Rate based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Sight seeing trip

The hotels location was perfect ! 15 min walk to anywhere. The hotel staff was extremely helpful... See full review

  • Luixavier L.
  • Dec 10, 2015
amazing good

State plaza hotel is located very close to Washington memorial Wonderful staff and clean See full review

  • jaime v.
  • Aug 25, 2015
Modern apartment style living and walking distance to all the area attractions. The State Plaza is a distinctive hotel of uncompromising service and convenience. Each of the 225 suites has been thoughtfully appointed with kitchen, executive writing desk, complimentary high speed internet and lighted dressing table. The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district.

Effective January 1, 2015, the hotel's parking fee is $34 USD plus tax. Parking is valet only with in/out privileges.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 28, 2010

Sauna in the City

The Air conditioning did not work the whole stay. Fortunatly i could open the windows a littile and was not in the room during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rjb
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 26, 2009

Location isn't everything :(

Internet service was terrible. On a business trip and it prevented me from working. Rooms and halls smelled bad. Room smelled musty like a wet dog. Checked out after being in the hotel for 1 hour. Management insisted that they would charge us regardless of our concerns. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE Thanks,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Always sees things half full.
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 21, 2009

An Apartment Hotel

Staff were very, very responsive when problems arose - internet connection, no hot water, no heater, safe malfunction, etc. They solved all problems quickly. Having a kitchen and being able to prepare "home-cooked" meals was great. Good location near the White House, and in the George Washington U neighborhood. It was quiet. I slept well. There was always some food odor in the hallways. Perhaps they can improve on the ventilation. The place could use a change in carpets - will do a lot to improve the cleanliness and ambience. Lobby and elevator access not facilitated for the disabled or for just anyone with heavy bags on wheels. Need to control infestation: I got insect bites! So, just like any place, there were plusses and minuses. Just want to give an objective review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boiler_Up
Couples
Warsaw, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Very outdated

The location of the hotel is nice. We walked every day, and it was good that hotel was near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There's almost no dining option around the hotel. The first night we arrived we went to bed without dinner because there was no place to eat.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E travel
Couples
Newyork
Apr 30, 2014

convenient Location

The hotel was located near public transportation and the staff was very friendly. Everything was conveniently located next to a 24 hr CVS and within walking distance to all of the attractions in D.C. The hotel needs updating and the air quality wasn't great. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive to our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz annoyed
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Average stay.

Overall my experience @ the State Plaza Hotel was average. The staff was polite, but they could have been more informative on public transportation. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom lights were too hot and no ventilation in the bathroom, not sure if they are all the same. I guess if it was winter it would not have been a problem but we were in 100 degree weather and as soon as I came out of the shower I felt that heat from the lights. One of my major complaints is the internet service! It was sooooo slow. I think my dial up connection from the 90's was faster than this hotel's. It was useful for basic email, but that was it. :( wifi connection is slow so be prepared!!! It would have been nice if they served continental breakfast at least like most hotels but it was not a deal breaker. The proximity to attractions was not too bad on foot it was about 6-7 blocks. On average we walked 6-7 miles a day going from one place to another. The metro station is in close proximity as well to get to farther destinations. It is a little tricky @ first to figure out the right pricing and location but everyone is helpful in D.C so don't be afraid to ask for directions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

chinatown/gallery place area has a lot of different eateries. pizza, peruvian, brazilian, mexican,italian and of course chinese. wok n roll was pretty good(chinese/japanese). The basic eateries everywhere you go are pizza and sub places.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Petetedjohn
Couples
Waterford, CT
Aug 6, 2012

DC Getaway

I was quite pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The only item that was missing was a microwave oven. Still I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA Now
Friends
Nevada
Jan 23, 2013

Presidenrial Inaugration

Staff friendly Close to parade route. Needed Metro to. South capital street. Overall nice. Would use again when prices are not marked up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJDC
Business
New Milford, CT
Nov 26, 2014

Great location, but be warned if you have allergies

Old hotel, dated furnishings, but the room/suite was very clean and spacious. At first glance, I thought I found a great value in a perfect location. But my two night stay there was ruined with horrible allergies - not something I usually experience so badly. First room smelled moldy, so after a sleepless night with my first ever asthma attack, I switched rooms. Didn't notice smell in second room, but I coughed all night and felt horrible in the morning. Couldn't wait to get out of there. I wonder if there's mold in the ventilation system or something? I don't know - it was a bizarre reaction. That being said, the front desk and concierge staff were very accommodating and helpful. If it weren't for that bad reaction, I would definitely stay here again. Restaurant was surprisingly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant was surprisingly good, and I'm a foodie. Excellent salad with seared salmon. Very good crabcakes. Comfortable for solo dining.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jana W.
Family
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

family trip

Hotel location was great. The room looked nothing like the pictures online. The room was very old and outdated. Very clean and the staff was outstanding and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top