Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
840 reviews
lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason... See full review

  • zhaangty
  • Aug 29, 2014
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (840)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
840 out of 840
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awhi
Business
Texas
Jul 17, 2012

Not a good hotel

It was a bad experience from the beginning. We checked out after one night. They only had valet parking. The man who did the valet parking complained about having to go get the car. The suite we booked was not what we got. We had to pay $50 more to upgrade. I decide to go online to see if I selected the wrong suite. So I entered the hotel name, instead of the hotel website address and a report came up on the hotel about bed bugs, not to mention that the water from the bath tub ran out so slow. We decide to check out. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, it is not in a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappydisappointed
Business
NJ
Jun 13, 2012

Uptight staff

The front desk did not even have the courtesy to say where the room is located, since they have 2 buildings one in front and one in backward. Had to carry two little kids and luggage all the way to 8th floor on first building and then realized that the room is on the next building in 8th floor. The elevator is awfully slow and small. I had booked a suite and there was no kitchenware in the kitchen, then when I asked them for the kitchenware, they were not too happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 7, 2011

State Plaza - old hotel

Stayed at State Plaza due to its proximity to the American Red Cross. This is an aging hotel with lumpy carpet and rusty bathroom fixtures. Would not stay here again. The staff members were polite but didn't go out of their way to help: e.g., the man who parked my car did not offer to take my luggage to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Dec 18, 2009

Don't stay

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Beginning at 9am someone kept OPENING our door every half hour until we checked out 1pm, even though we locked it. Do not stay here. EVER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The State Plaza Hotel was not what I expected. There was no problem checking in and the staff was helpful taking bags to the room. Immediate parking in the hotel lot was not available. The staff would not put my name on a list in case a spot would open and they referred me to a parking garage 5 blocks away when I later learned there was a public garage behind the hotel. Why was this garage not presented as an option? The fixtures in the kitchenette seemed to be older and I didnt really want to touch them. The refrigerator did not work properly and the hotel did not have an ice machine or any vending machines. The hotel was made up of two separate buildings -- the room key was supposed to open the doors connecting the two builings -- my key did not work. Had a very difficult time getting credit for third night that I did not use. Was generally dissatisfied with this hotel and would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CTL
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 8, 2011

Antiquated and the vagrants charming

The hotel is old and antiquated, noisy with commercial trash pickup @5:30 each day even on Saturdays, and to add to the charm, we had to deal with vagrants from the liquor store next store & the public park across the street just to get into the hotel in the evenings. Beware of reservations modifications & penalties as you will be dealing with the most un-reputable/un-customer service oriented management team in the city. Evidently, 24 hrs prior to arrival, Mgmt will process reservation modifications. However, once you arrive & need to cancel the last day of a 5 day stay, 96+ hrs notice is no longer sufficient & will cost you a penalty (coincidently, a 1 night stay). Both my wife & I work for multi-billion $$ companies who do business on a regular basis in DC & the GWU area specifically. We will work with our travel departments to blacklist this hotel. The hotel accommodations themselves are not business friendly and management policies are business hostile. Despite spending $30/day to park our rental car, the bright part of the customer service team was the bellhops. They were quick to bring the car up & they also provided a valuable service helping us run the gauntlet of vagrants milling around the street. Although location was not bad, there are better and safer accommodations in the area for the same price. Recommend spending your money elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Englander
Apr 12, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever - and we are not picky

DO NOT STAY AT THE STATE PLAZA HOTEL! Rude manager - talks down to us and other guests that had issues with rooms Really for over $200 a night air conditioning in the building can not be controlled via the room - the hotel is so old and not classy you die of heat in the rooms even though you think you have a thrermostat - the managers solution is to provide a box fan in the window that does not open past 2 inches... They sent an "engineer" to check our ac he told us he can show us how to work the thermostat or show us how to open the window- really who can't do that themselves? But norther what he did a/c would not work as it was not on in the building The hotel is not handicap friendly stairs to get to elevators Slowest elevators EVER! The rooms look like the 70's and have not been updated If you don't take my Advise you will wish you did!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save time by not staying here!!! You will thank me

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deland
Jun 9, 2008

No A/C

The worst Hotel I have stayed at in the last 20 years. First you had to park in on building, drag you luggage thru the basement to the other building. Told they had no bellman on at that time. The room had no micro/w, the carpet was dirty and needed to be repulled as it had rolls in it. I trip on these several times, again bad back)The A/C barely worked the first night.They had no ice and had to make several calls to finally get ice. I was told I could use the ice trays in the room but they had not been refilled. So I got the privilege of tipping the persom who delivered the ice.As I stated earlier- no Micro/w- and in that type of setting it is the one thing you use the most. And ever time we had to go to the car we had to thake te elavator to the 1st Floor walk across the building ( about1/2 block) take another elavator down to the car. The second day was worst. We get back after a long hot day of sightseeing to find the A/C is not working at all. We pack up everything and started to leave. Just before we reach our car the Manager came up and said he had a room that the A/C was working. Since it was so late and we had such a bad day we took it. My wife went to get the key and the desk clerk was made because he had just rented that room. Did not care about the ones already check-in. This new room was much nicer and it had a micro/w.Ther was more but I hate to type, but you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 29, 2007

Horrible Stay

I could not get over how disgusting the room was. Dirty floors, gross furniture, and just a distasteful atmosphere. Everywhere I looked were noticeable signs of wear -- cracked floor tiles, worn wall paper, carpet installed by a 3-year-old. I would not stay at this hotel again for any offered price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wfelt001
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 14, 2010

BAD Hotel!!!!

Hotel is very old and very outdated. All the rooms were around 90 degrees, and they do not have a/c, they will provide a small worthless fan though. Also the hotel fees for parking, and $75 of other unknown fees added up to more than the cost of the room for two nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top