Wireless internet in the rooms would be good to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Newseum. This museum has really great exhibits about journalists and the history of journalism.

Review of Washington Hilton

Reviewer score

5
For a wedding
syracuse NY
Jul 11, 2010

You should consider this!!!

There was a managers reception. It was wonderful and the staff was genuinely friendly. At the reception three different staff came up to share friendly conservation about Washington, DC. Our room was beautiful and clean. When we needed a taxi a staff person got one for us. With all the staff around, we felt very safe. It is a very nice area! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

After our 8 hour drive, the walk to the many choices of ethnic eateries was welcomed. We just had to choose one. We took a short trip to the zoo to see the giant pandas. Even in the rain it was fun for us, although many might not have enjoyed this.

Back to menu Return to top